Qualityreviews logo

Brabantia BBEK1013 1.7L
Brabantia
B01GRS6W96


  • 24,59 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Brabantia
5
9%
(1)
4
91%
(10)
3
0%
(0)
2
0%
(0)
1
0%
(0)
Review 11 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Brabantia BBEK1013 1.7L)
  • 01 Jan 2018, Mon
Buy it.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Fast and quiet.

Joiner
  • 20 Aug 2016, Sat
About as good as a plastic kettle can get.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

 If you're happy having a plastic kettle, then this is probably the best available. Brabantia have a good reputation for quality ironing boards and similar equipment, this is the first time I've seen them get into electricals.

It's all plastic apart from the element, which is stainless steel and flat (enabling small amounts to be boiled). The maximum capacity is 1.7 litres and it's powerful, at 3000W.

I compared it with our Philips kettle Philips HD9340/90 Glass Kettle, 2200 W, 1.5 Litre - my wife insists on not using a plastic kettle and this is perfect from that regard, being all glass and stainless steel (where there's contact with water). However it's only 2200W (in the video I race them to boil a litre of water - the Brabantia wins by a good margin). Personally, I prefer to pay a little extra for the Philips for its lack of any plastic in contact with water, and can see the water coming up to boil more easily.

The appearance is great - glossy black plastic with dimples, offset by some matt black areas around the handle. It looks stylish, definitely "posh" for a plastic kettle. It feels well made and 3 years is a good guarantee.

CMB

  • 20 Aug 2016, Sat
About as good as a plastic kettle can get.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

 If you're happy having a plastic kettle, then this is probably the best available. Brabantia have a good reputation for quality ironing boards and similar equipment, this is the first time I've seen them get into electricals.It's all plastic apart from the element, which is stainless steel and flat (enabling small amounts to be boiled). The maximum capacity is 1.7 litres and it's powerful, at 3000W.I compared it with our Philips kettle Philips HD9340/90 Glass Kettle, 2200 W, 1.5 Litre - my wife insists on not using a plastic kettle and this is perfect from that regard, being all glass and stainless steel (where there's contact with water). However it's only 2200W (in the video I race them to boil a litre of water - the Brabantia wins by a good margin). Personally, I prefer to pay a little extra for the Philips for its lack of any plastic in contact with water, and can see the water coming up to boil more easily.The appearance is great - glossy black plastic with dimples, offset by some matt black areas around the handle. It looks stylish, definitely "posh" for a plastic kettle. It feels well made and 3 years is a good guarantee.

CMB
  • 11 Aug 2016, Thu
No frills but a good product.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is as basic as it gets and frankly, that's good.This is as basic as it gets for a kettle unless you're a top of the stove kettle buyer. For a cordless kettle this one isn't packed with unnecessary features. No light up elements, no water filtration device, no watching your water boil. Open the lid, put your water in and switch if on. Job done.It does boil relatively quickly for the volume of water you pour in and does so without it sounding like a plane coming into land. Cutlery doesn't shake as it nears it's boil.This is a no fuss, no nonsense kettle. The handle's on par with comfort so overall, if you don't mind its plain looks then this is the kettle for you.Only time will tell how long this product will last. I'd expect a couple of years if not longer but we'll see.

William Hodgson
  • 08 Aug 2016, Mon
Good kettle in most respects
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

For well under £30, this is a good kettle:

* Lightweight
* Pop-up lid, making it easy to open and fill
* Gauge on both sides, which makes it great for left- as well as right-handers
* Easy to locate on its base
* Boils quickly and tolerably quietly
* Pours easily and well
* Effective filter
* Can be completely emptied through the spout, unlike many kettles
* 3-year guarantee (kettles are notoriously unreliable)

Against that:

* Gauge has 0.5, 1.0, 1.4 and 1.7 litre markings on the side seen when held in the left hand but no 0.5 litre mark on the other side – how weird is that?!
* Minimum fill not stated anywhere**
* Filter very hard to remove for cleaning

We didn’t think we were going to like the shiny, dimpled finish, but we do. The pictures really don’t give an accurate impression.

We often want to boil just a mugful of water (measuring it in rather than using the gauge), so we avoid kettles with higher minimum fills. Given that they don’t state a minimum and there’s a 3-year guarantee, we’re going to assume one mugful is ok and see what happens**.

No advice is given in the instructions on removing the filter; you have to push down hard and into the body of the kettle. I took the skin off a knuckle, the first time I did it. It fits and works well, though, and its design makes it possible to pour all the water out through the spout instead of leaving some behind to go stale and be re-boiled.

Boiled water tastes fine, to us. We boiled some filtered South Downs water, let it cool and compared it with un-boiled filtered water. There was a difference but nothing unpleasant.

If you like the appearance of this kettle and aren’t bothered about the 0.5 litre minimum fill, it is likely to make a good buy.

** I asked Brabantia about minimum fill and got a reply saying they were sorry that I had an issue with the kettle and advising me to buy spare parts at Stylco! I contacted Stylco who said the minimum fill is 0.5 litre. We’re goi

Mr Gumby
  • 08 Aug 2016, Mon
Good kettle in most respects
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

For well under £30, this is a good kettle:* Lightweight* Pop-up lid, making it easy to open and fill* Gauge on both sides, which makes it great for left- as well as right-handers* Easy to locate on its base* Boils quickly and tolerably quietly* Pours easily and well* Effective filter* Can be completely emptied through the spout, unlike many kettles* 3-year guarantee (kettles are notoriously unreliable)Against that:* Gauge has 0.5, 1.0, 1.4 and 1.7 litre markings on the side seen when held in the left hand but no 0.5 litre mark on the other side – how weird is that?!* Minimum fill not stated anywhere*** Filter very hard to remove for cleaningWe didn’t think we were going to like the shiny, dimpled finish, but we do. The pictures really don’t give an accurate impression.We often want to boil just a mugful of water (measuring it in rather than using the gauge), so we avoid kettles with higher minimum fills. Given that they don’t state a minimum and there’s a 3-year guarantee, we’re going to assume one mugful is ok and see what happens**.No advice is given in the instructions on removing the filter; you have to push down hard and into the body of the kettle. I took the skin off a knuckle, the first time I did it. It fits and works well, though, and its design makes it possible to pour all the water out through the spout instead of leaving some behind to go stale and be re-boiled.Boiled water tastes fine, to us. We boiled some filtered South Downs water, let it cool and compared it with un-boiled filtered water. There was a difference but nothing unpleasant.If you like the appearance of this kettle and aren’t bothered about the 0.5 litre minimum fill, it is likely to make a good buy.** I asked Brabantia about minimum fill and got a reply saying they were sorry that I had an issue with the kettle and advising me to buy spare parts at Stylco! I contacted Stylco who said the minimum fill is 0.5 litre. We’re going to risk continuing to boil just a mugful when that’s all we need, but the high minimum fill would stop us buy

Mr Gumby
  • 06 Aug 2016, Sat
This is a good standard kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a good standard kettle. I've previously struggled with the position of water gauges on some kettles, but this one lets you see just how much water is in it. Boils quickly and with no more noise than other kettles I've had. Recommended.

Pompom
  • 04 Aug 2016, Thu
Modest and reliable
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Brabantia may not be a familiar name. they are a Duch family company that has been growing steadily for nearly a century. Their stated philosophy is to be responsible and reliable, hence the generous 3 year guarantee.

On the face of it this is a fairly standard 1.7 litre quick boil kettle. The main plus is the concealed element, making cleaning easier and protecting the element from limescale.

The push button lid opens nicely. The handle is comfortable and the spout pours adequately. Noise level is typical for its class.

The water guage is in litres, rather than cups.

I like the elegant shape of the kettle, but I am less keen on the shiny dimpled plastic.

Overall
======

A kettle that offers reliabity ahead of pizzazz. Well worth considering, if you are fed up the reliabilty lottery of more famous branded appliances.

Prof TBun
  • 04 Aug 2016, Thu
Simple can sometime be best.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We seem to get through numerous kettles, some we've loved and others we have loathed, this Brabantia kettle is on our loved list so far.

Ok, the kettle is all plastic but sometime simple is best, the kettle has a dimpled effect on the side with a very slightly rubberised grip on the handle, there is a filling window with .5ltr increments maximum fill is 1.7ltr and minimum is 0.5 ltr which takes around 1'15" to boil, it's not over noisy neither. Build quality looks good. To fill the kettle you simply press a button on the handle and the lid flips up.

The base for the kettle has a cable tidy with around 1mtr (3ft) of cable.

This kettle has no funky lighting when boiling or daft noises, just a simple neon indicator in the on/off switch, it also features a lime scale filter on the spout, a must have in our hard water area.

Here's a real bonus, Barbantia give a 3 year guarantee with this kettle, if only other manufacturers would do this rather than the stock 1 year.

A great addition to any kitchen, simple but does the job intended well.

L. W. Newton
  • 04 Aug 2016, Thu
Modest and reliable
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Brabantia may not be a familiar name. they are a Duch family company that has been growing steadily for nearly a century. Their stated philosophy is to be responsible and reliable, hence the generous 3 year guarantee.On the face of it this is a fairly standard 1.7 litre quick boil kettle. The main plus is the concealed element, making cleaning easier and protecting the element from limescale.The push button lid opens nicely. The handle is comfortable and the spout pours adequately. Noise level is typical for its class.The water guage is in litres, rather than cups.I like the elegant shape of the kettle, but I am less keen on the shiny dimpled plastic.Overall======A kettle that offers reliabity ahead of pizzazz. Well worth considering, if you are fed up the reliabilty lottery of more famous branded appliances.

Prof TBun
  • 04 Aug 2016, Thu
Simple can sometime be best.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We seem to get through numerous kettles, some we've loved and others we have loathed, this Brabantia kettle is on our loved list so far.Ok, the kettle is all plastic but sometime simple is best, the kettle has a dimpled effect on the side with a very slightly rubberised grip on the handle, there is a filling window with .5ltr increments maximum fill is 1.7ltr and minimum is 0.5 ltr which takes around 1'15" to boil, it's not over noisy neither. Build quality looks good. To fill the kettle you simply press a button on the handle and the lid flips up.The base for the kettle has a cable tidy with around 1mtr (3ft) of cable.This kettle has no funky lighting when boiling or daft noises, just a simple neon indicator in the on/off switch, it also features a lime scale filter on the spout, a must have in our hard water area.Here's a real bonus, Barbantia give a 3 year guarantee with this kettle, if only other manufacturers would do this rather than the stock 1 year.A great addition to any kitchen, simple but does the job intended well.

L. W. Newton
Colour:White

Product Description

The Brabantia BBEK1013-W 1.7 Litre White Jug Kettle has an elegant design which means it fits perfectly in both a traditional or modern styled kitchen, whilst exuding the quality of design expected of the Brabantia brand. The visible water window allows users to avoid boiling more water than is needed, therefore helping to reduce the energy consumption of the kettle. With the Rapid Boil feature and a 1.7 Litre capacity jug, it's powerful enough to make up to seven drinks in under two minutes, making it a great fit for larger family homes. The safety lock-lid and its 360 base rotation, which allows for efficient use from both left and right hand users, makes the kettle easier to use whilst maximising safety. The kettle also includes Strix Control which incorporates the self-resetting protections to guard against things such as accidental dry switch-on of the appliance.

Box Contains

1 x BBEK1013-W Kettle
1 x Kettle Base
1 x User Manual

Brand Brabantia
Model NumberBBEK1013-WHITE
ColourWhite
Item Weight921 g
Package Dimensions22.2 x 20.8 x 17.2 cm
Capacity1.7 litres
Volume Capacity1.7 litres
Power / Wattage1800 watts