Qualityreviews logo

Sigma 100-400/5.0-6.3 DG OS HSM Contemporary For Canon
Sigma
B06XR9VDK8


  • 599,90 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Sigma
5
88%
(23)
4
4%
(1)
3
0%
(0)
2
8%
(2)
1
0%
(0)
Review 26 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Sigma 100-400/5.0-6.3 DG OS HSM Contemporary For Canon)
  • 17 May 2020, Sun
Nice and sharp
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great value, I'm using on a Canon 750d and I recommend to everyone

Szilard88
  • 04 May 2020, Mon
Sharp as a tack
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Treated my self to the Siggy 100-400 today after reading many reviews on it and watching the Tube, Was not sure what to expect seeing as i own a 500L F4 which is superb.After a very quick test on both my 7d2 and 6d i am shocked to put it mildly, I am not new to photography but the sharpness and contrast has blown me away,.

Mark LH

  • 02 May 2020, Sat
excellent lens
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

excellent lens , lightweight and easy to handle

anji
  • 20 Dec 2019, Fri
Works very well in low light which is generally the case in Ireland.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Mostly wildlife and bird photography. The samples I have included are all taken in poor light and challenging conditions , what pleased me most was how little post-production was needed-just exposure adjustment-colour rendition is very accurate. It is currently being used with a little Nikon 3300 as my old Nikkor 80-400 has been retired and was far too heavy which is another reason to be fond of this Sigma-easy to handhold-light and fast-focus -the stabilisation can suffer if you are too excited [as I tend to be] when 'grabbing' a bird in flight.
Honestly this is now my favourite lens and is more or less welded onto the camera!
My only gripe is the way it was boxed-in its own box in a cardboard box with only a thin piece of paper padding-half the cardboard box was empty for the camera box to roll around in....luckily Hermes, who handled and delivered the package were very careful....it could have been so different.Anyway this is a great lens for a third of the price of the big guns-aka Nikon and Canon....in some ways outperforms them [have a friend with the Canon 100-400].

Elizabeth Close
  • 20 Dec 2019, Fri
Works very well in low light which is generally the case in Ireland.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Mostly wildlife and bird photography. The samples I have included are all taken in poor light and challenging conditions , what pleased me most was how little post-production was needed-just exposure adjustment-colour rendition is very accurate. It is currently being used with a little Nikon 3300 as my old Nikkor 80-400 has been retired and was far too heavy which is another reason to be fond of this Sigma-easy to handhold-light and fast-focus -the stabilisation can suffer if you are too excited [as I tend to be] when 'grabbing' a bird in flight.Honestly this is now my favourite lens and is more or less welded onto the camera!My only gripe is the way it was boxed-in its own box in a cardboard box with only a thin piece of paper padding-half the cardboard box was empty for the camera box to roll around in....luckily Hermes, who handled and delivered the package were very careful....it could have been so different.Anyway this is a great lens for a third of the price of the big guns-aka Nikon and Canon....in some ways outperforms them [have a friend with the Canon 100-400].

Elizabeth Close
  • 12 Nov 2019, Tue
Autofocus
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've only owned this lens for a week but I've gotten some fantastic shots with it. The auto focus right out of the box on my Nikon d500 was incredible when set to setting 1. Alot of people said that I would need to buy the sigma usb dock to fine tune the auto focus but whether the new batch of sigma 100-400 comes pre installed with a good tune I don't know as I've not used one prior to this one, having no trouble so far with it. It is a great bit of kit and it's a dream to use. It's so satisfying and smooth to zoom in and out and the focus ring is also very smooth. I recommend this lens for people who don't want to have to fork out for the thousands of pounds that some of the Nikon or canon range cost. This does the trick for what I need it for and have taken some really sharp bird photos. Can't recommend it enough for someone either starting out or on a budget. Just buy it and you won't regret doing so.

Sam J.
  • 24 Sep 2019, Tue
First class lens
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Using with adapter on my Z6 - first class lens.

Derek
  • 09 Sep 2019, Mon
Excellent focusing an dlight.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Used this lens as an intermediary lens between 70-300mm and 150-600mm. It is much lighter, smaller which makes life easier. Very fast and excellent focusing. I use it for wildlife photography and nirds when I am not going to carry a very heavy lens and tripod with gimbo. Better results than some of the big camera names.

m freyne
  • 30 Aug 2019, Fri
Superb Lens
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Really pleased with the lens having used it at two Airshows since purchasing.

MR Chris Wiseman
  • 16 Aug 2019, Fri
comfortable handheld
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this lens on the performance of my Sigma 150-600mm which is a phenomenal piece of kit.
I required a large tele-photo lens that could be comfortable handheld.
I’m not sure that it’s quite as good as the 600mm? but it’s not far short, it’s an excellent piece of kit.

James Keys
  • 16 Aug 2019, Fri
comfortable handheld
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this lens on the performance of my Sigma 150-600mm which is a phenomenal piece of kit.I required a large tele-photo lens that could be comfortable handheld.I’m not sure that it’s quite as good as the 600mm? but it’s not far short, it’s an excellent piece of kit.

James Keys
  • 20 Jul 2019, Sat
Great lens just a shame it has no tripod mount
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Using this lens on a Canon EOS77D body so getting aprx 640mm reach which is decent for wildlife shots, such as birds in the garden. Very pleased with the quality of the photographs it is producing. I find so long as I can get shutter speeds of 1/500s or faster with OS on position 1 and ISO of 800 or less, I can produce some crisp shots.
The lens is not heavy for it's size, but even so I do miss not having a tripod mount which is the only negative point I would raise. I'd be worried using the tripod mount on the camera with this lens.
[BTW I have tried this lens with a Sigma TC-2001 2x teleconverter and my results were not great. I think it's a step too far unless you have super-bright conditions].

Mark S.
  • 20 Jul 2019, Sat
Great lens just a shame it has no tripod mount
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Using this lens on a Canon EOS77D body so getting aprx 640mm reach which is decent for wildlife shots, such as birds in the garden. Very pleased with the quality of the photographs it is producing. I find so long as I can get shutter speeds of 1/500s or faster with OS on position 1 and ISO of 800 or less, I can produce some crisp shots.The lens is not heavy for it's size, but even so I do miss not having a tripod mount which is the only negative point I would raise. I'd be worried using the tripod mount on the camera with this lens.[BTW I have tried this lens with a Sigma TC-2001 2x teleconverter and my results were not great. I think it's a step too far unless you have super-bright conditions].

Mark S.

  • 30 May 2019, Thu
Superb lightweight telephoto lens
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I already own the Sigma 150-600 contemporary lens and when Sigma introduced the 100-400 version I had no hesitation in buying it. It's a bit lighter that the 150-600 which is great and IQ is every bit as good as its big brother.

stanley
  • 03 Apr 2019, Wed
Great for the money and not too big
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Much heavier than Canon’s 55-250 STM lens (which is a great lens to have) but this has more reach and the images produced can be better. Have mostly used handheld without issue (a little heavy). I have purchased a tripod collar for the lens which works well. Would be great if it let in more light but then it would be heavier and much more expensive.

Paul C
  • 18 Mar 2019, Mon
Is this Sigma lens 100% compatible with the Nikon D7500?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I wanted this lens for wildlife photography. I checked that it would work with my Nikon D7500 in the model number on the Amazon website. It says it is compatible.

This Nikon D7500 is my first digital blutooth camera so I am no expert in these digital cameras, but I've had a Nikon D90 for over 10 years & a Nikkor telephoto lens with which I have achieved some beautifully crisp images.
I was unable to get this Sigma lens to focus sharply on either Autofocus nor on Manual. Autofocus was hopeless. It achieved a sharper / less blurred edged image on the Manual setting, but still not crisp enough.

I used my camera & the lens on my tripod to check it wasn't me shaking the camera and I did have the IS switched on. However, the image sharpness did not improve sufficiently.

I know light levels in February are not great, but I also had difficulty with the lens with light levels in woodland even when set on the high ISOs.

As I was unable to achieve high quality sharp clear images of squirrels & birds that I want to achieve with my D7500, I returned the Sigma lens. The question that occurred to me was, was it me or the Sigma lens that was causing the issues?

As I haven't had these issues with my Nikon D90 & telephoto lens in the last 10 years, I came to the conclusion that the problem must be that this Sigma lens is not 100% compatible with my Nikon D7500. I was so disappointed. I hope this review can prevent disappointment for others with a Nikon D7500 camera.

jILL
  • 18 Mar 2019, Mon
Is this Sigma lens 100% compatible with the Nikon D7500?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I wanted this lens for wildlife photography. I checked that it would work with my Nikon D7500 in the model number on the Amazon website. It says it is compatible.This Nikon D7500 is my first digital blutooth camera so I am no expert in these digital cameras, but I've had a Nikon D90 for over 10 years & a Nikkor telephoto lens with which I have achieved some beautifully crisp images.I was unable to get this Sigma lens to focus sharply on either Autofocus nor on Manual. Autofocus was hopeless. It achieved a sharper / less blurred edged image on the Manual setting, but still not crisp enough.I used my camera & the lens on my tripod to check it wasn't me shaking the camera and I did have the IS switched on. However, the image sharpness did not improve sufficiently.I know light levels in February are not great, but I also had difficulty with the lens with light levels in woodland even when set on the high ISOs.As I was unable to achieve high quality sharp clear images of squirrels & birds that I want to achieve with my D7500, I returned the Sigma lens. The question that occurred to me was, was it me or the Sigma lens that was causing the issues?As I haven't had these issues with my Nikon D90 & telephoto lens in the last 10 years, I came to the conclusion that the problem must be that this Sigma lens is not 100% compatible with my Nikon D7500. I was so disappointed. I hope this review can prevent disappointment for others with a Nikon D7500 camera.

jILL
  • 13 Dec 2018, Thu
Good quality long zoom at a very competitive price.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this to replace a Canon 70-300L and 400 f5.6L. Ideal for bird and aircraft photography on an APS-C body but also small and light enough to replace a 70-300 in your general camera bag. Optically it would seem to be virtually indistinguishable from the L lenses it replaced, though I don't think it would take the physical abuse that the professional lenses would. Having said that the lens feels very well made, certainly not fragile and feels good in the hand, much better than Canon's consumer grade lenses which tend to feel, frankly, like something from Airfix!

paul brownie
  • 28 Oct 2018, Sun
Lighter, slimmer and much, much cheaper than the 80-400 Nikon
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The price was great as I found it for £571 on Amazon by MH Direct and that's a lot lower than the main Amazon price. Having had the Nikon 80-400 but found it too slow and so heavy. This is lighter, slimmer and much faster to lock focus and track.

B. W. Horton
  • 06 Jun 2018, Wed
Surely this can't be as good as the Nikon 80-400!? Read on...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this lens from a high street retailer for £650 as I didn't want to lug my beloved (and non-weather sealed) Nikon 200-500 to the Nurburgring 24h Race. I didn't really get a chance to test the lens before I left and was a bit concerned about taking it away without calibrating it properly. I did a couple of quick tests and it seemed to be fine, but as I had to send my 150-600 Sport lens (which I no longer own) back to Sigma for calibration, I wasn't exactly confident.I didn't take my laptop with me to Germany, but the pictures looked sharp enough when viewed on the camera screen, although it's not always possible to get a true idea of how well the lens is doing until you download the pictures.In it's standard setting, the focus seemed snappy and accurate. It's possible to speed the auto-focus up even more using the Sigma Dock and custom settings on the lens (or slow it down for more accuracy or for video) and you can also change the properties of the optical stabilisation.The lens handles well and seems quite sturdy. The mount has a rubber gasket, but the lens barrel is not weather sealed according to Sigma. I took a couple of OpTech Rainsleeves which kept the lens nice and dry on the soaking wet Sunday and I would thoroughly recommend that if you intend to use the lens in wet weather, that you should invest in a rain cover of some sort, even if it's just 5p for a carrier bag.So far so good then. The Sigma seemed sharp; the autofocus quick & accurate and I didn't get a hernia humping around a huge lens.So when I got home and downloaded the photos, I saw why the lens was so "cheap"?Actually, no. I was shocked at how sharp the lens actually was. Even uncalibrated, my lens appears to be at least as sharp at 400mm as the current generation Nikon 80-400 which I owned a couple of years ago and I got at least as many keepers from the Sigma on my recent trip as I did the last time I went to the Nurburgring with the Nikon 80-400. That's astonishing considering the Nikon now retails at 3 times (and more at many retai

Sunday Racers
Top features: 

- Telephoto lens for shooting far-away action 

- Low-dispersion glass corrects distortion 

- Super Multi-Layer Coating for sharp contrast 

- Optical Stabiliser compensates for camera shake 

- Weather-proof design to protect from the elements 

Telephoto lens

Capture far-away action shots such as wildlife in its natural environment, or fast-paced sporting action on a bright day with the Sigma 100-400 mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM.

This lens also offers macro functionality with a minimum shooting distance of 1.6 m and maximum magnification ratio of 1:3:8.

Low-dispersion glass

Specially designed to correct chromatic aberration, along with secondary spectrum, this lens features three types of exclusive low-dispersion glass, ELD (Extraordinary Low Dispersion), SLD (Special Low Dispersion), and FLD (“F” Low Dispersion). This helps to reduce colour fringing in your photos.

Super Multi-Layer Coating

Designed to help reduce flare and ghosting even in backlit scenes, Sigma's Super Multi-Layer Coating delivers sharp, high-contrast images.

Optical Stabiliser

Helping to eliminate blurring caused by handheld camera shake, this lens features Sigma's all-new OS (Optical Stabiliser) which detects camera shake in any direction. Using a sensor, it can help to stabilise the image whether you're shooting in horizonal or vertical orientation.

Weather-proof design

This lens has a rubber seal to protect the mount from dust and water drops, making it suitable for use in moderate weather conditions such as light rain or dusty environments.
Style Name:for Canon

Product Description

The SIGMA 100-400mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Contemporary offers a compact, lightweight solution for telephoto lenses. The maximum apertures are reduced by just one-third of a stop compared to other 100-400mm lenses however this small difference makes a huge reduction to the size and weight of the lens. This approach results in a tempting new ultra-telephoto choice for photographers. Offering a combination of stunning image quality and outstanding functionality, this lens satisfies the needs of pros and amateurs alike. An ultra-telephoto lens with an optical stabilizer (OS) system has several advantages. The OS allows the photographer to take photographs in unstable circumstances. While keeping the robust functionality and exceptional image quality of an ultra-telephoto zoom lens intact, SIGMA has achieved amazingly compact packaging enclosing 400mm optics. Introducing the new and greatly enhanced ultra-telephoto zoom lens. In designing this lens, SIGMA strived to push both compactness and image quality to the limit. Four SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass lens elements and an optimized power distribution help minimize optical aberrations. Moreover, by taking special care to minimize transverse chromatic aberration, which cannot be corrected via aperture control, SIGMA has ensured outstanding image quality throughout the zoom range. For quick control of the angle of view, the zoom ring incorporates a push/pull mechanism in addition to the regular twist mechanism. The exclusive lens hood has also been designed to accommodate push/pull zooming and overall lens maneuverability. By making it possible to adjust the angle of view instantly, this lens gives photographers an even better chance of getting that crucial shot. With a minimum shooting distance of 160cm and a maximum magnification ratio of 1:3.8, this lens can shoot either from a distance or up close.

Box Contains

Sigma 100-400mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | C Canon Fitting, Lens Hood, Instruction Manual

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H 25 x 13.6 x 12.4 cm
Package Weight 1.68 Kilograms
Item Dimensions L x W x H 20.3 x 9.2 x 9.2 cm
Item Weight 1.36 Kilograms
Brand Name Sigma
Color Name Black
Country of Origin Japan
Has Image Stabilization Yes
Included Components Lens hood/Case
Lens Fixed Focal Length 100 millimetres
Max Focal Length 400
Min Focal Length 100
Model Year 2017
Mounting Type Canon
Objective Lens Diameter 86.4 millimetres
Part Number 729954
Zoom Type vari-focal
Maximum Aperture Range 5 - 6.3
Focus Type Autofocus
Style for Canon
Photo Filter Thread Size 67 millimetres
   

An uncaught Exception was encountered

Type: Predis\Response\ServerException

Message: MISCONF Redis is configured to save RDB snapshots, but it is currently not able to persist on disk. Commands that may modify the data set are disabled, because this instance is configured to report errors during writes if RDB snapshotting fails (stop-writes-on-bgsave-error option). Please check the Redis logs for details about the RDB error.

Filename: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php

Line Number: 370

Backtrace:

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 335
Function: onErrorResponse

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/vendor/predis/predis/src/Client.php
Line: 314
Function: executeCommand

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/helpers/tools_helper.php
Line: 770
Function: __call

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/application/controllers/Urunler.php
Line: 146
Function: set_cache

File: /var/www/html/qualityreview/index.php
Line: 313
Function: require_once