Qualityreviews logo

Ascaso Dream
ASCASO
B000MQVM72


Brand: ASCASO
5
63%
(10)
4
6%
(1)
3
0%
(0)
2
13%
(2)
1
19%
(3)
Review 16 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Ascaso Dream)
  • 18 Oct 2015, Sun
An awesome machine.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

An awesome machine...I'm using it for a month now and I'm totally in love with it. In the morning I can't wait to get up in order to have my first coffee and this means something!(can't talk about the steam function since I only drink espresso)

Mathias Drescher
  • 18 Oct 2015, Sun
An awesome machine.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

An awesome machine...I'm using it for a month now and I'm totally in love with it. In the morning I can't wait to get up in order to have my first coffee and this means something!
(can't talk about the steam function since I only drink espresso)

Mathias Drescher

  • 30 Sep 2015, Wed
ASCASO DO NOT HONOUR WARRANTIES !!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

DO NOT BUY ANY PRODUCTS MADE BY ASCASO, IF IT DEVELOPS ANY FAULTS OR IF YOU REQUIRE ANY SPARES THEY ARE NOT INTERESTED. THEY WILL NOT HONOUR ANY WARRANTY AND WILL GIVE YOU THE RUNAROUND. A VERY UNPLEASANT COMPANY TO DEAL WITH. BE WARNED!!!!!!!

dkf
  • 27 May 2015, Wed
Great machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good looking and great coffee

Judith Dutton
  • 11 Feb 2015, Wed
But makes good coffee.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Rolls Royce. But makes good coffee.

Rstew
  • 01 Dec 2014, Mon
Dream is Nightmare indeed
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought the machine in brushed aluminum and it looks fab, it did however stop working after a few months. I purchased it from http://www.barista.gr at a good price. After explaining to the owner a fellow named [name removed], he was happy to repair it as long as I paid the £65 to return ship it. After he troubleshot it, he stated it overtemped and I should have been able to open the cover and reset it and then held the machine hostage until I paid return shipping. I involved Ascaso who supported the vendor... Eventually after a few weeks Barista selections returned it, improperly packed and damaged. After sending them photos and a video of the damage they sent replacement switches and expected me to repair the machine. I also escalated this to Ascaso who again were apathetic. I can only say from a customer perspective, both the vendor and Ascaso are well below average.I had the machine repaired and it's operational, but have to say it's designed poorly. It loses all temperature when brewing the coffee, it takes forever to build up pressure and temperature for frothing milk. It makes loud chugging noises and if you remove the coffee basket arm from the machine too quickly it will spit grinds all over the place. And the temperature goes to near maximum just trying to froth enough milk for one cup.Seriously, avoid this experience and purchase something more dependable. Don't be lured by the dreams appearance, it will keep you up at night!

Mr Scott K
  • 01 Dec 2014, Mon
Dream is Nightmare indeed
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought the machine in brushed aluminum and it looks fab, it did however stop working after a few months. I purchased it from http://www.barista.gr at a good price. After explaining to the owner a fellow named [name removed], he was happy to repair it as long as I paid the £65 to return ship it. After he troubleshot it, he stated it overtemped and I should have been able to open the cover and reset it and then held the machine hostage until I paid return shipping. I involved Ascaso who supported the vendor... Eventually after a few weeks Barista selections returned it, improperly packed and damaged. After sending them photos and a video of the damage they sent replacement switches and expected me to repair the machine. I also escalated this to Ascaso who again were apathetic. I can only say from a customer perspective, both the vendor and Ascaso are well below average.

I had the machine repaired and it's operational, but have to say it's designed poorly. It loses all temperature when brewing the coffee, it takes forever to build up pressure and temperature for frothing milk. It makes loud chugging noises and if you remove the coffee basket arm from the machine too quickly it will spit grinds all over the place. And the temperature goes to near maximum just trying to froth enough milk for one cup.

Seriously, avoid this experience and purchase something more dependable. Don't be lured by the dreams appearance, it will keep you up at night!

Mr Scott K
  • 14 May 2014, Wed
The best one
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

the best handmade mashine. The coffee is so good . It is easy to use. The price is more than good for this quallity,

Jerry
  • 14 May 2014, Wed
perfect in every way : )
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a quality piece of kit, every part of it feels well made and I just love the retro look. It also makes fantastic coffee which helps!

hill44
  • 05 May 2014, Mon
Lovely : )
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Beautiful vintage styling in cool colours, well built (very heavy compared to my last machine that rattled about when in use) and makes an awesome coffee, what more can you ask for!

bargain78
  • 02 May 2014, Fri
Looks great but has its faults (poor components) and needs coninual descaling.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this machine (not from Amazon) to replace my Gaggia Classic, which lasted me around 10 years. After much deliberation I went for this machine as I had watched videos on YouTube and it looked like it made a great cappuccino and a great espresso with good crema. This was very true for the first 12 months. However, after around 14 months the thermometer stopped working - this is apparently a common fault as the service dept in the UK said "most people just use the machine without the thermometer". It would have cost me £60 to get it repaired (£20 postage there and back plus £40 part)I used the free Ascaso descaler after around 9 months use. However, I now have to descale the machine around every 3 weeks as the water simply stops coming through the filter. The steam wand never gets clogged. I think I cleaned my Gaggia (not as much as I should) around once or twice per year.The steamwand is a job in itself. It works but I have to turn it on for the "first blast" then after about 10s it has the power of someone blowing wind. However, after a 30s wait it does work. Since writing my initial review this now drips continually and the gasket looks like it needs replacing as it drips when I attach the filter head and make a coffee.Ascaso refuse to help me. The original retailer went bust and the new retailer won't uphold the warranty and neither do Ascaso to add insult to injury.So my advice is if you don't mind a £500 machine with a pathetic thermometer that looks great but is very temperamental, but when working makes a great coffee buy this.However, when this machine does eventually die I won't be going for this brand ever again. I will try a Rancillio or La Pavoni.

Jonny C
  • 02 May 2014, Fri
Looks great but has its faults (poor components) and needs coninual descaling.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this machine (not from Amazon) to replace my Gaggia Classic, which lasted me around 10 years. After much deliberation I went for this machine as I had watched videos on YouTube and it looked like it made a great cappuccino and a great espresso with good crema. This was very true for the first 12 months. However, after around 14 months the thermometer stopped working - this is apparently a common fault as the service dept in the UK said "most people just use the machine without the thermometer". It would have cost me £60 to get it repaired (£20 postage there and back plus £40 part)
I used the free Ascaso descaler after around 9 months use. However, I now have to descale the machine around every 3 weeks as the water simply stops coming through the filter. The steam wand never gets clogged. I think I cleaned my Gaggia (not as much as I should) around once or twice per year.
The steamwand is a job in itself. It works but I have to turn it on for the "first blast" then after about 10s it has the power of someone blowing wind. However, after a 30s wait it does work. Since writing my initial review this now drips continually and the gasket looks like it needs replacing as it drips when I attach the filter head and make a coffee.
Ascaso refuse to help me. The original retailer went bust and the new retailer won't uphold the warranty and neither do Ascaso to add insult to injury.
So my advice is if you don't mind a £500 machine with a pathetic thermometer that looks great but is very temperamental, but when working makes a great coffee buy this.
However, when this machine does eventually die I won't be going for this brand ever again. I will try a Rancillio or La Pavoni.

Jonny C
  • 23 Apr 2014, Wed
Wonderful!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

What a lovely looking machine. I was so pleased with it when it arrived - and more importantly, my husband was thrilled to bits with it, he's the coffee drinker, uses it every day. Easy to use, easy to clean and it looks so retro on the work top. Thank you so much.

Amazon Customer

  • 28 Feb 2014, Fri
L-O-V-E it!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this machine for my wife for Christmas - partly as a way to stem our expensive daily latte habit. We've quickly found that this machine makes coffee that rivals any that we find elsewhere. We're very talented coffee drinkers, but novice baristas, but we found that we could make great coffee very easily with this machine.We've been using it daily for two months now and don't have a single complaint.

Young Fella
  • 28 Jan 2009, Wed
Say goodbye to high street coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We've had this machine almost a month, and use it daily. It's incredibly sturdy, makes great coffee and is pleasure to use. The reason we chose this over any other model was that the water tank is on the side so you can top up the water without having to pull the (heavy) machine forward. Only niggle is that you need to use a spoon to lever out the slotted drip tray cover when you want to empty the drip tray.Makes excellent coffee, no regets buying.

Mrs. N. Mullett
  • 28 Jan 2009, Wed
Say goodbye to high street coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We've had this machine almost a month, and use it daily. It's incredibly sturdy, makes great coffee and is pleasure to use. The reason we chose this over any other model was that the water tank is on the side so you can top up the water without having to pull the (heavy) machine forward. Only niggle is that you need to use a spoon to lever out the slotted drip tray cover when you want to empty the drip tray.
Makes excellent coffee, no regets buying.

Mrs. N. Mullett
Colour:Cloud White

Product Description

The Dream is the unmistakeable icon of the Ascaso line up. Thanks to the unmistakeable retro, iconic look of quality craftsmanship. This machine regularly wins of the hearts of discerning espresso enthusiasts and baristas alike. The body of the machine is 100% aluminium and hand crafted. This is a versatile machine and is capable of using ground coffee, pods and pads. The machine is easy to clean and has a 1.3Litre removable water tank. Both the boiler and filter holder are made of brass. Single boiler. 2 year warranty.

Box Contains

  • 1 x Ascaso Dream Versatile Coffee Machine
  • 1 x Aluminium Tamper
  • 1 x Ground filter basket
  • 1 x ESE pod and Pad filter basket
  • 1 x Porta Filter Holder
  • 1 x Instruction Manual
  • 1 x Cream Plus double and single
    LI> 1 x Rubber blank
  • 1 x 3 holed tipped steam nozzle
  • 1 x Sachet of Descaler
  • Brand ASCASO
    Model NumberDR.20UK
    ColourCloud White
    Item Weight1.01 Kg
    Product Dimensions0.1 x 0.1 x 0.1 cm
    Special FeaturesCup_Warmer, Removable_Tank