Qualityreviews logo

Breville Barista Express BES870
Sage
B00U2E75YS


Brand: Sage
5
74%
(42)
4
16%
(9)
3
2%
(1)
2
4%
(2)
1
5%
(3)
Review 57 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Breville Barista Express BES870)
  • 01 Aug 2019, Thu
Best coffee I've ever tasted
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

Bought this machine as a progression from a pod machine, and I'm definitely not disappointed. Buy the right coffee (freshly roasted) and after a little tweaking of grind and dose amount and you'll never need to visit a coffee shop again. I highly recommend this machine, in my opinion is well worth the investment.

Robbo
  • 08 May 2019, Wed
Fantastic
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

This machine make the best coffee ever I have drink, Is very easy to use and cleaner.

Nivalda

  • 08 May 2019, Wed
A great bean to cup coffee machine
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

This is a very easy to use bean to cup coffee machine. You can really tell the difference when the beans are ground just before the coffee is made and the high pressure produced by this machine gets every bit of taste out of the beans. It also looks very cool and somewhat retro sitting on the kitchen counter top !

Aideylarge
  • 22 Jan 2019, Tue
Still going four years (almost) on!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Almost four years on, with daily heavy use by me and my wife I’m impressed my Sage Barista Express still works! An amazing value for money. We highly recommend this product. Looks gorgeous too.

KG
  • 27 Nov 2018, Tue
Expree expresso coffee delight
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

The instructions look daunting but just follow step by step and hay presto impressive coffee

emill
  • 24 Oct 2018, Wed
Loving the coffee
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

Bought this for my husband who after having a coffee from one of these machines, said he had to have one. Once you get the hang of the milk frother and properly read the instructions, the machine is easy to use. Getting the bar pressure to around a 12 (on a clock) results in the best coffee. I now love my latte and he's the cappuccino fan. May have been considered expensive but it's a quality machine and hopefully it'll last for years.

Chess
  • 25 Sep 2018, Tue
Amazing coffee
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

The best coffee I’ve ever had a lot to spend but worth every penny makesure you use fresh beans your in for a treat

KA
  • 11 Sep 2018, Tue
Fantastic just like costa
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

Use a good coffee and get some chocolate sprinkles and it really is brill

Tone
  • 27 May 2018, Sun
Beautiful machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Machine in black looks beautiful. It took me about a week to make first good coffee. Espresso is very creamy, very Italian.So far I'm super happy with the product.

Przemyslb
  • 27 May 2018, Sun
Beautiful machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Machine in black looks beautiful. It took me about a week to make first good coffee. Espresso is very creamy, very Italian.
So far I'm super happy with the product.

Przemyslb
  • 16 May 2018, Wed
EXELLENT DESIGNE AND QUALITY
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

YOUR COFFE LIKE IN THE BAR

MARK
  • 13 May 2018, Sun
Four years later,, and,, ,
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Four years later,, and,, , Just done a good deep clean on it, like new still and boy have I hammer this machine with coffees for the full four years. Some things you buy, pay well for, and enjoy constantly. I love this product, everyone who visits adore the joy of making coffee and admire it, to the point they have gone on to purchase one. Even at the price quality is quality.

LJ K
  • 20 Apr 2018, Fri
but bloody good cup of coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Expensive ,but bloody good cup of coffee.

Dafydd

  • 10 Mar 2018, Sat
Best kitchen purchase I have ever made!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was unsure about this at first due to the price but after trying it at my brothers I had to order one for myself. If you like coffee and having lots of control in how you make your favourite cup then this is a machine you will want to buy. I bought mine just before new years and have lost count how many coffees I've made from it. This coffee machine makes my favourite time and place to work from is when I get my one work from home day each month, that's how good it is.

marc castle
  • 23 Feb 2018, Fri
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Daughter loves it.

R. Colin Gardiner
  • 21 Feb 2018, Wed
nice machine, but you need to fine tune when ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

nice machine, but you need to fine tune when you change the type of coffee and this fine tune process is a kind of trial and eror type. if you want a high quality but one button type machine, this is not what you are looking for. The amount, fine/coarse tune need attention and water filter needs care.

Mehmet
  • 18 Feb 2018, Sun
Already chipping after a month of use!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I’ve only had this machine a month and already the black paint work is chipping off. Paying as much as I have for it, I wasn’t impressed with this. I’ve tried getting in contact with customer services but I can’t find a link/email address from amazon to contact them directly. That said, the machine it self is good.

Aaron Iman
  • 06 Feb 2018, Tue
I love the fact you can see the pressure so you ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've been really impressed with this coffee machine. The grinder is fast and efficient - there's little spillage if you leave it on automatic mode, but I do find you have to shake the filter a bit to make sure the pileup of coffee doesn't start to overfill. I love the fact you can see the pressure so you can finely tune how you want the grind if things aren't quite right. I've also been really happy with the steam wand and find that it does a great job at foaming milk; altogether a very nice coffee that is made super fast! The only thing I'm disappointed with is the fact that we purchased the black edition and the paint on the drip tray is very cheap - it started scratching off within about 2 washes!! I would have expected a better quality paint used for a machine at this kind of price.

Euan A. T. Hill
  • 30 Jan 2018, Tue
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Just brilliant

Alli
  • 28 Jan 2018, Sun
Great tasting coffee every time!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I absolutely love this coffee machine. It produces great tasting coffee every time. Of course you need to buy fresh beans - if it ain't got a "roasted on date" on the packet, then the roaster does not take their coffee seriously! Once the machine is set up for your beans (i.e. the correct grind size selected), then anyone can make great coffee everytime. When I get up in the morning, I cannot wait for a coffee. On the other hand, you will never find me in Costa or Starbucks again as their coffee is awful by comparison. Great product, but use good beans!

Dr. J. Tunnciliffe

Product Description

Full Flavoured Espresso
Click here to view larger
The Barista Express: with Conical Burr Grinder and Dose Control

"Almost every ingredient tastes better when it's fresh and coffee is no exception."

The natural oils that give espressos and cappuccinos their rich, creamy flavours start to quickly degrade as soon as the bean is ground. This product not only grinds it fresh straight into the filter for you, it delivers the right amount of coffee too, all at the push of a button.

There are 18 grind settings from course to fine for optimal espresso extraction as well as instant hot water for making long black coffees and pre-heating cups.

Heston's Tip: Check the 'roasted on' date on the bag and if it doesn't have one don't buy it as it's almost certainly not fresh (your best chance is at your local café,– the one with the queue out the door).

Try to buy one small bag at a time so that you can use it all within a few weeks. You won't believe how much difference freshly roasted beans make.

Inbuilt Grinder for Speed
all in one
Grind, dose and extract all in one.
Capture the freshness with beans to espresso in under a minute.
Click here to view larger

A barista will quickly tell you that the most important ingredient to deliver an amazing espresso is to use fresh beans and to grind them as close to the time of use as possible. Actually, it's best to limit the time between grinding and extraction to seconds, not minutes. That's why Sage have built a grinder into the Barista Express espresso machine.

The in-built conical burr grinder allows you to grind only what you need directly into the portafilter. It's fully adjustable in grind size and dose, so you can tweak to taste. The patented Razor dosing tool trims the puck for consistent extraction, while PID digital temperature control delivers accurate water temperature throughout the extraction.

With a dedicated hot water outlet, impressive steam pressure and dual and single wall filters, you'll move from novice to barista in no time at all.

Sage believe that the only way to design the most innovative and useful kitchen appliances is to understand the food that they help you prepare. What better way to innovate and develop, than to collaborate with one of the world's most celebrated food thinkers - Heston Blumenthal.

Compare the Range Product Details
the Duo Temp Pro Product Details
the Barista Express Product Details
the Dual Boiler Product Details
the Oracle Overview Low pressure pre-infusion and PID temperature control Conical burr grinder and dose control Precision extraction and simultaneous steam Fully automatic grinding, tamping and milk texturing Features Heating System Thermocoil Thermocoil Dual Boiler Dual Boiler 15 Bar Italian Made Pump ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ Low Pressure Pre-infusion ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ PID Temperature Control ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ Built-in Grinder   ✔   ✔ Adjustable Temperature   ✔ ✔ ✔ Heat Exchanger     ✔ ✔ Heated Group Head     ✔ ✔ Over Pressure Valve     ✔ ✔ Backlit LCD Interface     ✔ ✔ Auto Grind, Dose and Tamp       ✔ Automatic Milk Texturing       ✔ Programme Texture/Temp       ✔ Sleep/Auto- Off Mode ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ Cup Warming Trays ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ Tech Specs Group Head Size 54 mm 54 mm 58 mm 58 mm Wattage 1700 W 1850 W 2200 W 2400 W Dimensions 33 x 26 x 30 cm / 8 kg 32 x 40 x 30 cm / 11 kg 41 x 38 x 38 cm / 17 kg 41 x 45 x 38 cm / 19 kg Other Colours Available   Black Red and Black   Speed: 2 Lattes (approx time) 2 mins 45 secs 2 mins 30 secs 2 mins 90 secs

Box Contains

480ml stainless steel jug
cleaning accessories



From the manufacturer

barista express

the Barista Express by Sage

eat well, live well

Kitchen appliances designed to inspire people to produce perfect food and beverage results in their own homes with ease. From espresso machines to food processors, the innovation in each appliance delights. Sage makes the process a pleasure and the end result perfect, every time.

barista express by sage

True café quality, without the barista.

Create great tasting espresso – from bean to espresso– in less than a minute. The Barista Express allows you to grind the beans right before extraction, and its interchangeable filters and a choice of automatic or manual operation ensure authentic café style results in no time at all.

Special Features of the Barista Express:

Dose-Control Grinding Precise Espresso Extraction Micro-foam Texturing Hands-Free Operation

The 4 Key Elements of Café Quality Coffee

1. Dose - 19-22 g dose for full flavour.
1. Dose - 19-22 g dose for full flavour.

Have you ever wondered why your home-made coffee never seems to taste as great as a café bought one? That’s because most other automatic machines only dose 11-13 g of ground coffee, below what’s needed to create that rich, full-bodied taste you get out of bed for.

2. Temperature - Precise PID temperature control.
2. Temperature - Precise PID temperature control.

The difference between an ashy or balanced tasting espresso can be as little as 1°C. The Barista Express uses digital temperature control (PID) technology which detects and minimises any fluctuation during extraction, ensuring the temperature is kept at its optimum range, every time.

3. Pressure - Low pressure pre-infusion and 9 bar extraction pressure.
3. Pressure - Low pressure pre-infusion and 9 bar extraction pressure.

Creating a golden honey crema in your coffee relies on the right pressure at the right time. The Barista Express uses low pressure, pre-infusion to evenly soak and expand the ground coffee, delivering a sweet and creamy extraction.

4. Steam - Manually steaming milk to a silky micro-foam texture.
4. Steam - Manually steaming milk to a silky micro-foam texture.

To get that velvety texture in your milk you need the right steam pressure to draw in the air and create thousands of tiny bubbles. That’s why we created the manual steam wand for the Barista Express, that turns your milk into a silky smooth micro-foam, essential for latte art.

Special Features of the Barista Express

Dose-Control Grinding
Dose-Control Grinding

Integrated conical burr grinder grinds on-demand to deliver the right amount of freshly ground coffee directly into the portafilter for your preferred taste with any roast of bean.

Precise Espresso Extraction
Precise Espresso Extraction

Digital temperature control (PID) delivers water at precisley the right temperature, ensuring optimal espresso extraction.

Micro-foam Milk Texturing
Micro-foam Milk Texturing

The steam wand performs at the level that allows you to hand texture micro-foam milk that enhances flavour and enables creation of latte art.

Hands-Free Operation
Hands-Free Operation

Innovative grinding cradle allows any at-home Barista to grind directly into the espresso portafilter.

the Bambino Plus the Duo-Temp Pro the Barista Express the Dual Boiler the Barista Touch the Oracle the Bambino Plus the Duo-Temp Pro the Barista Express the Dual Boiler the Barista Touch the Oracle Interface Button Control Dial Control Analogue Gauge Button Control Analogue Gauge Button Control Swipe & Select Touch Screen LCD Screen; Button Control Hands on like a barista - ✓ ✓ ✓ - - Cafe Quality Microfoam ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Precise Milk Temperature, Automatically ✓ - - - ✓ ✓ Built-In Grinder - - ✓ - ✓ ✓ Compact Footprint ✓ ✓ ✓ - - - 3 Second Heat Up ✓ - - - ✓ -
Brand Sage
Model NumberBES870BSUK
ColourBlack
Item Weight12.1 Kg
Package Dimensions42.4 x 40 x 39.6 cm
Capacity2 litres
Volume Capacity2 litres
Power / Wattage1700 watts
Voltage240 volts
Special Featuresintegrated coffee grinder, milk frother