Qualityreviews logo

Wesco Retro Scale With Clock
Wesco
B002IC0ORW


  • 91,62 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Wesco
5
67%
(8)
4
33%
(4)
3
0%
(0)
2
0%
(0)
1
0%
(0)
Review 12 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Wesco Retro Scale With Clock)
  • 02 Mar 2020, Mon
Quality Scales- just screaming to be on display!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Both Stylish & Practical.An excellent addition to my kitchen. Tricky to use for very small amounts eg less than 100g but so worth this minor inconvenience. Easy to adjust - just turn the metal knob under the metal bowl. On the other side there is a clock. Although the clock works perfectly I do not tend to use it.The black & silver looks fabulous. and the quality is great. Important as the scales are on display in my kitchen.GREAT VALUE & GREAT QUALITY & SO STYLISH

J. M. Roberts
  • 18 Jan 2019, Fri
Doesn't quite scale the heights
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I can't fault the build quality of these Wesco scales, they look and feel substantial. They are also aesthetically pleasing with a design that reminds me of an old style (retro) petrol pump. This does come at a higher price as compared with other similar products on the market but I guess that's fair enough. If these scales were as practical as they are stylish they would definitely merit a 5 star rating. Unfortunately this is not the case and for this reason I've deducted one star.Mt first issue with this item concerns the clock. It's a good idea to have one and if you can see the scales from both sides (e.g. kitchen island) it looks great. Changing the battery or adjusting the time, however, is not a straight forward exercise. The clock face pulls off like a cake tin lid which is simple enough but putting it back on is not so easy. You basically need four hands in order to push in the metal sides so that it will fit back into the main body of the scales. I'm at a slight disadvantage here as I originate from Mesabella III in the Silverlight galaxy and we Mesabelans only have three hands - "d'oh"! It wouldn't be such a problem if it you only had to change the battery once every 2/3 years but with BST this palaver will no doubt be an aggravation. It would make much more sense for the battery compartment and time adjustment dials to be located underneath where they could be easily accessed. On replacing the clock face I also noticed that it was not a perfect fit. This is because my clock face anyway is not completely straight so as you push it on one corner the opposite corner pops out slightly and vice versa. Not a massive problem I admit but somewhat annoying and something that could easily be remedied with two small screws on either side.Another thing to point out about these scales is that the metal dish is quite large making it more difficult when pouring the contents into a pan with one hand while the other hand holds the pan lid. Also, when you look at the scales from the side the dish is not exactly centre

Led

  • 18 Jan 2019, Fri
Doesn't quite scale the heights
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I can't fault the build quality of these Wesco scales, they look and feel substantial. They are also aesthetically pleasing with a design that reminds me of an old style (retro) petrol pump. This does come at a higher price as compared with other similar products on the market but I guess that's fair enough. If these scales were as practical as they are stylish they would definitely merit a 5 star rating. Unfortunately this is not the case and for this reason I've deducted one star.

Mt first issue with this item concerns the clock. It's a good idea to have one and if you can see the scales from both sides (e.g. kitchen island) it looks great. Changing the battery or adjusting the time, however, is not a straight forward exercise. The clock face pulls off like a cake tin lid which is simple enough but putting it back on is not so easy. You basically need four hands in order to push in the metal sides so that it will fit back into the main body of the scales. I'm at a slight disadvantage here as I originate from Mesabella III in the Silverlight galaxy and we Mesabelans only have three hands - "d'oh"! It wouldn't be such a problem if it you only had to change the battery once every 2/3 years but with BST this palaver will no doubt be an aggravation. It would make much more sense for the battery compartment and time adjustment dials to be located underneath where they could be easily accessed. On replacing the clock face I also noticed that it was not a perfect fit. This is because my clock face anyway is not completely straight so as you push it on one corner the opposite corner pops out slightly and vice versa. Not a massive problem I admit but somewhat annoying and something that could easily be remedied with two small screws on either side.

Another thing to point out about these scales is that the metal dish is quite large making it more difficult when pouring the contents into a pan with one hand while the other hand holds the pan lid. Also, when you look at the scales from the side the dish is no

Led
  • 01 Feb 2018, Thu
Worth the investment
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

In real life these kitchen scales are great looking and great quality. If, like me, you have handled similar looking unbranded retro scales (eg. John Lewis) be assured that Wesco's version is much heavier and much sturdier. I would definitely consider purchasing other products from this brand.As a singleton one negative is that the fine graduations of 20g are small and close together. As a result weighing out one to two recommended servings of seafood, cheese, fruit or vegetables is difficult. In my opinion the Wesco scales are better suited to larger households.

Fire Fox
  • 01 Feb 2018, Thu
Worth the investment
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

In real life these kitchen scales are great looking and great quality. If, like me, you have handled similar looking unbranded retro scales (eg. John Lewis) be assured that Wesco's version is much heavier and much sturdier. I would definitely consider purchasing other products from this brand.

As a singleton one negative is that the fine graduations of 20g are small and close together. As a result weighing out one to two recommended servings of seafood, cheese, fruit or vegetables is difficult. In my opinion the Wesco scales are better suited to larger households.

Fire Fox
  • 18 Mar 2016, Fri
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Just what I wanted!

Lynne
  • 16 Jan 2016, Sat
5 star
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great product bought two

MISSJ R.
  • 10 Oct 2015, Sat
Love the product
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Speedy delivery! Love the product.

sonia thompson
  • 25 Feb 2015, Wed
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Love!

Louise
  • 15 Sep 2014, Mon
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Exactly as described

John Joyce
  • 21 May 2014, Wed
Good quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I don't normally bother post reviews, but when choosing this I couldn't find any helpful ones anywhere, and its rare in the shops to get a look at before you buy.Its expensive obviously, given you can buy plastic scales with a 10 year warrantee for a fiver elsewhere. I bought this as I'm trying to stick to things that will potentially last a life-time, without adding to landfill anytime soon.You can judge the aesthetics for yourself. Its sturdy, and has the look and feel of a high quality product. Its made of steel, and has been powder coated inside and out (shouldn't get rusty in the kitchen over time). The metal work is of a decent thickness adding to its weight, including the bowl. The needle is steady and seems to give an accurate readout. The clock mechanism does give a quiet ticking sound, but isn't too noisy.Its a little bigger than it seemed it would be from the pictures I saw of it in context (e.g. the white one on the john lewis website), it would perhaps be a bit too big for smaller kitchens, so note its measurements before you order if there is any danger of that.Potenial down sides:To change the battery/set the clock, the whole of the clock side face pulls off the body- may potentially cause scratches over time, which would expose the steel.The clock mechanism itself is plasticky, and not labelled with a manufacturer- I do wonder whether it may break down before the rest of the scales- I'm guessing it would be replaceable though.Overall i'm very pleased with it (only gave 4 stars as ideally would be powered by nuclear fusion, to save me changing the batteries).You're guaranteed to feel that little bit more middle class with it next to your magi mix! Please don't vote for UKIP.

NC
  • 21 May 2014, Wed
Good quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I don't normally bother post reviews, but when choosing this I couldn't find any helpful ones anywhere, and its rare in the shops to get a look at before you buy.
Its expensive obviously, given you can buy plastic scales with a 10 year warrantee for a fiver elsewhere. I bought this as I'm trying to stick to things that will potentially last a life-time, without adding to landfill anytime soon.
You can judge the aesthetics for yourself. Its sturdy, and has the look and feel of a high quality product. Its made of steel, and has been powder coated inside and out (shouldn't get rusty in the kitchen over time). The metal work is of a decent thickness adding to its weight, including the bowl. The needle is steady and seems to give an accurate readout. The clock mechanism does give a quiet ticking sound, but isn't too noisy.
Its a little bigger than it seemed it would be from the pictures I saw of it in context (e.g. the white one on the john lewis website), it would perhaps be a bit too big for smaller kitchens, so note its measurements before you order if there is any danger of that.
Potenial down sides:
To change the battery/set the clock, the whole of the clock side face pulls off the body- may potentially cause scratches over time, which would expose the steel.
The clock mechanism itself is plasticky, and not labelled with a manufacturer- I do wonder whether it may break down before the rest of the scales- I'm guessing it would be replaceable though.

Overall i'm very pleased with it (only gave 4 stars as ideally would be powered by nuclear fusion, to save me changing the batteries).
You're guaranteed to feel that little bit more middle class with it next to your magi mix! Please don't vote for UKIP.

NC
Colour:Black

Product description

Wesco Kitchen Scale with Clock A decorative eyecatcher that combines two features: kitchenscale on the one and kitchen clock on the other side. The retro-style kitchen scale has a capacity of 4 kg, the large stainless steel measuring bowl is dishwasher-safe. , Provided with a single AA size battery Dimensions: Height: 27 cm Width: 15 cm Length: 13 cm Color: Black Material: Stainless Steel (measuring bowl) Manufacturer Part Number: 322204-62 , Pack contains:1 Wesco Kitchen Scale with Clock, Food Scale, Kitchen Accessory, Black, Stainless Steel, 322204-62

Manufacturer's Description

The Company

Westermann & Co. was founded in 1867 as a family enterprise based in the Sauerland and celebrated its 140th anniversary in 2007

The brand Wesco stands for metal manufacturing in the classical manner – a combination of excellent German quality, an exclusive design and high tech functionality. A long experience in manufacturing and high tech form a perfect unity giving Wesco products their unique design

Soon after its establishment in 1867, the company specialised in the processing of metal plates for household goods and has since continuously extended the range of its products.

In the 1920s, Wesco introduced the “ash can” into its product range, after the war it launched its first “pedal bin”. Today, the range of household goods includes more than 50 waste bins in various designs. Some of these products are modelled on the historic precursors which have inspired the use of classic design elements in the development of modern products.

Wesco design is characterised by the company's long-standing experience with metal as working material. Because we are familiar with the material we work with, we are able to shape it in a new and exciting way.

DESIGN AND TRADITION

In the USA - the land of unlimited possibilities and unfortunately of unlimited volumes of trash as well - trash containers in the typical American dimensions of 50 litres and more have been in production since the 1920s. These bins were originally developed for the catering trade, but soon found their way into American households.

But it was not until the 1970s that the American 'trash can' celebrated its triumphal as symbol of the typically American design. This feat was achieved with the help of a German exchange student in the US: Egbert Neuhaus, the current managing director of Wesco. During his stay in Texas, one of these typically American trash cans caught his eye - and it was 'love at first sight'. Neuhaus brought the product idea back to Germany with him to his father's factory.

Due to long years of experience in metal processing the Wesco-team brought the necessary expertise to the table for re-designing the American 'trash can'.

Based on the American idea of 'large volume large input flap', the body and the semicircular lid of the trash bin were adapted to each other in such a way that the proportions were perfectly well suited to one another, and topped off by a large, technically solid input flap made of stainless steel and stable handles.

Further technical details were added. Now the only thing missing was a new name: based on the writing engraved on the flap, it was christened 'Pushboy' - the first child of an entire family which today comprises more than 20 design products.

ORIGINAL QUALITY - MADE IN GERMANY

Modern technology and finest materials guarantee the quality and longevity of Wesco products: high-quality powder-coated or galvanized sheet-steel and stainless steel are being used. Stainless steel is known for its durability and rust resistance.

The company strategy regarding functionality is based on a combination of high-tech and tradition: Projects designed at the computer are undergoing extensive test phases for function and sturdiness, before starting with high-technology production.

Decades of experience in craftsmanship take care of the final touch.

Brand Wesco
Model Number322 204-62
ColourBlack
Item Weight1.72 Kg
Product Dimensions15 x 13 x 27 cm
MaterialStainless Steel
  

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 770
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once