Qualityreviews logo

Swan SK25040N
Swan
B01DXT6FSK


Brand: Swan
5
50%
(21)
4
5%
(2)
3
14%
(6)
2
14%
(6)
1
17%
(7)
Review 42 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Swan SK25040N)
  • 13 Sep 2018, Thu
Buttons relatively hard to press, started overboiling on '100'
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've used other kettles with temp. buttons, they were light and easy to press. The buttons on this kettle are hard to press, definitely not for old folk from the get go. After a few weeks, the 100 setting started overboiling, seems like a thermostat issue, though both tea and coffee suffer from using actually boiling (or just boiled) water - 80 and 90 are better temperatures to use for a good steep/brew. Happy I have the option of 80/90 and firm enough finger muscle control. Would not purchase again. This is not the 'Swan' electronics company many might know from the 20th century.

Milk Miruku
  • 13 Sep 2018, Thu
Buttons relatively hard to press, started overboiling on '100'
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've used other kettles with temp. buttons, they were light and easy to press. The buttons on this kettle are hard to press, definitely not for old folk from the get go. After a few weeks, the 100 setting started overboiling, seems like a thermostat issue, though both tea and coffee suffer from using actually boiling (or just boiled) water - 80 and 90 are better temperatures to use for a good steep/brew. Happy I have the option of 80/90 and firm enough finger muscle control. Would not purchase again. This is not the 'Swan' electronics company many might know from the 20th century.

Milk Miruku

  • 28 Jul 2018, Sat
Poor build quality!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The concept is good but the execution is poor. After 7 months of light daily use, the plastic lid mechanism broke and the temperature selection touch pads have worn through. I claimed on the warranty and received a refund. Needless to say I will not be replacing this kettle with another Swan product.

GinaM
  • 20 May 2018, Sun
Good at first but not boilt to last and could be a hazard
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After about a year I have noticed the top of the handle getting extremely hot when you pick it up after its boiled, making me have to pick it up further down the handle, literally too hot too handle. After a year and a few months I noticed a small leak coming from the the bottom, below the handle, again when it has been boiling. It did work great, nice and light, but has become faulty just over the one year, which is what I was looking up,and prompted the review. Apart from writing a review and writing to swan I don't know what to do about it. Dripping boiling water and too hot to pick up after a year of once a day use is poor if not potentiality dangerous. I did my homework and read reviews on these sort of kettles as I have gone through about five normal kettles over about five years. The first couple where plastic with exposed elements which seemed too over boil and make horrible tea. Next two where steel with hidden elements and filters, one broke after a year or so, and the second rather heavy to handle, and wanting more accurate temperature for fruit tea, green tea and normal tea I picked the swan.Should I find anything good I will try too let you know, and should anyone be able too recommend an alternative for me too try, that would be great.With my expensive toaster breaking last year I must conclude modern appliances really are not mode to last, and reviews are the only chance we have of voting with our feet.

Ray
  • 01 Mar 2018, Thu
Lovely kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Awesome kettle, very quick to boil water to the desired temperature

Pamela Molloy
  • 07 Feb 2018, Wed
really useful to have temperature control as like drinking real loose ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

really useful to have temperature control as like drinking real loose leaf tea and if you get temperature wrong with green tea tastes vile

Paul Davies
  • 19 Jan 2018, Fri
Worst kettle we have ever had!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this kettle via eBay rather than Amazon but thought I should warn others on here. It lasted us less than 7 months but was a struggle for ages before we finally replaced it. Wires started to protrude through the touchpad buttons and we had to put stickers over them to use. Then bits started falling off - eventually the lid hinge fell off and it became unusable and dangerous. It also appeared to be leaking slightly. I had thought kettles didn't seem to be that durable these days but this was a shocking level of built-in obsolescence. It's not cheap, either!

SheilaKeith
  • 13 Dec 2017, Wed
very pleased. Really like the temperature control options
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

very pleased. Really like the temperature control options. very well priced

Amazon Customer
  • 10 Dec 2017, Sun
Rubbish
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this on the 1st Dec and it's gone wrong already it does not boil to set temperature

mark alderson
  • 17 Nov 2017, Fri
Good for fruit teas not boiling water
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Does not boil water, it is great for fruit teas @ 70, 80 & 90 but useless at making anything that requires boiling water. We now have two kettles on the bench so would not recommend this if you have a limited kitchen. If anyone knows how to tweak this unit so it does not switch off at any 90 x degrees please send me the information.

Avid
  • 30 Jul 2017, Sun
Broken already
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had it since March this year. Lid broke after three months. Shame otherwise I would be happy.

Amazon Customer
  • 04 Jul 2017, Tue
One Star
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It's crap. It didn't stop boling water when reaching the desired temperature. The lid broke after a while.

Connor
  • 11 May 2017, Thu
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

was very pleased and would recommend

marvin

  • 01 May 2017, Mon
Had to return....
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

initially very pleased, looks good and I loved the temperature panel, Beeps when boiled, and it was quick. Unfortunately after just a week it developed an intermittent fault, leaking slightly at the top with a tiny amount of boiled water running down the outside. Only sometimes though, maybe once every 3 times. Shouldn't happen at all of course, and it could get worse, so had to return for full refund. Undecided whether to try again or get another make that does a temperature controlled kettle, such as Bosch which has had a good review from Which, but is £20 dearer.

pompeyman
  • 31 Mar 2017, Fri
Nicely styled and fast boiling.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Just great. This is becoming indispensable as it's easy to heat water to just the temperature you need. Swan has an excellent record for value and quality and that remains so today.

Alan T
  • 19 Mar 2017, Sun
It's okay overall
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It is an overall okay kettle but it does come with some flaws. Even so though it is probably one of the better options I could find (at least on Amazon).Pros- Stainless steel body- Four temperature settings that seem to work as expected (warm, hot, hotter and boiling) but maybe not as accurate as I haven't measured the actual temperature of the waterCons- Although it has a stainless steel body, the inside of the lid and the filter/filter holder in the spout is made of plastic.- Limescale starts showing on the bottom even only after the first use. It does need descaling every 1-2 weeks of daily use but at least it seems that it cleans easily.- The temperature display is not accurate. e.g. If I set it to 70 degrees it will go up to around 60, then jump immediately to 70 and turn off indicating that the water reached the desired temperature.- The buttons feel a bit cheap and there is one annoying dot on the display that is lit even when the kettle is offOther- It does beep for everything but I do not find it as loud and annoying as other reviewers- The lid opening is small and will not fit larger hands for cleaning although this may not even be necessary as it can be cleaned with a descaling solution or vinegar

Demetris
  • 19 Mar 2017, Sun
It's okay overall
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It is an overall okay kettle but it does come with some flaws. Even so though it is probably one of the better options I could find (at least on Amazon).

Pros
- Stainless steel body
- Four temperature settings that seem to work as expected (warm, hot, hotter and boiling) but maybe not as accurate as I haven't measured the actual temperature of the water

Cons
- Although it has a stainless steel body, the inside of the lid and the filter/filter holder in the spout is made of plastic.
- Limescale starts showing on the bottom even only after the first use. It does need descaling every 1-2 weeks of daily use but at least it seems that it cleans easily.
- The temperature display is not accurate. e.g. If I set it to 70 degrees it will go up to around 60, then jump immediately to 70 and turn off indicating that the water reached the desired temperature.
- The buttons feel a bit cheap and there is one annoying dot on the display that is lit even when the kettle is off

Other
- It does beep for everything but I do not find it as loud and annoying as other reviewers
- The lid opening is small and will not fit larger hands for cleaning although this may not even be necessary as it can be cleaned with a descaling solution or vinegar

Demetris
  • 24 Feb 2017, Fri
Swan Kettle with extra features
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

100% satisfiedhighly recommendedlooks goodeasy to useextra featuresexcellent productworth every pennyThank you Swan

loup
  • 18 Feb 2017, Sat
Defective after nine months of use
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The item over boils when being used this in consequence I believe caused the hinge/opening function on the kettle to break. The plastic kettle hinge that is used to open the kettle has now broken after just nine months of use! If you buy a item such as this you would expect the item to last longer than nine months of use before becoming defective. Up to this date the supplier has not acknowledged the problem with this item. I do not think I would purchase such an item as this again, especially as I do not seem to get a response from the supplier!

COLIN HANNANT
  • 08 Feb 2017, Wed
Makes much nicer instant coffee!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've now had this for about six weeks and it works well so far. Good capacity, clear display, good precise temperatures. After reading other reviews, I was worried about the beep sound but it is not too loud at all. I can hear it from another room but when in the same room, it is not at all earsplitting. It certainly wouldn't wake my 8mth old baby if he was in the same room.It boils quickly and keeps the water at the selected temperature by reheating. It does this for 70, 80 and 90 degree settings but not the 100 degree boil. I have really noticed a difference in my instant coffee as it is no longer burnt and green tea is much better and can be drank straight away which is nice.Would recommend.

Amazon Customer

Product Description

Perfect for making all varieties of tea and coffee at 1.8 Litre and 3000w rapid boil. Temp Controlled to 70C/80C/90C or 100C Boil. Green Tea / White Tea / Red Tea 70C. Herbal Tea 80C. Black Tea / Coffee 90C. Builders Tea 100C

Box Contains

1 x Kettle



Brand Swan
Model NumberSK25040N
ColourStainless Steel
Item Weight1.21 Kg
Package Dimensions25 x 24 x 16.8 cm
Capacity1.8 litres
Volume Capacity1.8 litres
Power / Wattage3000 watts