Qualityreviews logo

DeLonghi Magnifica ESAM 3200
De'Longhi
B0001GZ2WY


  • 358,82 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: De'Longhi
5
55%
(11)
4
20%
(4)
3
10%
(2)
2
5%
(1)
1
10%
(2)
Review 20 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(DeLonghi Magnifica ESAM 3200)
  • 25 Jun 2010, Fri
Workhorse
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this machine for office use and it just works perfectly. It has been running for close to a year now and just keeps making good cup of coffee for staff and guests. We previously used a machine provided by a Vending Service and that was always breaking down and using expensive supply. Now we are hassle free and buy good beans in bulk. Can't fault this machine in any way.

O. Einarsson
  • 10 Mar 2010, Wed
Very unreliable and customer service terrible
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had this machine for just over six months when the boiler went off with a pop, tripping all my house sockets. Sent for repair four times and each time it comes back the coffee it produces is cold. Temp starts off around 80 but when the cup is finished it has hit 55, so the coffee is cold and you can't add milk without microwaving it.This never happened before the boiler blew up, but De'Longhi now say that this machine can't brew large cups of coffee and should only be used for espresso coffee, yet this is not mentioned in the manual and it worked before they tried to fix it.Ended up taking it for a refund from the original retailer and will never buy another De'Longhi product, as when they can't fix it they claim the machine is not meant to perform that function anyway.

G. Clifford

  • 08 Mar 2010, Mon
Worth every penny!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I got this machine for my partner to replace his £300 Gaggia which was on it's way out after many years hard labour. He is extremely fussy and a gadget-king so I was very nervous about my selection! However, 3 months in and we both absolutely love it! One of my main reasons for getting a bean to cup was because I was sick of cleaning up after the grinder....problem solved. But not just that, it is incredibly simple to use and it makes perfect coffee with a good crema every single time and all with minimum maintenance. It looks pretty good and feels reassuringly solid. I thought I would miss the process of grinding, squishing and stuff but not at all! I definitely drink more coffee and it's great to know that it will always be spot on. The grounds that come out are perfectly biscuit dry. Can't praise it enough. We live in Italy and get to drink good coffee pretty much everywhere we go and I can honestly say that what we drink at home is just as good.

V. Jones
  • 22 Nov 2009, Sun
Near perfect
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We had this product for 3 years now and we have not been let down at all. Our last machine, an AEG and one of the first bean to cup products, was rubbish, despite of its excellent brand name. When we went to the shop, we were very sceptical, but convinced by a very good salesman, who had used the product already for 2 years, himself.

However, from my experience with AEG here a few tips to avoid early break down. If you only want to have one take away point, keep the following: 1) Buy a water filter and change the cartridge regularly. By softening the water you prevent the majority of breakdowns, which are due to de-scaling issues. Other important tips: 2) Do the de-scaling regularly, whenever the button indicates (and buy a good stock of de-scaling tablets). 3) regularly clean the machine, particularly the infuser. 4) Overall, coffee makers are still quite new and the build quality is only being improved over time. Don't expect wonders. Calculate the savings compared with Starbucks coffee as the taste is the same.

DeLonghi Magnifica's build style has a much more modular approach than the previous AEG we had and is extremely easy to disassemble and clean.

Finally having tasted more than 50 different types of coffee beans we still find the following beans the most tasty and highest quality from the high street: Cafedirect cloud forest Nicaragua coffee beens. Other good beans are Lavazza, Starbucks and other beans from cafedirect. Cheap beans are mostly letting you down and I have not found a recommendable cheap bean, yet. I hope this helps.

Amazon Customer
  • 22 Nov 2009, Sun
Near perfect
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We had this product for 3 years now and we have not been let down at all. Our last machine, an AEG and one of the first bean to cup products, was rubbish, despite of its excellent brand name. When we went to the shop, we were very sceptical, but convinced by a very good salesman, who had used the product already for 2 years, himself.However, from my experience with AEG here a few tips to avoid early break down. If you only want to have one take away point, keep the following: 1) Buy a water filter and change the cartridge regularly. By softening the water you prevent the majority of breakdowns, which are due to de-scaling issues. Other important tips: 2) Do the de-scaling regularly, whenever the button indicates (and buy a good stock of de-scaling tablets). 3) regularly clean the machine, particularly the infuser. 4) Overall, coffee makers are still quite new and the build quality is only being improved over time. Don't expect wonders. Calculate the savings compared with Starbucks coffee as the taste is the same.DeLonghi Magnifica's build style has a much more modular approach than the previous AEG we had and is extremely easy to disassemble and clean.Finally having tasted more than 50 different types of coffee beans we still find the following beans the most tasty and highest quality from the high street: Cafedirect cloud forest Nicaragua coffee beens. Other good beans are Lavazza, Starbucks and other beans from cafedirect. Cheap beans are mostly letting you down and I have not found a recommendable cheap bean, yet. I hope this helps.

Amazon Customer
  • 21 Nov 2009, Sat
Get this one...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is truly a great product. I have been delighted with the coffee it has made. The key thing to remember is to use good coffee to put into it in the first place (there are lots of good online options for this)You can pay more for Delonghi coffee machines, but, in escence they all do the same thing, you are simply paying for swankier controls as the innerds are the same.So buy one with confidence, I believe this mahcine is one of the best things I've ever brought.

Benjamin H. Wolf
  • 07 Oct 2009, Wed
Magnificent Magnifica
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

As other reviewers have said, this machine makes wonderful coffee, however you prefer it! One thing which is particularly good about it is that the controls are very instinctive - I was able to use the machine straight out of the box, without having to struggle through pages of explanations to find out what button did what (contrarry to my experience with a Siemens machine). It is also a thoroughly attractive machine - which doesnt really communicate in this picture. One slight niggle is that the pressure does not seem quite so good as on the Siemens - it steams/froths milk well and thoroughly, but not in double quick time!Re another reviewer's comments on breakdowns, for what it is worth I can say that ours has been quite well used for over a year and we have had no breakdowns or problems yet

bookelephant
  • 19 Sep 2009, Sat
Devil is in the Detail
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is an excellent coffee machine, it makes significantly clearer tasting coffee than the Gaggia I use at work. Very adjustable, although it is possible to temporarily stop it working properly by setting the grind too fine. The build quality, from what I have seen, is very good - it all feels relatively sturdy and well put together.

It has a reasonably long wake-up sequence where it clicks and grunts, eventually spewing out some water to 'clean' the internal system. It also does this when you turn it off or it automatically powers down if you leave it turned on. The downside of this is that the drip tray needs emptying quite regularly, fine if you keep it in a kitchen.

My only gripe is the water reservoir, which could really do with more quantity control. My machine is kept in an alcove and thus the only way to tell how much water is remaining (remember it uses quarter of a cup or so every power up) is to remove the reservoir. A perspex strip on the front would be really handy to avoid this. Secondly, and more seriously, the machine doesn't check the quantity of water before you brew, if you haven't got enough for a full mug...it just stops pouring half way through, wasting the beans.

Still...it makes damn good coffee!

E. Wilde
  • 19 Sep 2009, Sat
Devil is in the Detail
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is an excellent coffee machine, it makes significantly clearer tasting coffee than the Gaggia I use at work. Very adjustable, although it is possible to temporarily stop it working properly by setting the grind too fine. The build quality, from what I have seen, is very good - it all feels relatively sturdy and well put together.It has a reasonably long wake-up sequence where it clicks and grunts, eventually spewing out some water to 'clean' the internal system. It also does this when you turn it off or it automatically powers down if you leave it turned on. The downside of this is that the drip tray needs emptying quite regularly, fine if you keep it in a kitchen.My only gripe is the water reservoir, which could really do with more quantity control. My machine is kept in an alcove and thus the only way to tell how much water is remaining (remember it uses quarter of a cup or so every power up) is to remove the reservoir. A perspex strip on the front would be really handy to avoid this. Secondly, and more seriously, the machine doesn't check the quantity of water before you brew, if you haven't got enough for a full mug...it just stops pouring half way through, wasting the beans.Still...it makes damn good coffee!

E. Wilde
  • 09 Sep 2009, Wed
Great coffee while it lasted
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The coffee this machine makes is brilliant. Ours has now broken and DeLonghi managed to wiggle out of honnoring our guarantee, so I've been landed with a £75 repair bill and a couple of weeks of no coffee.

Mr. M. Evans
  • 06 Jul 2009, Mon
J S Gardner
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I brought this machine after spending hours reading reviews, and thought it sounded prefect. I work for a large coffee retailer and i am very fussy about the coffee i drink. At first i had no problems and the coffee tasted great, but after four weeks use one of the parts inside got jammed and it wouldn't work, i got it swapped for a new one, but now after 8 weeks the same thing has happened again. So here i am again reading reviews trying to find a replacement because now i have lost all faith in this machine and don't want another one.

Hollie Gardner
  • 29 May 2009, Fri
Well worth the money - highly recommended
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've had this machine three weeks (£120 cheaper online than Amazon sorry) so can add my thoughts now. It does exactly as promised and delivers a perfect espresso with excellent crema, or americano, but not tried the milk frother as I prefer black.As has been said, it takes a little tinkering to get the strength and volume right (eg lower the strength, increase the volume and dispense two cups into one mug and you have the perfect americano) and the instructions were right when they said the grind setting is preset by the factory and doesnt need resetting - I tinkered a lot and decided their setting was actually best. The pre-ground coffee function is useful if you have a guest needing decaff but you're limited to one scoop and I find it too weak.With regards other comments here, cleaning is not a problem at all and just requires periodic rinsing, likewise the warm up time (with self clean) is only 26 seconds and coffee dispensing is 30-60 seconds depending on selection, so I don't know why some people find that slow.The only negatives I would echo are that the expelled grounds tank needs emptying every 6-8 coffees (very easy though) and the water tank isn't very large.My biggest tip would be to read the instructions (as a typical bloke I dont usually but a lot of the issues raised in the reviews here are covered and explained) and choose your beans - so far starbucks estima wins on flavour and lavazza gold wins on crema.I bought this as I realised how much I was actually spending a year picking up Nero's coffee on the way to work and again mid-morning - I now take a small thermos of espresso and make up americanos in the office, and to be honest this is better coffee - and will pay for itself in about 2 months..

Ade
  • 20 Apr 2009, Mon
Great coffee, build quality problems
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this machine in 2006 after an almost-endless trawl through the internet reading owners' reviews - after all, we are talking about the search for the perfect expresso here!The coffee quality is indeed great. The only misgivings I would have about using it are that the knobs have no user markings, which means that if there are several people in the house using the machine, it is impossible to select the previously-selected individual settings. Also, the time before the machine performs an auto-switchoff is fixed at about three hours. I couldn't find the power comsumption in the user manual when in "idle" mode, but I think it must be substantial since it keeps the boiler/cup-preheater hot during this time. Not that the preheater is any use - I warm my cups by first wetting them and then putting them in the microwave for 30 seconds.Edit:I have had the machine for three years and in this time it has broken down three times - the first time after six weeks, the second time after about 18 months, and again most recently last week. The first two times, the machine was fixed under guarantee, without any quibbles. I think the problem is that the environment these machines have to work under is probably the most severe to be found in the home: high-pressure boiling water, grinding, and the transport of the coffee grains within the machine. Maybe the build quality of the cheaper machines is such that they cannot cope?While waiting this last time round for it to be picked up and repaired, I decided to open it up to check its build quality (I'm an engineer). De'Longhi has used thin plastic wherever possible. The coffee transfer path is not well isolated from the rest of the machine - as a result coffee powder had dropped into the moving motorised assembly at the back of the machine (I think this was the reason why the machine ultimately had failed).Others here have commented on the machine's coffee-making ability. I agree, it makes great coffee. It's a pity that, in my experience at least, it was let down by poor engi

Moore Paul Patrick

  • 13 Mar 2009, Fri
One of the best things we ever bought!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After doing extensive research on the internet I bought this about 6 years ago, and still reckon it's the best one. We have a lot of visitors to stay in summer, and everyone races to the machine at breakfast, then it's used throughout the day, every day, and is so easy to use or clean.
As a comparison, we had the Saeco Incanto which was similar, but had less variables in the settings. I also prefer that the watertank of the De'Longhi is more hidden away - the Saeco watertank had to be washed out regularly because the water would become slimy (the tank is positioned on the outside, at the back of the Saeco machine) in the warmth of summer.
Several of our friends have visited us and then gone home to buy their own De'Longhi, not surprisingly!!

100 percent Scots
  • 13 Mar 2009, Fri
One of the best things we ever bought!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After doing extensive research on the internet I bought this about 6 years ago, and still reckon it's the best one. We have a lot of visitors to stay in summer, and everyone races to the machine at breakfast, then it's used throughout the day, every day, and is so easy to use or clean.As a comparison, we had the Saeco Incanto which was similar, but had less variables in the settings. I also prefer that the watertank of the De'Longhi is more hidden away - the Saeco watertank had to be washed out regularly because the water would become slimy (the tank is positioned on the outside, at the back of the Saeco machine) in the warmth of summer.Several of our friends have visited us and then gone home to buy their own De'Longhi, not surprisingly!!

100 percent Scots
  • 08 Jan 2009, Thu
Top Coffee Conveniently Produced
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was disappointed with the first 5-6 cups that came out of the machine. Nothing special, but then the machine came alive. It seems that it was just "breaking in". I have now a steady supply of superb coffee that makes this machine a joy to own.

Firstly it really is easy to use. Each time the machine is turned on or off, it goes through a small self-cleaning routine that takes 20 seconds or so. I want to drink coffee, not become a small appliance maintenance expert. There are 4 steps to follow.

1) Use fresh coffee beans in the grinder unit or put pre-ground coffee into the machine. This makes it easy to have say a decaf coffee in the evening without having to remove your "fully fuelled" beans from your daytime drink. By default, the machine uses beans from the grinder.

2) Turn the knob to decide how much water you want in your coffee. An expresso, an allongé or something inbetween?

3) Turn the second knob to decide how strong you want your coffee to be - weak, strong or anywhere inbetween - it's your call.

4) Last step - do you want to make one cup or two? (If you are using fresh ground coffee, you can only make one cup at a time.

The machine makes a delicious, thick crema. On cheaper machines (e.g. the Senseo ones), they kind of artificially create a bubbly froth. This is a much more authentic and tasty crema. The machine has a cup warming plate on top, a simple to use milk frother to the side. It's so simple to use and the coffee is as good as anything I have ever drunk. It is not a quiet machine but those with integrated bean grinders never are, so it is typical for this class of machine.

Last night I refused a coffee in the restaurant because I wanted to have a better one of my own at home. Shop around for pricing - I got mine for under £250.

R. Cross
  • 08 Jan 2009, Thu
Top Coffee Conveniently Produced
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was disappointed with the first 5-6 cups that came out of the machine. Nothing special, but then the machine came alive. It seems that it was just "breaking in". I have now a steady supply of superb coffee that makes this machine a joy to own.Firstly it really is easy to use. Each time the machine is turned on or off, it goes through a small self-cleaning routine that takes 20 seconds or so. I want to drink coffee, not become a small appliance maintenance expert. There are 4 steps to follow.1) Use fresh coffee beans in the grinder unit or put pre-ground coffee into the machine. This makes it easy to have say a decaf coffee in the evening without having to remove your "fully fuelled" beans from your daytime drink. By default, the machine uses beans from the grinder.2) Turn the knob to decide how much water you want in your coffee. An expresso, an allongé or something inbetween?3) Turn the second knob to decide how strong you want your coffee to be - weak, strong or anywhere inbetween - it's your call.4) Last step - do you want to make one cup or two? (If you are using fresh ground coffee, you can only make one cup at a time.The machine makes a delicious, thick crema. On cheaper machines (e.g. the Senseo ones), they kind of artificially create a bubbly froth. This is a much more authentic and tasty crema. The machine has a cup warming plate on top, a simple to use milk frother to the side. It's so simple to use and the coffee is as good as anything I have ever drunk. It is not a quiet machine but those with integrated bean grinders never are, so it is typical for this class of machine.Last night I refused a coffee in the restaurant because I wanted to have a better one of my own at home. Shop around for pricing - I got mine for under £250.

R. Cross
  • 23 Dec 2008, Tue
Sublime coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have wanted to dispense with the horrors of instant (and filter!) coffee for a long, long while. However, I knew that the pleasures of real coffee wouldn't come cheap. Did much research and chose this. It makes the most wonderful coffee from real, fresh, coffee beans! It has to be seen, smelled and tasted to be believed, it really is one of the best machines I have ever bought.With one button,a cup (or 2) of fresh espresso is delivered in seconds, from scratch, and although it's child's play in use, everything can be customised. This is a very well designed machine, everything is fuss-free but the quality is better than at the high-street coffee shops. As soon as I tasted the first cup, I threw the instant in the bin. The builders will have to drink tea. If you like lattes etc they are remarkably easy too and the milk-frother at least gives you a chance to show off to family etc! Only a few seconds delay for froth so all drinks are very hot. Maintenance is almost nothing, it tells you when to do it, and even adjusts to your water hardness and cleans its own pipes every time you switch on. Coffee is miraculous....always perfect, top-restaurant-quality, wonderful crema etc and as many cups as you like.....fast! From fresh beans! You can use ground coffee if you wish, but you won't want to becuase you'll want fresh beans. Looks better than in the photos too, very stylish on my breakfast bar. If you really love REAL coffee, you'll be delighted with this. Good value too, around £300. Money well spent.

Patrick Mountford
  • 19 Oct 2008, Sun
bean to cup perfection
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

this is the basic model in the magnifica range but not so as you would notice. more up market ones have same insides but with more fancy controls.makes a perfect cup of coffee every time, with loads of adjustments to suit all tastes.easy to keep clean.try shopping around, can be got for less than you think, mine was just under three hundred pounds.go on - treat yourself, taste is better than you get in the high street chain coffee shops.

J. Strachan
  • 28 Jul 2007, Sat
Great coffee - shame about poor reliability
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this machine after an almost-endless trawl through the internet reading owners' reviews - after all, we are talking about the search for the perfect expresso here!The coffee quality is indeed great. The only misgivings I would have about using it are that the knobs have no user markings, which means that if there are several people in the house using the machine, it is impossible to select the previously-selected individual settings. Also, the time before the machine switches itself off is fixed at about three hours. I couldn't find the power comsumption in the user manual when in "idle" mode, but I think it must be substantial since it keeps the cup preheater hot during this time. Not that the preheater is any use - I warm my cups by first wetting them and then putting them in the microwave for 30 seconds.More seriously, I have had the machine for 16 months, and it has broken down twice, the first time after six weeks, and the second time last week. So far, it can be fixed under guarantee, but I fear that maintenence will be an expensive business when the guarantee runs out after two years. I think the problem is that the environment these machines have to work under is probably the most severe to be found in the home: high-pressure boiling water, grinding, and the transport of the coffee grains within the machine. Maybe the build quality of the cheaper machines is such that they cannot cope?Update 3 Nov 2007: The machine broke down again, for the third time. Each time the reason for the breakdown has been different:- stopped working during the decalcification cycle- stopped in mid-cycle when the mechanism jammed- no flow of coffee through the machine, even when thoroughly cleanedNot impressed.

Moore Paul Patrick

Manufacturer's Description

About De’Longhi

De’Longhi has been high profile Italian brand for more than 100 years, providing high quality, efficient, innovative, and stylish domestic products. Instantly recognisable, De’Longhi possesses a unique design quality that, when combined with De’Longhi’s technical expertise, creates products that truly stand alone.

De’Longhi Quality and coffee

Quality and reliability remain integral to our brand values, and all products are subjected to rigorous quality checks. This is particularly true of coffee makers, a key focus of De’Longhi, and the top of the range machines are still designed, produced and assembled by hand in the Italian production sites, in order to uphold the expected high standards.

Every single bean-to-cup coffee machine is tested, and makes a cup of coffee, before being thoroughly cleaned and released to the retailers. Each machine is also given a unique barcode to track its history should anything happen to it. The latest and most premium bean-to-cup machine ‘PrimaDonna’ is so carefully made that it will make up to 30,000 coffees in its lifetime – certainly a quality investment.

Magnifica EAM3200/ESAM3200

Magnifica EAM3200 is one the best domestic bean-to-cup espresso, lungo, and cappuccino machine on the market, with ingenious design and innovation. It allows consumers to make 15 BAR restaurant and coffee-bar standard coffee in the comfort of their own homes, and in the simplest way. All aspects of a typical professional pump espresso machine (like the ones you see in your highstreet coffee bar) such as grinders, filter holders, etc are found working inside Magnifica EAM3200, De’Longhi has just redesigned them, compacted them, and hidden them inside the machine. Instead of grappling with filter holders and manual levers, Magnifica expertly performs all of these functions at the touch of one button.
Vax Kone by karim Rashid Bean-to-cup journey

The function of a bean-to-cup machine is just as the name suggests – literally delivering coffee straight from freshly ground beans, straight into your cup. Magnifica EAM3200 does this in seconds, and yet the coffee is as good and as fresh as any you’ll buy in a coffee bar.

After pressing one button to select ‘espresso’; the bean-to-cup journey starts at the integral coffee bean grinder. Magnifica has an adjustable professional conical burr grinder to expertly grind the beans to any coarseness.
The ground coffee is then packed tightly and the internal brewing unit pushes hot water through the coffee at professional 15 BAR pressure. The espresso is then delivered straight into your cup, the whole process taking just seconds. The hallmark of a perfect espresso is recognised by the ‘crema’ – a creamy layer that sits on top of the espresso to seal in the temperature and flavour .The thicker the crema, the better the espresso and the quality of the machine that produced it.

Cappuccino

Cappuccinos are made just as easily using the traditional steam pipe/milk frother, just like the ones you will find in any professional coffee bar. Simply fill a suitable jug with cold semi-skimmed milk (a wide, flat bottomed stainless steel jug is ideal), and dip the steam nozzle in just under the milk. Then turn the steam dial to get the right amount of steam, and, just like in a bar, play with the froth inside the jug to get the perfect volume of bubbles.

Due to the twin boiler system, there is no waiting for the machine to heat up or cool down to make the milk froth and then the espresso – each function has a dedicated boiler for instant results.

Design

Magnifica is such a well-designed machine, that it can suit any type of user. It is extremely easy for first time users to make espresso and cappuccinos, and yet it also has lots of programmable functions for the more serious user, so that coffee strength, temperature, quantity etc can be easily set.
Brand De'Longhi
Model NumberEAM3200S
ColourSilver
Item Weight9.07 g
Product Dimensions28.5 x 37.5 x 36 cm
Capacity1.8 litres
Volume Capacity1.8 litres
Power / Wattage1450 watts
Auto ShutoffNo
Special FeaturesIntegrated_Coffee_Grinder, Removable_Tank, Cup_Warmer, Thermal, Milk_Frother