Qualityreviews logo

Sony Alpha A7 III + 28-70/3.5-5.6 OSS
Sony
B07B4R8QGM


  • 1.578,00 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Sony
5
69%
(27)
4
8%
(3)
3
15%
(6)
2
5%
(2)
1
3%
(1)
Review 39 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Sony Alpha A7 III + 28-70/3.5-5.6 OSS)
  • 12 Jun 2020, Fri
Good all rounder
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

There are hundreds of reviews for this camera on you tube and in magazines ect, so i would do your homework first as i did .i will just say it has a good measure of everything you need .

mr w e moor-killick
  • 21 May 2020, Thu
Outstanding
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

When I switched from Nikon (dslr)to (mirrorless) Sony I had few doubts. But I don’t regret anything!Doing photography and videography for 1year but I learned a lot during this time. It’s everything you need! Get some good glass and you won’t regret it.

Alexandru

  • 01 May 2020, Fri
Amazing camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great camera overall, it takes time to get familiar with all the buttons and the menu is not that great. but its possible to slowly master it. Probably its the same for all such cameras, but Sony is known to mess about with the menus. Alas, if you want, you will learn how to operate it...

D. Steiner
  • 10 Jan 2020, Fri
Excellent camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Excellent camera, great image stabiles, good quality photography and videos

Snezhina Gulubova
  • 02 Jan 2020, Thu
Cheapskate
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Nice enough camera but doesn't include a battery charger - options are; Charge in-cam or spend another load on a charger.Ridiculous penny-pinching

BiTZ
  • 04 Dec 2019, Wed
Most loved camera ever
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The best purchase in years!!!! I’m very satisfied with this camera, the quality of the image is stunning, colours are very bright, very customisable, long battery life. The lenses are quite expensive but you get the incredible results. I definitely 1000% Recommend this camera. It came very quick and well packed

Oleg Popa
  • 22 Nov 2019, Fri
My dream camera. It's everything I needed.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I shoot everything! Portraits, Landscapes, Street, Travel, etc. I really wanted a pretty good camera for overall usage because I don't wanna spend money on camera soon. I was looking for long time and I did researches, watched and read others reviews, I tested other cameras and my final decision was A7iii. I finally bought it and already felt in love with it. I bought the 28-70 kit lens with the 50 1.8 prime as well. And I think every one needs to have at least a zoom lens and a prime lens. It worth every penny! I remember when I first held it in my hand it felt like the grip of the camera was a bit short for my little finger, but wasn't big deal because soon I start use it more I got used to it. You can always buy a battery grip if it's the case. As personal preferences, I had to adjust the viewfinder for my eyes and I put the switch of viewfinder on a custom button (+FINDER/MONITOR on manual) because sometimes was so annoying switching by itself when I was using the lcd screen. After you're set, you're good to go. It's a joy to use this camera! I love the results! It's so good in low light and dynamic range! I easily adjust my exposure in post if wasn't properly exposed. If I shoot raw and don't want to spend a lot of time on editing I found Capture One Express(for Sony) way better than Lightroom or Adobe Camera Raw, and it's free too! I love the crop mode option on camera when I need extra reach and the feature that I can easily send my pictures to my phone in jpg even if I'm only shooting raw. Mine came with a battery charger. Overall I'm so happy with this purchase. I could say was a really good choice. Couldn't be more happier! Hope you find this useful.

Amazon Customer
  • 19 Sep 2019, Thu
One of the best there is!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Love this camera but then again, everyone else on the internet does as well so nothing new I can add really!

Alex Ogden
  • 26 Aug 2019, Mon
Sony Mirrorless DSLRs are taking over / fantastic kit
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Sony are taking over the camera market now with cameras like these.Amazing quality, both in construction and in images produced.The A7III is the more "consumer oriented" camera in Sony's list of high-end DSLRs, whereas the A7RIII with its 43MP sensor is more oriented toward people who are going to make huge prints (think billboards) or who are doing fancy photoshoots (magazines / weddings, etc).It's also cheaper and easier to use than the top-of-the-line A9 flagship DSLR.I don't really know what else to write about this; it honestly is just fantastic for every occasion; it's portable, durable and reliable and even the built in battery makes last gen. products (A6000) look weak.The issues with these cameras are that Sony are notorious for having very difficult menus to navigate and so many settings within those menus that you don't know what everything does. They are a bit of a learning curve to say the least.Secondly, because this is a full-frame mirrorless, you'll also notice that the lenses for this camera can go into "crazy money" territory, with some costing up to £12 000 (600mm F4 GM).Even though I rarely get to use my camera, I don't personally regret buying it, but if you are a hobbyist who only uses the camera on rare occasions, I'd probably recommend going with something lower down, like the A6000 or A6500, or possibly a second hand A7.-------The kit lens is decent, although not as good as the G-Master version which goes down to F2.8 (but also costs the price of a kidney at £1800).With the right settings it can be a very good starter lens for all-round usage and images do turn out nice and sharp.If you are thinking of specialising into a specific area of photography, I would highly recommend getting something else however (like the Samyang lenses which are the "budget" option.)

Elliot B.
  • 05 Jun 2019, Wed
Poor ergonomics and battery
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Firstly - amazing pictures, not bad AF, good range of lenses, above average video recordingPlaces for improvement - ergonomics, battery and light measuring.Regarding ergonomics both physical design and settings menu are poorly designed. Physically, any SLR from Canon or Nikon feels better and is easier to operate than this camera. But he most annoying for the street photography is the compensation dial. You cannot lock it and every time you grab a camera you have to check if it was not changed. Very annoying. Also - in my mind - the settings menu is a disaster, it gives you many options, but the way it is organised does not help you to quickly find what you need; and usually you don't need 99% of options in the first place. The UX designer should be fired.Battery is another story. Some people are pleased with 700+ shots. I am not, as comparing to an SLR is a very poor result. And - as this camera does not come with charger - I ended up charging every day through the USB port. The cover of that port is badly designed; if you put an USB cable it pushes it down below the camera's bottom. I think it is going to break sooner than later. Not good at all.Finally, the build-in light meter constantly over exposures. For most of my pictures I had to compensate to get it right.

Juliusz
  • 05 May 2019, Sun
A highly polished tool. Beware of expensive lenses
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Two things this camera doesn’t do compared to Canon’s: 1) a front facing articulating swivel screen, and the workaround for this is basically pairing your smartphone as and when required (or modifying your screen hinges), and 2) feature a slick touchscreen with pinch-to-zoom and easy to use menu system. Although the A7iii has a touchscreen it is only for focus selection and it can be used for Panning around your photos, but not zooming.Everything else is as good or better and here are the main reasons I settled on this camera over everything else out there on the market:Excellent battery life (700+ shots)In body image stabilisation (as well as on the 28-70 kit lens which is excellent)Full frame (no crop) 4k videoWeather sealed bodyUSB C charging straight to cameraDual Card SlotsSlow motion (120FPS) availableCanon R and RP miss out on at-least some of these important features. Of course it is not all about specs I encourage you to get to a camera shop / show and test them in your hand. You can’t describe feeling on a spec. sheet.Having owned the camera for several months using it for amateur photography and videography the main gripes are that high quality lenses (G master, Zeiss etc.) are very expensive (£1k+). Know what you are getting into before investing in the Sony system. Canon and Nikon have been around for much longer and feature a much wider range of high quality lenses more available on the new and used markets cheaper than Sony’s.Other than that it’s an excellent tool which inspire confidence in the fact that it will be a force to reckoned with for years to come.

Mr M
  • 01 Apr 2019, Mon
Nice
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I like it

John
  • 09 Mar 2019, Sat
Hybrid shooting King. Simply unbeatable. I love it.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Everything I ever wanted and more

Suave

  • 04 Mar 2019, Mon
Awsome camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Best low light camera around at the minute great quality of pictures and video

Jozy
  • 03 Feb 2019, Sun
Enjoying it so far
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had this for a couple of months. But only managed to use it on a couple of occasions. Definitely a big step up from a Sony A6300. Much improved low light capability

M. Perry
  • 19 Jan 2019, Sat
Great full frame camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I had this camera for one month now and I'm pleasantly surprised by its qualities and features. I used to be a Nikon fan but I have moved to Sony as they seem to be ahead of the game. I do like the fact that offers a lot of customization in order to please most of the users. Is a great sensor and I love the autofocus on this camera...almost perfect and works every time. As a downside, don't quite like their sophisticated menu system. Plus the back screen and the viewfinder not at the highest quality.

Birbal
  • 28 Dec 2018, Fri
Talented little fella
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

First of all, I am coming from Nikon D750. I loved that camera, and still I am in love with it but a couple features of this camera made me to switch. These were;* on body image stabilisation* no need for lens calibration* stellar eye AF* AF points coverage* Tilt screen and AF while using tilt screen. Nikon D750 was really bad on this.Personally, I wasn't excited about moving to Sony, because their brand does not create same kind of image on my mind. It is not a Nikon or Canon for me. However this camera is very good. Its build quality and ergonomics are not good as my good old D750, not anywhere near good. When I first bought this camera, my wife saw it and said that "So you have bought a toy camera". Because she was used to my D750 and other Nikon DSLRs before that. Then I explained the differences and made a quick demonstration. After that she really liked it.Currently I am really happy with it. I hope lens diversity increases anytime soon.

Mehmet Celikel
  • 18 Dec 2018, Tue
Great technology, poor build quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've had two of these. I sent the first one back because the front control dial was malfunctioning: one click on the dial, either backwards or forwards, often skipped a setting or picture, which became really annoying. Unfortunately, the replacement has the same problem, plus the rear control wheel is doing the same thing, albeit less frequently. It's a testament to the capabilities of the camera that I'll probably put up with it; but also to the fact that I'm worried another replacement might have the same problem, or something worse... Having also owned a A7 mk1, I'm not that confident in Sony's QC.

Anyway, on with the review

Pros:

The technology in the Sony A7 iii is really good. The sensor offers me at least two stops more usability in low light compared to my micro four-thirds kit - as it should do being roughly 4x the size. It also give me much more headroom for pulling highlights and pushing shadows. I worry less about getting the exposure right, and instead concentrate simply on getting the shot, knowing that there is a great latitude available in the RAW files. Autofocus also works great - for people I just set it to wide area and let face/eye detect do the rest. If you want more control of focus point(s) there are a bunch of useful settings, and the joystick makes it really easy to quickly change the focus area.

It's not blazing fast for S-AF, like many of the u43 camera/lens combos are, but that's just a function of the relative size of the focussing elements. C-AF and/or tracking is better than anything I've used in u43, including the E-M1 ii. Eye-AF is very good, although slightly annoying that you have to hold down a button for it to kick in.

AWB is good. It seems to err on the cool side outdoors, and the warm side indoors, but this bias can be tweaked, and it's no problem if you set it manually or process RAW.

The camera is endlessly customisable, and I've no problem with the menus, which I find fairly well laid out compared to my Olympus cameras.

Co

Franco Baresi
  • 18 Dec 2018, Tue
Great technology, poor build quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've had two of these. I sent the first one back because the front control dial was malfunctioning: one click on the dial, either backwards or forwards, often skipped a setting or picture, which became really annoying. Unfortunately, the replacement has the same problem, plus the rear control wheel is doing the same thing, albeit less frequently. It's a testament to the capabilities of the camera that I'll probably put up with it; but also to the fact that I'm worried another replacement might have the same problem, or something worse... Having also owned a A7 mk1, I'm not that confident in Sony's QC.Anyway, on with the reviewPros:The technology in the Sony A7 iii is really good. The sensor offers me at least two stops more usability in low light compared to my micro four-thirds kit - as it should do being roughly 4x the size. It also give me much more headroom for pulling highlights and pushing shadows. I worry less about getting the exposure right, and instead concentrate simply on getting the shot, knowing that there is a great latitude available in the RAW files. Autofocus also works great - for people I just set it to wide area and let face/eye detect do the rest. If you want more control of focus point(s) there are a bunch of useful settings, and the joystick makes it really easy to quickly change the focus area.It's not blazing fast for S-AF, like many of the u43 camera/lens combos are, but that's just a function of the relative size of the focussing elements. C-AF and/or tracking is better than anything I've used in u43, including the E-M1 ii. Eye-AF is very good, although slightly annoying that you have to hold down a button for it to kick in.AWB is good. It seems to err on the cool side outdoors, and the warm side indoors, but this bias can be tweaked, and it's no problem if you set it manually or process RAW.The camera is endlessly customisable, and I've no problem with the menus, which I find fairly well laid out compared to my Olympus cameras.Cons:Doesn't have the build quality of a £2k camera. It's

Franco Baresi
  • 08 Dec 2018, Sat
Overrated IQ, issues with memory card slot
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

IQ is OK but certainly not living up to the hype. 4K video isn't as sharp as my 3-year old Fuji X-T2, there's no 60fps mode, 8-bit slog is quite limiting when graded. Microphone and headphones ports covers are stiff, made of plastic and rattle under slightest movement, which gets picked up by the microphone, so forget about any serious video recording on a move. They also get in the way of each other, whoever designed them should be fired.

The AF point is grey so you can almost never see it and the most recent firmware hasn't addressed that issue. There's no ultrasonic automatic sensor cleaning so I've already got dust on mine despite putting one prime lens the minute I bought it and never taking it off, I feel this will be a constant issue and PITA to deal with.

On the top of that I've had the camera for only few days and only used at home, and since day 1 I've been having issues with memory cards. "Unable to read memory card. Reinsert memory card. Slot 1" error appears randomly. Tested with different brands and capacities (Sandisk 32, 64 and 128GB, Lexar 64GB). The same cards work fine in Slot 2 but Slot 1 randomly throws this error and locks the camera. Swapping cards 10 times, removing the battery 15 times and chanting some ancient druidic prayers to the gods of thunder helps, until it happens again at random.

Returning mine.

K. B.
Style Name:Camera with SEL2870 Lens Kit

Product Description

Back-illuminated 24.2MP full-frame sensor - The 35mm full-frame Exmor R CMOS image sensor features 24.2-megapixel resolution, back illumination, and gapless on-chip lens design for extraordinary sensitivity and dynamic range. Two times faster12 data readout speed is achieved through copper wires and front-end LSI. Entirely enhanced image processing system - A combination of new-generation image processing system and a new sensor achieves an up to 1.5-stop improvement in image quality. Wider, faster, more steadfast AF performance - An evolved image processing system and α9 camera AF algorithms optimised for the α7 III improve AF speed, precision, and tracking performance. Focal-plane phase-detection AF supports A-mount lenses - Phase-detection AF can operate even when an A-mount lens18 is mounted to the α7 III via an LA-EA3 adaptor. The 693-point focal-plane phase-detection AF system provides wide-area coverage, fast response, and high-performance tracking.



From the manufacturer

cashbackcashback
A7M3, ILCE7M3, ILCE7M3B, Full Frame Mirrorless Camera, Mirrorless Camera, CameraA7M3, ILCE7M3, ILCE7M3B, Full Frame Mirrorless Camera, Mirrorless Camera, Camera

4D FOCUS — AF performance evolves

Capture unpredictably moving subjects such as dancers, boxers or wild animals

Stunning wide coverage: 693 phase-detection AF points covering approx. 93% of image area & 425 densely positioned contrast-detection AF points. Fast AF speed: focal-plane phase-detection AF for excellent speed and tracking & high-precision contrast-detection AF allow to capture fast-moving subjects in razor-sharp images. Steadfast tracking: Faster image sensor readout allows the tracking of complex subject motion with great precision, allowing you to capture decisive moments.
Which camera is best for you?
Compare Products By IMAGE SENSOR ISO SENSITIVITY STABILISATION CONTINUOUS SHOOTING AUTO FOCUS EYE AF SILENT SHOOTING SHUTTER SPEED VIDEO VIEW FINDER MONITOR MEMORY CARD SLOT Compare Products By
A7M3, ILCE7M3, ILCE7M3B, Full Frame Mirrorless Camera, Mirrorless Camera, Camera

ILCE7M3

24.2MP, Full-frame, Exmor R ISO 100-51200 Img sensor-shift, 5 axis comp. 10 fps Improved Fast Hybrid AF Yes + AF Continuous ✔ Max. 1/8000 4K, XAVCS, S-log2, S-log3, HLG 2.36 million XGA OLED, 0.78x 3.0" tiltable LCD touch screen Dual slot: SD/UHS-II and SD/MS
ILCE7RM2

ILCE7RM2

42.4MP, Full-frame, Exmor R ISO 100-25600 Img sensor-shift, 5 axis comp. 5 fps Improved Fast Hybrid AF Yes + AF Continuous ✔ Max. 1/8000 4K, XAVC S, S-log2 2.36 million XGA OLED, 0.78x 3.0" LCD, tiltable Single slot (SD/MS)
ILCE7M2

ILCE7M2

24.3MP, Full-frame, Exmor ISO 100-25600 Img sensor-shift, 5 axis comp. 5 fps Fast Hybrid AF Yes, AF Single Shot ✘ Max. 1/8000 Full HD, XAVC S, S-log2 2.36 million XGA OLED, 0.71x 3.0" LCD, tiltable Single slot (SD/MS)
ILCE7

ILCE7

24.3MP, Full-frame, Exmor ISO 100-25600 With OSS Lens 5 fps Fast Hybrid AF Yes, AF Single Shot ✘ Max. 1/8000 Full HD, AVCHD 2.36 million XGA OLED, 0.71x 3.0" LCD, tiltable Single slot (SD/MS)

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 770
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once