Qualityreviews logo

Bodum Bistro 11445 1.1L
BODUM
B00DF1LOFG


Brand: BODUM
5
38%
(19)
4
12%
(6)
3
8%
(4)
2
18%
(9)
1
24%
(12)
Review 50 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Bodum Bistro 11445 1.1L)
  • 06 Jun 2019, Thu
URGENT DANGEROUS
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This machine turns on by itself. It’s dangerous as a result and no product support email contact listed. Amazon please report.

elayne lyons
  • 15 Feb 2019, Fri
Poor quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

When arrived had a large sticky label which when removed left unsightly glue (which wouldn't come off) on the clear park of the kettle. Stopped working within a year so was just able to get money back. Not replacing it with another Bodum.

Amazon Customer

  • 03 Feb 2019, Sun
Poorly made
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

On switch is faulty

Diamonds
  • 24 Nov 2018, Sat
No longer working
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Product went faulty within 7 months of use.

R Gould
  • 07 Aug 2018, Tue
Nice one. !
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

A great bodum product as always!!

vasiliki
  • 18 Dec 2017, Mon
Really happy with this product
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Really happy with this product. Offered it to my mom as a gift earlier this year and she loves it. It's really easy to clean as just a 'plain surface' inside (no cables or anything that makes it hard to get rid of the limescale and other deposit). Also, the opening is big, so again if you need to clean it's easy to put your hand inside.It's also really pretty to see the water boil inside thanks to the transparent window and the light - it almost looks like one of these fashionable water bubble lamps when on.Definitely recommend it - great product, great design, great quality.

Athi08
  • 18 Dec 2017, Mon
Really happy with this product
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Really happy with this product. Offered it to my mom as a gift earlier this year and she loves it. It's really easy to clean as just a 'plain surface' inside (no cables or anything that makes it hard to get rid of the limescale and other deposit). Also, the opening is big, so again if you need to clean it's easy to put your hand inside.

It's also really pretty to see the water boil inside thanks to the transparent window and the light - it almost looks like one of these fashionable water bubble lamps when on.

Definitely recommend it - great product, great design, great quality.

Athi08
  • 10 Dec 2017, Sun
Looks great but boils slowly, pours badly!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Being a Bodum fan, I really wanted to like this kettle a lot but their normally superb design skills are somewhat lacking re it in that it looks the part but boils slowly and pours badly! A design focused company like Bodum really needs to take this back to the drawing board.

Tnetennbae
  • 03 Nov 2017, Fri
Two Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Black plastic looks and feels cheap, slow to boil.

OH
  • 01 Nov 2017, Wed
Bodum's Up.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I finally got the hang of this lovely kettle as you will after a couple of weeks or less.Your finger finds the sweet spot for the touch pad opening on the top and voila, problem solved. Bodum prototype handle is quite robust and provides a good grip. With the cool to touch plastic exterior, I simply cradle the kettle with my other hand as I lift. This is an easy method rather than trying to lift by the handle alone. I couldn't lift by the handle as my hands are weak. It's great to be able to touch a kettle while you pour the boiled water.There's no fear of being scalded as it has a non-drip spout. Also a delight to just watch the water rolling to a boil. You need a full tilt to pour and that's awkward but with both hands the task is easier.With the clear view you can see when the kettle needs rescaling. The water gets a bit cloudy. Well, now I just descale on Sundays by adding a few drops of lemon juice and vinegar, fill the kettle, boil and discard the water. Do this twice and then boil fresh water on its own for the rinse. The swivel base turns smoothly on the pivot unlike most swivel base kettles which stick.Now I've had to get the toaster to go with it.

Bronzey
  • 01 Nov 2017, Wed
Bodum's Up.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I finally got the hang of this lovely kettle as you will after a couple of weeks or less.
Your finger finds the sweet spot for the touch pad opening on the top and voila, problem solved. Bodum prototype handle is quite robust and provides a good grip. With the cool to touch plastic exterior, I simply cradle the kettle with my other hand as I lift. This is an easy method rather than trying to lift by the handle alone. I couldn't lift by the handle as my hands are weak. It's great to be able to touch a kettle while you pour the boiled water.
There's no fear of being scalded as it has a non-drip spout. Also a delight to just watch the water rolling to a boil. You need a full tilt to pour and that's awkward but with both hands the task is easier.
With the clear view you can see when the kettle needs rescaling. The water gets a bit cloudy. Well, now I just descale on Sundays by adding a few drops of lemon juice and vinegar, fill the kettle, boil and discard the water. Do this twice and then boil fresh water on its own for the rinse.
The swivel base turns smoothly on the pivot unlike most swivel base kettles which stick.
Now I've had to get the toaster to go with it.

Bronzey
  • 09 Oct 2017, Mon
Never again!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Not impressed. Didnt sit properly on kitchen surface, handle was sometimes scalding hot and less than 6 months later have had to replace as loose wire meant only worked when fiddled with!

j furlong
  • 24 Aug 2017, Thu
Its a nice looking kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Its a nice looking kettle, there are 2 main drawbacks as far as Im concerned. Firstly the filter makes pouring so slow that you naturally overtilt, so water then comes out from the rim of the lid and splashes everywhere, it's hard to not do this! Secondly if you hold the handle too high it can become very hot, probably a symptom of the angle of pouring and it taking so long on account of the filter. Solution - remove the filter........ less than ideal.

Amazon Customer

  • 25 Jul 2017, Tue
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very good kettle

Tian Long See
  • 21 Jul 2017, Fri
love it.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Quality product, love it.

Bambina
  • 15 Jul 2017, Sat
Love the intensity if the red colour (it is as ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Item arrived on time. Love the intensity if the red colour (it is as shown on your site). Very easy to clean.

Yogi
  • 05 Jul 2017, Wed
Good looking
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

So far so good, had it for almost a week now. Looks great, boiled water is clean light and fresh.Definitely enjoying more cuppa's =)

Trishi
  • 05 Jun 2017, Mon
THIS KETTLE IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Update - THIS KETTLE IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUSAfter using for less than four weeks I got home one evening to find the whole thing bone dry and extremely hot - I don't know if I left in the morning with it still on, or it switched itself on - but clearly the automatic switch off when boiling or dry does not work.Extremely lucky if had not caused my home to catch fire.Neither Amazon nor Bodum should be marketing such a dangerous productI bought this in a hurry, because my previous kettle decided to start tripping the fuse box for no reason, so I didn't research as much as I should have.It looks great, and I like that being less powerful, it takes a bit longer to boil. but it is far quieter.After using it for a week, I could see bits of floaty limescale, but rinsed out easily, and when I had a moment, I added some white vinegar to some left over boiled water, then rinsed it well - seems fine.The less good pointsIt doesn't pour well, so often splashes over the counter or floor.I really wish the mechanism to flip the lid up was on the handle, so that you could easily fill it one handedThe double wall feature is great in keeping the outside of the kettle cool - but unfortunately the inside top of the handle gets too hot - OK once you're used to it, and learn how to hold it to avoid burning your hand - but dangerous and pretty stupid design feature.If I'd paid the full price, it would be going back, but at the discounted Amazon Prime price its OK, as a lot cheaper than other glass kettles.

DC
  • 29 May 2017, Mon
Dangerous kettle beware
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great looking kettle but shame about the design. Firstly after over just a week or so it developed a fault - the seal around the handle became unstuck and was leaking steam so very dangerous. It also failed to turn off a few times. Have had Bodum kettles before and have been much better quality.

Paul
  • 24 May 2017, Wed
Cheap and functional
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Looks fine. Outer transparent case is plastic, so scratches with normal cleaning.

David
Colour:White

Product Description

See the water bubbling up in this double-wall glass kettle and it’s crystal clear, the Bistro is not only an investment in your daily tea and coffee pleasures, but in the environment as well. Due to the double-wall system the insulation is better and the water stays hot for a longer time. The inner wall, that’s in contact with the water, is made from borosilicate glass, the most neutral and most suited material to keep water absolutely pure. The outer wall is made from clear plastic; it protects the glass from shocks and makes it much less prone to breaking.

Box Contains

  • 1 x Bistro Double Wall Water Kettle


  • From the manufacturer

    Bodum

    e-bodum

    e-bodum inspires you to build a collection of power tools that reflect our core principle, Good design has to be functional and affordable. Once you see past the good looks of e-bodum, each products attributes and performance will make you a loyal fan. These products, will bring the power and innovation necessary to make kitchen duty a breeze.

    The Bodum company got its start in Denmark in 1944, when Peter Bodum started a business wholesaling household products. The Bodum brand, known for its innovative coffee press, as well as its tea makers, is still family-owned.

    Besides being known for the aesthetic quality of their products, Bodum is recognised as a leading maker of French presses, vacuum coffee makers and double-walled beverage glasses made of borosilicate glass. It has registered 'FrenchPress' as a trademark in many territories.

    Features and Benefits

    Due to the double-wall system the insulation is better and the water stays hot for a longer time. The inner wall, that’s in contact with the water, is made from borosilicate glass, the most neutral and most suited material to keep water absolutely pure. The outer wall is made from clear plastic; it protects the glass from shocks and makes it much less prone to breaking.

    Bodum Bistro Electric Water Kettle, double wall

    Isn’t it nice to have some transparency in our complex everyday lives? In this case it’s just a water kettle that’s letting you in on its inner workings but it sure makes for a promising start into the new day. See the water bubbling up in this double-wall glass kettle and it’s crystal clear, the Bistro is not only an investment in your daily tea and coffee pleasures, but in the environment as well.

    Colourful, compact, space-saving design pairs perfectly with e-Bodum’s Bistro collection of kettles and coffeemakers.

    Brand BODUM
    Model Number11445-913UK
    ColourWhite
    Item Weight1.88 Kg
    Package Dimensions28.2 x 22.6 x 22.4 cm
    Volume Capacity1 litres
    Power / Wattage1500 watts
    Voltage240 volts
    MaterialPlastic, Stainless Steel
    Auto ShutoffNo
    Special FeaturesWater level gauge