Qualityreviews logo

Russell Hobbs 20460 Buckingham Quiet Boil Kettle 3000 W 1 7 Litre Brushed Stainless Steel Silver
Russell Hobbs
B00K8S89YI


  • 24,99 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Russell Hobbs
5
12%
(2)
4
18%
(3)
3
12%
(2)
2
24%
(4)
1
35%
(6)
Review 17 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Russell Hobbs 20460 Buckingham Quiet Boil Kettle 3000 W 1 7 Litre Brushed Stainless Steel Silver)
  • 24 Jul 2018, Tue
Funny smell & flavour in the water
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This kettle boils incredibly fast. Like, I can boil enough water for my coffee before my toast has cooked, which is way faster than our last kettle.Unfortunately, after a couple of months of use, it still leaves a very strong chemically odour and taste in the water if you leave it overnight. This is fine for me as it's no big deal to pour out and refresh in the morning, but sometimes a doctor or pharmacist has recommended boiling a kettle and leaving it to cool overnight for, say, washing eyes that have conjunctivitis. We couldn't do that with this kettle, yuck.

Charlotte
  • 24 Jul 2018, Tue
Funny smell & flavour in the water
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This kettle boils incredibly fast. Like, I can boil enough water for my coffee before my toast has cooked, which is way faster than our last kettle.

Unfortunately, after a couple of months of use, it still leaves a very strong chemically odour and taste in the water if you leave it overnight. This is fine for me as it's no big deal to pour out and refresh in the morning, but sometimes a doctor or pharmacist has recommended boiling a kettle and leaving it to cool overnight for, say, washing eyes that have conjunctivitis. We couldn't do that with this kettle, yuck.

Charlotte

  • 21 Jun 2018, Thu
My second mistake!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I thought the lid problem with my first order of this kettle was a one off - it wouldn’t close after a few months. As I trusted the maker’s name and I like the ease of use of the kettle, I bought another - my second mistake. This time, the lid needed encouragement to open and after a few months the switch broke and fell off. Switching my allegiance to a different maker.

A. J. R. Goddard
  • 19 May 2018, Sat
A good kettle spoiled by design faults
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I originally purchased one of these kettles in March 2016. However, in December 2017 the power switch broke. Specifically, the hollow plastic tube joining the paddle that operates the switch to the switch itself broke. It looks to be very flimsy for long-term use and could do with being reinforced.Because the kettle was within the two-year warranty period, Russell Hobbs replaced it without question. However, the replacement has just (May 2018) broken in exactly the same way! Because the kettle is now outside the original warranty period, I am not expecting another replacement, but this really is not the sort of product quality I expect from Russell Hobbs.There are two other faults that have been common to both examples of this kettle that I have had:* As many other reviewers have reported, the lid release mechanism gets very stiff/unreliable over time. My suspicion is that this may have something to do with a build-up of limescale on the mechanism, but this is conjecture.* The Quiet Boil feature, which is a key selling point of this kettle, worked very well initially. However, I live in a hard water area (Thames Water), and it very rapidly degenerated to normal levels of noise when coming to the boil (i.e. annoyingly loud!). It seems that even tiny traces of limescale are enough to neutralise this feature.I will not be purchasing another of these kettles!

I. Currie
  • 19 May 2018, Sat
A good kettle spoiled by design faults
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I originally purchased one of these kettles in March 2016. However, in December 2017 the power switch broke. Specifically, the hollow plastic tube joining the paddle that operates the switch to the switch itself broke. It looks to be very flimsy for long-term use and could do with being reinforced.

Because the kettle was within the two-year warranty period, Russell Hobbs replaced it without question. However, the replacement has just (May 2018) broken in exactly the same way! Because the kettle is now outside the original warranty period, I am not expecting another replacement, but this really is not the sort of product quality I expect from Russell Hobbs.

There are two other faults that have been common to both examples of this kettle that I have had:
* As many other reviewers have reported, the lid release mechanism gets very stiff/unreliable over time. My suspicion is that this may have something to do with a build-up of limescale on the mechanism, but this is conjecture.
* The Quiet Boil feature, which is a key selling point of this kettle, worked very well initially. However, I live in a hard water area (Thames Water), and it very rapidly degenerated to normal levels of noise when coming to the boil (i.e. annoyingly loud!). It seems that even tiny traces of limescale are enough to neutralise this feature.

I will not be purchasing another of these kettles!

I. Currie
  • 25 Nov 2017, Sat
Looks a little small but works just fine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After reading the other reviews I was uncertain if to purchase this, however since it was discounted from £59.99 to £25 so I thought it cant be that bad. I would say its only worth £25 its not great but works fine.One thing did surprise me was how small it was. I know dimensions are given 23.5 x 21.8 x 15.8 cm however it still seemed a little small. It holds an average amount for a kettle and works fine. Quiet boil...I don't know if its any different from other kettles, its not loud anyway. Brushed steel not easy to clean.Other comments about scolding when pouring I don't see that is possible unless you hold it from the top of the handle?? Time will tell. But overall its fine.

Ewen
  • 18 Nov 2017, Sat
RUBBISH - AVOID!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Like many others, I wish I'd read the review of this product before ordering. We've alway had Russell Hobbs kettles but this one has been useless. After only two months, the lid stopped closing. Initially it popped up during the boil and now it won't close properly at all. Useless - and a waste of money as it's now passed its month's Amazon return window. #angry

J. Adair
  • 16 Nov 2017, Thu
Fantastic...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this meet,e, as my last one was seriously past it’s use by date... My last Keetle was noisy, as in you had to shout to be heard over it, so I picked the Buckingham for its quiet boil, and it is quiet! So quiet in fact, I forgot I switched it on ????. I love the fast boil function too, it has 3 red markers, if you fill to anyone of them, it will boil faster than if you filled the full kettle. The kettle has a lovely blue light around the base, which makes it easy to see if it is on. The lid pops open easily via the button on top of the handle. All in all I am 100% happy with this purchase and would recommend buying this keetle. I purchased when on offer for £25.

mrsdjkey
  • 16 Nov 2017, Thu
Fantastic...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this meet,e, as my last one was seriously past it’s use by date... My last Keetle was noisy, as in you had to shout to be heard over it, so I picked the Buckingham for its quiet boil, and it is quiet! So quiet in fact, I forgot I switched it on ????. I love the fast boil function too, it has 3 red markers, if you fill to anyone of them, it will boil faster than if you filled the full kettle. The kettle has a lovely blue light around the base, which makes it easy to see if it is on. The lid pops open easily via the button on top of the handle. All in all I am 100% happy with this purchase and would recommend buying this keetle. I purchased when on offer for £25.

mrsdjkey
  • 15 Sep 2017, Fri
It is a brilliant kettle. It quick and looks nice
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

HI People. I don't write reviews normally but I have for this.It is a brilliant kettle. It quick and looks nice... for a few months (3 months).It then development the lid fault where the catch must rust up in the lid and no longer closes. This is the second one I have had of this and the fault has come with both.You would think with all the returns with this fault they would either pull the item, or amazon would stop selling it.....anyway my new kettle search continues...I must say how helpful amazon were in the return. Both times they have just accepted it... Well done amazon for your customer service!

Mr Richard Potter
  • 15 Sep 2017, Fri
It is a brilliant kettle. It quick and looks nice
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

HI People. I don't write reviews normally but I have for this.
It is a brilliant kettle. It quick and looks nice... for a few months (3 months).
It then development the lid fault where the catch must rust up in the lid and no longer closes. This is the second one I have had of this and the fault has come with both.
You would think with all the returns with this fault they would either pull the item, or amazon would stop selling it.....

anyway my new kettle search continues...
I must say how helpful amazon were in the return. Both times they have just accepted it... Well done amazon for your customer service!

Mr Richard Potter
  • 24 Apr 2017, Mon
Not happy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

As other reviewers have stated the kettle has got increasingly noisy. Also the disc in the base of the kettle has become detached and rattles about in the kettle when it is heating up. This is creating even more noise and can't be removed as it is larger than the top of the kettle. So disappointed. Will not be buying any more Russell Hobbs items. They are not reliable. November 2017.Just to add that the kettle is now useless as the switch has broken off.

jeanmd
  • 24 Apr 2017, Mon
Not happy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

As other reviewers have stated the kettle has got increasingly noisy. Also the disc in the base of the kettle has become detached and rattles about in the kettle when it is heating up. This is creating even more noise and can't be removed as it is larger than the top of the kettle. So disappointed. Will not be buying any more Russell Hobbs items. They are not reliable. November 2017.
Just to add that the kettle is now useless as the switch has broken off.

jeanmd

  • 06 Feb 2017, Mon
Lid malfunctioned after 2 months and 3 days.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Wonderful kettle while it lasted. Unfortunately, the lid mechanism has stopped functioning, and the lid now remains open.I have only had this for two months, so am incredibly dissapointed. I have not handled the kettle roughly in any way, the lid simply will not stay closed.Maybe I was unlucky and got a faulty one, but as such I cannot recommend, as 2 months of kettle use is outrageously poor. The return period has only just elapsed, so I am left with a useless kettle on my kitchen counter.

J Bailey
  • 06 Feb 2017, Mon
Lid malfunctioned after 2 months and 3 days.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Wonderful kettle while it lasted. Unfortunately, the lid mechanism has stopped functioning, and the lid now remains open.

I have only had this for two months, so am incredibly dissapointed. I have not handled the kettle roughly in any way, the lid simply will not stay closed.

Maybe I was unlucky and got a faulty one, but as such I cannot recommend, as 2 months of kettle use is outrageously poor. The return period has only just elapsed, so I am left with a useless kettle on my kitchen counter.

J Bailey
  • 11 Sep 2016, Sun
Good kettle but some niggles
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good points - Can boil small volumes fast / Gets water very hot and keeps it so / Quiet operationI've bought 4 for myself & friends, and all Buckinghams exhibit the same 2 design faults -1. The lid stops opening fully using the button after just a couple of uses.So you either have to press the button to release the lid and then physically pull it backOR hold the kettle with the spout upwards so the lid needs less force to open it fully.Expect the release button is a Health & Safety feature, but its fairly pointless if you then have to grasp the lid to gain access.2. Many users complain of the foul taste of the water which stems from the red clip-on soft plastic measure inside the kettle.Strongly recommend you simply clip it off before ever using the kettle.I've found getting the tip of a bladed screwdriver between the measure and its mount, and giving it a gentle twist, is easiest.

westwightman
  • 11 Sep 2016, Sun
Good kettle but some niggles
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good points - Can boil small volumes fast / Gets water very hot and keeps it so / Quiet operation

I've bought 4 for myself & friends, and all Buckinghams exhibit the same 2 design faults -

1. The lid stops opening fully using the button after just a couple of uses.
So you either have to press the button to release the lid and then physically pull it back
OR hold the kettle with the spout upwards so the lid needs less force to open it fully.
Expect the release button is a Health & Safety feature, but its fairly pointless if you then have to grasp the lid to gain access.

2. Many users complain of the foul taste of the water which stems from the red clip-on soft plastic measure inside the kettle.
Strongly recommend you simply clip it off before ever using the kettle.
I've found getting the tip of a bladed screwdriver between the measure and its mount, and giving it a gentle twist, is easiest.

westwightman
Style Name:Kettle

Product Description

In addition to its Quiet boil technology, it has a rapid boil feature that lets you boil a 235 ml cup of water in just 45 seconds. It’s ideal if you need a hot drink fast or you’re just making one cup. The kettle has a ideal pour spout so all of the water goes into the cup with fewer splashes and spills.

Legal Disclaimer

With a brushed, stainless steel finish, the Russell Hobbs Buckingham kettle is as every bit functional, as it is stylish. The 'quiet-boil' technology makes this the perfect choice for smaller householdsand homes with open plan living areas. An added 'fast-boil' function will also heat one cup in just 45 seconds, meaning less time spent waiting around

A delicious hot drink, fast In addition to its quiet boil technology, it has a rapid boil feature that lets you boil a 235 ml cup of water in just 45 seconds. It’s ideal if you need a hot drink fast or you’re just making one cup. The kettle has a 'perfect pour' spout so all of the water goes into the cup with fewer splashes and spills.

Quieter technology The Russell Hobbs 20460 Buckingham Kettle is designed with quiet boil technology. A special coating on the base plate works with a diffuser ring to break up the bubbles making them smaller. Smaller bubbles mean up to 75 per cent less noise than previous models without this technology so you can enjoy a quieter cuppa, ideal if you are making drinks while people are sleeping or you don’t want to disturb the baby.

1.7 L capacity With a 1.7 L capacity jug, it’s big enough to make up to seven cups, making it ideal for larger family homes. The Buckingham Kettle has a 360 degree base so it can be comfortably used by right and left-handed people. Also, to keep your work top clutter free, the base has integrated cord storage so it can be tidied away when it’s not in use.

Features:

• 1 x Russell Hobbs Buckingham Quiet Boil Kettle
• 1 x 360 degrees charging base with wrap-around cable storage
• 1 x Removable, washable mesh limescale filter in spout
• 1 x Instruction manual with details of guarantee

See all Product description

From the manufacturer

Russell Hobbs Buckingham Quiet Boil 1.7 L, 3000 W Kettle 20460

1 x Russell Hobbs Buckingham Quiet Boil Kettle.

1 x 360 degrees charging base with wrap-around cable storage.

1 x Removable, washable mesh limescale filter in spout.

1 x Instruction manual with details of guarantee.


A delicious hot drink, fast

In addition to its quiet boil technology, it has a rapid boil feature that lets you boil a 235 ml cup of water in just 45 seconds. It’s ideal if you need a hot drink fast or you’re just making one cup. The kettle has a 'perfect pour' spout so all of the water goes into the cup with fewer splashes and spills.


Quieter technology

The Russell Hobbs 20460 Buckingham Kettle is designed with quiet boil technology. A special coating on the base plate works with a diffuser ring to break up the bubbles making them smaller. Smaller bubbles mean up to 75 per cent less noise than previous models without this technology so you can enjoy a quieter cuppa, ideal if you are making drinks while people are sleeping or you don’t want to disturb the baby.


1.7 L capacity

With a 1.7 L capacity jug, it’s big enough to make up to seven cups, making it ideal for larger family homes. The Buckingham Kettle has a 360 degree base so it can be comfortably used by right and left-handed people. Also, to keep your work top clutter free, the base has integrated cord storage so it can be tidied away when it’s not in use.

Brand Russell Hobbs
Model Number20460
ColourStainless Steel
Item Weight1.21 Kg
Product Dimensions21.8 x 23.5 x 15.8 cm
Capacity1.7 litres
Volume Capacity1.7 litres
Power / Wattage3000 watts
Voltage240
MaterialStainless Steel
Auto ShutoffNo
Energy Efficiency ClassA+ to F
Noise Level1 dB
Runtime1 minutes
Special FeaturesBoil Dry Protection, Concealed Heating, Cordless, Water Filter
  

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 767
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once