Qualityreviews logo

Dualit Combi 2+2
Dualit
B0002UPWA6


  • 178,00 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Dualit
5
68%
(40)
4
12%
(7)
3
3%
(2)
2
10%
(6)
1
7%
(4)
Review 59 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Dualit Combi 2+2)
  • 13 Feb 2020, Thu
Expensive and far from perfect
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this to make toasted sandwiches. I had one years ago and it was excellent. This new one is a failure. You cannot get 2 slices of medium bread comfortably into the slots. The slots need to be wider. The filling (ie cheese) does not melt unless you allow the bread to burn. It makes toast ok but it does not have a pop up facility so if you are not standing guard you have very hard toast. I wish I had not bought this toaster. Should have returned it but I have binned the box and left it too long

J M Smith
  • 10 Oct 2019, Thu
Read the userbook thorougly
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Toasting bread

Amazon Kunde

  • 15 Jun 2019, Sat
10/10
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Best of British

Ian Firth
  • 09 May 2019, Thu
Dualit quality made in England
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good value for a great toaster made in the Uk. If you are looking for a life long toaster this is the only one that you will need

B. C. Timmins
  • 13 Feb 2019, Wed
A "forever" toaster!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am tired of buying cheap, disposable junk that you have to throw away or scrap, because they aren't repairable. This toaster is a forever toaster - easily repaired and built like a tank!After purchasing this toaster (which IS a proper toast version, not a bun version), a friend gave me a 26 year old 2-slice Dualit. Being a total nerd, I'm restoring that one too! Easy to fix, parts available and DESIGNED to be repaired!That saying "They don't make them like the used to"... DOESN'T apply to these toasters. They're built exactly like they used to! There is very little plastic - most of the plastic is the wiring and knob!It's also practical, because you can pop up the toast any time to check, and it doesn't reset the timer. It toasts quickly, without drying the toast to cardboard-like texture and it's easy to use. You never forget to change the timer between bread types, because you set the timer everytime you use it, and it's one step.If you want a quality toaster, spend the extra for this. I'm glad I did! (plus Amazon was half the price of buying it locally to me!)

AllanWorms
  • 13 Feb 2019, Wed
A "forever" toaster!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am tired of buying cheap, disposable junk that you have to throw away or scrap, because they aren't repairable. This toaster is a forever toaster - easily repaired and built like a tank!

After purchasing this toaster (which IS a proper toast version, not a bun version), a friend gave me a 26 year old 2-slice Dualit. Being a total nerd, I'm restoring that one too! Easy to fix, parts available and DESIGNED to be repaired!

That saying "They don't make them like the used to"... DOESN'T apply to these toasters. They're built exactly like they used to! There is very little plastic - most of the plastic is the wiring and knob!

It's also practical, because you can pop up the toast any time to check, and it doesn't reset the timer. It toasts quickly, without drying the toast to cardboard-like texture and it's easy to use. You never forget to change the timer between bread types, because you set the timer everytime you use it, and it's one step.

If you want a quality toaster, spend the extra for this. I'm glad I did! (plus Amazon was half the price of buying it locally to me!)

AllanWorms
  • 10 Dec 2018, Mon
My Favourite toaster
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Remember growing up with these toasters but they are just too expensive. It cost more to fix the timer a few years back than 2 of the top selling Amazon toasters. Not sure I want to spend another £40 on faulty elements I'll have to replace myself. I want to fix things rather than replace but not if it costs me twice as much. I thought there was something special about these toasters but it seems like nothing really apart from price.......

Jabba
  • 14 Nov 2018, Wed
All other toasters are toast!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This toaster is absolutely the best toaster we have ever had. It is brilliant. Defrost of frozen bread slices works really well and results in crispy toast that is soft in the middle. Elements are replaceable and maintenance is very straight forward. Yes its quite expensive, but you only get what you pay for. It gets a thumbs up from my family.

David Spring
  • 26 Aug 2018, Sun
Best of British
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I love it. Very expensive but it’s British made and easily repaired if anything fails. Beautiful design and solid as a rock. For me produces toast as good as most. I have no problems with it.

Mr. N. Salton
  • 04 Nov 2017, Sat
It looked good, a design classic
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

When my son expressed a desire to take a toaster to his house at university I packed our old Kenwood (12 years old and still working - €25) and ordered the Dualit Combi.It looked good, a design classic, but as we quickly learned it is not a great toaster.Nearer the right edge of the bread you can get almost black toast whereas the other edge is lightly toasted.The toasting is inconsistent. On first use the toast is one level of darkness then when making the next set of toast these slices get significantly darker.The cages for sandwiches do not work with standard Hovis thick bread slices even if you force them together.The frustration is that for this amount of money you would think that it could consistently produce toast done to the same degree from one edge to the other edge. It seems such a simple request.

DGS
  • 17 Aug 2017, Thu
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have perfect toasts all the time, and great sandwiches!

Elena
  • 18 Feb 2017, Sat
A design classic made in the UK
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The Dualit combi 2x2 toaster (model 42174) has four heat controllable slots rather than a straight on/off for all them. The toaster comes with two sandwich cages which you can also buy separately. Specifically chose this toaster because it's a design classic and went for this model because you can control the heat to the slots rather than having all four on at the same time. The heating elements, timer and switches are all user replaceable, so should (in theory) last a lifetime. There are plenty of cheaper toasters out there and probably ones that give a more even coverage of heat, but there is nothing that compares to this design classic in terms of quality and style. Another plus is that this toaster looks at home in any kitchen setting from country cottage to high-tech modern, so if you move house or change your kitchen it won't look out of place.What I like about this toaster…• It's an iconic design classic.• Elements and other parts replaceable.• Feels and looks solid.• Retro stainless steel body.• Manual toast lift out mechanism.• Whirring mechanical timer.• It's handmade in the UK.What I don't like…• One of the slot elements gives uneven toasting.• Power lead is too short.• It's expensive.

Consumer Beagle
  • 19 Dec 2016, Mon
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

great product

Amazon Customer

  • 02 Nov 2016, Wed
Happy toasting, Dualit!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It worked exactly one time, thus I sent it back. Dualit may want to review its overall quality process. For a product in this price segment I do expect complications after 10 years use, if any, not before. I decided to buy >>Made in China<<, it will, at least, work and costs just a tenth.Happy toasting, Dualit!

Sven Riemann
  • 06 Jul 2016, Wed
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very good

Maureen. Vaughan
  • 30 Mar 2016, Wed
Great item.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great item.

Mr R J Baker
  • 12 Feb 2016, Fri
Four Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Está muy bien

Jchinea
  • 21 Dec 2015, Mon
The finish is as good as the day I bought it
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've had this toaster for 9 years now. It still gets regular domestic use and works perfectly.The finish is as good as the day I bought it.It does take a bit of learning to judge the timer but it is about twice as fast as my Mum's Delongi.

Monkito
  • 20 Jul 2015, Mon
So Disappointed.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have had by Dualit Toaster for over a year now and I must say that after lusting after what I thought was the ultimate toaster, I am really disappointed. One of my main reasons from buying a Dualit was that I wanted to avoid contributing to landfills and thought that a toaster that could be repaired again and again if necessary over the years, was the way to go.It looks so good. Shiny and pleasingly retro, but it just does not do a good enough job for the amount of money it costs. Firstly, the size. It neither takes my homemade bread, or a slice from a standard large loaf. Anything thickly sliced causes burned patches and bagels and buns have to be prized out with an implement (with the toaster unplugged of course). Now after just over a year, one of the slots, sometimes toasts, sometimes not and a setting that workes for the first slice, burns the next to a crisp if left unattended.I will probably still keep the toaster. it is after all a lot of money to throw away, but do be warned that the design is old and it shows.

Rangeworthy
  • 28 Feb 2015, Sat
Ideal Christmas present for the wife :-)
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I got away with this as a present for my wife a while ago. No really!She had hankered after one of these for a while.They are sturdily built and have a pleasant clockwork noise as the mechanical timer wends its way from dough to burnt offerings. To our mind the best toaster on market.However, I will share my better half's recipe for toast.(1) Thrust bread into slots(2) Wind timer to the max under the impression that this makes it toast faster ignoring the fact this is only suitable for cryogenic treated toast freshly pulled from liquid nitrogen.(3) Leave the room and do something else at the far end of the house(4) Return to kitchen when the smoke alarms are wailing.(5) Retrieve blackened, sooty slices and scrape to desired colour(6) Add slab of butter and serve to kids with face that promises physical violence if you don't like it.

Simon Smith
Colour:Metallic Silver

Product Description

The Dualit Vario toaster combines simplicity and sophistication. It features extra wide 28 mm slots to accommodate a sandwich cage. ProHeat elements increases toasting efficiency and element longevity. The toaster has a removable crumb tray and an adjustable rear foot. Manually operated, the Dualit toaster features switches to control the degree of browning. This allows you to enjoy your toast exactly the way you like it. An ejector system means that the toast does not pop up but stays warm until the ejector lever is pushed up. It can be set to toast 1, 2 or 4 slices and comes with two sandwich cages. Each of these toasters are assembled by hand and the assembler's individual mark can be found on the base plate.

Box Contains

  • 1 x Dualit 42171
  • 2 x Dualit sandwich cage


From the manufacturer

Dualit 2+2 Toaster

Dualit's Combi toaster is the ideal solution for those that want the flexibility and convenience of making both toast and toasted sandwiches. The Combi 2x2 comes complete with two sandwich cages, as well as the energy-saving feature of being able to use one, two or all four slots.

Key Features


Hand built in the UK

Each toaster is hand-assembled from start to finish. Who made your toaster? Find the assembler’s name on the base plate.


Repair and replace

Fully repairable or replaceable parts for a toaster that will last a lifetime.


ProHeat elements

ProHeat elements have a protective armour plated layer covering the filament making them virtually unbreakable.

Two sandwich cages.

Selector control for choosing one, two or all four slots.

Award-winning ProHeat elements.

Handmade in the UK.

Mechanical timer.

Manually operated eject lever to keep items warm until needed.

High lift mechanism to remove small items easily.

Extra-wide 28mm slots and adjustable inner wire guard to grip toast.

Replaceable parts (you don’t throw a Dualit toaster away, we repair it for you!).

Adjustable rear foot to compensate for uneven surfaces.

Removable crumb tray.

Brand Dualit
Model Number42171
ColourMetallic Silver
Item Weight5 Kg
Package Dimensions38.5 x 26 x 25 cm
Number of Slices4
  

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 770
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once