Qualityreviews logo

Philips HD4671 1.7L
Philips
B001EHF3P0


Brand: Philips
5
67%
(10)
4
20%
(3)
3
7%
(1)
2
7%
(1)
1
0%
(0)
Review 15 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Philips HD4671 1.7L)
  • 03 Apr 2018, Tue
4 years this July and still doing a great job
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is the best kettle I have ever had. I bought it 4 years ago this July and I have never had any problems with it all. It is sturdy, easy to clean, buttons works perfectly (on button and lid opening button). Don’t know if it saves energy as I have never checked. It has been used pretty much every single day (up to 10 times/day). Only recently I have noticed the filter is broken and have ordered a replacement which was under £3. I was not expecting the filter to last this long. But what’s very important is that I clean my kettle every 3-4 months. I am sure this was part of it being in great shape still. I can’t stand a dirty kettle with limescale.Please, clean your kettles regularly if you want them to last. I clean it with citric acid that I buy from Amazon. Simply heat water in the kettle, pour 2-3 spoons of citric acid, close the lid, leave it for15-20 min, remove the water and rinse. It’s like new.

Laura
  • 03 Apr 2018, Tue
4 years this July and still doing a great job
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is the best kettle I have ever had. I bought it 4 years ago this July and I have never had any problems with it all. It is sturdy, easy to clean, buttons works perfectly (on button and lid opening button). Don’t know if it saves energy as I have never checked. It has been used pretty much every single day (up to 10 times/day). Only recently I have noticed the filter is broken and have ordered a replacement which was under £3. I was not expecting the filter to last this long.
But what’s very important is that I clean my kettle every 3-4 months. I am sure this was part of it being in great shape still. I can’t stand a dirty kettle with limescale.
Please, clean your kettles regularly if you want them to last. I clean it with citric acid that I buy from Amazon. Simply heat water in the kettle, pour 2-3 spoons of citric acid, close the lid, leave it for15-20 min, remove the water and rinse. It’s like new.

Laura

  • 26 Nov 2017, Sun
Good kettle with questionable reliability
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this for the stock cupboard as I have been pleased with this model in the past. I wanted to have a 3kW kettle for when my current one fails, assuming it will be after the 3kW kettle ban is imposed by the power police. I’ve dropped a star because my last kettle of this model failed with a leak, which looking at other reviews, appears to be a feature. I like the 3kW speed, easy fill, plastic body which stops the outside getting too hot, and the metal case which looks smart. I dislike the reliability history.

TC
  • 06 Oct 2017, Fri
Best kettle ever, in my humble opinion!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is my second one of these in 5 years and I still love it. The only reason it needed replacing was that through a LOT of use, a very hard water area and not descaling it enough, it leaked toward the last couple of months, my own fault for not maintaining it as well as I should. Best kettle for looks, capacity, ease of filling and visibility of water level and I seriously hope that when this one needs replacing, I can get the same again! (Even tempted to buy one in advance, just in case!)Can't recommend this highly enough and I'm a very frequent kettle user!

Mrs G.
  • 06 Oct 2017, Fri
Best kettle ever, in my humble opinion!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is my second one of these in 5 years and I still love it. The only reason it needed replacing was that through a LOT of use, a very hard water area and not descaling it enough, it leaked toward the last couple of months, my own fault for not maintaining it as well as I should. Best kettle for looks, capacity, ease of filling and visibility of water level and I seriously hope that when this one needs replacing, I can get the same again! (Even tempted to buy one in advance, just in case!)
Can't recommend this highly enough and I'm a very frequent kettle user!

Mrs G.
  • 20 Aug 2017, Sun
Still going strong 6 years on!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was in the market for a new kettle for my new kitchen and wanted something that looked ultra modern and to the minute (cost no issue). However, I happened to come across this one which is the one I am looking to replace (it's my old one) and out of interest I just checked to see how long ago I actually bought it. I knew it's probably the longest serving kettle I've had to date but I was very surprised to see I had bought it from Amazon in 2011!! I have had no problems whatsoever during that time and everyone comments how it makes a good brew. It still polishes up like new with a bit of stainless steel cleaner and it's almost half the cost of the more designer kettles. After reading reviews of the designer kettles at twice the price I'm now thinking of sticking with this one for a while longer and replacing it with the same again as it has served me well. I can't bring myself to pay twice the price for a designer one that looks nice but the majority seem to fail after only 18 months. Generally electrical products don't seem to last very long these systems, especially given the price we pay for them, but this kettle is still going strong 6 years on and so I thought it was worthy of a review to let you all know!

Polished Diamond
  • 20 Aug 2017, Sun
Still going strong 6 years on!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was in the market for a new kettle for my new kitchen and wanted something that looked ultra modern and to the minute (cost no issue). However, I happened to come across this one which is the one I am looking to replace (it's my old one) and out of interest I just checked to see how long ago I actually bought it. I knew it's probably the longest serving kettle I've had to date but I was very surprised to see I had bought it from Amazon in 2011!! I have had no problems whatsoever during that time and everyone comments how it makes a good brew. It still polishes up like new with a bit of stainless steel cleaner and it's almost half the cost of the more designer kettles. After reading reviews of the designer kettles at twice the price I'm now thinking of sticking with this one for a while longer and replacing it with the same again as it has served me well. I can't bring myself to pay twice the price for a designer one that looks nice but the majority seem to fail after only 18 months. Generally electrical products don't seem to last very long these systems, especially given the price we pay for them, but this kettle is still going strong 6 years on and so I thought it was worthy of a review to let you all know!

Polished Diamond
  • 24 Nov 2016, Thu
A tip for designers - thing about the weight and how easy your kettle will be to handle when full
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I returned this without using at it was huge and bulky and HEAVY. Lifting this with one hand when empty felt heavy, let alone when full of hot water. Suddenly, there seem to be very few lightweight kettles out there. After doing my research on weights of empty kettles, I've gone back to Kenwood, although even their new kettles are heavier and bulkier than their old ones. A tip for designers - thing about the weight and how easy your kettle will be to handle when full, with one hand - making a kettle pleasant to use is important, as we tend to use them many times a day.

nordic nomad
  • 05 Oct 2015, Mon
Nicely made and easy to keep clean, rapid boil and easy to fill with good poring action...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had one of these about 3 years ago, having used it for 3 years and living in a hard water area, it eventually died. Pleased to find the same model again and still well made with a very comfortable and well angled handle for poring. Lid is also metal and releases with a solid press to the button, feels like it'll last a while! 3kw now, so quick to boil and very easy to fill via the spout with a large filter allowing water to enter the kettle when re-filling without splash back - if you are over zealous with the tap pressure! Very clear dual water scales make for easy economy on filling and when you need the full 1.7L this has that extra little bit of capacity, say if you're getting your pasta water ready or topping up a stew. Recommend and hope they continue to make this model as will want one next time too.

ASB68
  • 05 Oct 2015, Mon
Nicely made and easy to keep clean, rapid boil and easy to fill with good poring action...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had one of these about 3 years ago, having used it for 3 years and living in a hard water area, it eventually died. Pleased to find the same model again and still well made with a very comfortable and well angled handle for poring. Lid is also metal and releases with a solid press to the button, feels like it'll last a while! 3kw now, so quick to boil and very easy to fill via the spout with a large filter allowing water to enter the kettle when re-filling without splash back - if you are over zealous with the tap pressure! Very clear dual water scales make for easy economy on filling and when you need the full 1.7L this has that extra little bit of capacity, say if you're getting your pasta water ready or topping up a stew. Recommend and hope they continue to make this model as will want one next time too.

ASB68
  • 02 Oct 2015, Fri
Plastic parts disintegrated after 6 years.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have had nearly 6 years good use out of this kettle - it seems to boil fast, I like that you can flip the lid with one hand and fill it whilst being able to see how much water you're putting in through the side. I like that it connects to the base by just sitting on it any old way - does not need to be lined up if you see what I mean. And the nice blue lit button when it's on. All great. Sadly however the plastic stripe across the lid has just totally disintegrated after nearly 6 years - I noticed a crack in it yesterday and when I just touched it it turned to what looked like sugar glass, just broken into millions of little pieces. So it's a great buy if you are happy replacing it a few years down the line.

sam345
  • 23 Jun 2015, Tue
BEST KETTLE IN YEARS - WITH PROVISOS!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've just checked when I purchased this kettle: March 2014, and from past experience I reckon it's the best kettle I've bought in years. It's on day in and day out, much more than 'average use' and is still going strong.As it's stainless steel there has been none of that horrible plasticky taste. Have bought (very heavy) filter kettles in the past which didn't come up to this standard and they all conked out after only a couple/few months. As did an expensive Bosch kettle.Lid opens fully to allow ease of filling - a real bonus when loads of designs now only partially open (style over substance).UPDATE: FRIDAY 15.07.2016I've read a lot of user reviews stating kettle doesn't switch off which is truly alarming. I know the one occasion when I was distracted and didn't close the lid down, and yes, it would have boiled it's head off if I hadn't come back in the kitchen and pushed the lid down when it switched off in the normal way.One anomaly that seriously annoys: you can't boil less than the '3 cups' marker, at least not this particular one. Boil any less, even 2 cups, it'll boil fine but the safety cut-out kicks in and until it cools down - at least 30 minutes!!! - then it can't be used. So it's not that practical or economical for light users or usage.Because of this issue I have reduced this product from 5 star to 4 star accordingly.One negative for light users: I tend to fill to a minimum level of 3 cups as I've found that 1 or 2 cups boils fine but the safety feature means this kettle needs to cool down for many minutes before it's ready to go again.

Russet
  • 08 Jan 2014, Wed
So far so good.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The kettle arrived in Amazon's normal good posting time.It looks like a more expensive kettle in the kitchen, though I had at first thought and would have preferred it if it was a stainless steel inside as well as out. Anyway it boils very quickly, but to me it sounds quite noisy, though I think that's because I usually only boil enough water for a mug full, which is about 2 cups.I was surprised how heavy it was though as well, heavier by far than any other normal type kettle I have previously had, even empty. No idea why that is?Anyway I boiled a couple of kettles full just to wash it out, but as others have reported, the horrible plastic taste remained. Given the weight and the bad taste I considered sending it back, because my previous kettle was an all plastic £5 one from Asda and I never had any problems with it. I have had that dirt cheap ASDA kettle about 3 years so far and it still lights up blue when on and you have the same cup measuring window in both sides of that as well, so I started to wonder why I had bothered spending so much more money this time, just so it looked a bit better and maybe boiled a bit quicker. I know I'm supposed to be reviewing this Phillips kettle, but I have to say what a huge BARGAIN the cheap no fuss ASDA kettles are, especially when at 5 quid if it goes wrong you just chuck it out and get another, but its been more reliable than some costing 6 times the price.Anyway after about 2 days it stopped tasting plasticky so I'm keeping it, but the penny has dropped that more expensive has nothing to do with quality these days.

Diablo13

  • 06 Dec 2013, Fri
Very quiet during boil, easy to fill and to pour, attractive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The first Philips kettle ever purchased, bought to replace one bought very recently of another brand whose filling system quickly became a nuisance as it required filling and repeatedly emptying a hopper.This is very attractive-looking kettle with a brushed metallic outer for the most part and with black plastic accents, mostly for the handle and spout. It can be filled through the spout or by raising the lid; a release button is fitted at the top of the handle at the point where it flattens to meet the lid. The power switch is below the handle, as is most common and it illuminates blue when on. A large filter is fitted internally and uses a slotted fitting which is easier to remove and replace than any other used to date.The kettle is nested within the base and the lead is the usual 60cm length or thereabouts and fits within one of three cut-outs in the base which can tuck any excess out of the way. In shape and size, it is short and stubby rather than tall and thin.In use it is very quiet and the kettle does not jump on its base as some seem to do. Its weight empty is reasonable and balance in the hand is quite good when about half-filled although it will vary with smaller or greater quantities. There are volume guages on the sides mid-way between handle and spout and both are marked in cups, maximum is about 6.5 cups or 1.7 litres but no other metric markings are used.Although it is very early in its use, I am so far very happy.

Londoner
  • 06 Dec 2013, Fri
Very quiet during boil, easy to fill and to pour, attractive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The first Philips kettle ever purchased, bought to replace one bought very recently of another brand whose filling system quickly became a nuisance as it required filling and repeatedly emptying a hopper.

This is very attractive-looking kettle with a brushed metallic outer for the most part and with black plastic accents, mostly for the handle and spout. It can be filled through the spout or by raising the lid; a release button is fitted at the top of the handle at the point where it flattens to meet the lid. The power switch is below the handle, as is most common and it illuminates blue when on. A large filter is fitted internally and uses a slotted fitting which is easier to remove and replace than any other used to date.

The kettle is nested within the base and the lead is the usual 60cm length or thereabouts and fits within one of three cut-outs in the base which can tuck any excess out of the way. In shape and size, it is short and stubby rather than tall and thin.

In use it is very quiet and the kettle does not jump on its base as some seem to do. Its weight empty is reasonable and balance in the hand is quite good when about half-filled although it will vary with smaller or greater quantities. There are volume guages on the sides mid-way between handle and spout and both are marked in cups, maximum is about 6.5 cups or 1.7 litres but no other metric markings are used.

Although it is very early in its use, I am so far very happy.

Londoner
Style Name:Kettle

Product Description

Reduce your energy consumption by only boiling what you need

The Philips HD4671/20 brushed metal energy efficient kettle is a stylish metal kettle with unique feature: the one-cup indicator. This allows you to avoid boiling more water than you need, saving up to 66% energy compared to a regular kettle, and helping you to reduce your impact on the environment.

Safe to use

  • Hinged locking lid: easy to use, maximum safety.
  • Lid stays cool for optimal safety.
Easy to use
  • Cord storage in base.
  • Pirouette 360° centre connector for easy lifting and placing.
  • Light indicates when the kettle is switched on.
Quick to clean
  • Flat heating element for fast boiling and easy cleaning.
  • Double action filter for clear water and a cleaner kettle.
Energy-saving one-cup water level indicator

The Philips HD4671/20's unique one-cup water level indicator allows you to only boil the water you need and no more, saving up to 66% energy compared to a regular kettle, reducing your boiling time, electricity bill and your impact on the environment.

Note : Some common misuses with regards to leaks and crackling noises are scale related. Depending on water hardness, kettles do need to be descaled every 1-3 months. This will remove impurities and extend the life of the kettle.
Also, there is a minimum amount of water that can be boiled in a kettle at once, if there is too little the kettle may not switch on to boil - this is a feature called boil-dry protection.Kettles will produce louder noise as it reaches boiling point, this is normal.
If the lid is not closed completely before the unit starts to boil it will take longer for the unit to shut off.
Philips Energy Effiecient Kettles - HD4671/20

Philips Energy Effiecient Kettles cup measurement indicator- HD4671/20

Philips Energy Effiecient Kettles on/off button - HD4671/20

Box Contains

  • 1 &times
  • 1 x Philips HD4671/20 brushed metal energy efficient kettle
  • 1 &times
  • 1 x Product instructions


  • Brand Philips
    Model NumberHD4671/20
    ColourSilver
    Item Weight2 Kg
    Product Dimensions27.2 x 16.2 x 24.7 cm
    Capacity1.7 litres
    Volume Capacity1.7 litres
    Power / Wattage3000 watts
    Voltage240 volts
    MaterialStainless Steel, Plastic
    Auto ShutoffYes
    Special FeaturesBoil Dry Protection^Concealed Heating^Cordless^Water Filter