Qualityreviews logo

Dualit 4 Slot Vario Toaster 40344 Black
Dualit
B00009YAVL


  • 154,68 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Dualit
5
57%
(97)
4
12%
(20)
3
10%
(17)
2
4%
(7)
1
17%
(29)
Review 170 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Dualit 4 Slot Vario Toaster 40344 Black)
  • 20 Oct 2019, Sun
Poor product overly expensive poor Customer Support
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have had mine a year. Not at all happy it browns unevenly, one side is uncooked other burnt the two first slots are useless as slot one is underpowered. This means that I have to switch all 4 burners on and try to only use middle ones. Contacted Dualit so called customer support several times and their only help and suggestion was to switch on all slots leave for a minute to heat up and then try. Great environmental advice!! This is an expensive item and certainly not worth the money will not but Dualit again. Their boast is that they have a caring Customer Suppport team maybe the directors need to secret shop and see for themselves.

anoninspain
  • 08 Sep 2019, Sun
great toaster
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

it was described as used and at just over half price took a chance. when it arrived it was perfect, no damage worked fine cooks toast evenly, so all we can think of the person who originally bought it sent it back after taking it out of the box, unused. What we always wanted with the added bonus of an excellent price and is a great toaster compared to the ones we bought in the past

Amazon Customer

  • 25 Jun 2019, Tue
Don’t buy, poor quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Terrible, on my third toaster, poor quality.

Alison Phillips
  • 13 Jun 2019, Thu
Classic doesn’t mean good.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

With hindsight I am puzzled by why so many “best toaster” reviews select this, and I think it might be because they are dazzled by the “solid as a tank and you can repair it” reputation. We sent ours back after two days because 1) a standard sliced loaf slice will not fit (too high so the top does not toast) 2) a slice from a loaf made in our bread maker did not fit (too wide so had to be stood on end and stuck out so top did not toast) and 3) a standard medium slice flops to one side or the other because there is no support in the extra wide slots, and usually was therefore burnt/overdone on one side and underdone/not done at all on the other. A poor design, classic or not.

k1100
  • 11 May 2019, Sat
Better than sliced bread
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Hasn’t realised quite how rubbish our previous (£10) toaster was until we got this! Not reason enough to spend quite this much of course, but the Dualit is much better looking to boot of course. Obviously!

Janet
  • 27 Apr 2019, Sat
Sturdy retro
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

With Dualit products you get exactly what you pay for!! Great quality, premier toaster, at a premier price. Toast evenly & quick. Looks stunning with the kettle to match!!

Amazon Customer
  • 18 Feb 2019, Mon
Best ever
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I had the two slot version for 22 years and it was still going strong but needed the bigger version. Quality toaster and the most stylish out there.

Jane Learmonth
  • 24 Jan 2019, Thu
Not great
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We have had ours for years. Ok - DURA -bility is great. Not easy to clean. Will not take thick bread - a couple of burning sessions told us that. But it goes on and on.

Dr M
  • 06 Jan 2019, Sun
Bought Dec2017 - Broke Jan 2019 13 months old!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After 13 months of NOT even DAILY USE the middle slots began to burn one side of the bread. Shocking for the price. When it worked it was an ok toaster but definitely not worth the price.

Amazon Customer
  • 06 Jan 2019, Sun
Toasts very quickly!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Burnt my toast

Amazon Customer
  • 03 Jan 2019, Thu
East of a toaster. Toast crunchy outside, soft inside.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had this for a week now and it’s a beast of a toaster. Gets very hot, very quickly, and gives fairly even toast which is nice and soft inside.
Timer is a bit trial and error at first but I love the pop up lever to have a little look to see if your toast is done. Doesn’t auto pop up like most which I was a little worried about, but having gotten used it, it’s much better.
Looks great and I get the impression it’ll last a very long time as it’s built very well.

Mark Rendle
  • 03 Jan 2019, Thu
East of a toaster. Toast crunchy outside, soft inside.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had this for a week now and it’s a beast of a toaster. Gets very hot, very quickly, and gives fairly even toast which is nice and soft inside.Timer is a bit trial and error at first but I love the pop up lever to have a little look to see if your toast is done. Doesn’t auto pop up like most which I was a little worried about, but having gotten used it, it’s much better.Looks great and I get the impression it’ll last a very long time as it’s built very well.

Mark Rendle
  • 31 Dec 2018, Mon
150 fine pounds and its burns and doesnt toast parts of the same slice
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This toaster looks fab and I like the mechanical eject. But we have just sent it back.

We are gobsmacked we had to do this after watching the video and seeing hand made in Britain, tested and signed off by Henry we were expecting the best.

Its utter rubbish and if you put 4 slices in you will have Charcoal/burnt/untouched(top)/undercooked on each slice.
Bread is a standard size, am I unrealistic to expect the top of the bread to be toasted ?

Billy

  • 31 Dec 2018, Mon
150 fine pounds and its burns and doesnt toast parts of the same slice
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This toaster looks fab and I like the mechanical eject. But we have just sent it back.We are gobsmacked we had to do this after watching the video and seeing hand made in Britain, tested and signed off by Henry we were expecting the best.Its utter rubbish and if you put 4 slices in you will have Charcoal/burnt/untouched(top)/undercooked on each slice.Bread is a standard size, am I unrealistic to expect the top of the bread to be toasted ?

Billy
  • 27 Dec 2018, Thu
Great
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great, time will tell on the durability and value for money.Happy so far.

Amazon Customer
  • 21 Dec 2018, Fri
Superb toaster.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great toaster, don’t buy cheap buy this!

Marc Jones
  • 02 Dec 2018, Sun
My new toaster
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I like everything about this toaster, I’ve had one before. It lasted a good number of years too. In between I bought a cheap make and it doesn’t pay to do that, Hence I’ve gone back to Dualit. Highly recommended ????

Amazon Customer
  • 30 Nov 2018, Fri
Robust. Simple. Gimmick free.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The reviews saying these do not toast evenly must be using a different toaster to me.

Mr E Shopper
  • 20 Sep 2018, Thu
Form and function!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

A timeless design classic with simple, yet effective function.

FewMenChew
  • 26 Aug 2018, Sun
Very quick once warmed up
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The way you can quickly push the toast up without cutting off the heating to see how brown it is is very useful indeed.

Graham
Colour:Black

Product Description

The Dualit Vario Toaster combines simplicity and sophistication ideally. It features extra wide 28 mm slots to accommodate a sandwich cage. ProHeat elements increases toasting efficiency and element longevity. The toaster has a removable crumb tray and an adjustable rear foot. Manually operated, the Dualit toaster features switches to control the degree of browning. This allows you to enjoy your toast exactly the way you like it. An ejector system means that the toast does not pop up but stays warm until the ejector lever is pushed up. It can be set to toast one, two or four slices. Each of these toasters are assembled by hand and the assembler's individual mark can be found on the base plate.

Amazon.co.uk Review

The Dualit Vario toaster makes great toast, looks stunning and is built to last. This three-slice model has a classic stainless steel finish. The three slots are 28 mm wide with self-adjusting wire guards to automatically accommodate a broad range of bread thicknesses. The slots also support the separately available sandwich cage, which is a useful addition for making toasted sandwiches, buns and crumpets, though it is possible to toast the latter without a cage.

The Dualit is a sturdy beast with a retro look. It weighs in at around 4 kg and has minimal controls, all with a reassuringly solid feel. The red backlit slot-selector switch lights up to tell you when the toaster is in use and can be set for two or three slices. This is important, as the toaster uses a patented ProHeat element that is optimised to quickly produce evenly cooked toast. However, the element's lifespan may be shortened if a slot is regularly heated while empty. A black rotary time switch means that you need to determine how long you want to toast each and every time you use the Dualit, rather than relying on a default setting as seen with other toasters.

One of the advantages of the Dualit toaster is that the bread doesn't pop up when the timer is finished. Instead, you need to press down the central black ejector knob to remove your toast. This ensures that your toast stays warm for longer if you are not there to remove it straightaway. Another component of note is a useful slide-out crumb tray. Results are impressive, with beautifully even toasting in all slots and up to 98 slices per hour (three medium slices from cold takes around two minutes). However, the most compelling reason for putting a Dualit toaster in your kitchen is its perfect blend of durability and style. --Heather Wilson

See all Product description

From the manufacturer

Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances

Dualit 4 Slot Vario Toaster

Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances

Style-conscious design, first designed in 1947.Hand built in England – as identified by the individual assembler’s mark on the base plate.Adjustable inner wire guard to grip toast.Easy cleaning with a stainless steel cover. High lift mechanism to remove small items easily. Extra wide 28 mm slots to accommodate larger items like bagels and the optional sandwich cage.
Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances

The Dualit Classic Toaster combines simplicity and sophistication, making every breakfast extraordinary. The extra wide slots can accommodate a Sandwich Cage, and the award winning ProHeat elements increase toasting efficiency & element longevity. Every toaster has a removable crumb tray and an adjustable rear foot. The Dualit toaster features an ejector system which means that the toast does not pop up but stays warm until the ejector lever is pushed up.

Optional sandwich cage. Selector switch- use only the slots required. Concealed, removable crumb tray. Adjustable rear foot. Proheat elements designed with protective layer over the wires, making them virtually unbreakable. Mechanical timer to control toasting. Manually operated eject lever to keep items warm until needed.
Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances

The perfect "crunch"

After more than 70 years of toasting expertise, Dualit’s Classic Toaster range instils everything they’ve learnt so far. Regular ‘Crunch Tests’ ensure that every Dualit toaster produces ideal toast – crunchy on the outside, soft and fluffy inside.

Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances

ProHeat elements

Exclusive to Dualit, ProHeat elements have a protective armour plated layer covering the filament making them virtually unbreakable

Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances

Hand built in the UK

Each toaster is hand-assembled from start to finish. Who made your toaster? Find the assembler’s name on the base plate.

Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances

A toaster to last a lifetime

Fully repairable or replaceable parts for a toaster that will last a lifetime.

Why choose Dualit?

Dualit Environmental

Dualit is aware of its environmental responsibilities and we have implemented Procedures to prevent pollution, minimise waste, reduce our emissions and manage risks and hazards. We are working to reduce the energy consumption of our products and we actively encourage recycling both of our own waste and that of our customers with the aim of reducing the amount going into landfill.

Dualit Quality

Lots of companies talk about quality; for Dualit it is a fundamental part of the business. Our Quality Policy exists to provide employees and suppliers with a framework that ensures they deliver our promises to customers, whether product or service related. Its success is a consequence of several key factors - a continuous process of monitoring and improvement, senior management 'champions', supplier relationships that work as true partnerships, and employees who often 'go the extra mile' for the benefit of their customers.

Dualit Responsibility

Our Customers have high expectations concerning our Ethical Standards and we need to ensure we can live up to those expectations. For this reason Dualit have implemented an Ethical Sourcing Procedure which is based on international standards such as the conventions of the International Labour Organisation. We regularly visit our Suppliers and conduct Site Inspections & Audits to ensure their compliance to our standards.

Dualit, toaster, dualit toaster, 4 slot toaster, high quality toaster, small appliances
Brand Dualit
Model Number40344
ColourBlack
Item Weight2.6 Kg
Product Dimensions210 x 360 x 220 cm
Power / Wattage2.2 KW
Auto ShutoffNo
Number of Slices4