Qualityreviews logo

Sage Bes980bss The Oracle Espresso Semi Automatic Espresso Machine Silver
Sage
B00KNXNS7G


  • 1.402,99 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Sage
5
70%
(58)
4
7%
(6)
3
6%
(5)
2
5%
(4)
1
12%
(10)
Review 83 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Sage Bes980bss The Oracle Espresso Semi Automatic Espresso Machine Silver)
  • 07 Jun 2019, Fri
Great coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Brilliant machine, extremely happy . However, Sage not so good. Having registered the machine I am supposed to get 3 free filters. But nothing has arrived. Had similar issues with a previous Sage machine, excellent machine, but backup somewhat lacking.

Mr David J F Steers
  • 29 May 2019, Wed
Brilliant machine for the real coffee lovers
Reviewed on Ebay

This is a fantastic piece of kit - but not for the faint hearted - there is quite a bit of experimentation to be done with different beans, different grinds etc but at the end you do get a fantastic cup of coffee.

jacksonh8h2g

  • 19 Apr 2019, Fri
Overfilling issues
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Unfortunately machine suffers from serious issues with the grinder. Instead of getting 19-22g I get 23-25g which results in overfilling, uneven tamping and a wasted batch. The only way around it is to weigh the beans manually prior grinding, then the tamping mechanism works perfectly but obviously the machine should do it for you.Personally I wouldn't recommend it.

Bart
  • 06 Apr 2019, Sat
Cafe quality coffee at home
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've had this machine now for a year and held back on a review until I could assess the machine properly in everyday use. I can honestly say that the quality of coffee you get from this machine is better than anything I have ever owned and I have owned a lot of different coffee makers over the years. Once you get used to understanding that different beans can require different grind settings, all other settings can be left as factory. Overall, the pinnacle of home coffee brewing. If you can't extract a great cup of coffee from this machine, just change your bean supplier.

Amazon Customer
  • 15 Mar 2019, Fri
The Last Word In Coffee Preparation At Home
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It's been around four months since I took the plunge and made myself feel a little queasy at spending so much money on a coffee machine.Thankfully, the pangs of guilt have passed, and over the first few weeks of ownership I tweaked at the extremely configurable settings to find the perfect grind to suit my tastes. Everything here is so configurable, and controllable too. Little nudges here and there - be it the grind, the temperature of the water, the milk, the strength of the tamp... it's all controllable, and crucially repeatable!What I've discovered is that over the years, in my quest for a super-strong espresso shot, I've been grinding the beans way too finely. I've been inconsistent with all sorts of other parts of the coffee alchemy, and it's led to lacklustre results.What this machine allows you to do is take control of your espresso shot - it's so configurable, and consistent in delivery of results.I really love this machine - though I'm sure you can tell.

C. Pitbladdo
  • 04 Mar 2019, Mon
A bit expensive..
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Excellent!

mike
  • 22 Feb 2019, Fri
Professional Espresso Machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very happy with it so far.

Kamal Pharran
  • 16 Feb 2019, Sat
The bee's knees..no.downside
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Cost a bit but worth it. No downside to date. I bought a cheaper model for my office, regret it.

Richard Howard
  • 11 Feb 2019, Mon
A good coffee machine, so far
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After one month use is too early to give a honest and comprehensive review. Appearance: looks absolutely fine, nothing spectacular in terms of design, but it will integrate with ease in a modern kitchen. My findings:1. grinding and tamping works flawless. A weak point I see is you cannot use only tamping function (in case you grind separately, with a different grinder, a different type of coffee). Or a separate bin for decoff coffee.For testing purpose, until you'll find the right grinding, tamping and water flow time settings you will waste a lot of coffee. Coffee dose is 21 grams (for the large basket). And after all these tests you will still not be so sure if you get a perfect coffee because each time you will change the coffee brand you will need to go trough the entire process again. Is rather a manual coffee espresso machine, as experience. If you are the "one push of a button" person then definitely this is not for you.2. Another weak point is the initiating time. I had a barista touch model, before, which was ready to go in 3 seconds after powering up. This one takes 2-3 minutes.3. Milk froth is good, not necessarily the best and consistent from one session to another. Using 3.5% fat milk, poured in freezing mug. Also the milk quantity needed is quite generous, I always throw away half of it when I make only a cup of cappucino. Personally I found it better in barista touch model, both in terms of frothing and milk quantity needed as well (due to the PID sensor placed under the mug and not in the tip of the milk steam wand). I have returned the Barista Touch because the Swiss Claro Filter for water tank is quite difficult to find, even on the manufacturer website. I replaced it with Oracle model, based on the specs and operating manual you can find on manufacturer website and where is mentioned that uses charcoal pads filters, which are more common. During unboxing I was surprised to find that this model was using the same Swiss Claro filters too... I initiated in the same day a return process with Amazon

Daniel Sbarcea
  • 25 Jan 2019, Fri
Reliable and solid build. Makes top notch coffee.
Reviewed on Ebay

Solid machine for the home. As good coffee as a barista thanks to its automatic features. Only downside its noisy on p

innocent.smoothie
  • 06 Jan 2019, Sun
Excellent Coffee
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This makes a great cup of coffee and really easy to use. There is a fair bit of routine maintenance to do which can seem daunting but I'm sure will become second nature before long. The portafilter is huge and weighs a ton which is a good thing. It takes a bit tweaking to get the grind right as with as machine or new grinder. I don't think they offer the white glove service anymore as there was nothing in the box about it, there coupon for 3 filters, maybe instead of the white glove service. I didn't get a water hardness testing strip either but I know after a run through a charcoal filter it needs the softest setting, there is another filter in the tank so scale shouldn't be a big issue.

Mr. R. W. Tracey
  • 03 Jan 2019, Thu
Amazing
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Quality machine love it

jason layton
  • 02 Dec 2018, Sun
The best!
Reviewed on Ebay

This is truly the closest you'll get to a professional coffee shop machine at home.It's a bit bulky but with fresh beans and very little skill you'll get amazing results.Solid and very, very well thought through.Good job Sage!

tdel4352

  • 26 Nov 2018, Mon
The best coffee maker I'll ever have
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Where to start? The Oracle is a beautiful looking machine. It's really well designed and flatters my coffee making. In fact, it makes some of the best coffee this side of a professional barista. But I'll admit that, for the purists amongst you, there's plenty to make your hackles rise. It doesn't need a huge amount of skill to get great tasting coffee, and that may drive away those of you who like to perfect the art. Me? I just enjoy coffee.Prior to the Oracle I had a small manual machine which allowed me to pull an espresso and steam the milk at the same time. I'd also bought a massive, used grinder and spent many a happy hour trying to dial in the perfect grind, tamp and pull. I think it's fair to say that I failed pretty miserably. After a year I started to turn out milk that was close to what I'd expect from a latte, but it probably took another year before I got it right more than I got it wrong. I'm not sure my espressos were ever much good. So you'll understand I was a perfect candidate for the Oracle. This isn't a fully automatic machine - you'll pay another few hundred for the Sage/Breville version of that - but it does take control of the things I'd been having trouble with - the grind, tamp and frothing - while still allowing me to set up the results the way I prefer them.At first the Oracle is a little intimidating, so I found it best to accept the default settings and work from there. If you're contemplating spending this much you probably won't need me to tell you that using decent coffee beans is really important. If the pack has a sell-by date on it, forget it. Only use beans if you know their roasting date, and make sure it's less than 30 days ago. The grinder is controlled by a knob on the left side. Lower numbers give a finer grind, and I've consistently found that a setting between 18 and 22 works best for the beans I get.Two filter baskets are provided, for single or double shots, though I pretty much exclusively use the double. There are some excellent videos on YouTube from Sage which show

Muir Woods
  • 26 Nov 2018, Mon
The best coffee maker I'll ever have
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Where to start? The Oracle is a beautiful looking machine. It's really well designed and flatters my coffee making. In fact, it makes some of the best coffee this side of a professional barista. But I'll admit that, for the purists amongst you, there's plenty to make your hackles rise. It doesn't need a huge amount of skill to get great tasting coffee, and that may drive away those of you who like to perfect the art. Me? I just enjoy coffee.

Prior to the Oracle I had a small manual machine which allowed me to pull an espresso and steam the milk at the same time. I'd also bought a massive, used grinder and spent many a happy hour trying to dial in the perfect grind, tamp and pull. I think it's fair to say that I failed pretty miserably. After a year I started to turn out milk that was close to what I'd expect from a latte, but it probably took another year before I got it right more than I got it wrong. I'm not sure my espressos were ever much good. So you'll understand I was a perfect candidate for the Oracle. This isn't a fully automatic machine - you'll pay another few hundred for the Sage/Breville version of that - but it does take control of the things I'd been having trouble with - the grind, tamp and frothing - while still allowing me to set up the results the way I prefer them.

At first the Oracle is a little intimidating, so I found it best to accept the default settings and work from there. If you're contemplating spending this much you probably won't need me to tell you that using decent coffee beans is really important. If the pack has a sell-by date on it, forget it. Only use beans if you know their roasting date, and make sure it's less than 30 days ago. The grinder is controlled by a knob on the left side. Lower numbers give a finer grind, and I've consistently found that a setting between 18 and 22 works best for the beans I get.

Two filter baskets are provided, for single or double shots, though I pretty much exclusively use the double. There are some excellent videos on YouTu

Muir Woods
  • 02 Oct 2018, Tue
Questionable Factory Assembly/Checking but seems well built
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

1st machine arrived, set it up (not for the faint hearted), first process failed as the boiler would not boil the water past 70/71 oC - kept oscillating between these temperatures (it needs to reach 93oC before it will allow you to make coffee). Phoned Sage, they were very helpful but confirmed it was a dud machine! Quick resupply of...2nd machine, set it up again (quicker this time), machine grinded the coffee then dumped it into the Portafilter without tamping. When I checked the troubleshooting it suggested the Tamper Fan may not be installed, and it was not! checked through all the packaging and found it loose at the bottom of the box!. finally got it all sorted and made a brew...First brew seems ok so far, having used half the packet prior to fitting the tamper fan!

Marco
  • 08 Aug 2018, Wed
Best for non expert coffee addict!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The best for family!

Seung Charlie Kim
  • 24 Jul 2018, Tue
Defective
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Really disappointed. Arrived with security tape all round box but despite this the water hardness test strip was missing. Anyway set the machine up and switched on to heat and purge system as per instructions. But after an hour had only heated to 70 and it needs to be 93 before it functions. I let it cool and tried again but still only gets to 70 degrees. Having read a few reviews seems this may be a common fault with some of these machines. I'm not convinced I received a brand new product. So I'm returning as not fit for purpose

Franvi
  • 12 Jul 2018, Thu
High quality an very easy to make outstanding coffee
Reviewed on Ebay

Easy to use. Superb quality and only in a few minuttes you have great coffe feeling like a real barista.

uff_06
  • 12 Jul 2018, Thu
High quality an very easy to make outstanding coffee
Reviewed on Ebay

Easy to use. Superb quality and only in a few minuttes you have great coffe feeling like a real barista.

uff_06
Colour:Silver  |  Style Name:Coffee Machine Only

Product description

For coffee shop-quality coffee without the queuing, consult The Oracle. In a world first, it automates several of the processes that are usually done manually to make it easy for you to achieve coffee perfection every time. It grinds, doses and tamps your beans automatically before getting to work on making your brew.

At its heart is the dual stainless steel boiler triple heat system. It has a dedicated espresso boiler which uses PID technology for accurate temperature control to within 1°C, and a steam boiler to deliver instant and continuous steam. Espresso is extracted and milk is textured simultaneously so that both are ready at the same time and the delicate aromatics are captured and preserved for optimum results

Usually only found on commercial machines, The Oracle also features an Over Pressure Valve, a function that limits pressure during extraction to ensure there are no bitter flavours. It also has true low pressure pre-infusion to ensure the grinds expand gently for a smoother taste.

And if it's all sounding a bit technical and scary, the main thing to remember is that it makes superlative coffee. Automatically.

If you're thinking that this sounds like the coffee machine for you, but you're not sure if it's a little too technical, Sage offers a White Glove Service to ensure that you're not left scratching your head. This means that they'll send one of their coffee experts to your home to show you exactly how to get the best from your new Oracle right from the start.

37 x 50 x45cm H. Watts 2400 Capacity 2.5L

Box Contains

1 x 1 x Grinder Bin
1 x 58 mm portafilter
1 x 480 ml Cup
1 x Single wall filter basket
1 x Cleaning kit



From the manufacturer

the Oracle Espresso Machine by Sage, BES980UK

the Oracle Espresso Machine by Sage

Sage Appliances UK

Kitchen appliances designed to inspire people to produce perfect food and beverage results in their own homes with ease. From espresso machines to food processors, the innovation in each appliance delights. Sage makes the process a pleasure and the end result perfect, every time.

the Oracle Espresso Machine by Sage, BES980UK

The Oracle creates café quality coffee that tastes like you’d get in your favourite café

The Oracle has automatic grinding, dosing, tamping and milk texturing, automating the two most difficult parts of manual espresso. You can extract espresso and texture milk simultaneously, enabling you to go from beans to latte in under a minute.

The 4 key elements of café quality coffee:

  • Dose Amount
  • Precise Water Temperature
  • Optimal Water Pressure
  • Sufficient Steam Pressure

The 4 Key Elements of True Café Quality Coffee

Dosing technology

1. Dose - 19-22 g dose for full flavour

Have you ever wondered why your home-made coffee never seems to taste as great as a café bought one? That’s because most other automatic machines only dose 11-13 g of ground coffee, below what’s needed to create that rich, full-bodied taste you get out of bed for.

Temperature technology

2. Temperature - Precise PID temperature control

The difference between an ashy or balanced tasting espresso can be as little as 1°C. The Oracle uses digital temperature control (PID) technology which detects and minimises any fluctuation during extraction, ensuring the temperature is kept at its optimum range, every time.

Pressure technology

3. Pressure - Low pressure pre-infusion and 9 bar extraction pressure

Creating a golden honey crema in your coffee relies on the right pressure at the right time. The Oracle uses low pressure, pre-infusion to evenly soak and expand the ground coffee, delivering a sweet and creamy extraction.

Steam technology

4. Steam - Automatically steaming milk to a silky micro-foam texture

To get that velvety texture in your milk you need the right steam pressure to draw in the air and create thousands of tiny bubbles. That’s why we created the automatic steam wand for the Oracle, that turns your milk into a silky smooth micro-foam, essential for latte art.

Special Features of the Oracle

White Glove Service

White Glove Service

With the White Glove Service, Sage will send one of their coffee experts to your home and set you on the path to extraordinary coffee.

  • Set-up: Installation of the Oracle.
  • Tune: The machine and your Grinder are tuned to ensure the right grind size and dose volumes for your chosen beans.
  • Talk: Guide you through the cleaning process and tools.
  • Make: Make a few cappuccinos and share a coffee with you.

Precise Espresso Extraction

Precise Espresso Extraction

Easily adjust the coffee strength, milk texture and temperature to suit your taste. You can also personalise up to 8 different coffees with their very own unique image and name.

A Barista in the Comfort of Your Home

A Barista in the Comfort of Your Home

Self-cleaning steam wand, powered by a dedicated boiler, textures milk to your liking and delivers Barista-quality micro-foam that enhances flavour and is essential for creating latte art. Allows you to adjust the milk temperature and texture to suit your taste.

Brand Sage
Model NumberBES980BSS
ColourSilver
Item Weight19.3 Kg
Product Dimensions40.9 x 37.3 x 45.3 cm
Capacity2.5 litres
Volume Capacity2.5 litres
Power / Wattage2400 watts
Voltage240 volts
MaterialStainless Steel
Special FeaturesCup Warmer, Integrated Coffee Grinder, Cup, Programmable, milk frother