Qualityreviews logo

Philips PerfectCare GC9630
Philips
B00Y0QTUHE


  • 179,00 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Philips
5
82%
(307)
4
11%
(40)
3
2%
(8)
2
1%
(3)
1
4%
(14)
Review 373 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Philips PerfectCare GC9630)
  • 19 Jul 2020, Sun
Expensive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Expensive but so far so goodNeeds limes ale removed every month

MR K PALLETT
  • 30 Jun 2020, Tue
Glides beautifully, very quiet
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Philips GC9600Positives - I paid £200 which is double the price of the 2 other steam generators I’ve owned, both of them were other brands. The first one I owned blew up spectacularly, the 2nd was noisy, it made a constant pumping sound which was annoying and not powerful enough so I thought I’d push the boat out and order a more expensive one to see if they are worth paying more for. I am not disappointed. It’s easy to use. The iron itself is less bulky than other brands I’ve used which is great because it’s easier to handle. The iron is quite pointed which is good for ironing around buttons etc. 1.8 litre removable tank which reduces the amount of times I need to refill. The iron glides over the clothes like a hovercraft! Really impressive. It has some wizardry technology which means you don’t have to alter the temperature of the iron, nothing burns, you can also leave the iron face down on the ironing board without fear of it burning - I was dubious so I put a white cloth on the board and rested it on that while repositioning clothes on the board, it never burnt the cloth, goodness knows how it works but it does! The iron can be locked into the base unit which is a nice safety feature. Steam boost gives continuous steam which is handy for vertical ironing and also a turbo steam button for stubborn creases, although the steam is powerful that you probably won’t need the turbo. It makes a pumping sound for a minute when it’s first switched on, and every 5 minutes or so during ironing it makes a pumping sound but that only lasts for a couple of seconds. Other than that it’s extremely quiet. The steam button is instant, no waiting for the steam to come out. Also, when you release the steam button the steam stops instantly which is much safer than the other 2 brands I’ve owned.Negatives - the cord storage isn’t brilliant but it’s adequate. The footprint of the iron is quite large and it doesn’t fit on my steam generator ironing board, but bigger steam generator ironing boards are available.I always tend to put my s

S D

  • 12 Jun 2020, Fri
Perfect iron
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

 This replaced a Bosch iron. That unfortunately went wrong after 6 months. I am over the moon with this iron. Very easy to use and much quieter than my last one.If you want constant steam a double tap on the steam button and it continues on it own. If you want a stronger steam press and hold the button on the base.Temperature has not been and issue and adjusts to all the clothes that I’ve ironed.Personally I highly recommend this iron.

Jason P.
  • 05 May 2020, Tue
A superb iron which performs faultlessly
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I never thought I’d pay this much for an iron but I’m so glad that I did-I have to iron a lot of fabric for quilting apart from normal laundry. This iron is absolutely faultless. It irons every kind of fabric superbly. I notice that normal cotton sheets are so smooth that they seem almost polished-and I thought my previous iron had done a pretty good job anyway. It delivers really powerful steam consistently throughout, and the fact that the iron itself is so light means that anyone with mobility issues might find it less tiring. This really is a first rate product.

Miss Daisy
  • 28 Feb 2020, Fri
Brilliant
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Love this iron. Had a tefal before and this is so much better. Turbo steam is a big bonus too. Much cheaper than other supplies and delivery via Royal Mail was okay but still not Amazon Prime speed and reliability, so if you need this urgently you will need to shop elsewhere. Would definitely recommend.

JC
  • 09 Feb 2020, Sun
Great equipment for professional finish, excellent safety feature, but needs space for storage.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Brilliant for all fabrics and easy to use, it glides over all garments and the tip is great for tricky details when dressmaking. Switches off after 10 minutes of inactivity so it is ideal if you are forgetful at unplugging the iron after use. I would recommend this if you are a dressmaker, or have seriously lots of ironing to do, as it is expensive. However, if you haven’t the space for storing when not in use, it is rather a large piece of equipment.

posh'n'specs
  • 25 Dec 2019, Wed
works well
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

good item and i got it to assist my cleaner to iron without too much explanation ????

K.S
  • 24 Nov 2019, Sun
So easy to use
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Love itUsed to have morphy Richards but this is much as easier to use as it alters the temperature itself So there's s no fear of burning clothesHeats up in 2 minutes and doesn't leak from the plate too oftenSo easy to de scaleBig tank let's you do a couple of loads of washing easily

Amazon Customer
  • 21 Nov 2019, Thu
Great product
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great iron for when you have a lot of ironing to do.Takes two mins to warm up but once there ironing is quick and easy.Cotton sheets that can be a real pain when left dry and scrunched up done in no time.Has a 'turbo' boost for those few nasty jobs.Also eco mode great on synthetic/mixed fabrics.Base unit is heavy to carry but once in place the iron itself is light enough to use without being so light you have to push down to remove the creases.Overall excellent.Our last Phillips iron worked for +8 years and needed one small hose replaced.Cost me all of £5 in parts and 1hr of cursing taking it apart and screwing it back together.

P. Oliver
  • 15 Nov 2019, Fri
A good quality steam generator
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The steam generator was bought as a replacement for Philips steam generator which was damaged by falling after providing very good and long lived service.The iron has a ceramic base plate which stays clean and is light weight, so easy to use.As for steam output, excellent

Beekeeper75
  • 08 Oct 2019, Tue
Eye wateringly expensive for what it is.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a good iron be in no doubt but it is incredibly overpriced for what it is. Take for example cable management at this price you would expect the cable to self wind back into the iron, the actuality is a very primitive system. It is very clever at managing the heat automatically and seems to even cope with heavy cottons and indeed the lightest of fabrics.So is it worth it? Well if you have deep pockets maybe but you can get a better bang for your buck lower down the price scale.

Mike D
  • 04 Oct 2019, Fri
Don’t hesitate, just buy it.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is easily the best iron I have ever owned. I have previously owned two other steam generator irons and after researching buying this one, the difference is palpable. Quick to heat and VERY quiet compared to the others I have owned. The results are superb and effortless operation means I probably iron approx. 30% quicker than I previously did.

Mark Wood
  • 27 Sep 2019, Fri
Best steam generator ever, well worth the money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have had many steam generators over the last decade from morphy Richards to tefal, the latter being my recent one, I only had the tefal one for a few years before it started spitting out brown stuff all over the clothes I was ironing, it had to be the worst steam generator that I had ever had and I didn’t want to make the same mistake again so I researched and did my homework before I made my decision on this Philips one, yes it’s a bit on the pricey side but in my opinion it is worth every penny spent, it’s absolutely amazing, I thought I wouldn’t like the fact that you couldn’t stand it up on the ironing board as I did that with all my others but you get used to leaving it face down on the ironing board as the intelligent system recognises that you’re not moving it so there’s no chance of burning the cover, you have the choice to let the iron put the steam out for you by pressing the on button for two seconds until it lights up white, then you press the button on top till that turns white, all you have to do is start ironing, the steam that it generates is outstanding, the only thing with so much steam is that I have to put a waterproof sheet down on the floor underneath my ironing board to catch the drips but the pros to this product outweighs the cons, I can’t sing this irons praises enough, the best steam generator I’ve ever, ever had, I absolutely love it, now ironing is a pleasure and not a chore!

sally A B

  • 18 Sep 2019, Wed
Very easy to use
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

How it works I don't know but it does. Light and simple, no temperature settings to worry about. You can leave it on the board plate down and it doesn't burn.

Dodge
  • 14 Sep 2019, Sat
2nd one I've had!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

1st iron lasted a few months - 2nd Iron much better - this one lasted just over two years (just in Tim for the warranty to run out) - it has stopped producing steam - surely spending this money on an iron one would expect a few years out of it???

Amazon Customer
  • 11 Sep 2019, Wed
Superb iron
Reviewed on Argos.co.uk

This iron is just perfect. Highly recommended.

Jadel
  • 10 Sep 2019, Tue
Reviewed on Currys.co.uk

The light weight is a genuine plus, along with the built in safety features re heat levels on garments.. Steam sometimes stays on when you have only gone for a quick spurt, can be disconcerting.

Robert
  • 05 Sep 2019, Thu
Supreme Steam
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Easy to use, and easy instructions. It's super light, and the steam is constant and smooth, unlike my Tefal which was irritating. It's expensive, but the quality shines through, would thoroughly recommend it.

Mike hall
  • 30 Aug 2019, Fri
Wow! Takes the hard work out of ironing. Irons like a pro
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I purchased this at special rate of £299 and I was worried about it being fake. No need to worry. It definitely isn’t. I was amazed. I don’t like ironing but this iron makes it so much easier and quicker. Somehow it manages to reduce the need to pull and stretch clothes to avoid creases, and if you crease by accident, it’s easy to get them out. The quality of the ironing you produce is so much better than normal. I honestly felt like a pro. I have a cleaner who irons and I think the cost of this will be paid back in reduced time needed. I registered it with Philips and got a two year guarantee.

F. Robins
  • 29 Aug 2019, Thu
Great and easy to use with improvements required on the overall model
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Not very lightweight but none of these types of irons are. Great and easy to use with fantastic results in ironing.I feel there should have been a retractable chord system built in but you need to manually fold the chord into the groves which is a shame

It doesn't work to the best as it claims

Product Description

A revolution in carefree ironing, PerfectCare Elite is Philip's best and most efficient steam generator iron. With OptimalTEMP technology, you can now iron everything from jeans to silk with one temperature setting. >How to keep my iron clean from scale? You can keep your iron clean from scale by using demineralised water from Philips IronCare water descale filter. IronCare instantly removes impurities from the water to prevent scale from building-up inside the iron. It is suitable for steam irons, steam generators and garment steamers from Philips and any other iron brand. >How to de-scale: 1. Set iron’s steam control to ‘No Steam’ and MAX temperature (if your model has a dial) 2. Fill water tank to MAX, turn on iron and unplug the unit when the light goes out. 3. Hold iron over the sink and activate CALC CLEAN – this varies by model (see images for different types). 4. Shake your iron to and fro. Boiling water, steam and scale will come out from the steam vents 5. When water tank is empty, plug in and clean the soleplate moving your iron across a piece of cloth.

Box Contains

1 x Steam generator iron

From the manufacturer

Philips PerfectCare Elite GC9630

Ideal for longer ironing sessions, vertical steaming and ultra-fast ironing.

The most powerful steam for the fastest ironing*

OptimalTEMP Technology Explained

The advanced smart control processor inside the iron replaces the traditional temperature dial and maintains a constant, reliable setting that is safe on all ironable fabrics. When combined with powerful steam, ironing becomes faster than ever before, so you can spend more time doing the things that matter the most.

Perfectcare Elite Steam Generator Iron

The Ultimate Ironing Experience

PerfectCare Elite is Philips' best and most efficient steam generator iron, with ultra-light iron for ultimate convenience. No temperature settings required with no burns – guaranteed.

No burns guaranteed
No Burns - Guaranteed

Thanks to OptimalTEMP technology, we guarantee this iron will never cause burns to any ironable fabric. You can even leave it resting face down on your clothes or ironing board. No burns, no shine. Guaranteed.

No temperature setting
No Temperature Setting Needed

Iron everything from jeans to silk without adjusting the temperature. Thanks to OptimalTEMP, no dial or settings are needed. So there’s no more pre-sorting the laundry, or waiting for the iron to heat up and cool down. You're ready for any fabric, anytime.

powerful steam
Ultra-powerful Steam

Strong 135g/min steam tackles even the thickest fabrics with ease. This extra steam is perfect for vertical steaming to refresh clothes and curtains.

lightweight iron
Ultra-lightweight

The iron is minimal weight, reducing wrist sprain. It also has our most advanced soleplate - T-ionicGlide – for fast and effortless gliding.

Easy fill water tank
Easy Fill 1.8L Detachable Water Tank

A 1.8-litre transparent tank gives you up to 2 hours of continuous use. When the water tank is empty, you will be reminded by the indicator light and you can refill easily at any time under the tap, through the large filling door.

Quick heat up
Ready in 2 Minutes

Press the ‘On’ button at the back of the steam generator base, steam will be ready to use in two minutes.

Easy de-calc
Easy De-Calc Plus for Lasting Performance

Regular descaling protects your iron, extends its lifetime, and ensures the best steam performance. Our exclusive Easy De-Calc Plus system collects limescale continuously with an indicator light and audio signal to tell you when it needs emptying. Simply remove the plug and let the water and scale particles flow out.

energy saving mode
Energy Saving

ECO mode allows you to save energy without compromising your ironing results. ECO mode uses a reduced amount of steam, but still irons all garments.

GC8735/80 PerfectCare Performer Silence Steam Generator Iron GC9405/80 PerfectCare Aqua Silence Steam Generator Iron GC9630/20 PerfectCare Elite Steam Generator Iron GC9642/60 PerfectCare Elite Silence Steam Generator Iron GC9650/80 PerfectCare Elite Silence Steam Generator Iron Steam pressure / continuous steam output. More steam = faster results Maximum 6.5 bars, 120 g/min Maximum 6.7 bars, 120 g/min Maximum 6.7 bars, 135 g/min Maximum 7.2 bars, 145 g/min Maximum 7.5 bars, 150 g/min Steam boost - targets deep set creases 420 g 450 g 470 g 490 g 500 g Additional steam benefits Ideal for vertically steaming curtains and hanging garments. Powerful silent steam for use in front of the TV Ideal for vertically steaming curtains and hanging garments. Powerful silent steam for use in front of the TV Ideal for vertically steaming curtains and hanging garments Ideal for vertically steaming curtains and hanging garments. Powerful silent steam for use in front of the TV Ideal for vertically steaming curtains and hanging garments. Powerful silent steam for use in front of the TV Water tank: bigger = longer steam time. Detachable = easy fill 1.8 L detachable 2.5 L 1.8 L detachable 1.8 L detachable 1.8 L detachable Weight of iron / total weight of iron + steam generating base Light 1.2 Kg / ultra compact and light 3.2 Kg Ultra-light 0.8 Kg / regular 4.2 Kg Ultra-light 0.8 Kg / regular 5.1 Kg Ultra-light 0.8 Kg / regular 5.1 Kg Ultra-light 0.8 Kg / regular 5.1 Kg Heat up time - ready to use 2 minutes 2 minutes 2 minutes 2 minutes 2 minutes Power cord - distance from power socket 1.8 m 1.8 m 1.8 m 1.8 m 1.8 m Temperature settings One perfect setting (OptimalTEMP) for all ironable fabrics, no fabric burn guarantee One perfect setting (OptimalTEMP) for all ironable fabrics, no fabric burn guarantee One perfect setting (OptimalTEMP) for all ironable fabrics, no fabric burn guarantee One perfect setting (OptimalTEMP) for all ironable fabrics, no fabric burn guarantee One perfect setting (OptimalTEMP) for all ironable fabrics, no fabric burn guarantee Soleplate design SteamGlide Ceramic. 5 star glide. 4 star scratch resistance T-ionicGlide Ceramic. 5 star glide. 5 star scratch resistance T-ionicGlide Ceramic. 5 star glide. 5 star scratch resistance T-ionicGlide Ceramic. 5 star glide. 5 star scratch resistance T-ionicGlide Ceramic. 5 star glide. 5 star scratch resistance Cleaning extends lifetime of iron Smart calc clean with light and sound reminder, takes 2 minutes to clean, scale collector in box Easy Decalc Release, with light reminder, takes less than 1 minute to clean Easy Decalc Plus with light reminder, takes less than 1 minute to clean Easy Decalc Plus with light reminder, takes less than 1 minute to clean Easy Decalc Plus with light reminder, takes less than 1 minute to clean
Brand Philips
Model NumberGC9630/20
ColourNavy
Item Weight5.1 Kg
Product Dimensions23.3 x 28.5 x 45.3 cm
Capacity1.8 litres
Power / Wattage2400 watts
MaterialCeramic
Auto ShutoffYes