Qualityreviews logo

Bodum Chambord 8 Cups
BODUM
B00008XEWG


  • 34,99 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: BODUM
5
31%
(5)
4
38%
(6)
3
0%
(0)
2
25%
(4)
1
6%
(1)
Review 16 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Bodum Chambord 8 Cups)
  • 10 May 2020, Sun
Poor quality glass beaker
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

What can I say. Product arrived on 6 May. Today is the 10th. Vertical crack in beaker, which means we had to bin it. No, we didn’t accidentally tip it over or anything. I am shocked. I have used Bodum for many years and they have always lasted around ten years, the glass has never cracked. I am convinced this is cheaper and poorer quality glass. Really disappointed.

isg1997
  • 01 May 2020, Fri
Simply doesn’t work. Doesn’t filter coffee out
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Sadly it just doesn’t do the job. As I attach the video with it you can see it’s not filtering out the coffee. I did everything right I have waited for it to settle and push it down slowly and have tried it a couple of times.

Bo Bene

  • 12 Jan 2020, Sun
Excellent product
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Excellent product, sturdy, well made. Easy to use, good value for money, serves purpose well. Speedy delivery. Highly recommended.

mennes
  • 20 Nov 2019, Wed
Poor quality item.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very disappointed with the quality. It was not the standard I expect of Bodum products. Thin metal, thin glass, loose sitting lid and a handle that had a small degree of movement rather than an absolutely tight fit. I had my previous Bodum for many years before glass broke. The old one was a distinctly more solid build.

Amazon Customer
  • 29 Mar 2019, Fri
Recommend this coffee plunger - far better than the 'new' poor quality La Cafetiere
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had a La cafetiere for about 20 years - which was solidly made and obviously very robust. Bought a replacement jug for it which lasted a couple of months and then a whole new unit which was nowhere near the quality of the one I'd bought years ago - it was cheap, tinny and the jug broke within a couple of months. Replaced it with this Bodum which is almost as good as my old La Cafetiere - would definitely recommend.

Jan B
  • 16 Jun 2017, Fri
Good cafetière but the glass is very delicate
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The cafetière is very good, but the glass beaker is far too fragile. I only received it 3 days ago and while washing it this morning it already chipped and can no longer be used. For the price, you would expect it to be made of stronger materials. By the time you buy a replacement beaker you will have spent £40+.

Ms mbaker
  • 21 Apr 2017, Fri
Perfect coffee!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Ive bought this in the 1.5 litre size so we can make more mugs of coffee at one time. I have a smaller Bodum coffee maker too, Ive had that years so know that these are quality products. Looks smart and works perfectly. Very pleased.

Garden Girl
  • 13 Oct 2016, Thu
Bodum 1928-16 Chambord cafetiere
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a superb cafetiere, to replace one broken when it struck a knife, after many years' service. All fittings seem the same as original except for the knob on the lid but the body frame, handle and plunger seem as sturdy as before. Very satisfied to have this quality replacement at a reasonable price, delivered quickly and welll packed. If it lasts as long as its predecessor, we'll not complain !

Jay Bee
  • 04 Feb 2016, Thu
If people think this Bodum one is a good replacement then I beg to differ
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this as a replacement for a La Cafetiere which was broken after 20 years of use. If people think this Bodum one is a good replacement then I beg to differ. The top is plastic unlike the metal of La Cafetiere and the metal holder is very poor compared to a La Cafetiere. In fact we have replaced this holder with the old La Cafetiere one. If we had not kept this we would of sent the Bodum back. The only plus to it was the very low price, (you get what you pay for) but if we need to replace this at anytime it will not be with another Bodum.

A. P. Harrison
  • 11 Jun 2015, Thu
It's a good size, easy to dis and reassemble for cleaning ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this as a direct replacement for one which I accidentally broke. It's a good size, easy to dis and reassemble for cleaning and features a slotted and solid portion on the cap's lid. The idea is to have the solid part of the cap facing the lip when you push the plunger and to keep some warmth in and then to turn it to pour - don't forget or you'll either get no coffee or all the coffee, depending on the angle you tilt at. Hopefully this one will last as long as the previous one.

dkpwatson
  • 08 Mar 2015, Sun
The classic cafetiere... with a few flaws
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This would be a great coffee maker, but has a couple of flaws compared to the versions they sold a few years ago.

Firstly the glass carafe is covered in non-removable safety warnings, in two languages which cover almost 1/4 of the whole unit - the visual noise of this is an ugly distraction.
Secondly the top lid is metal outside but black plastic on the inside, this hangs down into the glass and acts as a crude filter, so you have to rotate the top to the correct position before pouring out the coffee. I really can't see the point in this and am tempted to try and remove it (unfortunately I think that would involve sawing it in half). It also adds the issue that all your coffee is now being filtered through plastic.

The glass carafe is held in place by pressure from the 4 stainless steel legs, by bending these very slightly (with the carafe removed) you can make the fit stiffer or looser.

The build quality of Bodum is still miles better than the alternatives, I just wish they would go back to the original design.

Edit: August 2015, I have now found a solution to the lid issue, Waitrose are selling an own brand cafetiere thats the exact same size as this, it has a much better lid and a plain glass carafe, (the handle and filter are of lower quality than the Boden). So if you buy both you can unscrew the plunger and swap the parts over to make a perfect cafetiere.

Calumn Montgomery
  • 08 Mar 2015, Sun
The classic cafetiere... with a few flaws
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This would be a great coffee maker, but has a couple of flaws compared to the versions they sold a few years ago.Firstly the glass carafe is covered in non-removable safety warnings, in two languages which cover almost 1/4 of the whole unit - the visual noise of this is an ugly distraction.Secondly the top lid is metal outside but black plastic on the inside, this hangs down into the glass and acts as a crude filter, so you have to rotate the top to the correct position before pouring out the coffee. I really can't see the point in this and am tempted to try and remove it (unfortunately I think that would involve sawing it in half). It also adds the issue that all your coffee is now being filtered through plastic.The glass carafe is held in place by pressure from the 4 stainless steel legs, by bending these very slightly (with the carafe removed) you can make the fit stiffer or looser.The build quality of Bodum is still miles better than the alternatives, I just wish they would go back to the original design.Edit: August 2015, I have now found a solution to the lid issue, Waitrose are selling an own brand cafetiere thats the exact same size as this, it has a much better lid and a plain glass carafe, (the handle and filter are of lower quality than the Boden). So if you buy both you can unscrew the plunger and swap the parts over to make a perfect cafetiere.

Calumn Montgomery
  • 08 Nov 2013, Fri
Wanting a cafetiere?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I gave it four stars because nothing is perfect. It does what it is designed to do and I have no regrets in choosing the Bodum cafetiere. The only minor comment I have, is that the plunger could extend further down the jug. A point worth mentioning is that if the jug cracks or breaks, then you can buy a new Bodum jug, which would be cheaper than buying a completely new cafetiere.

If, like me, you are considering buying a coffee machine, a cafetiere is the cheaper option that does the job; and an option for which many different brands and strengths of ground coffee are widely available; and it has only a small footprint.

Geoff Haberfield

  • 08 Nov 2013, Fri
Wanting a cafetiere?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I gave it four stars because nothing is perfect. It does what it is designed to do and I have no regrets in choosing the Bodum cafetiere. The only minor comment I have, is that the plunger could extend further down the jug. A point worth mentioning is that if the jug cracks or breaks, then you can buy a new Bodum jug, which would be cheaper than buying a completely new cafetiere.If, like me, you are considering buying a coffee machine, a cafetiere is the cheaper option that does the job; and an option for which many different brands and strengths of ground coffee are widely available; and it has only a small footprint.

Geoff Haberfield
  • 24 Aug 2013, Sat
Makes 2.5 mugs
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This 8 cup cafetière makes 8 espresso-sized cups of French press coffee. That is equivalent to 2.5 Denby Imperial Blue Craftsmans Mug 10.5 cm mugs and uses 6 of the stated 8 cup capacity of my Breville VKJ278 1.7 Litre Illuminated Jug Kettle.

The base frame of the cafetière is metal, the lid and handle are plastic and the beaker is glass. After two years, the metal has not rusted, but the plastic is starting to show wear.

E. Dalton
  • 16 May 2013, Thu
great
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Love it! I had a bodum french press which had lasted for 20 years - and then it only broke because I dropped it, not because it was faulty! This one I bought is pretty much the same, but bigger!I bought a larger size as my old one always needed refilling a couple of times if we had friends over - I'm very happy that this one makes a good 4 mugs worth of coffee (8 cups), but can obviously also be used for half that if needed.Also pleased that this design means the glass part can be easily removed from the frame for cleaning (and also replaced easily as the glass part is available to buy separately) - my old one was fixed to the frame, hence the need for a new one.

RedRose
Colour:Chrome  |  Size:1.0 l

Product Description

Coffee has always taken center stage at BODUM and the French press remains our biggest star. It's pure and simple which is exactly the reason why coffee tasters use this method to determine the quality of coffee beans. The materials of the French press (glass and stainless steel) are completely taste-free so nothing comes between your ground coffee beans and the hot water. The French press literally generates no waste at all, no metal capsules, no paper, no nothing. You only boil as much water as you need - and there you go. We all know plastic water bottles are an environmental problem, but have you thought about all those metal capsules left by other coffee machines? They generate more waste than espresso. With the BODUM French press it's just glass, water and coffee

Manufacturer's Description

When Bodum took over a small clarinet factory in Normandy in 1982. It was not because of the fine orchestra clarinets they were producing but because of a relatively unknown coffee maker called the Chambord which they, by coincidence, produced as well. We combined the skills of these Normandy craftsmen with modern production, and the price became affordable to the many people who loved the taste of the coffee brewed in this unique coffee maker, later known as the French press coffee brewer. Thanks to Bodum and thanks to the increasing need for better coffee, the French press coffee maker became one of the most popular coffeemakers in the world. The design has not changed a bit from the original drawings, and we still make the Chambord with the same painstaking care and knowledge we learned from those proud craftsmen in windy Normandy.

Box Contains

  • 1 x Chambord coffee maker


  • From the manufacturer

    Bodum

    The bodum company got its start in Denmark in 1944, when Peter bodum started a business wholesaling household products. The bodum brand, known for its innovative coffee press, as well as its tea makers, is still family-owned.

    Besides being known for the aesthetic quality of their products, bodum is recognised as one of the leading makers of French presses, vacuum coffee makers and double-walled beverage glasses made of borosilicate glass. It has registered 'FrenchPress' as a trademark in many territories.

    Chambord Coffee Maker

    Chambord is a true original, the classic French press coffee maker designed in the fifties and we still produce it with the same painstaking craftsmanship we used way back when with the original. The frame and lid, made of steel, undergo several plating processes to obtain a durable shiny surface that will last for many years of intense use. The only difference in the production process since the fifties is our commitment to the highest standards of environmentally correct manufacturing, which is especially important during the chrome plating process. The French press system has always been the simplest and ultimate way of brewing an excellent cup of coffee. Using fresh coarse ground beans with water between 92 and 96 degrees Celsius brings out the very best in all types of coffee.

    Make taste, not waste

    • Pure and simple
    • No paper filter
    • No capsule
    • No waste
    Brand BODUM
    Model Number 1928-16US4
    Colour Chrome
    Item Weight 662 g
    Product Dimensions 13.5 x 19.6 x 30 cm
    Capacity 1 litres
    Volume Capacity 1 litres
    Material Glass
    Auto Shutoff No
       

    An uncaught Exception was encountered

    Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

    Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

    Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

    Line Number: 370

    Backtrace:

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
    Line: 335
    Function: onErrorResponse

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
    Line: 314
    Function: executeCommand

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
    Line: 770
    Function: __call

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
    Line: 146
    Function: set_cache

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
    Line: 313
    Function: require_once