Qualityreviews logo

Ricoh-Pentax DA 16-85/3.5-5.6 HD ED DC WR
Pentax
B00P2H8ISC


  • 399,90 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Pentax
5
78%
(7)
4
0%
(0)
3
22%
(2)
2
0%
(0)
1
0%
(0)
Review 9 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Ricoh-Pentax DA 16-85/3.5-5.6 HD ED DC WR)
  • 24 Mar 2017, Fri
Well built and great image reproduction
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Well built and great image reproduction. I downloaded some software to check of all my images for the whole of 2015 & 2016, and rarely did I take pictures beyond 85mm, so I sold my 18-135mm to buy this and it has not disappointed. The loss in 85-135mm range is easily compensated by getting closer to the subject or if the need arises rent/buy the 50-135mm f2.8.

Ashley J
  • 24 Mar 2017, Fri
Well built and great image reproduction
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Well built and great image reproduction. I downloaded some software to check of all my images for the whole of 2015 & 2016, and rarely did I take pictures beyond 85mm, so I sold my 18-135mm to buy this and it has not disappointed. The loss in 85-135mm range is easily compensated by getting closer to the subject or if the need arises rent/buy the 50-135mm f2.8.

Ashley J

  • 25 Oct 2016, Tue
Questionable Quality control and didn't live up to expectations
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

In process of returning lens as didn't deliver on expectations and issue with zoom:1. The zoom sticks from time to time at the start of extending and there's slight resistance at the end too - pretty sure it's the weather sealing that catches. Not sure if it upset performance but it was distracting and irritating. I've heard of others with zooms perfectly smooth throughout the range and yet others with zooms that stick slightly. Makes me question adequate quality control. I contacted Pentax and they gave varying responses to 'it shouldn't be like that' to 'try another lens of this type and see if it feels different'. Not the best help for a customer.2. Its a plastic body and didn't reek of quality. I've got some old manual lenses and it is remarkable how lovely they are to handle compared with such a new plastic lens. You've got to wonder if such a plastic lens will be going strong in 30 years time.3. Nice wide open and the lens has a reputation for being sharp. It is pretty sharp IMO, and maybe I've been spoilt with other lenses, but it was not as exceptional as I'd hoped for. As an example, I use a fujifilm x camera with its superior 18-55mm 'kit' lens which, while lacking the range of the Pentax, is faster and delivers better results. I was hoping for near prime performance and didn't feel it had this. Shame as the 16mm starting point gave a nice wide field of view.Perhaps my sample wasn't up to scratch. I wouldn't want to dissuade others from trying on the basis of my experience. I bought off Amazon marketplace so maybe the previous purchaser was disappointed too. It betters the Pentax kit zoom in range and sharpness, otherwise think I'll stick with my prime lenses, till something more tempting comes along.

kaktus
  • 25 Oct 2016, Tue
Questionable Quality control and didn't live up to expectations
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

In process of returning lens as didn't deliver on expectations and issue with zoom:
1. The zoom sticks from time to time at the start of extending and there's slight resistance at the end too - pretty sure it's the weather sealing that catches. Not sure if it upset performance but it was distracting and irritating. I've heard of others with zooms perfectly smooth throughout the range and yet others with zooms that stick slightly. Makes me question adequate quality control. I contacted Pentax and they gave varying responses to 'it shouldn't be like that' to 'try another lens of this type and see if it feels different'. Not the best help for a customer.
2. Its a plastic body and didn't reek of quality. I've got some old manual lenses and it is remarkable how lovely they are to handle compared with such a new plastic lens. You've got to wonder if such a plastic lens will be going strong in 30 years time.
3. Nice wide open and the lens has a reputation for being sharp. It is pretty sharp IMO, and maybe I've been spoilt with other lenses, but it was not as exceptional as I'd hoped for. As an example, I use a fujifilm x camera with its superior 18-55mm 'kit' lens which, while lacking the range of the Pentax, is faster and delivers better results. I was hoping for near prime performance and didn't feel it had this. Shame as the 16mm starting point gave a nice wide field of view.

Perhaps my sample wasn't up to scratch. I wouldn't want to dissuade others from trying on the basis of my experience. I bought off Amazon marketplace so maybe the previous purchaser was disappointed too. It betters the Pentax kit zoom in range and sharpness, otherwise think I'll stick with my prime lenses, till something more tempting comes along.

kaktus
  • 27 Jan 2016, Wed
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had to return Faulty, But fab lens

Ian L C
  • 20 Nov 2015, Fri
Zoom with near Prime quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this as an upgrade to 18-135 WR and I've not been disappointed. Edge to edge sharpness is excellent and the loss of 85-135 is easily overcome by cropping, whereas the extra 2mm at the wide end is a real boon for landscapes.Some have commented that it is a bit larger and heavier than the 18-135 but I've not found it to be real issue (although I am used to hauling around a Sigma 50-500!!)

Amazon Customer
  • 20 Nov 2015, Fri
Zoom with near Prime quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this as an upgrade to 18-135 WR and I've not been disappointed. Edge to edge sharpness is excellent and the loss of 85-135 is easily overcome by cropping, whereas the extra 2mm at the wide end is a real boon for landscapes.
Some have commented that it is a bit larger and heavier than the 18-135 but I've not found it to be real issue (although I am used to hauling around a Sigma 50-500!!)

Amazon Customer
  • 24 Jul 2015, Fri
Oustanding quality, very sharp
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Outstanding quality lens.. I replaced a Pentax 17-70 with it and the sharpness has gone up very visibly. I did some tests with a test pattern and you can really see it. Very well made, silent focus.

peterh337
  • 17 Jun 2015, Wed
Very Pleased
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Much superior to my Tamron lenses, which were good enough. Focusing quick and quiet and the Quick-Shift Focus is a boon. Weather-Resistant, too.

Pete Romsey

Product Description

This interchangeable zoom lens not only provides the high 5.3-times zoom ratio, but it also features: The Pentax-exclusive HD coating to deliver sharp, clear images even under various lighting conditions such as backlight, an ED (Extra-low Dispersion) glass element to effectively compensate for chromatic aberrations and aspherical optical elements to minimize colour bleeding. Its weather-resistant body makes it dependable and durable under various outdoor conditions.

Digital SLRs only, DC, Weather-resistant, Quick-Shift Focus, SP Coating, HD Coating, Round Iris Diaphragm, Extra-low Dispersion (ED) Glass.

Box Contains

Lens Hood, Lens Cap, Lens Mount Cap

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H 14.4 x 11 x 10.6 cm
Package Weight 662 Grams
Item Dimensions L x W x H 9.4 x 7.9 x 7.9 cm
Item Weight 499 Grams
Brand Name Pentax
Camera Lens 16-85mm
Color Name black
Has Image Stabilization No
Max Focal Length 85
Min Focal Length 16
Model Year 2014
Mounting Type Pentax K
Objective Lens Diameter 72 millimetres
Part Number 21387
Zoom Type Other
Lens Design Zoom
Maximum Aperture Range 3.5 - 5.6
Focus Type Autofocus
Photo Filter Thread Size 72 millimetres
   

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 770
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once