Qualityreviews logo

Gunwerg Vektra VEK-1501
Vektra
B06WD19KWF


  • 64,45 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Vektra
5
47%
(47)
4
10%
(10)
3
7%
(7)
2
10%
(10)
1
26%
(26)
Review 100 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Gunwerg Vektra VEK-1501)
  • 14 Jun 2019, Fri
Not worth for the price, poor design
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Not worth the money, bought it in a haste, does not provide features like temperature setting, auto cutoff if no water in , will not recommend as you have better products for same price from other brands

Shashank
  • 23 May 2019, Thu
Fails after the warranty period, don’t waste your money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Button on lid snapped off after 2 years and 3 months of careful use and regular descaling.This has rendered the kettle useless as you cannot pour the water out unless you remove the lid, which defeats the object of a vacuum kettle.Contacted Vektra and they were no help, said you cannot get a spare lid and it’s out of warranty so tough luck basically. Don’t waste your money on a really expensive kettle that fails after the 2 year warranty period. Bad customer service.

Amazon Customer

  • 20 May 2019, Mon
Handle on lid snapped
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great kettle, used for some time but the top handle snapped just yesterday. I see this is a design fault and a shame it's not resolved.

Pete Quinn
  • 20 Apr 2019, Sat
Keeps your water hot after boiling it
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Lovely looking kettle though quite heavy when using

Ms. S. M. Patrick
  • 08 Mar 2019, Fri
Great in theory but poor build quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Repeating the same as others:Lid lever broke 15 months after purchase.

K Olszewski
  • 04 Mar 2019, Mon
Great product
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great product brought 3

Amazon Customer
  • 12 Dec 2018, Wed
Durability problems are dangerous
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

A vacuum kettle is a great idea but as others have reported this kettle wont last more than 2 years.The lid has a seal and mine has perished. There is a cavity in the lid and this now fills with boiling water when poured. Water runs out of the lid when you've finished pouring, and it has poured over my hand on a number of occasions and down my leg on another.I contacted customer services asking if I could purchase a replacement lid but none are available.

Grrrrr
  • 07 Dec 2018, Fri
The best
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The best

lisa sanderson
  • 26 Nov 2018, Mon
Great concept, poor build quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Like so many people we really liked the kettle when it was new, but the latch on the lid has broken so we have to take the lid off to pour. Please Vektra start making replacement lids. Also one of the little round rubber bits just under the lid has come off, so if it came with a few spares it would help. It is very disappointing for an expensive kettle not to last.

Anne C.
  • 14 Nov 2018, Wed
New Vektra Scalds User's Hand When Remove Lid.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

 DO NOT BUY THIS KETTLE.I've owned a Vektra 1.7 for 3 years and it was a fantastic kettle, keeping the water hot for hours. The switch broke so I ordered a new one. The new one collects steam, in the form of water - lots of water, in the lid. If you open the lid to pour quickly or for re-filling (remember the water stays at near boiling temperature for hours so chances are you may well open it again to top up while water is still hot) near-boiling hot water pours out from under the lid catch on to your hand.Because I think this is a very serious health and safety hazard and also because the previous kettle was so good, I raised this with Grunwerg, whose name appears on the box as manufacturer/supplier. The response I got could not have been less helpful and when, after much prompting, they eventually looked at the video they said: "this is due to how the kettle is being used and has nothing to do with manufacturing".I am appalled by their response: to blame the customer for misuse because I wanted to top up the kettle, to ignore the high probability of someone getting badly scalded and to ignore that I repeatedly said how happy we were with the very same kettle bought 3 years ago which never did this.Terrible customer service and a, previously, great kettle is now unusable.Unfortunately this appears to be the only vacuum kettle available. I've now put a thermos next to the kettle which is a pain but avoids repeated heating of kettle which is what sold the Vektra to me in the first place.

Jozeelee
  • 11 Sep 2018, Tue
Great idea but poor build quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We bought this kettle Feb 2015 for environmental reasons both to reduce the electricity used and to have a kettle that would last. It did to some extent retain its heat longer but still leaks heat through the base and lid however It would have heated up quicker due to its vacuum cylinder. Because we only boil the water we require this was not such an issue.
What was more important was the poor build quality. After 18 months the lever on the lid snapped off. This was replaced along with the rubber plugs that cover the screws which had fallen out and got lost. After 3 years the finish on the outside started to chip away around the top. This was a surprise as I thought the cylinder was brushed stainless steel. Finally the ON/OFF switch would not turn on the heating element although the light did illuminate on the switch. So after three and a half years we are throwing it away. (recycling)

Connie Piper
  • 11 Sep 2018, Tue
Great idea but poor build quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We bought this kettle Feb 2015 for environmental reasons both to reduce the electricity used and to have a kettle that would last. It did to some extent retain its heat longer but still leaks heat through the base and lid however It would have heated up quicker due to its vacuum cylinder. Because we only boil the water we require this was not such an issue.What was more important was the poor build quality. After 18 months the lever on the lid snapped off. This was replaced along with the rubber plugs that cover the screws which had fallen out and got lost. After 3 years the finish on the outside started to chip away around the top. This was a surprise as I thought the cylinder was brushed stainless steel. Finally the ON/OFF switch would not turn on the heating element although the light did illuminate on the switch. So after three and a half years we are throwing it away. (recycling)

Connie Piper
  • 07 Aug 2018, Tue
A little bit heaving
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Ues at home. Don't need always boiling water

Lucy bi

  • 27 Jun 2018, Wed
I’ve now had it 2 in months and both have ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I’ve now had it 2 in months and both have died! Can’t get any response from the ‘supportAmazon replaced the 1st kettle and said no need to return old broken one, and now a month later I’ve been charged for it,! And the 2nd kettle has juts broke.Awful do not buy!

Amazon Customer
  • 23 Jun 2018, Sat
Great kettle and insulator
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Its weird that a person could get hyped over a kettle but this lives up to it. The trigger to pour works really well though it was a little annoying at first, but the whole item feels solid and well built. I've poured a cup of tea 2.5 hours after boiling and it was still steaming when the water came out. Its been useful to not have to reboil the kettle every time i boil it and forget. The only downside i could think of is that it does take a while to boil, longer than some others, but other than that its really amazing!

Nathan Emberton
  • 12 Jun 2018, Tue
For a 'premium' kettle, you expect durability or the option of replacing broken parts
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Adding to what a few other reviewers have found, the kettle itself is pretty good at keeping water hot enough that you can pour a fresh tea or coffee within the next couple of hours without needing to reheat. Even if you do have to reheat, it barely takes any time as the water is already hot.

Unfortunately a few months after the warranty expired, the pouring trigger on the lid snapped off, meaning the only way to pour was to open the lid entirely, which is both more dangerous and also defeats the 'thermos' part of the design, as a bunch of heat escapes every time you open the lid.

Contacted customer service and offered to purchase a replacement lid; they responded promptly but informed me that replacement parts are not available for this unit. It's pretty disappointing, as when you pay a little more for a 'nice' kettle, you expect it to last and certainly for replacement parts to be offered (at a reasonable price if you're out of warranty).

Given what a lot of reviewers have said, I'd warn against buying this kettle unless you're happy paying that much for something that is fairly likely to break just after the warranty period expires. They don't seem reliable or durable enough to justify the cost.

Ron Seal
  • 12 Jun 2018, Tue
For a 'premium' kettle, you expect durability or the option of replacing broken parts
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Adding to what a few other reviewers have found, the kettle itself is pretty good at keeping water hot enough that you can pour a fresh tea or coffee within the next couple of hours without needing to reheat. Even if you do have to reheat, it barely takes any time as the water is already hot.Unfortunately a few months after the warranty expired, the pouring trigger on the lid snapped off, meaning the only way to pour was to open the lid entirely, which is both more dangerous and also defeats the 'thermos' part of the design, as a bunch of heat escapes every time you open the lid.Contacted customer service and offered to purchase a replacement lid; they responded promptly but informed me that replacement parts are not available for this unit. It's pretty disappointing, as when you pay a little more for a 'nice' kettle, you expect it to last and certainly for replacement parts to be offered (at a reasonable price if you're out of warranty).Given what a lot of reviewers have said, I'd warn against buying this kettle unless you're happy paying that much for something that is fairly likely to break just after the warranty period expires. They don't seem reliable or durable enough to justify the cost.

Ron Seal
  • 17 May 2018, Thu
Not durable.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It was good, but then after 18 months it broke inside resulting in a rattling noise, an odd taste and 20 mins of burbling after it boiled. Then the lid broke so the water doesn't pour any more.If you have to replace your kettle every 18 months, it isn't eco.

william j barker
  • 25 Mar 2018, Sun
Seems good, but two of the little rubber feet literally ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Seems good, but two of the little rubber feet literally jumped off the bottom of the base as I took it out the wrapping. It appears they weren't correctly pressed into the base unit during assembly.

Doctor Nemesis
  • 08 Mar 2018, Thu
Energy saving perfection
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Three months in and this is going strong, really like it and it seems to keep the water hot for a long time.

Amazon Customer
Size:1500ml/1.5L  |  Colour:Red

Product Description

As always, quality and durability are standard features of the Grunwerg range. Established 1945 Grunwerg is a renowned Sheffield manufacturer of quality catering and kitchenware, the product of choice amongst professionals in the food industry.

Box Contains

1 x kettle
1 x base with UK plug



Brand Vektra
Model NumberVEK-1501R
ColourRed
Item Weight1.63 Kg
Product Dimensions15 x 21 x 28 cm
Capacity1.5 litres
Volume Capacity1.5 litres
Materialstainless steel