Qualityreviews logo

DeLonghi EC 850
De'Longhi
B004J18S46


  • 355,43 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: De'Longhi
5
60%
(60)
4
25%
(25)
3
4%
(4)
2
6%
(6)
1
5%
(5)
Review 100 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(DeLonghi EC 850)
  • 12 Apr 2019, Fri
Makes good coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My second machine and it makes excellent cappuccino and lattes, easy to use.

Gill Evans
  • 03 Mar 2019, Sun
Great Machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We have this machine for 6 yrs excellent

Mayo Man

  • 23 Nov 2018, Fri
Top quality easy to use coffee machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Excellent easy to use coffee machine especially like the auto milk frother. Build quality is very good, so impressed this is the second machine I've bought. My only criticism is that water tank is a bit small.

Fugazi
  • 03 Jun 2016, Fri
Reliable, long lasting machine if well looked after
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had on of these for around 4 years with no issues. Comments that it does not produce hot enough drinks are fair, though I have found adjusting the temperature setting to the highest level produces an acceptable temperature (not to hot, not to cold).Also highly recommend descaling regularly, the red button flashing is a handy reminder, though you can also sometimes notice the hot milk function struggles when it needs a good descale.

AB
  • 20 Nov 2015, Fri
Love this machine!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I love this machine and what a great price! A cool as the milk frother is its a bit of a pain to clean. I would recommend this to any coffee lover for the price!

Amazon Customer
  • 19 Nov 2015, Thu
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Love it! Took a bit of setting up, then I read the instructions.

Mr. G. Houseman
  • 13 Oct 2015, Tue
Versatile machine but with reliability issues
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Worked perfectly for 9 months then if started to struggle. Sent back to manufacturer to perform maintenance repair.Working again but not 100% right. They also damaged the structure and the left side panel flaps about as they broke the tabs the hold the side on.When it was new it was great, ese is ultra convenient plus the standard basket let's you go for gourmet coffee too. The milk frothed perfectly and it has seen some serious usage. Reliability is an issue and if it can limp through Christmas I will be happy at that.

Mr Bee
  • 25 Sep 2015, Fri
Well-Made/Robust and Produces Good Coffee with an Excellent Automatic 'Milk Froth' Capability - Pricey....
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've owned this 850 model for about a year and have been very happy with it. It is robust and produces good coffee (espresso or coffee/milk drinks) with an especially excellent automatic 'milk froth' capability; no need to DIY with a milk jug/frother nozzle etc - for me this is a significant capability !You can also get hot water/make tea if you wish....-----I think it's worth mentioning from the outset that the 4 drink option buttons produce 'just' 2 types of drink automatically; what the doubling-up of those buttons allows you to do is precisely program different volumes of coffee with 2 buttons and different ratios of milk vs coffee with the other 2.So, if larger liquid volumes are programmed a 'latte macchiato' is made (as opposed to a 'cappuccino') since your programmed amount of frothed milk is dispensed first, followed by your programmed amount of coffee - a 'latte' is made coffee first.I say that as I also own a Philips Senseo Latte Select, which also froths milk automatically, but which can produce both a 'latte' AND a 'latte macchiato' (as well as cappuccino) since the milk/coffee dispensing is done in the necessary order as required. Some more quick comparative comments on this model later on....HOWEVER, as this machine is 'logic-controlled' you can interrupt/'skip' the milk/coffee automatic process (the user guide does mention this !) - so, you can manually make 'latte macchiato' quite easily since you first use the coffee process then the 'latte' process, stopping it after it has added the milk = coffee first then milk = 'latte macchiato' !!!-----I like this De'Longhi so much so that I bought (second-hand) the newer 860 model, which adds a switchable cup warmer and a nozzle milk frother option (this 850 only has a nozzle to dispense hot water). Aside from that I believe that the 2 models are identical. I now use the 860 instead, with the 850 in storage should (when ?) the 860 pack-up !This machine is essentially 'computer-controlled', with the bank of 6 push-buttons on the left offering FAR more opti

Mr. Laurence Williams
  • 25 Sep 2015, Fri
Well-Made/Robust and Produces Good Coffee with an Excellent Automatic 'Milk Froth' Capability - Pricey....
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've owned this 850 model for about a year and have been very happy with it. It is robust and produces good coffee (espresso or coffee/milk drinks) with an especially excellent automatic 'milk froth' capability; no need to DIY with a milk jug/frother nozzle etc - for me this is a significant capability !

You can also get hot water/make tea if you wish....

-----
I think it's worth mentioning from the outset that the 4 drink option buttons produce 'just' 2 types of drink automatically; what the doubling-up of those buttons allows you to do is precisely program different volumes of coffee with 2 buttons and different ratios of milk vs coffee with the other 2.

So, if larger liquid volumes are programmed a 'latte macchiato' is made (as opposed to a 'cappuccino') since your programmed amount of frothed milk is dispensed first, followed by your programmed amount of coffee - a 'latte' is made coffee first.

I say that as I also own a Philips Senseo Latte Select, which also froths milk automatically, but which can produce both a 'latte' AND a 'latte macchiato' (as well as cappuccino) since the milk/coffee dispensing is done in the necessary order as required. Some more quick comparative comments on this model later on....

HOWEVER, as this machine is 'logic-controlled' you can interrupt/'skip' the milk/coffee automatic process (the user guide does mention this !) - so, you can manually make 'latte macchiato' quite easily since you first use the coffee process then the 'latte' process, stopping it after it has added the milk = coffee first then milk = 'latte macchiato' !!!

-----

I like this De'Longhi so much so that I bought (second-hand) the newer 860 model, which adds a switchable cup warmer and a nozzle milk frother option (this 850 only has a nozzle to dispense hot water). Aside from that I believe that the 2 models are identical. I now use the 860 instead, with the 850 in storage should (when ?) the 860 pack-up !

This machine is essentially 'computer-controlled'

Mr. Laurence Williams
  • 18 Aug 2015, Tue
Great, but difficult to use
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Looks great, but very difficult to opperate

Trisha Loftus
  • 17 Jun 2015, Wed
It is my first coffee machine and really loved it. It is to set up (youtube really ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It is my first coffee machine and really loved it. It is to set up (youtube really helps) and programmed.

Noorul
  • 20 May 2015, Wed
Great milk steamer
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a reliable machine. Same as I had for many years for Nespresso just with powder or ese pods. Buy. Great milk steamer!

Snoddas
  • 13 May 2015, Wed
If You like to spend money every 2 years on coffie machine ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Yeah...Just right after when the warranty expired it broke down. I think someone wrote something similar before me.I had some problems with milk section - milk wasn't foamed poperly, but from time to time. I guess next time i will buy coffie machine with manually milk foam section.If You like to spend money every 2 years on coffie machine it's a perfect product.

Piotr

  • 25 Feb 2015, Wed
great espresso
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

hubby and son are coffee holics and the great machine will give great espresso and other coffees, great price now

Ann
  • 23 Feb 2015, Mon
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Working perfect!

Jana
  • 14 Feb 2015, Sat
Not so simple
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We were quite happy with the machine just until last week. Since then the Frother is not working any more. We bought the machine in August 2013. It is quite new and the coffee is still great. Can somebody help how to fix the problem?

Adrian Stehr
  • 04 Feb 2015, Wed
Great coffee but you need the proper size cup
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great coffee but you need the proper size cup. The milk can give a challenge when the cup is too big. Take the time to read the manual then it is easy to use. Value for money.

AA
  • 18 Nov 2014, Tue
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Makes great coffee.

LC
  • 23 Oct 2014, Thu
Had this machine for just under a year and now ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had this machine for just under a year and now I can't get it to work. Tried everything in the rather limited instruction leaflet, not a booklet, and just cannot get it to work. There is no facility on this web page to contact the seller, so am at a loss as to what I can do to rectify the situation.

Peter Frankling
  • 02 Sep 2014, Tue
Do not buy !
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had problems with the coffee maker and the after sales service is disgraceful ! They have had the machine back twice and it's still not working ! They have a policy not to replace broken products just keep repairing them even though they are under one year old. Staff rude at Delonghi and incompetent ! Think twice before you buy, not worth the money and no after sales care.

julie hood

Product Description

De'Longhi Traditional Pump Machine EC850.M

The traditional pump coffee maker with Automatic Cappuccino. With its elegant and refined design, EC850.M is constructed entirely in metal, which is a guarantee of sturdiness while still following the best tradition.  

Although it respects tradition, the new EC850.M is the result of all of De’Longhi’s expertise in the area of coffee making. The “Automatic Cappuccino” function allows you, with the single press of a button, to transform the milk in the built-in carafe into a thick and smooth froth, for a perfect cappuccino. Practical and easy-to-handle, the carafe can be placed in the fridge, and when it’s empty, by pressing the “automatic clean” button, a full cleaning cycle begins, cleansing all internal parts.

With a single touch, EC850.M lets you choose between espresso, cappuccino, latte or just hot water for tea or an infusion.

High performance does not mean high consumption. The system implemented in the EC850.M uses the latest generation in thermoblock heating circuits, particular insulation and very high-yield components, which can reach energy efficiency levels deserving of Class A. The customisable automatic stand-by mode allows you to save energy.

EC850.M’s ergonomic and “intelligent” structure allows you to access all machine parts from the front. 

Flow stop: you can pre-set and store the quantity of coffee in the cup.

Reservoir: slides to the front, allowing you to replenish the water supply easily without needing to move the machine. Cup shelf: allows you to place cups and glasses on the machine and have them always ready at hand. Drip tray: height-adjustable, allows you to use cups of varying sizes, up to a maximum of 10cm.

One Touch Coffee

Programmable, dedicated buttons for single or double coffee, caffe latte, cappuccino and hot water for infusions.


Rapid Espresso

Ready to use in only 40 seconds thanks to the thermoblock heating system. Thermoblock heating systems are an advanced type of boiler that can accurately control the temperature of the water, giving you that perfect coffee result. You can manually set the coffee brewing temperature. The EC850.M comes with a second thermoblock dedicated to steam for frothing milk. The thermoblock also saves energy by heating only the water you use.

Adjustable Milk Frother

The De’Longhi patented Automatic Cappuccino system helps obtain delicious cappuccino and latte macchiato and has an automatic rinsing system. After use, the milk carafe can be placed directly into the fridge and dismantled and put in the dishwasher.

Energy Saving Function

The standby button and auto-off features permits maximum energy saving to save money and respect the environment (Energy Class A).


Water Filter Water tank frontal removal, for maximum ease of use. Optional water filter, helps to reduce limescale and improve the quality of coffee and machine performance.


Filter Holder

EC850.M allows you to make excellent espresso or a smooth cappuccino with the gestures typical of a barista, thanks to the 500 gram professional filter holder. Designed to be used both with ground coffee or ESE pods, the filter holder is equipped with 3 interchangeable stainless steel filters to prepare one or two coffees, when using ground coffee, or to use the ESE pod. The “end-stroke lock” mechanism ensures that the filter holder is perfectly attached to the machine body.
Please Note If the user packs the coffee grounds too tightly in the filter then the pressure will build up and as the water cannot penetrate the coffee, it will leak out. The pressure in these is 15 BAR and that is enough to cause a violent reaction. A simple matter of not packing the coffee grounds too tightly would prevent this issue.

About De'Longhi

De’Longhi has been a high profile Italian brand for more than 100 years, providing high quality, efficient, innovative, and stylish domestic products. Instantly recognisable, De’Longhi possesses a unique design quality that, when combined with De’Longhi’s technical expertise, creates products that truly stand alone.

De’Longhi Quality and coffee

Quality and reliability remain integral to De'Longhi's brand values, and all products are subjected to rigorous quality checks. This is particularly true of coffee makers, a key focus of De’Longhi, and the top of the range machines are still designed, produced and assembled by hand in the Italian production sites, in order to uphold the expected high standards.

Quick guide to the features this machine has available:If the user packs the coffee grounds too tightly in the filter then the pressure will build up and as the water cannot penetrate the coffee it will leak out. The pressure in these is 15 BAR and that is enough to cause a violent reaction. A simple matter of not packing the coffee grounds too tightly would prevent this issue



De'Longhi Coffee Accessories

De'Longhi has a range of accessories that can be brought separately to compliment this product.

Box Contains

  • 1 x EC 850 M Coffee maker
  • Brand De'Longhi
    Model NumberEC850.M
    ColourSilver
    Item Weight6.6 Kg
    Product Dimensions32 x 27.5 x 30.6 cm
    Capacity1 litres
    Volume Capacity1 litres
    Power / Wattage1450 watts
    Voltage240 volts
    MaterialStainless Steel
    Auto ShutoffNo
    Special FeaturesMilk Frother, Programmable, Removable Tank, Thermoblock, Water Filter