Qualityreviews logo

Krups XP3440
Krups
B074DZ89F1


  • 109,99 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Krups
5
45%
(13)
4
21%
(6)
3
24%
(7)
2
0%
(0)
1
10%
(3)
Review 29 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Krups XP3440)
  • 24 Jun 2019, Mon
better cappuccino than most shops
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Krupp last years, clean them and they pay pack compared to store bought coffee in months

D. Robson
  • 03 Jun 2019, Mon
Very good
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Using it every day , you can have a strong coffee or just a long coffee , it’s up to you

Constantin Damaschin

  • 19 Feb 2019, Tue
Essential Kitchen Gadget for Coffee Drinkers
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've made use of the this coffee machine for a little over 6 months now, and I feel like this is a suitable amount to time to give a review and I would happily lend my endorsement to it! It makes a great coffee, although you may need to tinker with how fine your ground coffee is in order to get the right amount and consistency through to the cup. f0.5 seems to be about right for this machine with most blends!The machine itself is easy to clean, the directions for which are straight forward and easier to comprehend. The steam milk frother always works perfectly and gives you a professional barista quality coffee (almost) in your own home! It comes with a single and double shot capacity filter which is made of high quality stainless. Almost all parts are dish washer safe, although beware washing the press itself as the temperature may tarnish the plastic handle.To summarise, its quality, compact, looks cool and does a nice coffee. It's also really easy to keep clean!If you found this review helpful, please consider giving it a thumbs up!

Alex Smith
  • 15 Jan 2019, Tue
Very neat and compact
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This machine is an updated model and makes the perfect espresso

MRS HELEN E SHEPLEY
  • 29 Dec 2018, Sat
Coffee capsule
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

No where can I find a picture or any info on what type of soft pod ?or capsule to use.

PETER M STEVENS
  • 13 Aug 2018, Mon
Ĺooks professional .
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am not an espresso drinker,but this is a beautiful machine. It would make a superb wedding gift. Of course hot milk can be added to taste. It makes agreat change from instant.Very fast...

Saturnicus
  • 02 Aug 2018, Thu
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very nice, practical, quick and easy to clean

Nikolaos G.
  • 30 Jul 2018, Mon
Slimline and produces a lovely smooth espresso
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is ideal for my small kitchen and i have enjoyed several delicious cups of coffee as it delivers very good crema. It is very easy to use. I dont use the milk frother very often as it is the flavour of coffee that the machine produces that is most important to me but it is also easy to use and makes a good foam.

Gemma
  • 23 Jul 2018, Mon
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

works for me

KAB Aldhouse
  • 04 Jun 2018, Mon
Useless Steam function
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This machine makes adequate espresso but the worst feature is the steam function. it is completely useless, you only get 90 seconds of not very impressive steam which means you can't heat a jug or even a mug of milk, & have to wait for it to reboot. Very frustrating & not very impressive if you are entertaining & making coffee for several folk. Also the steam wand is very fiddly to clean afterwards & I had 2 blockages from milk in wand in the brief time we used the wand. This was never a problem with our previous machine ( Gaggia ). We eventually gave up using the steam & heat the milk in the microwave then use the espresso from the machine just poured in. I would avoid this machine at all costs unless you like being very frustrated and drinking lukewarm latte.

J. Crichton
  • 04 Jun 2018, Mon
Useless Steam function
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This machine makes adequate espresso but the worst feature is the steam function. it is completely useless, you only get 90 seconds of not very impressive steam which means you can't heat a jug or even a mug of milk, & have to wait for it to reboot. Very frustrating & not very impressive if you are entertaining & making coffee for several folk. Also the steam wand is very fiddly to clean afterwards & I had 2 blockages from milk in wand in the brief time we used the wand. This was never a problem with our previous machine ( Gaggia ). We eventually gave up using the steam & heat the milk in the microwave then use the espresso from the machine just poured in. I would avoid this machine at all costs unless you like being very frustrated and drinking lukewarm latte.

J. Crichton
  • 08 Apr 2018, Sun
It's annoying. The build quality isn't brilliant either
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my folks but have made plenty of coffees with it myself. At the time of purchase there were no reviews but now there's a few being left and there seems to be a common theme amongst a lot of them regarding the overflow tray. And yes it does fill up with water every time even after making a coffee for one. It's annoying. The build quality isn't brilliant either. Looks better in the pic as it's a mostly plastic construction. The coffee is decent though and the milk steamer does its job quite well. In retrospect, though, I probably wouldn't have bought it and should've maybe researched the market a bit more.

Mr.D
  • 31 Mar 2018, Sat
A compact, stylish and effective espresso machine, but lots of annoying niggles!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

For this review, I tested this new Krups Espresso machine against my trusty De'Longhi ECZ351.BG Scultura Traditional Pump Espresso Coffee Machine which I've been using to make very nice cappuccinos and lattes for quite some time. They are both manual espresso machines that include a steam wand for steaming milk and sell for a similar price, so I was interested to see which is best. Here's the lowdown on the Krups Calvi:

THE GOOD:
==========

* Looks very modern and sleek.
* A very compact machine with a smaller footprint that takes up less room on your kitchen surface.
* Includes built-in storage under the lid for the filters and measuring spoon (but sadly not for the filter holder!).
* The controls are very easy to use.
* The pump is very quiet, noticeably quieter than the De'Longhi.
* The pump pre-heats the water to the correct temperature very quickly, a bit quicker than the De'Longhi.

THE BAD:
========

* The steam wand is less powerful than the De'Longhi, so it takes longer to froth and heat up a jug of steamed milk. I found it took a while to get the knack with this steam nozzle as you have to hold it just beneath the surface of the milk to actually froth it up, whereas the De'Longhi is much easier and quicker to use. I find that it can take 90-120 seconds to heat the milk up enough, but the steam automatically cuts out before then as a safety feature, so you have to wait a bit for it to reach temperature and come back on again!
* The steam wand is a bit fiddly to clean. Unlike the De'Longhi's nozzle, which can easily be completely removed for easy cleaning, only the tip of this wand can be unscrewed and removed for cleaning. Because it's solid metal, the milk seems to stick to it and harden as it heats up, so it can take a while to wipe off the milk particularly on the main st

Ian Thomas

  • 31 Mar 2018, Sat
A compact, stylish and effective espresso machine, but lots of annoying niggles!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

For this review, I tested this new Krups Espresso machine against my trusty De'Longhi ECZ351.BG Scultura Traditional Pump Espresso Coffee Machine which I've been using to make very nice cappuccinos and lattes for quite some time. They are both manual espresso machines that include a steam wand for steaming milk and sell for a similar price, so I was interested to see which is best. Here's the lowdown on the Krups Calvi:THE GOOD:==========* Looks very modern and sleek.* A very compact machine with a smaller footprint that takes up less room on your kitchen surface.* Includes built-in storage under the lid for the filters and measuring spoon (but sadly not for the filter holder!).* The controls are very easy to use.* The pump is very quiet, noticeably quieter than the De'Longhi.* The pump pre-heats the water to the correct temperature very quickly, a bit quicker than the De'Longhi.THE BAD:========* The steam wand is less powerful than the De'Longhi, so it takes longer to froth and heat up a jug of steamed milk. I found it took a while to get the knack with this steam nozzle as you have to hold it just beneath the surface of the milk to actually froth it up, whereas the De'Longhi is much easier and quicker to use. I find that it can take 90-120 seconds to heat the milk up enough, but the steam automatically cuts out before then as a safety feature, so you have to wait a bit for it to reach temperature and come back on again!* The steam wand is a bit fiddly to clean. Unlike the De'Longhi's nozzle, which can easily be completely removed for easy cleaning, only the tip of this wand can be unscrewed and removed for cleaning. Because it's solid metal, the milk seems to stick to it and harden as it heats up, so it can take a while to wipe off the milk particularly on the main stem which cannot be removed.* The steam wand pressure cannot be adjusted, unlike the De'Longhi - it is either on or off.* The internal boiler drains excess hot water into the drip tray, which fills up very quickly and needs emptying after every use

Ian Thomas
  • 25 Mar 2018, Sun
Compact machine, easy to use
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am very pleased, generally, with this compact, simple coffee machine. It is a perfect size for our kitchen and although not espresso drinkers per se, it makes an excellent cup of ground coffee.It is easy to use and makes a mug of coffee or 2 small cups in a single use. With experience, I have found that preheating the mug makes for a hotter cup of coffee. There is a steam facility to heat the milk for cappuccinos but, as yet, I haven’t found this heats the milk to the right temperature for me.It is easy to use and clean. For some reason the drip tray does fill up with water over several uses but it is simple enough to empty.I am confident that with time and practice I will achieve the perfect cup of coffee!

M. Young
  • 19 Mar 2018, Mon
Good machine but not my cup of tea :)
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a well made machine that does not take up too much room on the kitchen worktop and looks smart in its piano black and silver finish. Even though the majority of the machine is made from plastic it does not feel flimsy and, so far, has operated flawlessly.The reasons that I have not given it a five star rating are as follows:• This is a one-trick pony, it makes Espresso coffee.• It is fiddly to use and even more so to clean. The initial cleaning cycle takes around ten minutes to complete.• There are two nozzles from which the coffee pours (even when using the one-cup filter) and you need the liquid to start flowing before you know exactly where to place your cup.• Each time that I have made a cup of coffee the drip tray has filled with water and so needs emptying regularly.• There is nowhere to store the filter holder when not in use. It sticks out some 10cm from the front of the machine, so it regularly gets knocked.The bottom line is that I find this machine takes quite a lot of faffing around to make a 50ml Espresso whereas my Tassimo can make a wide variety of hot drinks in much quicker time and is far more convenient.

Pete F.
  • 04 Mar 2018, Sun
Smart and compact, makes a good strong espresso with a decent crema ☕
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Simplicity is often best with kitchen gadgetry, and this coffee machine gets that just right. It's a compact, minimalist and smart-looking device, which doesn't have a huge kitchen footprint (ideal for tiny kitchens!) and does its one core job perfectly well. Turn it on, prime it, make your espresso shots. That's it (with a bit of milk steaming if you really want it). Couldn't (and probably shouldn't) ask for more in an appliance like this.It's pretty efficient, and I get a nice strong espresso shot from a multi-second blast with a single scoop of grounds. I've found the froth / crema really quite pleasing - a lot depends on the kind of coffee you use, of course, but even with supermarket-own-brand grounds, I've had a lovely espresso cremoso!The scoop itself is neatly hidden away in the lid of the machine - a nice design feature that makes the device even more small-kitchen-friendly.The drip tray does seem to fill up quite fast - the steam pump, as well as the coffee head, both seem very eager drippers! When running a shot of coffee through, for example, it continues to drip for a few seconds longer than I've experienced with other machines. Easy problem to solve - leave your glass / cup there a bit longer. But it's worth being aware of it, and keeping an eye on that drip tray to avoid it getting too full.Not quite a Ferrari of coffee machines, but who needs a Ferrari when a smart Mini will do the same job? Solid job from a quality, compact and well-built device.

R. WEST-SOLEY
  • 28 Feb 2018, Wed
You’re paying for the name
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have and use a De’Longhi bean to cup machine regularly but I wanted a smaller machine for my home office so was excited to try this. I don’t think it’s worth the money as the results aren’t that great, and you have to empty the drip tray after every use really. A big disappointment as I had always wanted to try a Krups machine.

Flickering Ember
  • 13 Feb 2018, Tue
Works well
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The XP344040 works well and produces an excellent cup of espresso. It's quite a compact machine, which is good as not all of us have room in the kitchen for a massive espresso machine. It's quite simple to operate, having only four selections on the control switch, for pre-heating water and 'on' for both the coffee itself and for the side-mounted steam output (for warming milk). The water tank is on the back of the machine, but it's quite easy to see how full it is by peeking down the side. It has a detachable drip tray for easy emptying. I like it.

Martyn Davies
  • 12 Feb 2018, Mon
Stylish and very easy to use for a great coffee taste.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was very impressed with the Krups Espresso coffee filter machine. It is extremely stylish and very easy to use. The ground coffee spoon is hidden away with the two-cup metal filter and there is also a de-clogging pin taped safely away under the lid which also covers the water container at the back of the machine. Neatness and tidyness has obviously been well thought out here.The water container is easily removed and I suggest using room temperature water that has already been filtered. The instructions recommend running the water through the system five times and this will also check to ensure that all parts are working properly. Once this procedure has been done initially, you are ready to make your first espresso coffee or cappuccino. The dial on the front of the machine allows you to heat and froth your milk and turning the dial in the opposite direction gives you the espresso coffee. It really could not be any simpler.There is a drip tray which is easily removed and I suggest doing so every time the machine is used. It is surprising how much water collects in the bottom. Also, I place a small espresso cup and saucer on the drip tray after finishing using the machine as I have discovered dried residual coffee grains fall from the machine's taps and are easily discarded. This is a really great machine and I am extremely pleased with it.

Bryan

Product Description

Calling all budding baristas: master the perfect espresso in the comfort of your home with the Calvi XP344040 manual espresso machine by KRUPS. Finished in stylish black and silver, Calvi’s compact design conceals a powerhouse of high-performance components for perfect in-cup results, every time. Our patented Compact Thermoblock System preheats water faster so Calvi is ready to use in as little as 40 seconds, while electronic temperature regulation consistently hot coffee from first to last cup. 15-bar pump pressure extracts maximum flavour and none of the bitterness, producing great tasting coffee with excellent crema. With just a power button and a single front control knob, this little espresso wonder is incredibly easy to use. Simply turn the knob to pump coffee, heat the cup warmer or use the steam nozzle. Calvi comes complete with a universal filter holder that’s compatible with both ground coffee and soft pods, plus one- and two-cup filters – make two cups at once or enjoy a double shot for a more intense flavour. The powerful steam nozzle froths milk quickly, allowing you to prepare any milky drink – from a flat white to a cappuccino. Calvi’s 1.1L water tank and drip tray are removable for easy cleaning, while a lid on top hides the two filters and measuring spoon.

Box Contains

1 x Krups Calvi Steam Manual Espresso Machine 1 x Instruction Manual



From the manufacturer

Krups XP344040 Calvi Manual Espresso Machine, 1500 W, Black

About Krups

Krups began its journey towards good coffee back in 1846 as a brand dedicated to precision and technical enhancement. Krups has continued to build on its widespread reputation for quality, far sighted design and technical refinement. With Krups, you can have a stress free, quick and easy coffee solution. Enjoy the pleasures of drinking and making a variety of coffees in minutes from the comfort of your own home with Krups.

Prepare Authentic, Creamy Espresso In The Comfort Of Your Own Home

Calling all budding baristas: master the perfect espresso in the comfort of your home with the Calvi XP344040 manual espresso machine by Krups . Finished in stylish black and silver, Calvi’s compact design conceals a powerhouse of high-performance components for perfect in-cup results, every time.

  • High-performance technology in a compact design for authentic, creamy espresso at home
  • Compact Thermoblock preheats water in 40 seconds for consistently hot coffee from the first cup
  • Simple to use, with a single front control knob, plus one- and two-cup filters for single or double shots
  • Steam nozzle prepares milky drinks with ease, from flat whites to lattes, all with a perfect foam finish

High-performance, Compact Espresso Machine For Hot, Barista-quality Coffee

Our patented Compact Thermoblock System preheats water faster so Calvi is ready to use in as little as 40 seconds, while electronic temperature regulation guarantees consistently hot coffee from first to last cup. 15-bar pump pressure extracts maximum flavour and none of the bitterness, producing great tasting coffee with excellent crema. With just a power button and a single front control knob, this little espresso wonder is incredibly easy to use. Simply turn the knob to pump coffee, heat the cup warmer or use the steam nozzle. Calvi comes complete with a universal filter holder that’s compatible with both ground coffee and soft pods, plus one- and two-cup filters – make two cups at once or enjoy a double shot for a more intense flavour. The powerful steam nozzle froths milk quickly, allowing you to prepare any milky drink – from a flat white to a cappuccino. Calvi’s 1.1L water tank and drip tray are removable for easy cleaning, while a lid on top hides the two filters and measuring spoon.

Additional Features

Hot Water On Demand

Compact Thermoblock System preheats water in just 40 seconds.

Perfect Portions

Universal filter holder with one- and two-cup filters for the right amount of coffee.

Easy To Use

Access all functions via the single front control knob.

Smart Storage

Integrated storage for the two filters and measuring spoon.

Brand Krups
Model NumberXP3440
ColourBlack
Item Weight4.12 Kg
Product Dimensions37.1 x 20.2 x 35.4 cm
Capacity2 cups
Volume Capacity1.1 litres
Power / Wattage1500 watts
MaterialStainless_Steel
Auto ShutoffNo