Qualityreviews logo

De Longhi Icm16731 Filter Coffee Machine 1200 W Black With Stainless Steel Finishings
De'Longhi
B07K3F38YZ


Brand: De'Longhi
5
19%
(6)
4
41%
(13)
3
31%
(10)
2
9%
(3)
1
0%
(0)
Review 32 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(De Longhi Icm16731 Filter Coffee Machine 1200 W Black With Stainless Steel Finishings)
  • 04 Jun 2019, Tue
Stylish but only really 4 mug capacity - features that don’t get used.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very stylish design and easy to use - i like the insulated carafe as it keeps coffee hot for a long time without unduly impacting the flavour.It claims a big capacity but as is common with drip machines they must use small cups - in reality with mugs of around 350ml you get 4 mugs - okay for a small home, not so good for big families/small office.There are options around aroma/flavour - but in reality, i like my coffee strong so it’s always set to the highest - handy to have but i wonder how often actually used.Still, a very nice design, easy to use and makes good coffee.

DWB1873
  • 15 Apr 2019, Mon
De'Longhi
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is an aesthetic little piece of kit. It is slimline compared to other drip coffee machines I've tried, and is quiet. It has a favourably small footprint for smaller kitchens, where sideboard space is at a premium.The primary factor for me wanting this device was the timer, which I have set to make a brew for when I wake up at 5:45 - I want to set it up the night before as I know I'll be plenty more coherent! The drip filter is super easy to clean under a warm tap, and the reservoir easy to access and fill using the thermal pot that comes with the machine.Sadly, out of the eight times I've used the timer function, when I've come to the machine in the morning, it hasn't triggered and instead appears to have timed out. All of these times were more than 8 but less than 12 times of setting it the night before.The AROMA settings appear to work well, primarily it just affects the drip speed of the water to intensify the strength of your brew. It uses a 1:1 ratio for coffee, so one spoon (provided) of coarse ground coffee per cup.All in all this is a sleek and aesthetic kit which is easy to use and maintain. I found setting the clock a little clunky as you just press and hold the clock button until you get to the time you need - so if you overshoot it, you have to go all the way through the clock again to get where you want to be. Annoying, but hardly a deal breaker.This makes good-tasting coffee without fuss, with little noise, and with great usability. A good device.

writeallthereviews

  • 06 Apr 2019, Sat
Makes great coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is an excellent coffee machine, it makes great coffee, and the intensity control really does set this apart from other machines.The controls do take a little bit of getting used to and are not very intuitive.However from the stay warm jug, to the intensity control, this is an excellent coffee marker.I love it.

Doug
  • 05 Apr 2019, Fri
Brews a Nice Cup
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is an excellent coffee machine. IT looks stunning with a sleek, contemporary design, although it is slightly larger than imagined. It still sits nicely on the worktop though and doesn't take over. IT is fairly easy to work out, although the instructions and the machine don't align. When it starts brewing a cup appears but the instructions say a white light. There is a function for 3 different strengths. I used the medium strength and it suited me. It takes several minutes to brew but I would expect this to get good coffee. The thermal jug is a nice touch as it keeps the coffee warm for longer. Overall a great machine which is a superb addition to any kitchen.

Wendy Jones
  • 30 Mar 2019, Sat
Great coffee making machine but a tad expensive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The De'Longhi filter coffee making machine is one really beautiful looking machine. It is very simple to use and program. You can program the machine to make two beautifully brewed mugs of coffee at a time to suit your wake up time. On the downside though, the jug capacity isn’t huge. Additionally the temperature of the coffee is perfect to drink at the point of it being dispensed but you can’t go back to the jug in 20 minutes and have another cup of coffee as it has significantly cooled down. It’s quite expensive if you compare it to other machines on the market.In concluding the review, the De'Longhi filter coffee making machine makes beautiful cups of coffee with ease. However, if jug capacity and price matter, you may want to look at other brands.

Team B
  • 22 Mar 2019, Fri
Average
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Pros:Easy to useEasy to cleanLooks good on my worktopKeeps coffee hot for a good whileCons:Way overpricedDrips a bit when pouringFunny taste to begin with, lasts a whileWay overpriced, worth saying twice!I personally feel you could get a better machine for less money.

Amy Connolly
  • 21 Mar 2019, Thu
Good quality coffee machine with a couple of neat functions ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This machine looks great and would fit in with most kitchen decors. The filter element is a great idea, being a nylon mesh affair that can be cleaned over and over again. In effect doing away with the traditional paper filter variant which would fly in the face of todays green and clean ethos.This machine can brew up to 1.25 litres of coffee at any one time which is great as many husband and I both love a decent sized mug full in the morning. The jug that the coffee decants into is double skinned, so heat retention is retained for longer. There is also a function that increases the smell emanating from the coffee making process ... this is part of the charm of home brewed coffee and this function definitely works well.I love this neat looking coffee maker and its the first thing I go to in the morning, also when I have visitors the aroma is an inviting addition to my home and the offer of a cup of coffee is rarely turned down.

Karen Baxter
  • 17 Mar 2019, Sun
Stylish, expensive, gimmicky
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The De'Longhi ICM16731 Filter Coffee Machine is a good looking drip machine, it's black and stainless steel styling will look good on most kitchen tops. It's relatively straightforward to set up and use, and the carafe keeps the coffee warm for a good few hours if you fancy brewing a large quantity of coffee in the morning to last you into the afternoon.However, the resultant coffee with the aroma feature dialled up to full didn't taste any different than a coffee brewed on it's minimum strength, and it feels a bit gimmicky to me. This, coupled with it's high price (over £90 at the time of this review) makes it a difficult coffee drip machine for me to recommend.

Andrew Langdon
  • 08 Mar 2019, Fri
Nicely does it.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Himself likes filter coffee, I prefer the bean to cup offerings, but this did produce a nice brew from freshly ground beans. Although it’s a steel and rather obvious black plastic finish, it is well designed to have no difficult to clean corners. Once it’s finished dripping, the spring loaded coffee compartment and the nylon sieve are easy to transport outside so the wet grounds can improve my clay garden, without any mess. I do love the steel jug...glass drip cofffee makers have always added the anxiety to making a cup because of their fragility. Simple to use, easy to clean. Brill.

Mother of Dragonflies
  • 07 Mar 2019, Thu
Expensive but includes a lot
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

If you like old fashioned filter coffee this is a stylish, modern alternative. The hour glass inspired shape does look good, however the price is considerably more than you would normally pay for a filter coffee machine.For the inflated price, you do get style and a double walled stainless steel jug which pours well (without any dribbling except by those waiting for the coffee) and also keeps the coffee hot for up to 4 hours (so they say). I can't say I ever want coffee that is older than a couple of hours and I haven't tested this. The Keep Warm base only boasts up to 40 minutes, but the jug should go on keeping the coffee hot for some time with its thermos approach. There is a 'Freshness Indicator' but I feel that the success of that feature would be very subjective. Personally, I did NOT notice the over-brewed result you can get with filter coffee that has been sitting around for a while. As with many coffee machines, I did not feel that the result was perfectly hot.There is an option to slow the brewing process for a fuller flavoured result using a Coffee Intensity button. Three speeds are provided for this option, the slow setting allows longer brewing for more flavour. I rather liked this feature.Overall, this is an expensive filter coffee machine, but it has plenty of extra features that might tempt those that don't want an expensive espresso machine or a 'pod eater'.

S. Duncan
  • 03 Mar 2019, Sun
Coffee not hot enough for my liking
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I know coffee aficionados don’t use boiling water to make coffee as it can scorch the coffee - but I like my coffee hot. This machine sadly just doesn’t produce coffee how I enjoy it.There are some plus points:This machine is modern and sleek in design.You can stop the flow of coffee as it’s being made to fill up a cup rather than wait on the whole pot being filled.It’s easy to adjust the strength.You don’t need paper filters - a filter is built in.Niggles:Ignore the amount of cups when brewing - the indicate very small cup amounts. You need just about 3 cups to fill a mug.The price is in the higher end of filter coffee machines.The coffee is just not hot enough for my liking.If you like your coffee not boiling hot then this might be the filter machine for you - I’m going to stick to my bean to cup machine ☕️

Brookes
  • 03 Mar 2019, Sun
Coffee not hot enough for my liking
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I know coffee aficionados don’t use boiling water to make coffee as it can scorch the coffee - but I like my coffee hot. This machine sadly just doesn’t produce coffee how I enjoy it.

There are some plus points:
This machine is modern and sleek in design.
You can stop the flow of coffee as it’s being made to fill up a cup rather than wait on the whole pot being filled.
It’s easy to adjust the strength.
You don’t need paper filters - a filter is built in.

Niggles:
Ignore the amount of cups when brewing - the indicate very small cup amounts. You need just about 3 cups to fill a mug.
The price is in the higher end of filter coffee machines.
The coffee is just not hot enough for my liking.

If you like your coffee not boiling hot then this might be the filter machine for you - I’m going to stick to my bean to cup machine ☕️

Brookes
  • 01 Mar 2019, Fri
Smart looking coffee machine, but quite expensive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The De’Longhi Filter Coffee machine looks very smart - in black and stainless steel with a slim hour-glass shape and fits in well with out minimal coloured kitchen (similar colours to our existing kettle - so good news).The jug is double-walled and keeps the coffee "quite" hot for a while (although my wife who has to have her coffee BOILING HOT all the time thought it cooled too quickly. The "Freshness" indicator is essentially a clock telling you how long since the coffee was made... ours tends to get drunk straight away, so we won't make much use of this!Easy to use and clean, with good access to the water tank and the filter comes out easily.We are playing with the button that apparently controls the "Aroma intensity" but have yet to get much of a difference (I suspect the next version will be controlled by the ubiquitous A.I.).Not a huge technological leap... and around £100 is not cheap.But the coffee is not bad!

Mark Shackelford

  • 28 Feb 2019, Thu
Smart, effective machine. Keeps coffee warm for ages, though jug is a bit awkward
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I like this drip filter coffee machine a lot. It's well made, in a smart-looking combination of black plastic and brushed stainless steel. The machine requires a couple of washes through with clean water before first use, and then you're good to go. As a filter machine, this makes long coffees rather than espresso-based drinks. The basic functions are very easy to use - fill the base jug with water, and use it to fill the machine; use the supplied scoop to add ground coffee (1 scoop per cup up to a maximum of 10), turn on and press start. The digital display is neat and unobtrusive, with neat, bright white LED characters on a dark background. The machine has a removable, reusable filter basket that sits in a removable plastic surround. There is no way to add a water filter to the tank, so in hard water areas bottled/filtered water is probably a good idea.The brushed metal outer insulated jug does a good job of keeping coffee warm - I've been back to the machine 5 hours after brewing, long after the machine had switched itself off, and found the coffee still plenty warm enough to be palatable... and without the 'stewed' taste that accompanies machines where a heated element has kept cooking the coffee for hours. The machine has a non-drip system that allows you to take the jug off and pour a cup of coffee before brewing has finished - this works well.I'm not so keen on the plastic lid for the jug - which has a button you have to depress in order to pour - this feels a bit flimsy and awkward, and (thanks to the built up sections of insulating plastic) the jug has to be turned almost entirely upside down to get it to pour properly, which isn't the most natural of actions. However, the flip side is that this does a good job of reducing waste by keeping coffee warm without stewing, or needing to reheat.It's recommended that you use a medium grind coffee with this machine. I was slightly gutted by this as I mainly drink decaf (for reasons of health rather than conviction since, as middle age has crept up on me, I have

Starry night
  • 28 Feb 2019, Thu
Smart, effective machine. Keeps coffee warm for ages, though jug is a bit awkward
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I like this drip filter coffee machine a lot. It's well made, in a smart-looking combination of black plastic and brushed stainless steel. The machine requires a couple of washes through with clean water before first use, and then you're good to go. As a filter machine, this makes long coffees rather than espresso-based drinks. The basic functions are very easy to use - fill the base jug with water, and use it to fill the machine; use the supplied scoop to add ground coffee (1 scoop per cup up to a maximum of 10), turn on and press start. The digital display is neat and unobtrusive, with neat, bright white LED characters on a dark background. The machine has a removable, reusable filter basket that sits in a removable plastic surround. There is no way to add a water filter to the tank, so in hard water areas bottled/filtered water is probably a good idea.

The brushed metal outer insulated jug does a good job of keeping coffee warm - I've been back to the machine 5 hours after brewing, long after the machine had switched itself off, and found the coffee still plenty warm enough to be palatable... and without the 'stewed' taste that accompanies machines where a heated element has kept cooking the coffee for hours. The machine has a non-drip system that allows you to take the jug off and pour a cup of coffee before brewing has finished - this works well.

I'm not so keen on the plastic lid for the jug - which has a button you have to depress in order to pour - this feels a bit flimsy and awkward, and (thanks to the built up sections of insulating plastic) the jug has to be turned almost entirely upside down to get it to pour properly, which isn't the most natural of actions. However, the flip side is that this does a good job of reducing waste by keeping coffee warm without stewing, or needing to reheat.

It's recommended that you use a medium grind coffee with this machine. I was slightly gutted by this as I mainly drink decaf (for reasons of health rather than conviction since, as middle age has

Starry night
  • 27 Feb 2019, Wed
Makes strong coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This machine makes great coffee and keep it warm well if needed.I have had filter coffee machine in the past with glass jugs which have not been very good ( burnt and bitter when left for a while).This machine makes really good coffee -The coffee is placed in a nylon filter - no need for paper inserts.You can set it for 3 strengths - this is done by regulating the speed at which the water perculates through the coffee grounds.The coffee goes into a double insulated stainless steel jug which keeps the coffee warm - this is much better than a glass jug.I tend to use the 4 cup amount - which is enough for 2 cups.The shape is good in that it is narrow - so does not take up a lot of counter top space.The machine "beeps" when the coffee is made.You have to be able to see the Right Hand Side to see how much water to pour in.My only little negative is that you have to tilt the jug over a good deal to get all the coffee out - but not too much of a problem.Also the instructions say you will have to descale the machine ever so often - I have sent for some descaler but I live in a soft water area so hopefully will not have to use this very often.

HJK
  • 25 Feb 2019, Mon
Form over function
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

While very attractive with sleek lines, close-fitting design and black-and-brushed aluminium accents, this nonetheless isn't all that good at actually making coffee.-The instructions aren't great and in a least one place are complete gibberish.-As there's a clock and a button marked "Auto", I would've guessed this has a "teasmade" function where I can load it up and it'll automatically start making coffee at 7am or whatever. However, there is nothing about this anywhere in the instructions, so maybe it doesn't actually do this and the clock is just there as a little feature. If it actually does do the teasmade thing, it just means the instructions are worse than I thought.-While actually making the coffee isn't that complicated, it's not helped by the touch-buttons not working very well. Sometimes they don't actually register touches or pressses, which then makes me wonder if I should press-and-hold instead of tapping, and this is how I spend 15-20 seconds aimlessly jabbing at the buttons until something happens.-The "number of cups" scale on the water tank is weird. I filled it to the "4 cups" level with the intention of taking at least one cup to work with me in a flask, and made coffee. (If you fill it up completely, it brews in about 6-7 minutes, BTW). When it beeped to tell me it was done, I poured the coffee into a small mug (i.e. one mugful). After that, there was only about a third of a mugful left in the jug despite having used the "4 cups" setting. You will clearly need to experiment with amounts of grounds and liquid quantities here to figure out the coffee volumes here - although to be fair, the instructions do say you may need to do this anyway to get the taste & strength you like.The biggest issue, however, is that the resultant coffee is really not that hot. If you add milk or cream from the fridge to the coffee even if it's right out of the machine, you'll get cold coffee. I had to microwave the mug for 30 seconds, then add some milk. I realise that the water can't be too hot or it'll burn the co

Chris
  • 25 Feb 2019, Mon
Its all about the thermal carafe for me
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This unit looks very good but the water indicator is around the side to the rear so you need to turn it side on to see the water level which is easily seen once turned .It made very strong coffee when using the extra strength function but it was too much for my taste .The hotplate with the carafe is a good idea , it was easy to fill and was nice and hot but the carafe was terrible ,it has a lip around the insulated pot and the carafe is sealed ,I presume to keep the heat in and you press down on a tab to pour .The pour is pityful at full tilt its no more than a slow dribble and is annoying in the extreme (see photo)The carafe is fiddly to fit the lid and the small ridged opening means its also not easily cleaned .It's not for me and I think it's expensive for a drip pot with a slow brew option, the glass jug option may have been a better choice.

margesimpson
  • 25 Feb 2019, Mon
Very high quality product, sleek, stylish, functional
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have used many De Longhi products and always found them to be of the highest quality. This one does not disappoint. It's quite a compact design and comes with a stainless steel insulated flask, so good for cleanliness and keeping the coffee warm. This has all the usual functions you'd expect on a modern filter coffee maker - permanent filter, timer function, extra brew strength option and de-calc warning / function. Simple to use and it makes excellent coffee. Stylish appearance too. Highly recommended.

Gary White
  • 24 Feb 2019, Sun
Disappointing, looks stylish but has a few problems
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

When unboxing the machine I was impressed by the build quality, comprising a mixture of high grade black plastic and brushed metal. It looks very stylish on my worktop and doesn't take up as much space as similar coffee machines. The digital element it very easy to use and lets you select how strong you want your coffee, and the timer function would be of use during the week when time is limited in the morning so that you can wake up to lovely fresh coffee.Unfortunately there are one or two drawbacks to this coffee machine. One is that since using the machine I have washed all the parts by hand several times but am unable to shift the smell and taste of what I would describe as burnt plastic. And secondly, when pouring the contents from the jug, the lid leaks from the centre spilling onto the counter top. I am therefore rather disappointed with this product which, given the cost, should be a high quality coffee machine.

John Ferngrove

Product Description

Stainless steel finishing's on the top and the bottom, LCD display with touch buttons, intelligent aroma function, thermal carafe, 10 cups capacity, top loading machine



Brand De'Longhi
Model Number0132301134
ColourBlack With Stainless Steel Finishings
Item Weight998 g
Package Dimensions39 x 33.6 x 22.7 cm
Capacity1.25 litres
Power / Wattage1200