Qualityreviews logo

Sage Appliances The Barista Touch
Sage
B079GV6RX7


  • 749,99 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Sage
5
72%
(18)
4
8%
(2)
3
0%
(0)
2
0%
(0)
1
20%
(5)
Review 25 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Sage Appliances The Barista Touch)
  • 01 Aug 2019, Thu
Best coffee I've ever tasted
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

Bought this machine as a progression from a pod machine, and I'm definitely not disappointed. Buy the right coffee (freshly roasted) and after a little tweaking of grind and dose amount and you'll never need to visit a coffee shop again. I highly recommend this machine, in my opinion is well worth the investment.

Robbo
  • 25 Jul 2019, Thu
Handsome-looking appliance that's extremely well-designed, and makes splendid coffee.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I tried a number of mid-range bean-to-cup coffee machines, and this was the one I was by far the happiest with. It's a fantastic-looking machine, with an exceptionally well-thought-out design. There are very few buttons and controls, as all of the options are selected via the touch screen, which is clear and easy to parse.This is the ideal machine for someone who wants a halfway house between a fully automatic coffee machine, and a fully manual option; you will have to tinker with the grind settings to find the ideal fineness, affix the portafilter (and dispose of the grains after you've made a coffee) etc, so it's relatively hands-on. At the same time, the machine guides you at every stage of the process, so it's idiot-proof, while fully automating the milk frothing stage (which is where things can often go wrong).The machine teaches you how to make subtle changes to your extraction method in order to ensure your coffee isn't bitter or burnt, so you learn valuable basics about making coffee as you go, and your coffee will likely improve as a result.I recommend that you buy the Sage grain bin so that you have somewhere to cleanly dispose of used grains. There will be a little more mess than if you were to use, say, a fully automated Delonghi machine, where everything is self-contained, but you have much finer control over the results, and I greatly prefer the hands-on feel. The amount of time is takes to make a latte is extremely short, as the water heats in seconds. Really couldn't be more pleased with the purchase.

SParkin

  • 25 Jul 2019, Thu
Handsome-looking appliance that's extremely well-designed, and makes splendid coffee.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I tried a number of mid-range bean-to-cup coffee machines, and this was the one I was by far the happiest with. It's a fantastic-looking machine, with an exceptionally well-thought-out design. There are very few buttons and controls, as all of the options are selected via the touch screen, which is clear and easy to parse.

This is the ideal machine for someone who wants a halfway house between a fully automatic coffee machine, and a fully manual option; you will have to tinker with the grind settings to find the ideal fineness, affix the portafilter (and dispose of the grains after you've made a coffee) etc, so it's relatively hands-on. At the same time, the machine guides you at every stage of the process, so it's idiot-proof, while fully automating the milk frothing stage (which is where things can often go wrong).

The machine teaches you how to make subtle changes to your extraction method in order to ensure your coffee isn't bitter or burnt, so you learn valuable basics about making coffee as you go, and your coffee will likely improve as a result.

I recommend that you buy the Sage grain bin so that you have somewhere to cleanly dispose of used grains. There will be a little more mess than if you were to use, say, a fully automated Delonghi machine, where everything is self-contained, but you have much finer control over the results, and I greatly prefer the hands-on feel. The amount of time is takes to make a latte is extremely short, as the water heats in seconds. Really couldn't be more pleased with the purchase.

SParkin
  • 20 Jul 2019, Sat
Great things come in small packages
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The footprint of this machine is much smaller than what I was expecting and takes up very little kitchen surface. I’ve gone from a Nespresso machine with a milk frother to this. I wanted the same amount of hassle free, mostly automated coffee making abilities but without the wasteful pods. This machine ticks all the boxes and then some! You also still have full manual control should you want it; water temp, milk temp, milk froth density. The machine heats rapidly and could be used to make tea and even replace your kettle. It looks and feels classy and everything you touch is either metal or just feels solid. The screen is crystal clear and for the most part easy to use. Some icons such as those for changing water temp and froth density are quite small. So those of us with sausage fingers may have to give it a couple taps before we get it, but I won’t hold that against the machine as it’s still easy to use.Set up was simple, literally takes a couple minutes, when it does it’s first purge water does spray around a bit, so just have a towel ready. After that you just follow the on screen instructions and it pretty much holds your hand through the whole process, even giving tips on how fine to grind your coffee.It heats up quickly and can switch from coffee to milk almost instantly, negating the need for a more expensive dual boiler setup.Great machine, would recommend. However, -1 star because certain accessories are NOT included when they should be. A tamping mat - a small rubber / silicone mat to tamp your coffee on, protecting your work surface. Is NOT included. Why? Also a bin for the spent coffee grind, this too is NOT included.. why? Both items are cheap and the machine would be the whole package if these were included. SAGE does make a bin, and this is what I purchased. It looks great but is also considerably more expensive than alternatives.As I said it’s a great machine but would have been an all singing all dancing complete solution with the addition of a couple more accessories. A Sage branded cloth would

DNY
  • 30 Jun 2019, Sun
Missing important item missing Milk jug with sensor temp
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The coffe machine came with missing milk jug !!!

Yasser Barakat
  • 24 Jun 2019, Mon
Good Espresso Maker
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

For the price to low-mid quality espresso maker it is worth it, easy to learn small simple

M. A.
  • 13 Jun 2019, Thu
The best coffee machine ever
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is what I was looking for.

Amazon Customer
  • 08 May 2019, Wed
Fantastic
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

This machine make the best coffee ever I have drink, Is very easy to use and cleaner.

Nivalda
  • 08 May 2019, Wed
A great bean to cup coffee machine
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

This is a very easy to use bean to cup coffee machine. You can really tell the difference when the beans are ground just before the coffee is made and the high pressure produced by this machine gets every bit of taste out of the beans. It also looks very cool and somewhat retro sitting on the kitchen counter top !

Aideylarge
  • 05 Apr 2019, Fri
An absolutely essential espresso machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Once again Sage appliances has produced a commercial quality appliance for home use. Several years ago I purchased a sage grinder pro and haven’t looked back. The barista touch combines the easy of a bean to cup machine with the quality of your local barista. It allows you to set specific milk temperatures and textures and even name drinks after yourself! It’s compact design works well for smaller kitchens. The best element is that it allows you to try your hand at being a barista! This is an all round quality machine it’s so good we use one in our coffee roastery!

Alexander Spampinato
  • 03 Apr 2019, Wed
Perfect Coffee Super Easy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Auto milk function was incredible.Really quick to heat up and looks amazing in my kitchen.

MR P.
  • 24 Feb 2019, Sun
Do not buy this or any Sage product.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

very nice aesthetically, and in fairness the milk it produces is excellent, however there is a problem with these machines, the coffee it produces is tasteless and bland, changed every setting possible, no improvement, brought it to my local roastery/cafe to get them to have a go, no different, they thought grinder was faulty.Now the fun part lol, Sage customer support is laughable how bad they are, take, on average for me, 5 days to respond, firstly they tell me verbatim what is in the leaflet provided with the machine, I obviously already did all that many times, then they proceed to tell me to use fresh coffee beans, in my initial email i told them I only ever use fresh beans, this went on for 2 more replies. Got sick and tired of the lack of support and the feeling I was to blame, don't be annoying me type of attitude!!I Contacted Amazon to see could they help, wonderful experience with them, no hassle or bs from them.So if you want a machine that looks good but produces terrible coffee and want to feel like an idiot or hindrance when you contact their support, buy this! Please don't be like me and get sucked in with their fancy advertising and marketing, cause it's bs. I ended up buying a De'Longhi for a third of the price and I'm very happy as are anyone who gets a coffee from the machine. can't emphasize how poor the customer support from Sage was.

Philip Leavy
  • 24 Feb 2019, Sun
Do not buy this or any Sage product.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

very nice aesthetically, and in fairness the milk it produces is excellent, however there is a problem with these machines, the coffee it produces is tasteless and bland, changed every setting possible, no improvement, brought it to my local roastery/cafe to get them to have a go, no different, they thought grinder was faulty.

Now the fun part lol, Sage customer support is laughable how bad they are, take, on average for me, 5 days to respond, firstly they tell me verbatim what is in the leaflet provided with the machine, I obviously already did all that many times, then they proceed to tell me to use fresh coffee beans, in my initial email i told them I only ever use fresh beans, this went on for 2 more replies. Got sick and tired of the lack of support and the feeling I was to blame, don't be annoying me type of attitude!!

I Contacted Amazon to see could they help, wonderful experience with them, no hassle or bs from them.

So if you want a machine that looks good but produces terrible coffee and want to feel like an idiot or hindrance when you contact their support, buy this! Please don't be like me and get sucked in with their fancy advertising and marketing, cause it's bs. I ended up buying a De'Longhi for a third of the price and I'm very happy as are anyone who gets a coffee from the machine. can't emphasize how poor the customer support from Sage was.

Philip Leavy

  • 23 Feb 2019, Sat
A must have for coffee lovers!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I love the quality of this machine. It is well built and makes outstanding coffee! It definately puts alot of coffee shops to shame if you use decent quality beans with it. A bit fiddly to use at first but its worth getting the hang of it. I would highly recommend!

Chris M
  • 21 Feb 2019, Thu
It seems like all these machines need to be recalled.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I ordered this item, then read online that people were having issues with the water not heating up to the desired temperature of 200F.I tried to cancel my order upon reading this, but Amazon said they couldn't cancel it, so I tried the machine and gave it a chance when it reached my house.Upon using this machine I was very quick to note that the water coming out of it was no where near 200F. With a thermometer I measured it at 140F (60C), which is a whole 60F (or 33C) lower than is required for brewing. Not fit for purpose, it creates bitter coffee and no amount of changing the temperature on the machine alters the temperature of the brew water.The grinder is messy and spews granules everywhere.The only thing this machine has going for it is it's great milk frother. That's it.This is also NOT an isolated issue. Look up "Barista Touch Temperature Low" online and you will come across more people saying this! These machines should be recalled. They are totally not fit for purpose.Edit: thanks Amazon for the speedy refund.

Happy
  • 21 Feb 2019, Thu
It seems like all these machines need to be recalled.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I ordered this item, then read online that people were having issues with the water not heating up to the desired temperature of 200F.

I tried to cancel my order upon reading this, but Amazon said they couldn't cancel it, so I tried the machine and gave it a chance when it reached my house.

Upon using this machine I was very quick to note that the water coming out of it was no where near 200F. With a thermometer I measured it at 140F (60C), which is a whole 60F (or 33C) lower than is required for brewing. Not fit for purpose, it creates bitter coffee and no amount of changing the temperature on the machine alters the temperature of the brew water.

The grinder is messy and spews granules everywhere.

The only thing this machine has going for it is it's great milk frother. That's it.

This is also NOT an isolated issue. Look up "Barista Touch Temperature Low" online and you will come across more people saying this! These machines should be recalled. They are totally not fit for purpose.

Edit: thanks Amazon for the speedy refund.

Happy
  • 12 Dec 2018, Wed
Best money ever spent.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After many months of research, endless questions to coffee connoisseurs and chats on baristsa forums we made a big decision to buy this coffee machine. We had some delonghi capsules operated appliances before and looking from todays perspective those machines were money thrown into the mud. Sage Barista Touch is a pearl among the geese. It does not only make coffee way better than Sturbucks but it actually turns you into a barista by teaching you every step of making your perfect cup. It is intuitive, quick, high quality machine. Easy to clean too. The best £800 we ever spent.

Husky1010
  • 27 Nov 2018, Tue
Expree expresso coffee delight
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

The instructions look daunting but just follow step by step and hay presto impressive coffee

emill
  • 24 Oct 2018, Wed
Loving the coffee
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

Bought this for my husband who after having a coffee from one of these machines, said he had to have one. Once you get the hang of the milk frother and properly read the instructions, the machine is easy to use. Getting the bar pressure to around a 12 (on a clock) results in the best coffee. I now love my latte and he's the cappuccino fan. May have been considered expensive but it's a quality machine and hopefully it'll last for years.

Chess
  • 02 Oct 2018, Tue
Reviewed on Currys.co.uk

it’s making cracking expreso. you need a bit of knowledge to work

Robert
Style Name:Single

Product Description

Barista-quality performance with new intuitive touchscreen display with pre-programmed café drinks menu and automatic milk texturing, all within a compact footprint. A built-in grinder delivers the right amount of ground coffee on demand and with a 3 second heat up time, you go from bean to cup, faster than ever before.

Box Contains

4 Coffee Filters (Single Wall, single and double; Dual Wall, single and double), Tamper, Claro Swiss Filter (Eliminates the need to descale), Cleaning Kit and Milk Texturing Jug.



From the manufacturer

the Barista Touch Espresso Machine by Sage, SES880BSS

the Barista Touch Espresso Machine by Sage, SES880BSS

Sage Appliances UK

Kitchen appliances designed to inspire people to produce perfect food and beverage results in their own homes with ease. From espresso machines to food processors, the innovation in each appliance delights. Sage makes the process a pleasure and the end result perfect, every time.

the Barista Touch by Sage Appliances UK

Café quality coffee at your fingertips.

Barista-quality performance with new intuitive touch screen display with pre-programmed café drinks menu and automatic milk texturing, all within a compact footprint. A built-in grinder delivers the right amount of ground coffee on demand and with a 3 second heat up time, you go from bean to cup, faster than ever before.

The 4 key elements of café quality coffee:

  • Dose Amount
  • Precise Water Temperature
  • Optimal Water Pressure
  • Sufficient Steam Pressure

The 4 Key Elements of True Café Quality Coffee

1. Dose - 19-22g dose for full flavour.

1. Dose - 19-22 g dose for full flavour.

Have you ever wondered why your home-made coffee never seems to taste as great as a café bought one? That’s because most other automatic machines only dose 11-13 g of ground coffee, below what’s needed to create that rich, full-bodied taste you get out of bed for.

2. Temperature - Precise PID temperature control.

2. Temperature - Precise PID temperature control.

The difference between an ashy or balanced tasting espresso can be as little as 1°C. The Barista Touch uses digital temperature control (PID) technology which detects and minimises any fluctuation during extraction, ensuring the temperature is kept at its optimum range, every time.

3. Pressure - Low pressure pre-infusion & 9 bar extraction pressure.

3. Pressure - Low pressure pre-infusion and 9 bar extraction pressure.

Creating a golden honey crema in your coffee relies on the right pressure at the right time. The Barista Touch uses low pressure, pre-infusion to evenly soak and expand the ground coffee, delivering a sweet and creamy extraction.

4. Steam - Automatically steaming milk to a silky micro-foam texture.

4. Steam - Automatically steaming milk to a silky micro-foam texture.

To get that velvety texture in your milk you need the right steam pressure to draw in the air and create thousands of tiny bubbles. That’s why we created the automatic steam wand for the Barista Touch, that turns your milk into a silky smooth micro-foam, essential for latte art.

Special Features of the Barista Touch

Intuitive touch screen

Intuitive Touch Screen

The Barista Touch uses automated touch screen technology that allows you to easily swipe through all your café favourites like Latte, Espresso, Long Black, Flat White and Cappuccino; simply touch to create.

Café quality coffee your way

Café Quality Coffee Your Way

Easily adjust the coffee strength, milk texture and temperature to suit your taste. You can also personalise up to 8 different coffees with their very own unique image and name.

Fresh is best

Fresh is Best

The built-in conical burr grinder enables you to grind your beans just before extraction straight into the portafilter. It grinds on demand to deliver freshly ground coffee directly into the portafilter for your preferred taste with any roast of bean. This ensures you capture all the delicate aromatics from the grind in the espresso extraction.

Cleverly compact

Cleverly Compact

We designed the Barista Touch to take up less bench space and still deliver big on great taste and performance. It’s perfect for compact kitchens without compromising on quality.

Brand Sage
Model NumberSES880BSS
ColourSilver
Item Weight11.8 Kg
Product Dimensions32 x 34 x 41 cm
Volume Capacity2.5 litres
Power / Wattage1700 watts
MaterialStainless Steel