Qualityreviews logo

DeLonghi PrimaDonna S De Luxe ECAM 28.465
De'Longhi
B00LUH19DY


Brand: De'Longhi
5
69%
(11)
4
19%
(3)
3
0%
(0)
2
6%
(1)
1
6%
(1)
Review 16 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(DeLonghi PrimaDonna S De Luxe ECAM 28.465)
  • 15 Aug 2019, Thu
A little bit of heaven
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I had a cheaper version of this machine previously which also produced a nice flavoured coffee/frothed milk combo.The biggest difference with this one is the milk container holder. With this you can press for a cappuccino and the machine does the lot automatically ........grinds coffee, pours to cup, adds frothed milk......you only have to adjust the setting for coffee strength and length plus set froth dial to how frothy you want it.After a lot of trial and error, some enjoyable, some not so, I’ve managed to get it exactly how I like it and found the coffee beans that I feel taste the nicest to me (coffee as you’ll agree is all about personal taste)The water filter lasted for about 2 months, I make 2-3 coffees a day. It will tell you on the display when it needs replacing.It’s easy to clean, there is a process showing how to descale in the hand book and all removable parts come off easily for cleaning.The machine can be a bit glitchy at times though. I’ve found a couple of times when I’ve pressed the 1 cup button, this is my usual preferred method of making a cappuccino/flat white, the machine makes all the right sounds of the mechanism clicking and preparing to grind but then decides it’s not in the mood just yet so you’ll have to ask it again, and again until it reluctantly gives in and stops teasing you, much to my relief.There is a separate part to add pre-ground coffee and you easily adjust the setting on the display to show this.I do find the options for various tastes a bit confusing as you can have different strength coffee from mild, standard, strong, extra strong, combined with different length coffee from short, standard, long, extra long. I don’t quite know how these work together though as I assume more water going through the coffee makes it less strong, but less water on a mild coffee setting would result in strong taste.......I’m still working that one out.I’ve found a standard strength and standard length is perfect for me when using Asda extra special Colombian beans. Then I top up by manually

Mrs. D. Carr
  • 07 Jun 2019, Fri
Just awesome
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Nothing more to say. If you love your coffee, you wont be disappointed.

Lee Martin

  • 29 May 2019, Wed
Overpriced low quality unreliable machine backed up with awful customer service
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this machine after saving up for a long time, it managed to work for 51 days before the milk stopped frothing & the steam stopped working, It is also not possible to make two espresso simultaneously as advertised as one spout pours twice as much as the other. It was sent back to De Longhi who only repaired 1 out of the 3 faults and sent it back filthy.So I would advise you avoid De Longhi coffee machines as the customer service is shocking, the repair service is awful & the machines are not fit for purpose.

G. Enwright
  • 30 Nov 2018, Fri
WOW - A FANTASTIC MACHINE
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We are big coffee fans. We had a Gaggia Brera which was really good but took a lot of maintenance and the milk was hard work. We moved on to Nespresso which is so simple but never tastes as good.The De'Longhi S is a great machine (and very similar to the EVO S so I have put both machines in one review, it's just that the EVO has a couple of extra whistles and at the time of the review is cheaper! So given a choice I'd go for the EVO if you can get it for under £700 which it is at the moment).Setup: put aside an hour. It is all pretty simple but you have to do the unboxing, set it up and add in the filter (after testing hardness of water). It all worked well although the manual is in a pretty weird order so I followed it on the whole with reference to the order of the pictures. I was hoping there was a way to avoid descaling but this is in the book so being in London with our hard water I'll have to get back in to doing that (a bottle of descaler is supplied).Coffee: holy mackerel this is good. First coffee was a soya milk cappuccino. My wife actually started laughing when she was drinking it, she was so pleased. The milk was velvet soft and the coffee (using excellent Cafédirect Fairtrade Machu Picchu beans) was spot on. Better than well done outlets, in fact way better. It was scary how much milk is used but this is standard for the milky lattes etc. I had a double espresso which again was spot on. Interestingly I was ok with the water temperature but my wife found it slightly cool - you can change this in the settings. You can put the milk in the fridge between drinks, switching out the spouts is super easy.Variety: the machine does every coffee you'll want, from an espresso (of course) to a macchiato to a latte or just hot milk. And all the combos we have tried have been incredibly good.Space: a good size, it stands over the Nespresso machine but is quite good looking so we don't mind it taking up the counter space.Overall, we absolutely love this coffee machine, thanks to it's simple action

MartinRG
  • 30 Nov 2018, Fri
WOW - A FANTASTIC MACHINE
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We are big coffee fans. We had a Gaggia Brera which was really good but took a lot of maintenance and the milk was hard work. We moved on to Nespresso which is so simple but never tastes as good.

The De'Longhi S is a great machine (and very similar to the EVO S so I have put both machines in one review, it's just that the EVO has a couple of extra whistles and at the time of the review is cheaper! So given a choice I'd go for the EVO if you can get it for under £700 which it is at the moment).

Setup: put aside an hour. It is all pretty simple but you have to do the unboxing, set it up and add in the filter (after testing hardness of water). It all worked well although the manual is in a pretty weird order so I followed it on the whole with reference to the order of the pictures. I was hoping there was a way to avoid descaling but this is in the book so being in London with our hard water I'll have to get back in to doing that (a bottle of descaler is supplied).

Coffee: holy mackerel this is good. First coffee was a soya milk cappuccino. My wife actually started laughing when she was drinking it, she was so pleased. The milk was velvet soft and the coffee (using excellent Cafédirect Fairtrade Machu Picchu beans) was spot on. Better than well done outlets, in fact way better. It was scary how much milk is used but this is standard for the milky lattes etc. I had a double espresso which again was spot on. Interestingly I was ok with the water temperature but my wife found it slightly cool - you can change this in the settings. You can put the milk in the fridge between drinks, switching out the spouts is super easy.

Variety: the machine does every coffee you'll want, from an espresso (of course) to a macchiato to a latte or just hot milk. And all the combos we have tried have been incredibly good.

Space: a good size, it stands over the Nespresso machine but is quite good looking so we don't mind it taking up the counter space.

Overall, we absolutely love th

MartinRG
  • 24 Nov 2018, Sat
Superb machine, superb coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Wow!This is a superb coffee machine. I previously owned another DeLonghi machine - the Magnifica. That was a good bean to cup machine, but this one is in a class of its own.It is easy to set up, and you have the opportunity to set the water hardness to your local setting. This is important for me because I live in a part of the country with extremely hard water.I now know exactly when to de-calc it to keep it in good working order. If you are paying this sort of money, that matters!The menu system lets you change all sorts of other parameters too, like the serving temperature of the finished drink, which means I can finally get a cup of proper ‘hot’ coffee.I have an Italian friend who explained to me that the Italians like their coffee at a lower temperature, and this is why it is factory set lower.It has a large water tank, which makes a lot of coffee. We make 6 to 8 cups (lafge cups) a day, and fill it once a day to keep it going.It takes a bag of 227 gram coffee beans in the grinder hopper at a time, which lasts us about 5 days.It is very quiet in operation, far quieter than our previous model. One button starts the heating and rinsing process, after which you simply use the LCD menu system to select exactly what sort of coffee you want.There are very mild, mild, normal, strong and very strong options, alongside small, medium and large cup sizes.My wife and I both like our coffee totally different, and this makes it simple to both have exactly what we like.The options for milk coffees are also brilliant, and the removable milk container unit is a superb idea.Everything we have brewed in this machine has been superb. It even dispenses hot weather, so you can knock up a cup of tea should you be so inclined.As well as beans you can also used ground coffee through the little hatch at the top, and the unit comes with a water filter should you wish to use this to improve flavour. I filter my water anyway, so didn’t select this option.This is a serious bit of coffee making kit, and the price reflects that fac

Amazoniac
  • 24 Nov 2018, Sat
Superb machine, superb coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Wow!
This is a superb coffee machine. I previously owned another DeLonghi machine - the Magnifica. That was a good bean to cup machine, but this one is in a class of its own.
It is easy to set up, and you have the opportunity to set the water hardness to your local setting. This is important for me because I live in a part of the country with extremely hard water.
I now know exactly when to de-calc it to keep it in good working order. If you are paying this sort of money, that matters!
The menu system lets you change all sorts of other parameters too, like the serving temperature of the finished drink, which means I can finally get a cup of proper ‘hot’ coffee.
I have an Italian friend who explained to me that the Italians like their coffee at a lower temperature, and this is why it is factory set lower.
It has a large water tank, which makes a lot of coffee. We make 6 to 8 cups (lafge cups) a day, and fill it once a day to keep it going.
It takes a bag of 227 gram coffee beans in the grinder hopper at a time, which lasts us about 5 days.
It is very quiet in operation, far quieter than our previous model. One button starts the heating and rinsing process, after which you simply use the LCD menu system to select exactly what sort of coffee you want.
There are very mild, mild, normal, strong and very strong options, alongside small, medium and large cup sizes.
My wife and I both like our coffee totally different, and this makes it simple to both have exactly what we like.
The options for milk coffees are also brilliant, and the removable milk container unit is a superb idea.
Everything we have brewed in this machine has been superb. It even dispenses hot weather, so you can knock up a cup of tea should you be so inclined.
As well as beans you can also used ground coffee through the little hatch at the top, and the unit comes with a water filter should you wish to use this to improve flavour. I filter my water anyway, so didn’t select this option.
This is a serious b

Amazoniac
  • 19 Nov 2018, Mon
Top notch, quick, super-hot strong coffee!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We’ve owned a DeLonghi Magnifica bean-to-cup machine for several years and it has had daily use, providing a lovely cup of barista-style coffee every time. It’s been fault-free since day one. You can imagine our thrill at being asked to test a new model. We wanted to see how much better it could be compared with our already entirely acceptable machine. Well – it certainly is very different and pretty amazing, not least in its ultra hi-tech and cool looks. Ours is made from rather dull looking dark plastic, while this one is simply stunning stainless steel. It makes a genuine statement sitting on the worktop in our kitchen and has already created interest in everyone who has visited.Is it worth paying over double? If you can push to it, then the answer has to be yes. The cheapest DeLonghi produces really tasty coffee that always delights – that is our experience. Our now aging machine has generated more positive comments than any other "gadget" we own! But, the new one... well, apart from looking pretty amazing, also:- Has a Bluetooth connection meaning you can “order” your coffee from your phone.- You can automatically increase the temperature of the coffee to piping hot (our old machine has a fixed and rather too low coffee temperature, so we always add pre-heated up milk to bring the temperature up.- It's far simpler to refill, keep clean and use.- It holds more beans in a sealed compartment to keep them fresher.- The coffee is ready far more quickly – ours can often flash green for ages while it warms up, not the new one.- It has more steam pressure to froth milk way quicker and to a far better consistency.- It has an auto milk dispenser for frothing and can create a whole range of milky coffees, including pre-programmed favourites.- It has a surprisingly useful LCD display that makes the whole process clear.- I can't help looking at it feeling some awe that so much engineering has been squeezed into such a compact and rather beautiful machine.- Our experience of DeLonghi's UK-based helpline has been 100% posi

Scampo
  • 19 Nov 2018, Mon
Absolutely Fabulous - all you could ever want
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have had coffee machines since 1975 - I have had two Gaggia machines (the very original expresso machines ever). Great results, fussy, and eventually seize up if not regularly descaled. Followed by a Pavoni machine - same characteristics as the Gaggias, good coffee but fussy. This was replaced some 8 years ago with a De'Longhi Magnifica (Mk 1). Big difference: This was a bean to cup. Great coffee but very noisy, main bad bit was the time it took to return to coffee mode after using the steaming system - about 5 minutes making multiple coffee's and changes of mind difficult to manage. But still great coffee! This eventually wore out a bit due to very hard use and became mildly incontinent but still giving good coffee. This was replaced with a Sage Barrista. VERY disappointing, variable coffee consistency, and eventually failed after only 3 months. This was replaced by a DeLonghi Eletta Plus - OH BOY what a difference. Fabulous coffee that is consistently good and as you want it in every respect, easy to use and program, not noisy, and goes from steam to coffee to steam instantly. This is as good a machine as you can get. I have given this to my son and replaced it with a DeLonghi Prima Donna S Deluxe. In terms of coffee (what you get it for!) absolutely fabulous as you would expect. It has all the excellent features of the Eletta Plus but made throughout in stainless steel. It has all the quality feel you would want. It has a detachable auto milk frother if you want, or a normal steam spout if you want to go all barrista. I cannot see what more you could get by paying more for any machine. This has everything you could want or need at a touch of a button. Excellent and importantly consistently excellent coffee as you like it. Simply a fabulous coffee machine.

Amazon Customer
  • 18 Nov 2018, Sun
De'longhi Bean To Cup
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

 Having owned an older De'Longhi bean-to-cup coffee machine it had began to leak into the tray, so it was the WEEE pile for that particular product. This item came shrink wrapped inside the box, so beware of scissors scratching the material.Setting up took a while, testing the water hardness etc. I made a macciato and a Doppio (which seems to be a large espresso!) both were delicious, but I utilised the hot milk function as I'm not a fan of strong black coffee. It was easy to produce the coffees and the milk frother cleaned their own pipes.The water tank is located at the side of the machine, which is perfect and nowhere near the power socket.So far so good

Susan Random
  • 16 Nov 2018, Fri
Great coffee at the touch of a button
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The De'Longhi Prima Donna produces a good cappuccino at the touch of a button, as well as espresso, Caffelatte, Latte Macchiato, plain filter coffee or just hot or frothed milk. It is possible to adjust many aspects of coffee production to your own requirements, such as the strength of the coffee, temperature and volume dispensed. The quality of coffee produced is consistently good and, as long as you follow a good maintenance regime (regular cleaning and descaling) there is no deterioration in taste over time.Bear in mind that it is a large machine and, although it will fit underneath wall-mounted cupboards, filling the coffee beans may be tricky as those go in at the rear. The water reservoir slides out at the front of the machine, making it very easy to top up through the day as needed. You will need a sizeable work surface area, but it looks good on display and is worth the space occupied.It is a good coffee machine and worthy of consideration. If you want a longer read, the following are my additional observations. Otherwise, consider double-walled glass coffee cups for the best temperature drink and KEEP THE BOX so that you can return the machine when it needs to be serviced or repaired.• Build QualityOne of the best, with a solid Chrome cover to the drip tray and stainless-steel outer body with the rest of the components being made of good quality plastic or metal. It is built to last and a heavyweight machine.• Coffee temperatureThere have always been issues associated with how hot the coffee is; the machine produces a cup at drinking temperature, so it is not like an instant made with boiling water. To achieve the hottest cup, use a pre-warmed mug or, better still, a double walled glass cup. If you use an ordinary mug, straight out of the cupboard, your drink will be quite cool.• •Setting-upYou are taken through various settings so that you can customise the machine to your requirements.• Water hardness.This setting determines how often the descaling process is prompted to be run. We have soft water but

Dolphin
  • 27 Mar 2018, Tue
The auto milk frother is like all auto frothers
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The only bean to cup machine that can actually give you very HOT coffee...due to its temperature option in the settings. Steaming hot coffee every time.The auto milk frother is like all auto frothers...rather average. Its easier to just use the machines steam arm/button...and make your yummy frothy milk the traditional way in a steel jug. I cannot fault this machine.... its very classy steal is easy to clean, and it's endless options include programming your cup size.If this machine was ever to brake...I'd be totally gutted..and wouldn't hesitate in buying another.

Police247
  • 08 Jan 2018, Mon
Luke warm frothless milk
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Started of fine, but then milk started coming out luke-warm with no froth. Very disappointing.

James Rolfe

  • 26 Jun 2017, Mon
Much better than anything below it.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a very capable machine and produces very good, attractive! and tasty milk based coffees and amazing espressos with beautiful crema. It's low maintenance, fast to startup, cleaning is minimal, has a deep bean store and unlike a lot of other machines .. the clincher : its actually hot coffee that comes out..........So yes IMHO, other coffee machines cannot match this and I cannot see what going further up the coffee machine price range could possible bring to the table.After 3 months I have had an issue whereby the machine no longer says I am running out of beans, a tragedy of epic proportions! That said I did test the aftercare.. The UK Delonghi Helpdesk were very pleasant and Royal Mail picked it up in 3 days time...I will come back to update.edit : I note I have a real problem drinking inferior coffee now, while I wait on my machine to be returned..

Amazon Customer
  • 16 Jun 2016, Thu
Ace coffee from a brilliant bit of kit (updated review)
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Ace coffee from a brilliant bit of kit. Good price from Lithuanian seller, but ships with Euro plug and UK 13 amp adapter. Easier to just swap the lead for a UK kettle lead. Good communication from company, and a free packet of coffee too!.Update: 3 years in and a starnge noise appears when grinding. Probably needs a service. DeLonghi themselves are useless, failing to reply to emails, setting collection dates (where you wait in all day) and then no-one turns up. They quoted a minimum of £135 just to look at the machine. However I found a great local firm who serviced it for £35.Conclusion: Buy the machine, it's good, but don't expect support from DeLonghi's poor customer service - go local for repairs.

Martin
  • 28 Dec 2015, Mon
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Just got time to update the comment, was very very good machine, use it pretty much on daily basis, love it until I have got error msg 'water circuit empty fill water circuit', which seems to be the killer of the machine, which not able to get fixed easily, therefore get the machine returned, shame, guess I was just unlucky on that(reduce star to 4), but overall the machine does produce decent coffee-----Excellent coffee machine, love it! Really good price too compare with John Lewis

Dawei Zhang
Colour Name:Metal

Product Description

Makes perfect espressos at the touch of a button and enjoy cappuccinos, caffeattes and create other milk drinks

Box Contains

1x Prima Donna S, 1x Descaler 1x Water filter



From the manufacturer

De'Longhi Prima Donna S Deluxe

De'Longhi, Kitchen, coffee
De'Longhi, coffee, kitchen, bean to cup, full auto

ECAM 28.465.m

Makes perfect espressos at the touch of a button and enjoy cappuccinos, caffeattes and create other milk drinks

Personalising coffee as often as you want has never been easier. Choose from short, medium or long, try a strong or extra mild aroma, enjoy it piping hot, medium or low temperature. The machine can be used with either coffee beans or ground coffee You can prepare two cups of coffee with a single brewing cycle Long life coffee grinder with 13 adjustable settings Adjustable coffee dispenser, for cups from 87 to 142 mm Programmable automatic shut-off and switch-on Removable water reservoir (total capacity 1.8 l.) with empty water indicator Rinse and decalcification auto-programmes
De'Longhi, coffee, bean to cup, full auto, kitchen
Advanced dual boiler system (thermoblock)

For the perfect espresso – one or 2 cups it will always be the same perfect temperature. The machine also uses a separate element for steam production to create delicious froth for cappuccino, caffélatte or latte machiato

De'Longhi, coffee, bean to cup, full auto, kitchen
Memory function

You can memorise your favourite drink by choosing the amount of milk and coffee as well as its temperature, the quantity of ground coffee and the quantity of water

De'Longhi, coffee, bean to cup, full auto, kitchen
Automatic cappuccino and cafelatte

Patented “Automatic Cappuccino” and LatteCrema: micro-foam, creamy milk texture for a perfect Cappuccino

De'Longhi, coffee, bean to cup, full auto, kitchen
Easy to clean and practical

Turn the dial to clean and the machine will perform an automatic rinse cycle. The milk container can be stored in the refrigerator

Dinamica ECAM 350.75S Prima Donna S Deluxe ECAM 28.465 Prima Donna EVO ECAM 10.55M Size Compact Compact Compact Dimensions L x W x H 42.9 x 23.6 x 34.8cm 47 x 23.8 x 35cm 47 x 23.8 x 35cm Milk Frother Automatic Milk Carafe Automatic Milk Carafe Automatic Milk Carafe One Touch Recipes Espresso, Coffee, LONG and Doppio+ Espresso, Coffee, LONG and Doppio+ Milk menu ✓ ✓ ✓ Milk Menu Recipes Cappuccino, Latte Macchiato and Hot Milk Cappuccino, Latte Macchiato and Caffelatte Cappuccino, Latte Macchiato, Caffelatte and Hot Milk
Brand De'Longhi
Model Number132215194
ColourMetal
Item Weight11.5 Kg
Product Dimensions23.8 x 44.1 x 34.5 cm
Capacity1 cups
Volume Capacity2 litres
Power / Wattage1450 watts
Voltage240 volts
MaterialStainless_Steel
Auto ShutoffNo