Qualityreviews logo

DeLonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600
De'Longhi
B0012VI7QU


Brand: De'Longhi
5
65%
(51)
4
18%
(14)
3
9%
(7)
2
1%
(1)
1
6%
(5)
Review 78 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(DeLonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600)
  • 20 Jul 2019, Sat
An amazing machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this machine after trying my partners delonghi magnifica machine and it's amazing. If you like latte out of the two this machines I tried this one is the far better. I found that with the magnifica it was more hassle faffing about with the using the steam wand to heat milk and if you wanted to make a few lattes, it was a nightmare with the magnifica. This machine is a breeze to use, no waiting about for the water to boil again like I have to do with the magnifica. Plus the coffee is amazing to taste. I would definitely recommend.

John Cartwright
  • 02 Apr 2019, Tue
returned
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

we had to return as the coffee was not hot at all. to much washing after each use.

bb

  • 14 Dec 2017, Thu
Great equipment. I am very happy working perfectly
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great equipment. I am very happy working perfectly. The coffee is delicious. Delivery very fast everything as described, I recommend this seller

Marek Soszka
  • 03 Nov 2015, Tue
Very good machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very good machine. I use it several times a day every day. When using decaf beans make sure you hit the rinse button after every drink or it'll block up. Milk is a little bit cool but if you drink it straight away. no problem.

Amazon Customer
  • 13 Sep 2015, Sun
Performance at a price
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I would have given this 5* if the price hadn't risen so much in the couple of years I have had it,The good news: it makes fantastic coffeeEspressoAmericanoLatteCappuccinoAre all pretty easy to do. You just put the beans in the hopper every so often, milk in the jug provided (if desired) and press the "go" button for one or two cups.However, if you love coffee, the biggest possible choice of flavours is available in beans, and once I found my favourites I now take it short, neat and black. I get my beans mail order at prices from £7 - £15 a Kilo, and enjoy superior coffee every day without paying high Street prices.The bean hopper holds a full 250kg of beans. Next to it is a central covered slot with a measure if you wish to use ground coffee. On the top right is a warming plate for cups. And yes, you must use warm cups for great coffee. And the inside bottoms should be egg shaped, not flat with a hard edge.The water reservoir lasts us a long day for the two of us. We now use Brita filtered water, and you can taste the difference.The machine needs to be set up when you get it to the correct volumes for your various cups, fineness of grind (it has a burr grinder inside) and the strength of coffee youprefer. After that the control panel handles everything at the press of a button.It's a clean machine, rinsing when it is turned on and when it shuts itself off after the interval you choose. The default is about an hour.The water is pumped at 15 bar, so you get a fantastic espresso and a superb Crema. The nozzles for the coffee can be raised or lowered to fit different cup heights.The used coffee grinds are ejected into an internal hopper. The machine tells you when it needs the grinds hopper emptied, the water and beans replenished, and when the machine needs descaling. The latter is pretty much an automatic process once you have put the proprietary descaler into the water reservoir.It also looks good on the worktop!Things to look out for:It does spray coffee grinds and dust around inside the bottom of the machine

Cardinal Biggles
  • 19 Aug 2015, Wed
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

perfect coffee

Mariusz
  • 27 Apr 2015, Mon
Wow, what a machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Having owned a delonghi for about a year, I realised the old method of grind and twist the portafilter was too much effort when you wanted to make more than one decent coffee. Having also used gaggia I realised you could get our very wrong very easily. So, this came along and wow. Puts the coffee snobs to shame. Is not an art, it's clearly science, defined, with a pushbutton. Impressive machine, the 'old way' just seems so primitive. Customise your shot from long to short, fine to coarse, is up to you, and wow without a 1900 design. Enjoy coffee, not the snobbery. Buy it.

Brian
  • 04 Oct 2014, Sat
Best coffee making machine for home use
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Best coffee making machine for home use, compact and smartly made, does froth and good freshly ground coffee everyday...Mmmm..

Aureka
  • 13 Jun 2014, Fri
Great Product
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We have been after a bean to cup coffee maker for about 8 months especially this brand and make. Great product takes a bit go getting used to, but we love it especially that you can do the milk also.

Dionne Summers
  • 25 May 2014, Sun
De'Longhi Perfecta ESAM5600 Graphic Touch Bean To Cup Machine - Great piece of kit
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We have always been coffee lovers and the time arrived to splash out on our own bean to cup machine. Friends rave about these but to be honest I've always thought - How Much. Anyway, the order was placed and arrived in the usual efficient way by Amazon and all the while I'm thinking "is this going to be too complicated to use" Well, for anyone unsure all I would say is - place your order today. Not only does this look impressive it's so VERY easy to use and the coffee is excellent. It's used in our house mostly for black coffee however the milker is great. Fill it up, attach it, adjust for your froth requirements and all you have to do is push a button. There is literally no messing about and the milker is dishwasher safe. No more instant coffee for me - I'm now an official coffee snob and I love it :-)

***Vicky***
  • 21 May 2014, Wed
Bella bella!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Used to use a 'proper' coffee machine. A lovely Italian job with a portafilter. Was very dubious about this product. Don't know why, probably an element of coffee snobbery.Don't know why. This machine delivers an espresso as good as I've tasted. A great crema and a great temperature. Brilliant.

Fraser
  • 07 Apr 2014, Mon
Just what I wanted
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very easy to use. Makes Excellent Coffee. Adjustable to the way I want my Coffee. Highly recommended for coffee lovers.

Rakesh T.
  • 27 Mar 2014, Thu
Good coffee bad frother
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Produces a great cup of coffee. Took awhile to find the best bean, but the Costco Columbian beans work a treat. The milk frothier hasn't been great, it worked fine at first, but now refuses to dispense milk. Bad news is that Delonghi don't do house calls to fix, so its either put it in a box and ship, or a trip to their office near Portsmouth. I would of expected a better quality of service for this sort of money..

Mr. J. F. Horan

  • 08 Feb 2014, Sat
Superb
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have this machine for about one month and it makes fantastic coffee. It is easy to use, easy to clean - what else can i say.

Christtt
  • 29 Jan 2014, Wed
Works great at first...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Product worked excellently at first, however there are so many issues with the machine that it can become a pain to keep maintaining.Problems:* The only way to add in ground coffee seems to cause it to spill into the machine beneath, messing it up ridiculously. There's no place for a filter so you get stuck only using beans if you don't want to vacuum the thing after every single use.* Coffee comes out luke warm unless you have a HUGE cup with barely any milk. Using the cup warmer seemed to make little to no difference to this. I found myself needing to boil the kettle just to add in a little heat to the coffee.* Expensive - a lot of waste. An average bag does about 20 coffees for £3-£5 depending on your brand, which can start adding up if you have a family of three, and constant visitors and find yourself going through about £20 worth of coffee just to keep up. Unlike filter coffee makers, this uses pressure to push the flavour out of the grounds for ONE cup, it doesn't make a pot worth for a set amount that saves on the waste.* Within three months I found my machine's milk carafe stopped working, as did the hot water tap, and keep getting hot water circuit warnings. Nothing in trouble shoot guide to suggest problem, following machine's commands didn't help the problem and Delonghi's site offer absolutely NO advice on the subject. Now can't make any coffee whatsoever as the water circuit blocks the espresso from being made. Machine is an ornament.Good points?* Made nice coffee when it worked and became very addictive so much that family started snubbing regular instant in favour of cappuccino, latte and espresso.* As fast as making a cup of tea (maybe faster depending).* Cleaning up the used grounds from the beans is easy as it becomes hard round discs (I keep mine to enrich my garden soil - apparently adding them to hydrangea changes the colour of the petals?)The cost of this machine for what it is, I would say is really not worth the current asking price. £200, maybe, but definitely not the original a

GratuitousViolets
  • 30 Dec 2013, Mon
I totally LOVE this coffee machine!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I totally LOVE this coffee machine! We have been using daily for last 6 months and it makes the best coffee, consistently. It looked as if it might be daunting to use at first but not so; once set up (which wasn't difficult, just follow the manual), it's a doddle to use and fast. Cleaning and descaling isn't a problem either - we have hard water and it tells you when to descale. Would wholeheartedly recommend it - worth every penny.

amcg
  • 19 Dec 2013, Thu
Milk temperature is an issue
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

For a machine that's sold as being able to make " hot milky drinks and Hot chocolate " it fails miserably! the resulting drinks were tepid and needed microwaving. Could have been a faulty unit so I contacted the customer experience helpline, and my experience with them tepid milk is what you should expect with a 50 degrees centigrade temperature being normal.Now for all in one machine that costs this much you wouldn't then expect to have to warm your drink up in the microwave, delonghi need to wake up a bit as most customers expect to get hot drinks out of these machines.

J. Hinchliffe
  • 03 Dec 2013, Tue
Good coffee, easy maintanence
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am not a coffee gourmet and I was looking for a bean to cup coffee machine that will deliver quick and decent coffee. It has been more than 3 months since I bought this machine and I am satisfied with it. I love the cappucino option, gives the same result everytime with a single button. The only negative part I can think of is that it runs a wash cycle every time you start and turn off the machine. Im sure it is good for maintanence but I keep a cup underneath the nozzles beacuse its too much trouble to empty the tray each time. It told me to descale only once so far, I use filtered water and it seems to be fine.

SEriksson
  • 11 Oct 2013, Fri
Disappointing service
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this machine in May 2013 and for four months it gave excellent service. Then the heating failed on the milk side. I had to repackage the machine myself and it was collected promptly. I have been told that by DeLonghi that it will be at least two week before I get it back.

Doris Brighton
  • 08 Oct 2013, Tue
Good coffee but unreliable? No it's me.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The machine makes good consistent espresso, but has developed a fault (others have noted it) where it asks you to empty the grinds container, even if it's empty or just has 1 previous use! I keep the machine clean and use soft water.EDIT: I'm a dimwit. The machine asks to empty the grinds regardless if you haven't used it for 3 days. I should have read the manual.

Joe Briar

Product Description

The Delonghi 5500 Perfecta gives the ultimate beans to cup freshness with only one touch you can make the perfect cappuccino;The machine can be used with either coffee beans or ground coffee;The double boiler system, with one boiler exclusively for espresso and the other for steam/milk frothing, means your cappuccino can be made almost instantly with the press of one button;The patented Auto cappuccino system mixes steam, air, and milk, producing a rich, creamy froth for great cappuccino;The new easytronic digital display is simple to use and can memorise your individual coffee - choose from espresso, cappuccino, americano, try strong through to mild and at piping hot or normal temperatures;The digital display also offers a variable rinse and decalcification auto programme which can be adjusted to reflect the hardness of local water

Box Contains

  • 1 x Descaler
  • 1 x Full product instructions
  • 1 x Plastic coffee measuring spoon
  • 1 x Milk jug
  • Brand De'Longhi
    Model NumberESAM5500.M
    ColourSilver
    Item Weight11.5 Kg
    Product Dimensions43 x 23.8 x 34 cm
    Capacity1.8 litres
    Volume Capacity1.8 litres
    Power / Wattage1350 watts
    Voltage240 volts
    MaterialPlastic
    Auto ShutoffYes
    Special FeaturesCup Warmer, Integrated Coffee Grinder, Milk Frother, Programmable, Removable Tank, Thermoblock, Thermostat