Qualityreviews logo

Severin KM 3873
Severin
B004QXJNYG


  • 79,99 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Severin
5
93%
(26)
4
0%
(0)
3
0%
(0)
2
4%
(1)
1
4%
(1)
Review 28 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Severin KM 3873)
  • 03 Apr 2020, Fri
Works well and not noisy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It is very efficient. The plastic canister that collects the ground coffee is curved so emptying the coffee into a filter is easy and doesnt spill. It has a detachable lid. And the grinding process is relatively quiet.

gerryb
  • 22 Mar 2020, Sun
Does what it says - and does it well!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've had this coffee grinder for a few weeks now and am very pleased with it. I initially found it by searching on the Italian Amazon for good reviews - every household there makes espresso coffee so they're the real experts. I'm not disappointed. It's also nice looking.I previously owned a Krups GVX2 (two of them), so can compare the two makes. First the Krups ones (which has 4 stars on Amazon) broke. They have a poorly made on/off switch. The first one broke within a year (and was replaced under guarantee) while the second broke after about 18 months. It looks to me like the Severin one is more robustly made.Another surprising difference that I wasn't expecting is that the Krups grinder makes the coffee very electrostatic and it tends to scatter everywhere as I spooned it into the pot, and it leaves a mess under the grinder itself. The Severin does no such thing, and is therefore much tidier and cleaner. [Curiously, of the two brands of coffee I use, the Krups made Pellini coffee very electrostatic and Lavazza less so - I'd love to know why. The Severin doesn't do this to either brand.]The only difficulty I've had with the Severin grinder is that to grind the right quantity for a 6-cup espresso pot, the quantity setting needs to be on just less than 4! It would be nice if it were more accurate. But this isn't worth deducting a star for in my opinion.

Smaje

  • 23 Nov 2019, Sat
Exeptional quality!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very good quality and no mess after grinding at all.

Uldis
  • 07 Oct 2019, Mon
Don't buy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

All grinds were the same size!

Nicholas Hayes
  • 19 Jul 2019, Fri
Nice even grind.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Works well nice even grind, seemed a bit messy at first but once I'd put it on a place mat and learned to give it a little wobble before removing the container after grinding it's ok, once a week I strip it down and clean it with a dry brush, very pleased with my coffee since I've been using it.

stephen mc murray
  • 21 Mar 2019, Thu
Improves the taste of coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Amazing grinder. Coffee tastes so much better since I bought this grinder.

maggiemoon
  • 29 Jan 2019, Tue
Seems aquality item
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Having tried cheaper machines, you do seem to get what you pay for. This unit is more expensive, but works well and grinds coffee as it should.

PG
  • 03 Jan 2019, Thu
Excellent machine. Well designed. Well made.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Well made.. The coffee flavour is certainly different from the blade grinder that I have been using for years

BURJOR BANAJI
  • 03 Dec 2018, Mon
Awesome coffee grinder
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very loud, but it's solid, easy to use and consistent. Easy to use and has all the settings I needed.

Tomasz Jama
  • 10 Nov 2018, Sat
Favourite gadget in my kitchen
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

So easy to use and quick. If you want a bit less coffee ground, just press the button to stop it (the manual doesn’t mention that)

Rob Jarvis
  • 12 Aug 2018, Sun
Makes lovely coffee!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This looks great, creates a lovely fluffy grind (although there are various grind variables, just adjust to your preference). Exactly what I wanted. Very pleased.

Catriona Liddle
  • 11 Jul 2018, Wed
Perfect!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Exceptional quality and value, I researched several burr grinders including ones from more well-known brands such as dualit. This one seemed to have the highest reviews, without any issues. Unlike many others It grinds finely enough for espresso but also coarsely - slightly larger than sand. So this grinder is great for cold brew, and for espresso. Mine came with a UK plug - I think they all must do now, and it's compact with cable management so it stores away nicely in a cupboard. Easy to clean and take apart too, as well as being extremely fast and quiet!And as always, faultless service from amazon!

Required Field
  • 11 Jul 2018, Wed
Perfect!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Exceptional quality and value, I researched several burr grinders including ones from more well-known brands such as dualit. This one seemed to have the highest reviews, without any issues. Unlike many others It grinds finely enough for espresso but also coarsely - slightly larger than sand. So this grinder is great for cold brew, and for espresso. Mine came with a UK plug - I think they all must do now, and it's compact with cable management so it stores away nicely in a cupboard. Easy to clean and take apart too, as well as being extremely fast and quiet!

And as always, faultless service from amazon!

Required Field

  • 04 Jun 2018, Mon
Not the cheapest or the most expensive but it does the job well and looks like it will last.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This doesn't do anything clever. There are minimal controls, no displays and few settings to fiddle with. However, it does grind coffee beans well and quickly. The finest setting is good for espresso and isn't too fine. The grinding cones/burrs are metal, not plastic. They look and feel solid and easy to take apart to clean.The minimum quantity is 2 cups worth but you can, as pointed out by a lateral thinking reviewer, just put enough beans in for one cup. I've done this and it works fine - it just runs on for a few seconds after the beans have been ground. There are plenty of other grinders, but the other (many!) grinders I've looked at all have some obvious problems such switches failing, motors failing or the basic grind being useless for one or other coffee making method. BTW the box had been opened and a non-moulded UK plug fitted to mine. It works fine so I'm happy.

A. Preston
  • 04 Jun 2018, Mon
Not the cheapest or the most expensive but it does the job well and looks like it will last.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This doesn't do anything clever. There are minimal controls, no displays and few settings to fiddle with. However, it does grind coffee beans well and quickly. The finest setting is good for espresso and isn't too fine. The grinding cones/burrs are metal, not plastic. They look and feel solid and easy to take apart to clean.
The minimum quantity is 2 cups worth but you can, as pointed out by a lateral thinking reviewer, just put enough beans in for one cup. I've done this and it works fine - it just runs on for a few seconds after the beans have been ground. There are plenty of other grinders, but the other (many!) grinders I've looked at all have some obvious problems such switches failing, motors failing or the basic grind being useless for one or other coffee making method. BTW the box had been opened and a non-moulded UK plug fitted to mine. It works fine so I'm happy.

A. Preston
  • 16 Apr 2018, Mon
Severin who?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My Bosch coffee grinder had given up the ghost after a comparatively short life and, for someone who enjoys their daily fix of a fresh brew, I was keen to upgrade to something more heavy duty, a burr grinder. The downside is the potential cost, but if I found one that did a decent job...My research found various grinders at the lower end of the market, but all seemed to indicate issues around the fineness of the grind... and I was looking for espresso quality. The idea of carrying out diy fixes on a brand new machine didn't fill me with confidence - bang goes the warranty. Then I came across the Severin. I almost skipped it, simply because I'd never heard of it, but with it being in a Warehouse deal, coupled with the positive reviews, I read on. The only apparent issues were with the 2-pin plug and cup settings. Duly swayed by the very tempting price, I bought it... and I'm so pleased I did!It's definitely heavy-duty, very solidly built, you could say typically German, and the finest grind is perfect for espresso, with no need for tweaking, As to reported criticisms, yes, it came with a 2-pin plug - buy a 3-pin right-angle converter for 67p from Amazon and you have a neat and sturdy solution! As to the cup settings, why is this an issue? We all have different preferences as to strength and cup sizes, so you can't simply assume that the machine will give you the perfect quantity if grinding a cup at a time. Use a scoop with your preferred quantity of beans, place in the hopper, set the grind and a few seconds later you have exactly the amount you need. QED!Overall, I'm greatly impressed and the name 'Severin' is now on my radar!

MP
  • 16 Apr 2018, Mon
Severin who?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My Bosch coffee grinder had given up the ghost after a comparatively short life and, for someone who enjoys their daily fix of a fresh brew, I was keen to upgrade to something more heavy duty, a burr grinder. The downside is the potential cost, but if I found one that did a decent job...

My research found various grinders at the lower end of the market, but all seemed to indicate issues around the fineness of the grind... and I was looking for espresso quality. The idea of carrying out diy fixes on a brand new machine didn't fill me with confidence - bang goes the warranty. Then I came across the Severin. I almost skipped it, simply because I'd never heard of it, but with it being in a Warehouse deal, coupled with the positive reviews, I read on. The only apparent issues were with the 2-pin plug and cup settings. Duly swayed by the very tempting price, I bought it... and I'm so pleased I did!

It's definitely heavy-duty, very solidly built, you could say typically German, and the finest grind is perfect for espresso, with no need for tweaking, As to reported criticisms, yes, it came with a 2-pin plug - buy a 3-pin right-angle converter for 67p from Amazon and you have a neat and sturdy solution! As to the cup settings, why is this an issue? We all have different preferences as to strength and cup sizes, so you can't simply assume that the machine will give you the perfect quantity if grinding a cup at a time. Use a scoop with your preferred quantity of beans, place in the hopper, set the grind and a few seconds later you have exactly the amount you need. QED!

Overall, I'm greatly impressed and the name 'Severin' is now on my radar!

MP
  • 08 Feb 2018, Thu
Each morning enjoying a freshly brewed cup of coffee featuring a refined delicious flavour.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

One thing that strikes me about this Severin coffee grinderis the refined excellent flavour of the ground coffee it deliveredwhich will of course result in a very refined tasteful cup of coffee.The grinding itself goes very fastand hardly any heat is produced during the grinding.In the course of time I have had several burr coffee grinderssome of them were much more expensive about 300 euro and morehowever none of them did deliver the delicately tasteful flavour this Severin KM 3873 does.Each morning I do make drip coffee and thanks to the Severin KM 3873I do fully enjoy the finely deliciousness of a freshly brewed cup of coffee.For me grinding degree 7 gives me the best flavourhowever that's a matter of personal taste.Of course this coffee grinder has its weak pointshowever the way it grinds coffee beans is excellent.Each morning enjoying a very refined tastefull cup of coffeefull of delicious flavour is the result.

Gerbrand Uiterdijk
  • 10 Oct 2017, Tue
UK plug not supplied.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

2-star review because I have just received one from Migeano in Germany which was fitted with a continental 2-pin plug. I requested an exchange for one with a 3-pin UK plug and received an email back from Migeano telling me they didn't supply them and to buy an adapter. I'm not especially happy.

Kirk - Resources Manager
  • 07 Apr 2017, Fri
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Works great.

Bellasmum

Product Description

The SEVERIN Coffee Grinder features grind fineness adjustment. Suitable for all coffee makers including espresso machines.

The grinder uses high-quality conical burrs. To achieve best possible results coffee beans must be ground evenly. Blade grinders just cut beans resulting in differently shaped and sized coffee particles. Conical burr coffee grinders have a special structure which produces very consistent results. Another very important aspect is the heat that grinding machines produce. Fast spinning blade grinder produces too much heat. Why is this important? Dr heat damages coffee ruining its taste. Conical burrs reduce friction keeping heat to a minimum. Grind coffee in the same way as the professionals in your own home with the SEVERIN Coffee Grinder. Designed in Germany, this SEVERIN product is guaranteed with a 2 year warranty.

Box Contains

  • 1x Coffee Grinder
  • 1x Detachable collection container
  • 1x User Instructions
  • Brand Severin
    Model Number S73873
    Colour White-silver
    Item Weight 1.8 Kg
    Product Dimensions 19.3 x 14.6 x 27.4 cm
    Power / Wattage 150 watts
    Material Plastic
    Auto Shutoff No
       

    An uncaught Exception was encountered

    Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

    Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

    Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

    Line Number: 370

    Backtrace:

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
    Line: 335
    Function: onErrorResponse

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
    Line: 314
    Function: executeCommand

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
    Line: 770
    Function: __call

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
    Line: 146
    Function: set_cache

    File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
    Line: 313
    Function: require_once