Qualityreviews logo

Russell Hobbs 20095 1.7L
Russell Hobbs
B072N1199K


  • 24,99 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Russell Hobbs
5
23%
(5)
4
36%
(8)
3
27%
(6)
2
5%
(1)
1
9%
(2)
Review 22 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Russell Hobbs 20095 1.7L)
  • 06 Jul 2019, Sat
Awkward handle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The handle on this kettle places a lot of strain on the wrist. I really find it uncomfortable to lift. Not recommended.

James
  • 19 Mar 2019, Tue
Broke in 2 months
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Switch broke through normal use within a short period of time

Tim

  • 21 Feb 2018, Wed
easy to use
Reviewed on Ebay

i would recommend this kettle

alpatricia
  • 11 Feb 2018, Sun
Quick to boil, stylish.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Pretty quick and easy to use kettle. Nice simple finish too which would go well in most kitchens. Switch a little cheap feeling but overall a nice kettle.

DWB1873
  • 13 Sep 2017, Wed
Nice kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very nice looking chrome finish. Boils quickly and fills quite a lot. Well recommended.

I Like Cheese
  • 06 Sep 2017, Wed
Basic and functional
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Nowt wrong with this kettle when it comes to making a cuppa. Quick and energy efficient. Looks good enough, lightweight and doesn't take up too much space on the worktop. Beyond that, it can feel slightly on the wrong side of cheap, especially the plastic lid. The cord initially looks deceptively short, until you realise there's more to it wrapped under the base.Commendable performance-wise, it's just the cheap feel of the lid that lets it down for me. It's here that I look at cheaper models and think I'd prefer those in my kitchen.

Stress Fracture
  • 29 Aug 2017, Tue
Up to the job
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is an ok kettle for the price, it boils nice and quickly and the cup level indicator is a nice touch but it would have been better had it been on the outside to save you peering in. I’d have preferred a push-button hinged lid also but it is fairly easy to fill. The polished steel does show fingerprints and it does get hot but the large handle makes it easy to pour safely. All in all a competent if unspectacular item.

K I R Y U
  • 29 Aug 2017, Tue
Adequate but average
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

As a kettle, this is perfectly adequate, but I can't see much to lift it above the budget offerings now around. It does seem more compact than she kettles, and yet it holds the same amount. The finish is nice, but I'm sure it will succumb to fingermarks etc as other metallic ones usually do. It handles nicely, you can get a good grip on the handle, and it pours well.

Other users have been put off by the lid which needs to come off, but that hasn't bothered me in the slightest. It is annoying that there's no external water indicator.. you have to peek inside to see a guide for 1,2 or 3 cups. I do admit though that I usually guess! I haven't tried boiling just one cup, but boiling the usual amount seems to take as much time as our existing kettle.

It's adequate, and has no real problems for me, but also nothing outstanding.

Michelle Moore
  • 29 Aug 2017, Tue
Adequate but average
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

As a kettle, this is perfectly adequate, but I can't see much to lift it above the budget offerings now around. It does seem more compact than she kettles, and yet it holds the same amount. The finish is nice, but I'm sure it will succumb to fingermarks etc as other metallic ones usually do. It handles nicely, you can get a good grip on the handle, and it pours well.Other users have been put off by the lid which needs to come off, but that hasn't bothered me in the slightest. It is annoying that there's no external water indicator.. you have to peek inside to see a guide for 1,2 or 3 cups. I do admit though that I usually guess! I haven't tried boiling just one cup, but boiling the usual amount seems to take as much time as our existing kettle.It's adequate, and has no real problems for me, but also nothing outstanding.

Michelle Moore
  • 27 Aug 2017, Sun
Kettle.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The Russell Hobbs Dorchester Kettle has a polished stainless steel body, which will look stylish in any kitchen. It's good looks are matched by the good performance and reassuring quality, which is a hallmark of the Russell Hobbs range ... happy boiling up :).

Brian
  • 22 Aug 2017, Tue
Fine Kettle That Does Its Job Well
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This Russell Hobbs Dorchester Kettle is a basic device in attractive polished steel. It has a good capacity, boils up quickly (not too noisily) and does its job effectively. It has a couple of little neat touches - including an internal three red tabs showing the water safety levels, and this is handy to have. Good kettle, good brand, should last a goodly while too - highly recommended.

Og Oggilby
  • 21 Aug 2017, Mon
A good basic kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a nice mid range kettle. It's within a range so you can get your toaster to match etc. inside are the little steps to show you how much water to add to boil 3 cups etc. I prefer using a little guide along the side of kettles to be honest - or if in real doubt, just measure in a few cups! anyway, it has a plastic lid which I find a bit annoying. it does sit on a swivel base which is good. it has the lime scale filter which you can remove. over time though these always get stuck and tear! overall, this is an okay kettle.

A. Douglas
  • 21 Aug 2017, Mon
Solid and functional kettle.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

You could say a kettle is a kettle, but this is a good one.

It comes from a great name that you can trust and it's stainless steel look fits in great in any kitchen.

It's a bit fiddly to actually fill with water and I can see why some people would be put off with that (especially with no water gauge on the outside) but once you get used to it it is fine.

Nice filter inside, pours well when making a cuppa and gets to boiling point very quickly indeed.

Has markers inside for a number of cups to help save the planet and all that (although really, you could just use your mug to pour the water in so you'd have the right amount of water).

All in all a steady, sturdy kettle. Few frills, but we're talking about boiling water to make a cuppa. And this does that perfectly.

IWFIcon

  • 21 Aug 2017, Mon
Solid and functional kettle.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

You could say a kettle is a kettle, but this is a good one.It comes from a great name that you can trust and it's stainless steel look fits in great in any kitchen.It's a bit fiddly to actually fill with water and I can see why some people would be put off with that (especially with no water gauge on the outside) but once you get used to it it is fine.Nice filter inside, pours well when making a cuppa and gets to boiling point very quickly indeed.Has markers inside for a number of cups to help save the planet and all that (although really, you could just use your mug to pour the water in so you'd have the right amount of water).All in all a steady, sturdy kettle. Few frills, but we're talking about boiling water to make a cuppa. And this does that perfectly.

IWFIcon
  • 18 Aug 2017, Fri
Fast Efficient and EASY pour with no spills!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This has now replaced our previous Russell Hobbs kettle which was, quite simply, worn out from regular use and hard water! This new one is much better because it boils more quickly (hopefully saving us money) and has a GREAT spout - the previous one always led to spillages so I am delighted that this, which has a much more traditional shape is perfect.Its polished surface and black handle, lid etc also blend so well with our kitchen colour scheme.One tiny grudge point - there is no light to say when it is switched on BUT as you can hear the water start to boil so quickly you are not left wondering for more than a few seconds!

S2b an OAP
  • 17 Aug 2017, Thu
Fast boiling but somewhat style over substance
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Boils fast which is the main thing going for this kettle. Its compact footprint and generally smaller size (vs some traditional kettles) is also a positive. The spout pours without any spillage which is also good.

However, there is no external level indicator when filling (there is an integrated red plastic marker on the inside of the kettle that give you an indication). The max level is engraved but hard to see, on the inner side of the kettle. All of this is somewhat annoying; style over substance.

I’m also not a fan of lids that come off as most taps don’t require this. So this means more hands needed to fill the kettle, less quick than with those one-click lid-up kettles which is how most are made these days I tend to think. But without taking the lid off, you won’t know how much water you need to add due to no external indicator.

Very much a 3* product.

Discerning Shopper
  • 17 Aug 2017, Thu
Fast boiling but somewhat style over substance
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Boils fast which is the main thing going for this kettle. Its compact footprint and generally smaller size (vs some traditional kettles) is also a positive. The spout pours without any spillage which is also good.However, there is no external level indicator when filling (there is an integrated red plastic marker on the inside of the kettle that give you an indication). The max level is engraved but hard to see, on the inner side of the kettle. All of this is somewhat annoying; style over substance.I’m also not a fan of lids that come off as most taps don’t require this. So this means more hands needed to fill the kettle, less quick than with those one-click lid-up kettles which is how most are made these days I tend to think. But without taking the lid off, you won’t know how much water you need to add due to no external indicator.Very much a 3* product.

Discerning Shopper
  • 17 Aug 2017, Thu
A 5 star kettle hampered by a lack of water indicator
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have an issue with this, and it's pretty major, and that is the incomprehensible choice of not including a water level indicator....It's a little surreal, I can't understand why they chose not to do so.The kettle, other than this is perfect, it boils quickly - as advertised - in-fact it boils quicker than a much more expensive quick boil kettle we have.The design is good it has a lid you have to take off completely but I'm fine with that, I just don't understand the lack of water level indicator.For that reason, 3 stars. the rest of it is a 5 star kettle but to me that's a major flaw.

Reviewser
  • 16 Aug 2017, Wed
Quick boil, odd design choices.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I'm really conflicted about this kettle. First of all the main thing is that it boils very quickly as claimed and is approved for as little as 1 cup so it does have economy in mind. It does feel very light though and the plastic parts somehow not chunky so I'm a bit concerned about the unit's durability. Time will tell so I have not knocked a star off for that. However the star goes because of the odd design choices that are against convention; There is no water level gauge on the outside but red paddles inside for 1, 2 and 3 cups then a 1.7 litre max mark stamped into the metal, so you have to peer inside when filling it. The lid is not a flip up, it has to be taken right off and has 2 sprung clips which you are forcing when you take the lid off and put it on, I just have a feeling those will be the first part to break when I drop the lid and it rolls across the floor or even just in every day use. The lack of water gauge and the dubious lid seem like cheap cost cutting measures but considering the quite high price of the kettle I'm wondering how this benefits anything other than the manufacturer's profits. 4 stars for now but if it breaks within a year I'll be back here to knock it down.

I Am Tyler Durden
  • 16 Aug 2017, Wed
Tainted Taste
Reviewed on Ebay

This kettle is elegant and boils fast but even after 11 days regular use it still taints the water with a worrying odour which reduces my star rating from 5 to 1! Have stopped using it for time being as I am now experiencing some stomach discomfort and am hoping this is purely psychological!!!

rnic6357
Colour:Stainless Steel  |  Style Name:Kettle

Product Description

The Russell Hobbs Dorchester kettle features a rapid boil zone which means it can heat up the tap water from tepid to boiling in just 45 seconds – that’s really handy for those times when you could kill for a cuppa. It has a handy ideal pour spout design so the water can be poured evenly into mugs and cups without spilling all over your worktop. An internal water indicator tells you how full you’ve filled it so you don’t boil it dry or over fill its 1.7 Litre capacity. To keep your kettle clean and fresh and free from limescale, it has a removable, washable filter that you can simply flip out, rinse through and pop back in.

Box Contains

  • 1 x Dorchester Kettle - Stainless Steel
  • 1 x Base unit
  • 1 x Instruction booklet


From the manufacturer

Russell Hobbs Dorchester Kettle

The Dorchester Kettle is both elegant and innovative and will look at home in any stylish modern kitchen.

With a bold, modern, gloss finish and multiple clever features, this kettle will be the envy of your family and friends.


Rapid Boil

For those days when you are in need of a quick cup of tea the rapid boil zone can heat 1-3 cups of water from tepid to boiling in just 45 seconds.


Perfect Pour

The handy 'perfect pour' spout design enables you to pour water evenly into mugs with minimal overspill. What's more, an internal water indicator tells you how full the kettle is so that you don’t boil it dry or over fill its generous 1.7 litre capacity.


Removable Filter

To keep your new Kettle clean, fresh and free from limescale, the Dorchester also comes with a removable, washable filter that you can quickly and easily flip out, rinse through and pop back in.

About us

We’ve been at the heart of homes for over 60 years, bringing an extensive range of high quality kitchen appliances that have been designed and developed to make your life easier and more enjoyable. Our commitment to creating products that are stylish, reliable and practical has helped us to build a brand that’s synonymous with trust and high quality.

Whatever your lifestyle, your taste or your individual requirements, we’re always here to ensure that you have access to leading technology and products that perform perfectly for you.

Product Features

  • 1.7L capacity
  • 3000w
  • 61cm Power cord
  • Rapid boil zone feature denoting 1/2/3cup volumes
  • Easy pour spout
  • Stainless steel kettle with plastic accents
  • 360° base with integrated cord storage
  • Concealed heating element
  • Removable, washable filter
  • Internal water indicator
  • Product Dimensions HLW 21.7 X 22.5 X 15.5CM
  • Product Weight - 990g
  • Matching 2 Slice Toaster available
Brand Russell Hobbs
Model NumberRU-20095
ColourStainless Steel
Item Weight989 g
Product Dimensions16.2 x 23.4 x 24.5 cm
Capacity1.7 litres
Volume Capacity1.7 litres
Power / Wattage3000 watts
Materialstainless steel
Auto ShutoffNo