Qualityreviews logo

Bodum Pebo 8 Cup Vacuum Coffee Maker 1 L 34 Oz
BODUM
B00005NCX5


  • 19,60 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: BODUM
5
56%
(29)
4
19%
(10)
3
6%
(3)
2
0%
(0)
1
19%
(10)
Review 52 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Bodum Pebo 8 Cup Vacuum Coffee Maker 1 L 34 Oz)
  • 20 Jun 2019, Thu
Interesting way of brewing coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I can't say it's my favourite coffee brewing device, but it's certainly the most eye catching I've seen. I use it mostly when I have guests and want to impress them and also to brew a lot of coffee at once.

It does a good job in brewing coffee, but as usual, the quality of the cup depends on the beans-roast-grind-water quality.
The price is good for a syphon and since you can use it on the stove (with a heat diffuser), it's also easy to use. Cleaning it might be a bit tricky if you want it cristal clear, but you can get away by only running water in it.
Being all glass and quite big it requires extra attention when handling it, so you need to be careful when using it.

Catalin Ghila
  • 20 Jun 2019, Thu
Interesting way of brewing coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I can't say it's my favourite coffee brewing device, but it's certainly the most eye catching I've seen. I use it mostly when I have guests and want to impress them and also to brew a lot of coffee at once.It does a good job in brewing coffee, but as usual, the quality of the cup depends on the beans-roast-grind-water quality.The price is good for a syphon and since you can use it on the stove (with a heat diffuser), it's also easy to use. Cleaning it might be a bit tricky if you want it cristal clear, but you can get away by only running water in it.Being all glass and quite big it requires extra attention when handling it, so you need to be careful when using it.

Catalin Ghila

  • 11 May 2019, Sat
Awesome device - other reviews reflect user errors..
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Although I haven't even bought my Bodum Pebo on Amazon (picked it up at a sale..) I thought it's time that I came out in defense of this plucky coffee maker given all the other reviews!Don't be fooled - most of these really reflect user error..Is it a fragile material? Yes.Will it break as soon as I put it on the heat? No. But make sure there's no water left on outside from filling.Could I break it washing up? Yes, you certainly can. Like most other things - Particularly with two left hands!I have owned mine for half a year and have always washed it up by hand. It's not rocket science - just be careful with it!We have been using a Nespresso machine for daily operations but are now using this maker on the weekends. Best coffee to use we found is a cafetiere blend. Don't go too fine on the grind (espresso) as otherwise it won't properly filter back down to main vessel. If that happens just bring to boil once more and it should flow better.All in all this is a really fun device - if you love making coffee and want to try something else that doesn't take up too much room in your kitchen. Just be mindful of the cleaning and handling aspects, but treated with care you will definitely get your money's worth!

fz
  • 06 Jan 2019, Sun
It came by post and not Hermes they rubbish
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very happy with it, quick delivery

VeronicaRobinson
  • 05 Jan 2019, Sat
Delicate materials, be warned.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this in June 2018 and cracked November 2018. Both sections of this glass coffee maker are very thin and washing them is a gamble. I have been extremely careful and the last time I cleaned it, I tapped the top edge of the upper body funnel against the sink tap and "tink" I knew it was cracked. It was the slightest of taps but rendered the whole contraption useless, it is by far the flimsiest design I have come across, the glass is so thin you can feel its delicacy when taken out of the box.

It makes for very good coffee but I have gone on ebay and bought an original designed by Cona from the 70's and it feels definitely stronger and its plainly made of thicker glass. Bodum and every other maker of this design has copied Cona's but even though the process is exactly the same, I find that I have to simmer slightly longer (5 secs) and bubble the water up into the top to allow the vacuum to build up enough to allow all the coffee to return to the base jug. If you want originality, try and buy an original glass stopper, but the flat, plastic filter from the bodum fits and does just a slightly better job.

For the price, an original can be cheaper and last a heck of a lot longer than a bodum, why ? is still a mystery as the glass in the bodum is practically such a design flaw as to be criminal in my opinion, its never going to last, I'm not sure if this is a more modern, late design and some older versions may be better but a small crack has wasted £40 because of cost cutting & profit making, sign of the times really.

StoneyIsle
  • 05 Jan 2019, Sat
Delicate materials, be warned.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this in June 2018 and cracked November 2018. Both sections of this glass coffee maker are very thin and washing them is a gamble. I have been extremely careful and the last time I cleaned it, I tapped the top edge of the upper body funnel against the sink tap and "tink" I knew it was cracked. It was the slightest of taps but rendered the whole contraption useless, it is by far the flimsiest design I have come across, the glass is so thin you can feel its delicacy when taken out of the box.It makes for very good coffee but I have gone on ebay and bought an original designed by Cona from the 70's and it feels definitely stronger and its plainly made of thicker glass. Bodum and every other maker of this design has copied Cona's but even though the process is exactly the same, I find that I have to simmer slightly longer (5 secs) and bubble the water up into the top to allow the vacuum to build up enough to allow all the coffee to return to the base jug. If you want originality, try and buy an original glass stopper, but the flat, plastic filter from the bodum fits and does just a slightly better job.For the price, an original can be cheaper and last a heck of a lot longer than a bodum, why ? is still a mystery as the glass in the bodum is practically such a design flaw as to be criminal in my opinion, its never going to last, I'm not sure if this is a more modern, late design and some older versions may be better but a small crack has wasted £40 because of cost cutting & profit making, sign of the times really.

StoneyIsle
  • 22 Dec 2018, Sat
Amazing coffee maker
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Makes the best tasting coffee possible. When paired with a milk frother you can make coffees as good as the best coffee shops

Pablo
  • 05 Oct 2018, Fri
Waste of money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I put water in the bottom and coffee in the top as described in the instructions. I put it on the gas stove and set the flame not too high. Just as the water boiled and started to go to the top part, the base cracked and the stove was covered with water.
It was a waste of money and I was left with broken glass and no coffee.

Dr. C. G. Baillie-searle
  • 05 Oct 2018, Fri
Waste of money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I put water in the bottom and coffee in the top as described in the instructions. I put it on the gas stove and set the flame not too high. Just as the water boiled and started to go to the top part, the base cracked and the stove was covered with water.It was a waste of money and I was left with broken glass and no coffee.

Dr. C. G. Baillie-searle
  • 04 Aug 2018, Sat
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Makes the best standard coffee I've tried , unfortunately the top part broke .

Neil llewelyn smith
  • 29 Jun 2018, Fri
Stylish
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

very stylish product, works very well but only one issue it will block up if too fine a grind is used

David
  • 16 Jun 2018, Sat
Love it!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've been looking for one of these for years! I bought it for my dad's birthday. He loves it. Good price, better than buying from Bodum

Amazon Customer
  • 29 May 2018, Tue
Beautiful, fun, practical and excellent tasting.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My girlfriend told me on Saturday that while in Japan she enjoyed drinking coffee that was made with a “glass tube and chain” system. We then found out that it was called a syphon and that Bodum made it. The beauty of amazon is that in less than 24 hours we had one delivered.It is a thing of beauty, certainly not portable, but it is fun, quick to prepare and easy to clean. The coffee it makes (we used Kimbo coffee ground for a moka), and it takes just 5 minutes on our electric hob, is rounded and complex and not burnt like an Italian moka tends to taste like, more like a Neapolitan cuccuma, but less bitter than an espresso and less watery than a French press.It also makes a large quantity of coffee which can be useful when one has guests or a large breakfast table to serve.Highly recommended, just be careful not to drop it and handle it with care when washing it as, being it made of glass, it could shatter... and it would be game over.

Kolvorok

  • 13 Apr 2018, Fri
Vacuum coffee maker
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Takes me back a few years to be old Con a coffee maker which my husband used to brew tea in ! Very pleased with it on the whole, but when there are coffee grounds in the top section there is a tendency to r it to be wobbly on the bottom section. So be careful how you move the two pieces when they are joined together !
Like the flavour of the coffee it does not taste stewed as a cafeteria of coffee can be.

CD
  • 13 Apr 2018, Fri
Vacuum coffee maker
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Takes me back a few years to be old Con a coffee maker which my husband used to brew tea in ! Very pleased with it on the whole, but when there are coffee grounds in the top section there is a tendency to r it to be wobbly on the bottom section. So be careful how you move the two pieces when they are joined together !Like the flavour of the coffee it does not taste stewed as a cafeteria of coffee can be.

CD
  • 11 Apr 2018, Wed
Makes excellent and smooth coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great coffee maker. Easy to maintain and use. Makes excellent and smooth coffee, fully recommend.

Tomas Chmelar
  • 28 Dec 2017, Thu
Perfect
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Since I was a kid my parents would make coffee in one of these, I always loved the taste of the coffee and now I get to own this stunning coffee maker.

Cherry M
  • 20 Dec 2017, Wed
Don't forget these are two massive pieces of thin glass.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Medium-fine grind, you get coffee with almost 0 particles. It's interesting and fun to look at (didn't think that i'd ever say that about a coffee maker) and everyone who comes over for coffee studies it or atleast asks about how it works once. Easy to wash out.
The big problem here is the material choice. It being glass is cool cause it looks slick and it is transparent. That's nice, however, glass is brittle as all hell. The top part that you see? You better be as ginger with it as with a newborn child beacause if you bang it on any hard surface that beuatiful glass baloon is gonna shatter into a million pieces and you'll wanna jump through a window. I'd know cause i broke TWO and finding a replacement top part is a nightmare.

Seriously consider your other choices like a french press or something. I can't lie, aesthetically its the most pleasing coffemaker i ever had. If it were sturdier it be the best coffe maker, period

Amazon Customer
  • 20 Dec 2017, Wed
Don't forget these are two massive pieces of thin glass.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Medium-fine grind, you get coffee with almost 0 particles. It's interesting and fun to look at (didn't think that i'd ever say that about a coffee maker) and everyone who comes over for coffee studies it or atleast asks about how it works once. Easy to wash out.The big problem here is the material choice. It being glass is cool cause it looks slick and it is transparent. That's nice, however, glass is brittle as all hell. The top part that you see? You better be as ginger with it as with a newborn child beacause if you bang it on any hard surface that beuatiful glass baloon is gonna shatter into a million pieces and you'll wanna jump through a window. I'd know cause i broke TWO and finding a replacement top part is a nightmare.Seriously consider your other choices like a french press or something. I can't lie, aesthetically its the most pleasing coffemaker i ever had. If it were sturdier it be the best coffe maker, period

Amazon Customer
  • 15 Nov 2017, Wed
Poor design, not fit for purpose.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this and returned it straight away. A real effort to pull the top bowl out of the bottom because of the rubber stopper. Goodness knows how it would be when hot and grasping onto the glass. Absolute waste of money.

Matthew Rosen Marsh
Style Name:Coffee Maker

Product Description

No other coffee maker has fascinated passionate coffee drinkers like the Pebo. Its exceptionally effective vacuum brewing method extracts all precious oils of your favourite coffee. The vacuum brewing process is entirely sealed off so no aroma can escape. In addition, the brewing time and temperature are ideally calibrated, ensuring an ideal cup of coffee with each brew. Depending on the amount of water used, the Pebo can brew delicious coffee within 5 to 11 minutes.

Box Contains

  • 1 x Pebo Coffee Maker


  • From the manufacturer

    Bodum

    The Bodum company got its start in Denmark in 1944, when Peter Bodum started a business wholesaling household products. The Bodum brand, known for its innovative coffee press, as well as its tea makers, is still family-owned.

    Besides being known for the aesthetic quality of their products, Bodum is recognised as one of the leading maker of French presses, vacuum coffee makers and double-walled beverage glasses made of borosilicate glass. It has registered 'FrenchPress' as a trademark in many territories.

    Bodum Pebo Vacuum Coffee Maker

    No other coffee maker has fascinated passionate coffee drinkers like the Pebo (former Santos). Its exceptionally effective vacuum brewing method extracts all precious oils of your favourite coffee. The vacuum brewing process is entirely sealed off so no aroma can escape. In addition, the brewing time and temperature are perfectly calibrated, ensuring a perfect cup of coffee with each brew. Monitor the eye-catching brewing process through the two firmly attached glass bowls! Depending on the amount of water used, the Pebo can brew delicious coffee within 5 to 11 minutes, serving anywhere from 4 to 8 cups (0.5 l,max. 1.0 l).

    Features and Benefits

    • Its exceptionally effective vacuum brewing method extracts all precious oils of your favourite coffee.
    • The vacuum brewing process is entirely sealed off so no aroma can escape.
    • In addition, the brewing time and temperature are perfectly calibrated, ensuring a perfect cup of coffee with each brew.

    Step 1

    Water

    Step 2

    Boil

    Step 3

    Coffee

    Step 4

    Enjoy!

    Bodum Vacuum Coffee Maker

    Water heats in the lower chamber, creating vapour pressure that forces the boiling water up to mix with coffee grounds. The coffee maker is then removed from the heat and vacuum pressure draws the brewed coffee downward, and into the bottom jug for serving.

    Brand BODUM
    Model Number1208-01
    ColourTransparent
    Item Weight1.44 Kg
    Product Dimensions31.8 x 26.2 x 19.8 cm
    Capacity1000 litres
    MaterialPlastic
    Auto ShutoffNo
    Special FeaturesWater tank capacity (1000 L)