Qualityreviews logo

De Longhi Magnifica Esam 4200 S Bean To Cup Silver
De'Longhi
B001EOMZ5E


  • 261,13 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: De'Longhi
5
71%
(12)
4
6%
(1)
3
6%
(1)
2
6%
(1)
1
12%
(2)
Review 17 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(De Longhi Magnifica Esam 4200 S Bean To Cup Silver)
  • 02 Dec 2018, Sun
addressing the complaints
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I'm only giving this 1 star to talk about the complaints.Ive only been using it for two days so I don't know about future faults yet, but up to now I give it 5 stars. I ordered the machine then read all the 1 star comments (back to front , I know), I nearly cancelled the order because of the comments... but im glad I didn't!For those that say the coffee ends up around the inside of the machine, the manual says don't put the ground coffee into the machine while its turned off or the coffee will end up around the inside of the machine.For those that say the water is not hot enough, it has for different heat settings for the water, plus if you warm the cup and put the machine through a clean (which is what it does when its first turned on ) it makes a hot cup of coffee.For those that say the coffee is not strong enough even at the highest setting, buy stronger coffee :)… dark roast.As long as it keeps working the way it is then im very happy with it.... and it looks good.

Billni
  • 02 Dec 2018, Sun
addressing the complaints
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I'm only giving this 1 star to talk about the complaints.
Ive only been using it for two days so I don't know about future faults yet, but up to now I give it 5 stars. I ordered the machine then read all the 1 star comments (back to front , I know), I nearly cancelled the order because of the comments... but im glad I didn't!
For those that say the coffee ends up around the inside of the machine, the manual says don't put the ground coffee into the machine while its turned off or the coffee will end up around the inside of the machine.
For those that say the water is not hot enough, it has for different heat settings for the water, plus if you warm the cup and put the machine through a clean (which is what it does when its first turned on ) it makes a hot cup of coffee.
For those that say the coffee is not strong enough even at the highest setting, buy stronger coffee :)… dark roast.
As long as it keeps working the way it is then im very happy with it.... and it looks good.

Billni

  • 07 Sep 2018, Fri
6 years and still going strong!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought my Delonghi ESAM4200 in November 2012 and at the time of writing this review it is still working really well.It makes really great espresso. I tend not to use the milk frother as I prefer to use a plunger type milk frother. I use a Bodum milk frother jug. That is just my preference and I know a lot of people do use the built-in milk frother and are happy with it.This machine produces espresso with a lovely velvety creme. The machine is easy to keep clean and easy to use. To descale I used to use the delonghi descaling solution for the first couple of years but now I just use some diluted citric acid which is a lot cheaper.As I mentioned, I have had this machine for nearly six years. We use it to make around four espressos per day.About a year ago the quality of the espresso had fallen and used coffee grounds started to make a bit of a mess inside the machine. I discovered online that replacing 3 O' Rings and lubricating the piston inside the brew unit would solve this. I bought the O' Rings with food safe lubricant on ebay for £7.50 and it took about 5 minutes to change them. It was not difficult to do. After I did that the machine started performing as new again.This machine has worked really well for us over the years. If I was to replace it I would probably go a step up into Delonghi's premium range with fully automatic milk frothing capabilities. However, for a budget machine I think this is probably the best around.

Abbas L
  • 13 Jul 2018, Fri
Great machine
Reviewed on Ebay

We are very happy with our new coffee machine, particularly the grinder for the beans. Coffee taste excellent. We also use the ground coffee. We progressed from a basic DeLonghi for seven years to this upmarket machine and are very impressed. Very happy with our purchase.

ac59_2009
  • 10 Jun 2018, Sun
Unrealiable machine and poor after care service
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this machine just before Xmas as it was on offer and initially worked very well and the coffee was great. However, just after 5 months the wand started to fail and stopped frothing the milk. All it does now is make a high pitch noise and produce warm milk with no froth.Did the usual process of cleaning the machine and making sure the wand and inner tube were clear of blockages but still no luck. So I contacted Delonghi and had to jump through hoops to arrange for it to go to their service department for it to be repaired. The machine was sent away on the Monday and I received a message on the Wednesday saying it was on its way back which was surpising as they only had it a day but I was lucking forward to having a working machine again so didnt question it. Got the machine back yesterday and my surprise turned to disappointment when I tried my first cup. The steaming wand still didnt work and clearly they hadnt fixed the problem. They sent back a service book and the only thing the service department did was to descale the machine and replace the wand.Really annoyed with De'Longhi as I had explained to them I had already checked the wand for blockages and there werent any. The service department clearly hasn't tested the machine while it was there which you would of thought would be just common sense. Looking online, it appears to be a common problem with this machine and the steam wand unit is very unrealiable and tends to fail after only a few months. I am now awaiting a response from De'Longhi but I am not holding out much hope that they will resolve this issue.I initially loved this machine as it was easy to use and made great coffee but it has serious realiabiltiy issues and the longevity of this machine is extremely poor.

staly
  • 31 May 2018, Thu
Coffee bean to cup
Reviewed on Ebay

A marvellous machine. Purchased this to replace our 8 year old machine that has stopped working. Lost without it. Makes lovely coffee used every morning .

hawkswickcote
  • 06 May 2018, Sun
This is an amazing machine. I learned about different types of beans
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

What a revelation. I have been coffee-crazy since my student days back in the late 1980s. To think of it, I once had an espresso machine that I used for years without learning how to make a proper espresso (the days before the internet, we never felt the need to learn so much. I definitely didn't have a tampering tool so must have been rubbish espresso as made without tampering). I moved on to french presses and recently bought a Nescafe EDG305.B Dolce Gusto Mini Me Coffee Capsule Machine by De'Longhi - Piano Black which makes a lovely cup of coffee. Then I moved on to a bean to cup, i-e. this machine. This is an amazing machine. I learned about different types of beans, read about coffee's humble origins in Ethiopia and Yemen, the Islamic golden age of coffee and how it was introduced from the Middle East and Turkey to Europe The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History and how it was spread in the colonies of the New World and Indonesia by the European colonists. Now we live in the Western Golden Age of Coffee.The machine itself is easy to set up. Make sure it is switched on at the back and the steam knob is set to the 'off' position. Read the instructions carefully although most of the factory settings are good enough to start with. I have used a few types of beans although I keep on coming back to Lavazza Qualita Rossa Coffee Beans 1kg after every experiment. Espresso is nice. I make cappuccinos for my son with it. Transition from coffee to steam is seamless but from steam to coffee takes many minutes. Make sure you brew your shot of espresso BEFORE you froth your milk otherwise the frothed mild would go cold/ flat while you wait for coffee to be brewed if you do so AFTER you froth the milk. I bought this Milk Pitcher, Dailyart 600ml/20fl.oz. Stainless Steel Milk Cup Milk Frothing Pitcher Milk Jug for frothing the milk in. I drank a cappuccino from Costa the other day and it felt weak and powdery. The coffee from this machine is totally different from anything you can buy from Costa, Starbucks etc.

Kafka's Crow
  • 06 May 2018, Sun
This is an amazing machine. I learned about different types of beans
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

What a revelation. I have been coffee-crazy since my student days back in the late 1980s. To think of it, I once had an espresso machine that I used for years without learning how to make a proper espresso (the days before the internet, we never felt the need to learn so much. I definitely didn't have a tampering tool so must have been rubbish espresso as made without tampering). I moved on to french presses and recently bought a Nescafe EDG305.B Dolce Gusto Mini Me Coffee Capsule Machine by De'Longhi - Piano Black which makes a lovely cup of coffee. Then I moved on to a bean to cup, i-e. this machine. This is an amazing machine. I learned about different types of beans, read about coffee's humble origins in Ethiopia and Yemen, the Islamic golden age of coffee and how it was introduced from the Middle East and Turkey to Europe The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History and how it was spread in the colonies of the New World and Indonesia by the European colonists. Now we live in the Western Golden Age of Coffee.

The machine itself is easy to set up. Make sure it is switched on at the back and the steam knob is set to the 'off' position. Read the instructions carefully although most of the factory settings are good enough to start with. I have used a few types of beans although I keep on coming back to Lavazza Qualita Rossa Coffee Beans 1kg after every experiment. Espresso is nice. I make cappuccinos for my son with it. Transition from coffee to steam is seamless but from steam to coffee

Kafka's Crow
  • 28 Apr 2018, Sat
Excellent machine!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is my first bean to cup machine after having a more traditional espresso machine previously. I was after the ease of one of the pod type machines but without the awful waste of resources that those stupid little pods entail. I tried to read as many reviews as I could about various machines and this one seemed to keep coming up as the best reviewed without spending thousands. While I love a coffee I'm by no means a coffee connoisseur/snob so I couldn't justify spending ridiculous amounts.Anyway - this arrived quickly - sooner than expected actually, and was very straightforward to set up. Then it's just a case of running it a few times to get things set up how you like them. This is all also really straightforward. We've now got it set to pump out coffees just right and it's fantastic! It's easy, so much less hassle than the traditional espresso machine. We drink lattes and the milk frother on this is great too. It helps to know how to use a milk frother to get the best results - but there's plenty of info on youtube about that if you're not sure. Probably the only criticism I would make is the steam wand doesn't sit out from the body of the machine far enough. It's manageable, but would be better with a bit more distance to work with. As others have said there is a cool down period after using the steam but if you run water/steam through the wand after switching it off that mode it cools down much quicker.I'm now looking forward to trying out different beans to see the difference in flavours. We've only had this a month so far and I really hope this machine lasts - assuming it does I would highly recommend it. It makes great coffee and is really straightforward, without having to resort to single use packaging for every cup of coffee you drink.

Monkey
  • 14 Feb 2018, Wed
Good coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a replacement machine for the similar but previous model. Only use it for black coffee so can't comment on the milk frother. However, like other reviewers I confirm it makes great hot coffee, quite easy to operate and manage though more difficult to clean. As it is a replacement for the similar previous model you will understand I do like it and know how to operate it to maximise it's flexibility. However, 3 stars: this machine has so much more plastic than the previous model and it looks a bit cheaper in appearance. The drip tray is flimsy and has more jagged internal parts to clean which can trap coffee stains and grounds. The coffee feeds are also a lot messier with long coffee drip stains and it also drips down the coffee spouts and pours and trickles inside the machine. I never had a problem like this with the previous model. I do like the eco settings on this one and the flexibility highlighted by other reviewers. It is a good machine for the money, but a lot noisier than its predecessor.

Scotlad
  • 09 Jan 2018, Tue
Excellent Coffee!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I had had one of these machines before but it didn't last very long. I replaced it with a Krups which had a ceramic grinder and which lasted longer but when I saw this De'Longhi advertised at such a good price (and Krups had changed the grinder to stainless steel) I decided to buy another one. It is again much flimsier than the Krups but functions well. The coffee is better, tastier, creamier but not as hot - even when using the instructions to increase the temperature. The only real disappointment is that with this newer Magnifica it is not possible to access the beans and as my partner now has to use decaffeinated beans and I do not, it is a fiddle to put in the exact amounts we each require. This may not affects others though so I have not downgraded my rating.

LFT
  • 26 Dec 2017, Tue
Mostly we are making excellent espresso / americano coffees/ On a week end my ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I purchased this unit 10 months ago. I thought I would wait a while to see how it performed and it has excelled!. There are 3 adults who are all now hooked on this machine. We did a rough estimate and thinks Its probably dished up more than 800 cups of coffee.Mostly we are making excellent espresso / americano coffees/ On a week end my son will craft an excellent cappuccino for my wife. To this you need to use the steam wand and manually inject steam into a small jug of milk. Its totally capable of providing enough steam you just need to develop your technique to get the foam just right.For us its perfect. Compact, but performs exactly what we want it to do. 5 Stars.

dei
  • 03 Dec 2017, Sun
this was very easy to set up "even with disabilities" Made 2 coffees ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My 1st machine was broken from the factory, Amazon as always replaced order straight away no questions asked, 2nd machine delivered today " 3rd Dec 2017"By following the instructions page by page and completing Water Hardest Test, this was very easy to set up "even with disabilities"Made 2 coffees to set up my desired strength and cup length " I use a Starbuck Large Cappuccino cup can be brought from Starbuck uk £6.50"OMG what a great machine, the coffee is strong and the milk steamer heated and frothed milk really up well.I live for coffee & for year drank normal Nescafe instant ,6mths ago completely went off drinking normal coffee as I believe Nescafe changed their coffee beans or processing ,their instant coffee just went awful,I am now back in love with my love for coffee, cappuccino, latte made at home with this machine are lovely & taste as good as buying coffee shop coffee, but will a 10th of the cost.Well done De`Longhi excellent machine at a fantastic price, you dont need to spend £600,£700,£800+ for a bean to cup machine, this one does a great job.

Wayne Wood

  • 03 Dec 2017, Sun
this was very easy to set up "even with disabilities" Made 2 coffees ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My 1st machine was broken from the factory, Amazon as always replaced order straight away no questions asked, 2nd machine delivered today " 3rd Dec 2017"

By following the instructions page by page and completing Water Hardest Test, this was very easy to set up "even with disabilities"

Made 2 coffees to set up my desired strength and cup length " I use a Starbuck Large Cappuccino cup can be brought from Starbuck uk £6.50"

OMG what a great machine, the coffee is strong and the milk steamer heated and frothed milk really up well.

I live for coffee & for year drank normal Nescafe instant ,6mths ago completely went off drinking normal coffee as I believe Nescafe changed their coffee beans or processing ,their instant coffee just went awful,

I am now back in love with my love for coffee, cappuccino, latte made at home with this machine are lovely & taste as good as buying coffee shop coffee, but will a 10th of the cost.

Well done De`Longhi excellent machine at a fantastic price, you dont need to spend £600,£700,£800+ for a bean to cup machine, this one does a great job.

Wayne Wood
  • 09 Feb 2017, Thu
De Longhorns coffee machine ( magnifica )
Reviewed on Ebay

Very good machine, not to big and makes good coffes of any description

bwil257911
  • 10 Dec 2016, Sat
it still works perfectly and make great coffee...BUT
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

can't believe this is 4 years old... it still works perfectly and make great coffee... the creme is just as thick as day one... HOWEVER I HAVE A MAJOR GRIPE... and this is nothing to do with the quality of the machine or the coffee it makes but more to do with one of the biggest scams these companies do on a regular basis and that's the "cleaning" aspect... or should I say the red flashing button that kicks in after literally a month or so... of course the machine comes with one of those custom plastic De'Longhi sachets and whilst a bit complex the machine cleaning went okay. Hmmm, I thought, I made a point of only using bottled water [admittedly the 17p 2L ones you get from the supermarkets] as I knew the tap water was pretty chalky.So guess what I did... yep, I just ignored the flashing light after the 2nd time it flashed [about 6 weeks later] and you now... nothing happened... the machine continued [and continues] to make great coffee. Hell those cleaning sachets were not cheap... about £6 quid each if I remember. Now if we divide six quid into a flashing light clean every 6 weeks we hit £208... pretty close to the price of a new machine. It's like the printer ink con IMO.Admittedly I used supermarket own brand cheap bottled water as I don't have a water softener but this machine obviously doesn't need to be 'sachet. cleaned' as ridiculously frequently as the circuit board tells it to.All that aside the quality of the coffee is superb... there's something deeply satisfying seeing a gorgeous thick creme every time... 4 years and still going strong... but just ignore that flashing light!

M_L
  • 10 Dec 2016, Sat
it still works perfectly and make great coffee...BUT
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

can't believe this is 4 years old... it still works perfectly and make great coffee... the creme is just as thick as day one... HOWEVER I HAVE A MAJOR GRIPE... and this is nothing to do with the quality of the machine or the coffee it makes but more to do with one of the biggest scams these companies do on a regular basis and that's the "cleaning" aspect... or should I say the red flashing button that kicks in after literally a month or so... of course the machine comes with one of those custom plastic De'Longhi sachets and whilst a bit complex the machine cleaning went okay. Hmmm, I thought, I made a point of only using bottled water [admittedly the 17p 2L ones you get from the supermarkets] as I knew the tap water was pretty chalky.

So guess what I did... yep, I just ignored the flashing light after the 2nd time it flashed [about 6 weeks later] and you now... nothing happened... the machine continued [and continues] to make great coffee. Hell those cleaning sachets were not cheap... about £6 quid each if I remember. Now if we divide six quid into a flashing light clean every 6 weeks we hit £208... pretty close to the price of a new machine. It's like the printer ink con IMO.

Admittedly I used supermarket own brand cheap bottled water as I don't have a water softener but this machine obviously doesn't need to be 'sachet. cleaned' as ridiculously frequently as the circuit board tells it to.

All that aside the quality of the coffee is superb... there's something deeply satisfying seeing a gorgeous thick creme every time... 4 years and still going strong... but just ignore that flashing light!

M_L

Product Description

Coffee based beverages at a touch of a button and brew of two espresso cups at the same time.

Box Contains

1 x De'Longhi ESAM4200 Bean to Cup Machine1 x Descaler1 x Plastic coffee measuring spoon1 x Full product instructions1 x Plug

From the manufacturer

De'Longhi Magnifica ESAM 4200 Automatic Bean to Cup Machine

Make all your coffee shop favourite drinks with the Magnifica ESAM 4200 bean to cup coffee machine. Nothing else can beat freshly ground beans to create your favourite coffee. Whether you like a strong espresso or long frothy cappuccino, this machine can deliver it.

Makes all coffee shop favourites Grinds beans for perfect taste and freshness Personalise strength and length of coffee Frothing nozzle for milk drinks Make two cups at once Easy to clean and maintain
Grinds Fresh Coffee Beans

Your choice of fresh coffee beans finely ground with the integrated burr grinder. Creating coffee shop quality coffee, to be enjoyed in the comfort of your own home.

Personalise Your Coffee

Easy to use control panel for you to simply adapt the coffee strength and length to your preference.

Double Delivery

Prepare two drinks with a single touch of a button, or prepare hot water for tea infusions.

Traditional Milk Frother

Produces a smooth and silky milk foam to create your favourite beverages such as Cappuccino, Caffe Latte, or Latte Macchiato.

Magnifica ESAM 4200 Autentica ETAM 29.510.SB Autentica ETAM 29.620.S Eletta ECAM 44.620.S Autentica ETAM 29.660.SB Eletta ECAM 44.660.B Size Compact Super Compact Super Compact Compact Super Compact Compact Dimensions 36 x 38 x 28 cm 34 x 19.5 x 48 cm 34 x 19.5 x 48 cm 36 x 26 x 46 cm 34 x 19.5 x 48 cm 36 x 26 x 46 cm Milk Frother Manual Manual Adjustable Manual Adjustable Manual Automatic - Milk Carafe Automatic - Milk Carafe One Touch Recipes Espresso Espresso, Doppio+, Long Coffee Espresso, Doppio+, Long Coffee Espresso, Long Coffee Espresso, Doppio+, Long Coffee, Cappucino Espresso, Long Coffee, Cappucino Milk Menu ✓ ✓ Milk Menu Recipes Cafe Latte, Flat White, Espresso Macchiato, Latte Macchiato, Hot Milk Cafe Latte, Flat White, Espresso Macchiato, Latte Macchiato, Hot Milk Digital Display ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Coffee Type Beans or Pre Ground Beans or Pre Ground Beans or Pre Ground Beans or Pre Ground Beans or Pre Ground Beans or Pre Ground
Brand De'Longhi
Model NumberESAM4200
ColourSilver
Item Weight10 Kg
Product Dimensions37.5 x 28.5 x 36 cm
Capacity1.8 litres
Volume Capacity1.8 litres
Power / Wattage1450 watts
Voltage240 volts
MaterialPlastic
Auto ShutoffYes
Special FeaturesIntegrated Coffee Grinder;Milk Frother;Programmable;Removable Tank;Thermoblock;cup warmer
  

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: READONLY You can't write against a read only replica.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 767
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once