Qualityreviews logo

Sigma 20/1.8 EX DG For Pentax
Sigma
B00005RKSN


  • 343,01 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Sigma
5
38%
(3)
4
25%
(2)
3
25%
(2)
2
0%
(0)
1
13%
(1)
Review 8 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Sigma 20/1.8 EX DG For Pentax)
  • 02 Aug 2018, Thu
did not fit my sony camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

did not fit my sony camera

peter
  • 06 Aug 2015, Thu
Thumbs up
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Excellent lens, very sharp even wide open. Only minus would be size, compared to Pentax lenses but f1/8 is nice to have. Waiting for full frame from Pentax now :)

customer

  • 16 Sep 2012, Sun
Usefulness 5 stars, Lens itself 4 stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I already own and use a heck of a lot Nikon's pro 17-35mm D lens, which is only 1.5 stops slower and whose quality is not even bettered by Nikon's own 20mm f2.8 D. So, why should I bother with this Sigma?

Firstly, the 17-35mm has already been repaired/refurbished once and is old. And very heavy. I'm semi-pro and where I've had a kit that extends down to my superb 24-70mm f2.8 (another Sigma, the HSM model), I used to slip in my pocket an even older Tamron 17mm f3.5, which uses the old adaptall 2 system, and is manual focus only. A replacement with a newer, better one than mine is up to £200. The quality of the Tamron is rubbish wider than f5.6, but then on, is as good as the Nikkor 17-35mm.

So, this Sigma 20mm f1.8, which I bought secondhand for around half the normal new price is also a bit rubbish at f1.8, particularly contrast. By f2.8 it's better and f4 is good (see my image at the top of the Amazon page) and from then on, is contrasty and sharp, not better than the 17-35mm, but then, almost nothing else is! Another image I've added was taken on DX Nikon D7000 handheld at night, at f1.8. On the DX, it's equivalent to a 30mm f1.8; still a very useful spec.

Unlike the lead-weight of my all metal tank-proof 17-35, the Sigma is plastic, apart from the metal mount and glass elements, of course. This makes it a lot lighter, though its dimensions are a lot bigger than my little Tamron 17mm f3.5. The 20mm f1.8 takes giant 82mm filters, which are costly and its decent lenshood has some effect reducing stray light and flare, but with that wide frontal area it is rather prone to ghosting and the multicoating is in another, lower league than the Nikon. However, careful placing of the sun behind trees and such and it does OK and stopping down helps, too.

The auto-focussing is good and fairly quiet and accurate (some Sigma's back-focus, but mine's fine) but it's too old to include their hypersonic drive system (HSM). Having said that, the barrel does not rotate and the lens elements are light so

Tim Kidner
  • 16 Sep 2012, Sun
Usefulness 5 stars, Lens itself 4 stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I already own and use a heck of a lot Nikon's pro 17-35mm D lens, which is only 1.5 stops slower and whose quality is not even bettered by Nikon's own 20mm f2.8 D. So, why should I bother with this Sigma?Firstly, the 17-35mm has already been repaired/refurbished once and is old. And very heavy. I'm semi-pro and where I've had a kit that extends down to my superb 24-70mm f2.8 (another Sigma, the HSM model), I used to slip in my pocket an even older Tamron 17mm f3.5, which uses the old adaptall 2 system, and is manual focus only. A replacement with a newer, better one than mine is up to £200. The quality of the Tamron is rubbish wider than f5.6, but then on, is as good as the Nikkor 17-35mm.So, this Sigma 20mm f1.8, which I bought secondhand for around half the normal new price is also a bit rubbish at f1.8, particularly contrast. By f2.8 it's better and f4 is good (see my image at the top of the Amazon page) and from then on, is contrasty and sharp, not better than the 17-35mm, but then, almost nothing else is! Another image I've added was taken on DX Nikon D7000 handheld at night, at f1.8. On the DX, it's equivalent to a 30mm f1.8; still a very useful spec.Unlike the lead-weight of my all metal tank-proof 17-35, the Sigma is plastic, apart from the metal mount and glass elements, of course. This makes it a lot lighter, though its dimensions are a lot bigger than my little Tamron 17mm f3.5. The 20mm f1.8 takes giant 82mm filters, which are costly and its decent lenshood has some effect reducing stray light and flare, but with that wide frontal area it is rather prone to ghosting and the multicoating is in another, lower league than the Nikon. However, careful placing of the sun behind trees and such and it does OK and stopping down helps, too.The auto-focussing is good and fairly quiet and accurate (some Sigma's back-focus, but mine's fine) but it's too old to include their hypersonic drive system (HSM). Having said that, the barrel does not rotate and the lens elements are light so they don't need much time or e

Tim Kidner
  • 16 Dec 2010, Thu
Good lens, bit expensive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this for use on my D3. It works pretty much as the reviews say (elsewhere). at f1.8 you do get a lot of vignetting but at f4 and higher its not a problem. Its all fixed very well with the lens profiles on Lightroom 3. Its sharp. I reckon just about as good as my Nikon 24-70. It a good buy if you want a wider angle lens for a full frame DSLR without going to the expense od something like the Nikon 14-24 at £1300. I worked out that the 20mm is only a shade off the angle i got using a 12-24 on my old D200, so its wide!

I'm glad i bought it, but keep in mind the lens did come out a good few years ago and it was originally designed for film, thus the edge fall off. I bought it under the "new and used" for £250. I would suggest the new price above is far too expensive for what it is, you should get a good second hand one for around £250 - £300

I'm only rating it a three as a Nikon 14 - 24 would get a 5, and its no where near that quality of lens. But as i said the picture quality is fine and that from someone who uses pro lenses.

lesj
  • 16 Dec 2010, Thu
Good lens, bit expensive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this for use on my D3. It works pretty much as the reviews say (elsewhere). at f1.8 you do get a lot of vignetting but at f4 and higher its not a problem. Its all fixed very well with the lens profiles on Lightroom 3. Its sharp. I reckon just about as good as my Nikon 24-70. It a good buy if you want a wider angle lens for a full frame DSLR without going to the expense od something like the Nikon 14-24 at £1300. I worked out that the 20mm is only a shade off the angle i got using a 12-24 on my old D200, so its wide!I'm glad i bought it, but keep in mind the lens did come out a good few years ago and it was originally designed for film, thus the edge fall off. I bought it under the "new and used" for £250. I would suggest the new price above is far too expensive for what it is, you should get a good second hand one for around £250 - £300I'm only rating it a three as a Nikon 14 - 24 would get a 5, and its no where near that quality of lens. But as i said the picture quality is fine and that from someone who uses pro lenses.

lesj
  • 27 Apr 2007, Fri
Very nice indeed.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have one of these and I'm very happy with it. It's an ex lens and as such it's full frame compatible however it remains useable on an APS-C digital SLR camera on which it'll be the equivalent of 32mm assuming a "crop" factor of x1.6.

The lens lacks HSM however the focus ring can be pushed forward thus avoiding accidental damage when in AF mode. I think that this is a nice touch but that the lens would be even better with HSM.

Whilst the widest aperture setting of f1.8 doesn't produce the sharpest of images it may prove useful for low light or creative DOF shots and as this lens is possibly best suited for landscape use at narrower apertures I think that a little softness at f1.8 shouldn't detract from the usability of the lens at all. In my view a maximum aperture of f1.8 is nice to have but isn't or shouldn't be the main reason for buying the lens.

All in all I'm very happy with this lens, HSM would be nice, but it's still a very nice and useable lens without it.

Boro Camera Fan
  • 27 Apr 2007, Fri
Very nice indeed.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have one of these and I'm very happy with it. It's an ex lens and as such it's full frame compatible however it remains useable on an APS-C digital SLR camera on which it'll be the equivalent of 32mm assuming a "crop" factor of x1.6.The lens lacks HSM however the focus ring can be pushed forward thus avoiding accidental damage when in AF mode. I think that this is a nice touch but that the lens would be even better with HSM.Whilst the widest aperture setting of f1.8 doesn't produce the sharpest of images it may prove useful for low light or creative DOF shots and as this lens is possibly best suited for landscape use at narrower apertures I think that a little softness at f1.8 shouldn't detract from the usability of the lens at all. In my view a maximum aperture of f1.8 is nice to have but isn't or shouldn't be the main reason for buying the lens.All in all I'm very happy with this lens, HSM would be nice, but it's still a very nice and useable lens without it.

Boro Camera Fan
Style Name:Pentax and Samsung SLR Cameras

Product Description

The SIGMA 20mm Sony Lens Fit is the first super wide-angle lens in the world with a large aperture of F1.8 and angle of view of 94.5 degrees; Its macro focusing capability has a minimum focusing distance of 20cm/ 7.9 inches; The iris diaphragm has 9 diaphragm blades to obtain beautiful out-of-focus images; The incorporation of the aspherical lens element in the front as well as rear lens group, minimises distortion, spherical abberation and astigmatism; In addition the lens has a non-vignetting optical construction, in order to obtain adequate peripheral brightness with open aperture which is especially desirable for digital cameras; Additional features include the rear focus system that eliminates front lens rotation which then allows the use of a Perfect Hood and easy use polarising filters; The lens is easy to hold, since the focusing ring does not rotate during auto-focus, yet it provides adequate focusing torque during manual focusing of the lens; The materials used for the lens are lead and arsenic free ecological glass

Box Contains

Sigma, Lens, DX DG, SLR, Digital, Camera, Pentax, Accessories

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H 14.4 x 13.8 x 13 cm
Package Weight 821 Grams
Item Dimensions L x W x H 9 x 8.9 x 8.9 cm
Item Weight 522 Grams
Brand Name Sigma
Camera Lens 20 mm
Color Name Black
Has Image Stabilization No
Lens Fixed Focal Length 20 millimetres
Max Focal Length 20 millimetres
Min Focal Length 20 millimetres
Model Year 2007
Mounting Type Pentax
Part Number 411109
Size Name None
Maximum Aperture Range F1.8
Style Pentax and Samsung SLR Cameras
Photo Filter Thread Size 82 millimetres
   

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 770
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once