Qualityreviews logo

Sage Bes870uk The Barista Express Espresso Machine Silver
Sage
B00CI32S9I


  • 579,00 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Sage
5
75%
(192)
4
10%
(25)
3
3%
(8)
2
5%
(12)
1
8%
(20)
Review 257 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Sage Bes870uk The Barista Express Espresso Machine Silver)
  • 17 Oct 2019, Thu
3 yrs in, totally broken
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Loved this machine right up to the day it broke, two faults appeared, the latter seems very common, first a broken plastic connector which you cant get a replacement for, and a solenoid which appears to be a common fault on the machine - circa £35 if you change it yourself. My biggest frustration is that Sage won't sell you the parts, rendering the machine useless unless you ship it back to them for what is a simple repair that will no doubt be expensive to fix. At £400+ its sad that it only lasted 3 years, I've got underwear thats outlasted this.

Jonathan Prescott
  • 09 May 2019, Thu
Couldn’t be happier
Reviewed on Ebay

Upgraded from an old, trusty Gaggia Classic and couldn’t be happier. The Sage brews twice as fast as the Gaggia and delivers better quality coffee with every shot. I loved the Gaggia but the Sage is in a different class. The steam wand makes velvety foam and is easy to use. Once you get the settings (grind level, grind amount etc) it’s a doddle. Not cleaned it or descaled it yet - I’ll wait until the ‘Clean me’ light comes on - but from the manual it shouldn’t be difficult. Tamper is good and the frothing jug with built in temperature guide is genius. Well built and looks the dog’s nadgers on the kitchen top. Mine has a water filter that needs replacing every 3 months, according to Sage. At £14 a pop that’s a bit excessive. And as it’s a hefty chunk of plastic, not very eco friendly. Not been able to find alternatives on eBay or Amazon, sadly.

younugget

  • 29 Apr 2019, Mon
Great
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Brilliant. Make sure you rescale it monthly though, it’s not to obvious from the instructions and we needed a new solanoid after 2.5 years.

ohidoliketobebesidetheseaside
  • 24 Mar 2019, Sun
Good coffee machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Everything in this coffee machine is good except u flushing after use coffee beans

Abdulla M
  • 06 Feb 2019, Wed
Amazing coffees
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Omg this is the best thing ever

Photoman
  • 10 Jan 2019, Thu
Great machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was just looking through the items I bought on Amazon over the years. Don't have time to leave reviews for everything, but this popped out. I bought this machine a few years ago and it's one of the best things I ever bought. I use it first thing every morning. Very sturdy and reliable, easy to clean. No problems.

Amazon Customer
  • 31 Dec 2018, Mon
Don’t
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Waste of money. Binned after 14 months.Grinder packed in. Leaks loads electrics rubbish

Jonpaul Fleming
  • 20 Dec 2018, Thu
Sage Appliances don’t help customers to fix problems and don’t sell parts
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After a learning period, it is very easy to make an excellent expresso. The outside of the machine is plastic and it is not very strong.The big problem is the support. Sage Appliances don’t help clients to fix problems. After 2 years I have to replace the pump and the motor of the grinder and now, I have to replace solenóide valve. They don’t sell parts, even if you know what you need and how to fix it. They just say that you have to send your machine to a UK address, wait weeks for the repair and pay. And if you live outside UK, you can wait for months.They just don’t care

JMC
  • 11 Dec 2018, Tue
A good but fragile product let down by terrible after-sales support.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a great coffee machine - easy to use and maintain, and makes great tasting coffee, but I'm not sure I can recommend a purchase. Coffee machines are fragile things, and Sage's customer support is diabolically awful. They're rude, they don't listen, and no matter what is wrong with the machine, no matter how many parts are broken, they will spend days/weeks insisting that the problem is limescale, and do anything other than send you an engineer.

Mr. A. M. D. Steiner
  • 11 Dec 2018, Tue
We’re of money!!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought it from John Lewis , doesn’t last after not even a year starts to rust and needs so much maintenance that is literally a waste of money . Find something else , only looks good but doesn’t last and the quality is very poor. This is a super honest review not trying to convince you just trying to save your money!!!!

Giancarlo
  • 27 Nov 2018, Tue
Requires a little learning time
Reviewed on Ebay

Love this machine. As Italian I am pleased with it and I like the fact that it needs a little expertise to brew a nice coffee. I love that is made of steady materials and less plastic like the other counterparts. If I wanted to get intoxicated with plastic I’d drink coke! Obviously if you’re looking for a quick coffee in the morning I wouldn’t suggest this machine unless you’re a quick barista. It needs a little cleaning all The time and some Patience. I can’t wait to use it properly. If you’re worried about wasting some coffee this machine isn’t for you. I can tell even if you make an americano from it would be still better than the one from a cheap Nespresso. Buona giornata !

fabdon
  • 06 Nov 2018, Tue
Best coffee machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great Machine very easy to work and clean makes great coffee

TERRY
  • 02 Nov 2018, Fri
The best coffee machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is honestly the best coffee machine you can get, I don't even go out for coffee anymore simply because it doesn't taste as good as this.

Inga

  • 01 Nov 2018, Thu
So awful, I have thrown it away.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The machine came and all was well. I had read that the followup if you had a problem, was very poor, but I took a chance.I have had quite a few problems with the machine, and yes followed the instructions for use and cleaning.Eventually, a guy came out to fix the problem and replaced quite a few parts. It worked for a time and has since stopped working properly again!I am a coffee fan and have had a number of machines over the years.I have contacted the support team, and they keep talking about problems with the coffee bean et al. Long response times and little help is exhausting.I have told them I have thrown the machine and have not responded.AVOID!

STEPHEN PALMER
  • 01 Nov 2018, Thu
So awful, I have thrown it away.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The machine came and all was well. I had read that the followup if you had a problem, was very poor, but I took a chance.
I have had quite a few problems with the machine, and yes followed the instructions for use and cleaning.
Eventually, a guy came out to fix the problem and replaced quite a few parts. It worked for a time and has since stopped working properly again!
I am a coffee fan and have had a number of machines over the years.
I have contacted the support team, and they keep talking about problems with the coffee bean et al. Long response times and little help is exhausting.
I have told them I have thrown the machine and have not responded.
AVOID!

STEPHEN PALMER
  • 26 Oct 2018, Fri
Be a barista at home
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Really nice machine. I can do perfect latte art asA professional. Easy to clean with sage products. I use it twice per day for a year and still new.

Martin Callegari
  • 01 Sep 2018, Sat
Not reliable, don't buy.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After only a year of slight usage (less than a cup per day) grinder stopped working. Support from Sage leaves much to be desired and they do not sell required parts separately.Doesn't worth money at all.

Vilen
  • 30 Aug 2018, Thu
Very capable machine - steam ring broken after 8 months
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've now owned this machine for a good 18 months and have been churning 3 doubles out of this for pretty much every day since I got it.It's very capable of producing a good coffee - that's subjective of course, but with good quality fresh beans you can squeeze out a pretty sweet crema and get a really good extract. If you use crap beans, of course, like any other machine no matter how good - this won't magically produce a good coffee.At about the 8 month mark, I noticed the O-ring/steam seal was a bit frayed and started letting water leak a little. So I replaced that easily myself (part number: BES860XL/02.6 - picture included to show what they look like). I did purchase the additional amazon cover but there was no way I was sending the machine off for this.Also, I wouldn't ever wait for the machine to tell you it needs cleaning - just do it more regularly and you can't go wrong. I've found the Cafiza tablets for cleaning the head, puly cleaner for descaling and the charcoal water filters from niceEshop on Amazon to be fine.

Adam
  • 30 Aug 2018, Thu
Very capable machine - steam ring broken after 8 months
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've now owned this machine for a good 18 months and have been churning 3 doubles out of this for pretty much every day since I got it.

It's very capable of producing a good coffee - that's subjective of course, but with good quality fresh beans you can squeeze out a pretty sweet crema and get a really good extract. If you use crap beans, of course, like any other machine no matter how good - this won't magically produce a good coffee.

At about the 8 month mark, I noticed the O-ring/steam seal was a bit frayed and started letting water leak a little. So I replaced that easily myself (part number: BES860XL/02.6 - picture included to show what they look like). I did purchase the additional amazon cover but there was no way I was sending the machine off for this.

Also, I wouldn't ever wait for the machine to tell you it needs cleaning - just do it more regularly and you can't go wrong. I've found the Cafiza tablets for cleaning the head, puly cleaner for descaling and the charcoal water filters from niceEshop on Amazon to be fine.

Adam
  • 21 Aug 2018, Tue
Bad Customer Support
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I purchased one of these beauties in 2013, worked great for a year, then stopped so I got a replacement under its warranty, I now have a problem with the new machine and it makes a horrible noise and has no pressure when pressing cup 1 or 2. After scouring the internet for possible repairers or parts information I found there isn’t a lot so I rang Sage customer support number (0844 3345110) after waiting for 1 hour for a call-back I called back and entered the queue at which point a woman answered and said she was short staffed, I explained the problem and she asked if she could hear the noise, I asked her to ring me back on my mobile as the cordless phone was nearly dead, she took my mobile confirmed the number and assured me she would ring me back immediately as I had been waiting so long. I went and reassembled the machine ready for the call and waited.....and waited, after 30 mins I rang back again, placed in a queue for another hour. I gave up and sent an email stating the issue, I got a reply within two hours asking if I had been called back, I replied no and that is the last I heard from them. To summarise, this is a great product and is only let down by the lack of customer support and information if something goes wrong.

Amazon Customer

Product description

Bringing the barista style coffee machine to your kitchen, The Sage Barista Express Bean to Cup Coffee Machine delivers top-quality tasting espressos and lattes, without having to leave your house. Eliminate the queues in your local café by grinding your own beans, giving you the freshest coffee in under a minute.

The Sage Barista Express Coffee Machine demonstrates the dedication to making professional looking results easy in your own kitchen, which puts their products at the very top of the class.

Features

Sleek and robust stainless steel bodyGrinds, doses and extracts - whole bean to cup in under a minuteLarge 250g hopper holds enough for 25 shots of espressoIntegrated stainless steel burr grinder Also use pre-ground coffee 18 different grind settings from coarse to fine Thermacoil heating system 15 bar pressure builds gradually for even extraction High power milk frothing arm Stainless steel milk jug with integral temperature gauge 2 litre water tank and integrated filtration ClaroSwiss water filter completely eliminates the need to descale the machine and lasts 3 months Instant hot water tap 6 cup warming tray

Accessories Included:

Stainless steel portafilter with 2 filters (1 single and 1 double for fresh-ground coffee); stainless steel milk jug (480ml); Claro Swiss water filter; easy-to-follow instruction booklet with a water hardness test strip inside.

35 x 37 x 38cm H. Flex 1m. 1700W.

Box Contains

Espresso machine
Filters
Cleaning accessories



From the manufacturer

barista express

the Barista Express by Sage

eat well, live well

Kitchen appliances designed to inspire people to produce perfect food and beverage results in their own homes with ease. From espresso machines to food processors, the innovation in each appliance delights. Sage makes the process a pleasure and the end result perfect, every time.

barista express by sage

True café quality, without the barista.

Create great tasting espresso – from bean to espresso– in less than a minute. The Barista Express allows you to grind the beans right before extraction, and its interchangeable filters and a choice of automatic or manual operation ensure authentic café style results in no time at all.

Special Features of the Barista Express:

Dose-Control Grinding Precise Espresso Extraction Micro-foam Texturing Hands-Free Operation

The 4 Key Elements of Café Quality Coffee

1. Dose - 19-22 g dose for full flavour.
1. Dose - 19-22 g dose for full flavour.

Have you ever wondered why your home-made coffee never seems to taste as great as a café bought one? That’s because most other automatic machines only dose 11-13 g of ground coffee, below what’s needed to create that rich, full-bodied taste you get out of bed for.

2. Temperature - Precise PID temperature control.
2. Temperature - Precise PID temperature control.

The difference between an ashy or balanced tasting espresso can be as little as 1°C. The Barista Express uses digital temperature control (PID) technology which detects and minimises any fluctuation during extraction, ensuring the temperature is kept at its optimum range, every time.

3. Pressure - Low pressure pre-infusion and 9 bar extraction pressure.
3. Pressure - Low pressure pre-infusion and 9 bar extraction pressure.

Creating a golden honey crema in your coffee relies on the right pressure at the right time. The Barista Express uses low pressure, pre-infusion to evenly soak and expand the ground coffee, delivering a sweet and creamy extraction.

4. Steam - Manually steaming milk to a silky micro-foam texture.
4. Steam - Manually steaming milk to a silky micro-foam texture.

To get that velvety texture in your milk you need the right steam pressure to draw in the air and create thousands of tiny bubbles. That’s why we created the manual steam wand for the Barista Express, that turns your milk into a silky smooth micro-foam, essential for latte art.

Special Features of the Barista Express

Dose-Control Grinding
Dose-Control Grinding

Integrated conical burr grinder grinds on-demand to deliver the right amount of freshly ground coffee directly into the portafilter for your preferred taste with any roast of bean.

Precise Espresso Extraction
Precise Espresso Extraction

Digital temperature control (PID) delivers water at precisley the right temperature, ensuring optimal espresso extraction.

Micro-foam Milk Texturing
Micro-foam Milk Texturing

The steam wand performs at the level that allows you to hand texture micro-foam milk that enhances flavour and enables creation of latte art.

Hands-Free Operation
Hands-Free Operation

Innovative grinding cradle allows any at-home Barista to grind directly into the espresso portafilter.

the Bambino Plus the Duo-Temp Pro the Barista Express the Dual Boiler the Barista Touch the Oracle the Bambino Plus the Duo-Temp Pro the Barista Express the Dual Boiler the Barista Touch the Oracle Interface Button Control Dial Control Analogue Gauge Button Control Analogue Gauge Button Control Swipe & Select Touch Screen LCD Screen; Button Control Hands on like a barista - ✓ ✓ ✓ - - Cafe Quality Microfoam ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Precise Milk Temperature, Automatically ✓ - - - ✓ ✓ Built-In Grinder - - ✓ - ✓ ✓ Compact Footprint ✓ ✓ ✓ - - - 3 Second Heat Up ✓ - - - ✓ -
Brand Sage
Model NumberBES870UK
ColourSilver
Item Weight10 Kg
Product Dimensions35 x 38 x 37 cm
Capacity2 litres
Volume Capacity2 litres
Power / Wattage1850 watts
Voltage240 volts
MaterialStainless Steel
Special FeaturesCup Warmer^Integrated Coffee Grinder^Milk Frother^Permanent Filter^Programmable