Qualityreviews logo

Sage Appliances BKE590UK
Sage
B00CI32V54


  • 79,98 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Sage
5
58%
(42)
4
16%
(12)
3
10%
(7)
2
5%
(4)
1
11%
(8)
Review 73 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Sage Appliances BKE590UK)
  • 09 Jul 2019, Tue
Intelligent kettle
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

This is the best kettle we’ve ever had.. correct temp from black tea to black coffee.. quite, elegant, stylish and sage!

Destinymad13
  • 03 Jul 2019, Wed
Smart design
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Smart, simple design, heats quickly.

Katy

  • 17 Jun 2019, Mon
Well made and quiet
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a great kettle. You get what you pay for in every respect. I even like the quirky little bicycle bell sound when it'sdone.

Trevor Hart
  • 09 May 2019, Thu
Good kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good kettle. Basic but well made. Looks as wife likes Rather expensive but hopefully will last.

M. Humphreys
  • 27 Apr 2019, Sat
Three years and going strong...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I’ve had one of these for three years and still works fine. OK, to be honest I bought it just because it looked nice - a £10 plastic kettle from Lidl doubtless boils the water just as well - but I do have a few other Sage devices, all of which are robust and well designed. Pretty happy.

MrSushiBoy
  • 23 Mar 2019, Sat
The kettle stopped working after 2 years
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Until yesterday I would have given this kettle a glowing review but it just stopped working. The light on the switch comes on but it's not heating any water. From other reviews, it looks like I won't get much joy from Sage Customer Services. This is a very disappointing performance for a kettle costing £60.00. It looks rather like you're paying to have Heston Blumenthal's name on the product rather than for quality and durability.

Timbo99
  • 07 Mar 2019, Thu
Love this kettle!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Not only is it beautiful and fit perfectly in our kitchen, but it's quite quiet and very efficient. I personally like the little bell 'ding' when it's done boiling. Have invested in a steel descaler ball as we're in a hard water area. So far it seems to be holding up well and is doing the job. Would recommend!

Audrey
  • 07 Mar 2019, Thu
Love this kettle!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Not only is it beautiful and fit perfectly in our kitchen, but it's quite quiet and very efficient. I personally like the little bell 'ding' when it's done boiling. Have invested in a steel descaler ball as we're in a hard water area. So far it seems to be holding up well and is doing the job. Would recommend!

Audrey
  • 11 Feb 2019, Mon
Avoid this kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Poor item. Very noisy kettle and supposed to be quiet. Dearest kettle I have bought and by far noisiest. Has now developed an issue in that it doesn’t turn off.

A. Ford
  • 21 Jan 2019, Mon
Looks good
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good, sleek. Our second one of same model. Just wish they would last longer

DilMck
  • 18 Jan 2019, Fri
Annoying pointless bell
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It took a while for me to spot another review that mentioned the bell that pings every time you fill and set the kettle off! It’s not quiet and very annoying

LAS
  • 13 Dec 2018, Thu
Noisy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Nice kettle but very noisy, would have returned if l had known this.

Nikki S.
  • 04 Dec 2018, Tue
Simple styling that looks great, and easy to fill and pour
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Whilst this isn’t a car I’ll mention the handling. It feels really nicely balanced and is easy to pour; even when full. No spills either. It looks subtle and thankfully it’s not lit up like Blackpool tower like many appliances these days. There’s a little ping to let you know it’s boiled as well. Talking of which it has a very quick boil time and as quiet as you can expect. I should add that even though I loathe Heston I can’t hold that against the product. Recommended! UPdate: ^ months in and it still looks and works like new

Jason C

  • 29 Nov 2018, Thu
An excellent kettle
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

An excellent kettle, in fact the second one we have bought. The first one died after 3 years. The soft open lid and wide appeture are really nice features.

Dr
  • 12 Nov 2018, Mon
Not durable - Lasted just over a year
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

On the whole it was a reasonable kettle but didn't last. I wasn't looking for a fancy kettle with temperature control and nerd knobs, just something to boil water quickly and efficently.

Pros
1. Quick boiling
2. Looks great

Cons
1. Water viewing window on one side has cracked on the inside and has just started cracking on the outside. Looks like the plastic has perished.
2. Water boiled chime sometimes works but mostly doesn't - it was like this from day 1
3. Hard to keep clean and scales up easy (the Kenwood kMix that this replaced was easy to clean and hardly scaled up)

Moving back to Kenwood kMix.

Paul Curnock
  • 12 Nov 2018, Mon
Not durable - Lasted just over a year
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

On the whole it was a reasonable kettle but didn't last. I wasn't looking for a fancy kettle with temperature control and nerd knobs, just something to boil water quickly and efficently.Pros1. Quick boiling2. Looks greatCons1. Water viewing window on one side has cracked on the inside and has just started cracking on the outside. Looks like the plastic has perished.2. Water boiled chime sometimes works but mostly doesn't - it was like this from day 13. Hard to keep clean and scales up easy (the Kenwood kMix that this replaced was easy to clean and hardly scaled up)Moving back to Kenwood kMix.

Paul Curnock
  • 24 Sep 2018, Mon
Gone! Hurrah!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It looks beautiful, doesn't it? OK, it was easy to clean and descale.I can't think of much else good to say. It always boiled, but never quite worked out when to switch off. Perhaps after a second of feeble bubbling: or a minute of ferocious boiling; and sometimes not at all, so I wouldn't have dared to switch it on and leave the kitchen. And I shouldn't have bought a kettle that calls for a minimum fill of 500ml, which is silly if all I want is a mug of instant.Sometimes the button popped out, so you'd have to scrabble for the button, and the spring it sits on, or you wouldn't be able to open the lid. And it's really, really heavy.At last I've got round to replacing it with a plastic Dualit kettle, which still looks smart, calls for a minimum of 250ml, and weighs less full than the Sage one weighed empty. Calm now reigns again.

LesleyS
  • 23 Sep 2018, Sun
Replacement filter available from Sage........but original lasted 5 years.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

love this kettle

Norfolk Gal
  • 10 Jul 2018, Tue
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Its a good one!

Eldraw
  • 26 Jun 2018, Tue
Deep analysis of...a ketltle!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

So much overthinking of these sorts of items these days. You used to just go to the shop, see one you quite liked the look of, bought it and just got on with its quirks. But no more. Everything is now scrutinised and analysed. This is a kettle, and a very nice one at that. Has a quality feel and I find the soft closing lid ridiculously pleasing! Yes, a bell softly tings when it boils this is neither here nor there really. I don't find it tings at other times. The kettle is noisy, but none is exactly silent in my opinion, and it is only short-lived as it boils pretty quickly. Overall I really like it.

Amazon Customer

Product Description

The Soft Open Kettle: with Wide Access Lid for Easy Cleaning

"Most eight year olds can tell you that steam rises."

Most twelve year olds can tell you that it becomes hot water when it cools down. So why do kettle lids flick up so quickly and splash hot water all over you? Well finally, here's one that doesn't.

And, even better, it's also a high powered kettle, so it doesn't take ages to boil.

Heston's Tip: Dunking your biscuit to make it moist, as well as rehydrating your mouth with a well brewed cuppa, allows your taste buds to detect more flavour and your nose to detect more aroma because your tongue and nasal passages become both warm and moist. The flavour release happens more quickly and is more intense.

Soft Lid, Gently Does It

The ritual of enjoying a cup of tea or coffee is one of life's more tranquil moments. So why shouldn't making a cuppa be part of the tranquillity?

A soft grip handle, and a soft opening lid make brewing a cuppa almost as tranquil as drinking one. The push button, soft opening lid prevents hot water splattering and staggers steam release. There is also a 1.7 litre cord-free jug, concealed element and a removable scale filter.

Tranquillity comes standard.

As relaxing as a cuppa
Soft open Lid. Slowly releases steam. Prevents splashing.
Click here for further information
Slow Release Lid

A push button, slow release lid prevents hot water splashes when opening and staggers steam release.

Dual High Visibility Windows

Highly transparent water windows make filling fast and easy. These are positioned on both sides for maximum versatility.

Auto Off

The kettle senses pressure and turns off once boiled or when there is no water in the kettle.

At Sage, we believe that the only way to design the most innovative and useful kitchen appliances is to understand the food that they help you prepare. And what better way to innovate and develop, than to collaborate with one of the world's most celebrated food thinkers - Heston Blumenthal.

Brand Sage
Model NumberBKE590UK
ColourSilver
Item Weight998 g
Product Dimensions15 x 23 x 15 cm
Capacity1.7 litres
Volume Capacity1.7 litres
Power / Wattage3000 watts
Voltage240 volts
MaterialStainless Steel
Auto ShutoffYes
Special FeaturesBoil Dry Protection^Concealed Heating^Cordless^Water Filter