Qualityreviews logo

Ricoh-Pentax K-70
Pentax
B01HMGRKZM


  • 432,33 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Pentax
5
81%
(26)
4
13%
(4)
3
3%
(1)
2
3%
(1)
1
0%
(0)
Review 32 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Ricoh-Pentax K-70)
  • 21 Jul 2020, Tue
Perfect piece of work
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

An exellent piece of photography gadget.The design is perfect.The weight is perfect.The picture qualities are perfectIt met all my expectations

Hummy15
  • 11 Jul 2020, Sat
Backwards compatibility with classic lenses.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is an outstanding camera, even at full price. The only cons are that it has classic SLR mirror noise and the pentaprism adds weight. The pros are endless, but highlights are backward compatibility with all k and M42 (with adaptor) mount lenses, massive creative menu, in camera shake reduction, 24Mb s APS-C sensor and a far better than average weather resistant kit lens. Auto results are fine, but the Program AE and other modes allow tweaking of the Jpegs that can make them better than the default settings. Images look great even on a 4K TV. Mine came with the 18-55 kit lens which is great for everyday use.

Risteard Mac An Bhearshuiligh

  • 18 Mar 2020, Wed
the best camera in its class
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am not reliable at the moment because I have Pantaxes for years and I do not intend to change the system. The advantages and many: many photo quality, full sealing, weather resistance, cooperation with new old Pentax lenses - I mean other systems - M42, for example, it fits well in my hand - mine is not the smallest, and the camera holds well . E.t.c

Wojciech C
  • 16 Feb 2020, Sun
Bulky - as with any DSLR
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It takes good photos but, for most purposes a mobile phone image is good enough, so carrying around such a bulky item is hard to justify. As a result, it seldom gets used.

London Lad
  • 09 Feb 2020, Sun
not a zoom camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

crop in on a picture you get lots of noise.Beautiful well made dinosaur

Steve howard
  • 01 Feb 2020, Sat
Pentax people don't follow the herd
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was looking for a DSLR for my friend, I stumble on the K70 £366, £200 off the standard price, only available at Amazon and another shop (up north). I had a K500 which I loved but only 16mb and I had started to get my best shots printed realy big 1200mm x 800mm. so I took the chance and purchased the K70, there was no part in the advert that said it was reconditioned but £200 off. I thought at if it was used the frame counter would not be 0000. But is was new!This camera has loads of tricks that I would use. The first thing I notice is the speed of the focus and the red dots in the view finder (pentax k100 6mb had this years ago) shooting in January around 1500hrs walking the dogs the light is very low but the K70 is fast. I use an ultra zoom lense 28mm to 300mm x 1.6 gives me instant enlargement but the K500 had trouble finding focus within half a second and some times the shot has gone the dogs have moved on.The K70 is instant focus, misses nothing, so far.

snowys dad
  • 01 Feb 2020, Sat
Pentax people don't follow the herd
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was looking for a DSLR for my friend, I stumble on the K70 £366, £200 off the standard price, only available at Amazon and another shop (up north). I had a K500 which I loved but only 16mb and I had started to get my best shots printed realy big 1200mm x 800mm. so I took the chance and purchased the K70, there was no part in the advert that said it was reconditioned but £200 off. I thought at if it was used the frame counter would not be 0000. But is was new!
This camera has loads of tricks that I would use. The first thing I notice is the speed of the focus and the red dots in the view finder (pentax k100 6mb had this years ago) shooting in January around 1500hrs walking the dogs the light is very low but the K70 is fast. I use an ultra zoom lense 28mm to 300mm x 1.6 gives me instant enlargement but the K500 had trouble finding focus within half a second and some times the shot has gone the dogs have moved on.
The K70 is instant focus, misses nothing, so far.

snowys dad
  • 26 Jan 2020, Sun
A great Amazon Bargain plus a Great Camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I got the K-70 (body) as it was a was a very good price on Amazon, I already have a K-5 which sometimes gives me indifferent exposures & to get the sensor & shutter repaired would cost me more than the K-70.So how does the K-70 work out, well it doesn't fit in the hand as well as the K-5 but it is lighter & I have tended to use the "Live View" more using the flip-out screen enabling me to shoot from a lower angle (a boom as you get older it's harder to get using traditional methods). The "Drive Selector" is the only downside I have found so far, it's the way I carry the camera around wandering about, as I have selected other drive modes accidently, I like to "grab" shots & it is disappointing to find I have moved the mode onto "multi-exposure". It reminded me of the early models of the Canon AE1 which would turn the speed dial when you were busy shooting & winding on rapidly (before drives came along). Anyway, I digress, so far I have found it a super camera & looking forward to using it more this year as there are quite a few "new" features to play with.The quality of shooting at 32,000 ISO is very good, though it isn't where I want to be, but you have the ability of using natural light instead of flash. So to conclude, the K-70 works very well for me & if I get the K-5 repaired I think the K-70 will be the go-to camera. For the price I paid it is an absolute bargain, teamed with the Pentax 50mm lens it's a great camera to walk the streets with.

dcb
  • 26 Jan 2020, Sun
A great Amazon Bargain plus a Great Camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I got the K-70 (body) as it was a was a very good price on Amazon, I already have a K-5 which sometimes gives me indifferent exposures & to get the sensor & shutter repaired would cost me more than the K-70.

So how does the K-70 work out, well it doesn't fit in the hand as well as the K-5 but it is lighter & I have tended to use the "Live View" more using the flip-out screen enabling me to shoot from a lower angle (a boom as you get older it's harder to get using traditional methods). The "Drive Selector" is the only downside I have found so far, it's the way I carry the camera around wandering about, as I have selected other drive modes accidently, I like to "grab" shots & it is disappointing to find I have moved the mode onto "multi-exposure". It reminded me of the early models of the Canon AE1 which would turn the speed dial when you were busy shooting & winding on rapidly (before drives came along). Anyway, I digress, so far I have found it a super camera & looking forward to using it more this year as there are quite a few "new" features to play with.

The quality of shooting at 32,000 ISO is very good, though it isn't where I want to be, but you have the ability of using natural light instead of flash. So to conclude, the K-70 works very well for me & if I get the K-5 repaired I think the K-70 will be the go-to camera. For the price I paid it is an absolute bargain, teamed with the Pentax 50mm lens it's a great camera to walk the streets with.

dcb
  • 17 Jan 2020, Fri
Worthy Upgrade
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The item box arrived slightly damaged but the contents of the box seemed fine and seem to be working correctly, the camera itself was absolutely amazing value and I don't know how I managed to get it at that price. The features of the camera compared to what Nikon or Canon offer are superb and this is really like a mid entry DSLR at an entry level price point. The only think I think Pentax could improve and I am sure they have on the new models is the autofocus system. Imagine are crisp and clear. Only thing that stopped the 5 star review are the box damage and autofocus system.

James O'Neil
  • 17 Jan 2020, Fri
Worthy Upgrade
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The item box arrived slightly damaged but the contents of the box seemed fine and seem to be working correctly, the camera itself was absolutely amazing value and I don't know how I managed to get it at that price. The features of the camera compared to what Nikon or Canon offer are superb and this is really like a mid entry DSLR at an entry level price point. The only think I think Pentax could improve and I am sure they have on the new models is the autofocus system. Imagine are crisp and clear. Only thing that stopped the 5 star review are the box damage and autofocus system.

James O'Neil
  • 14 Jan 2020, Tue
Well priced camera with features normally found in cameras that cost much more
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I upgraded from the Pentax KX, and it was quite a jump in quality. The screen is a real stand out as it is articulated, something I didn't think I needed, also the resolution is much better. I bought the body on its own, and threw on some of my old lenses, now I have ordered a Pentax 16-85mm lens to match the waterproofing of the K-70. It is really great value for money, especially if you are into landscape photography.

Daniel M.
  • 06 Jan 2020, Mon
Pentax K70
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've always used Pentax cameras since the beginning of the 80's and having now outgrown my K200D I decided to upgrade to the K70. The two features I find most useful are the wi-fi and the live view. With the wi-fi I can send the shots I want to keep to my phone and they get uploaded to Google Drive, and with the live view I get to see exactly what I am going to capture. I bought the only the body as I have lenses to fit and with the body costing under £400 it really was a bargain. My only real annoyance is not with the camera but with Amazon, when I take my camera out it is not unusual for me to take several hundred photo's especially during the summer. I ordered a spare battery for it and Amazon refused to send it to the Isle of Wight where I live.I have been in touch with Duracell Direct and they are more than happy to send me a spare battery, so depite the fact that we have been legally part of the UK Mainland since the 90's some companies deem us to be foriegn soil.

Casper

  • 06 Jan 2020, Mon
Pentax K70
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've always used Pentax cameras since the beginning of the 80's and having now outgrown my K200D I decided to upgrade to the K70. The two features I find most useful are the wi-fi and the live view. With the wi-fi I can send the shots I want to keep to my phone and they get uploaded to Google Drive, and with the live view I get to see exactly what I am going to capture. I bought the only the body as I have lenses to fit and with the body costing under £400 it really was a bargain. My only real annoyance is not with the camera but with Amazon, when I take my camera out it is not unusual for me to take several hundred photo's especially during the summer. I ordered a spare battery for it and Amazon refused to send it to the Isle of Wight where I live.

I have been in touch with Duracell Direct and they are more than happy to send me a spare battery, so depite the fact that we have been legally part of the UK Mainland since the 90's some companies deem us to be foriegn soil.

Casper
  • 31 Dec 2019, Tue
great
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

great camera .not to heavy,just looks right

brian dodds
  • 03 Dec 2019, Tue
Great value for a DSLR
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

So I've been using a Sony a330 for years with minolta lenses and felt it was time to upgrade. I purchased the K-70 with a Ricoh 55 x 300ml lense for my main use and hobby which is Birding and taking photos of birds. I'm impressed with the sharpness of the picture and after cropping more distant bird photos such as the Sparrowhawk photo I've uploaded. I'm satisfied with this aspect of getting close up shots of birds without scaring them off by trying too hard to get a little closer myself. I'm still learning about this camera but on first impressions for the price you can't go far wrong. Bear in mind it is quite a heafty camera but I'm thinking the more you pay for a dslr those comforts are maybe a preference you would look for. But by no means is it too heavy. Overall I'm satisfied.

Tim91
  • 11 Nov 2019, Mon
Photography at its best using the real gear!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This was a gift for my daughter, who is a keen traveller and wishes to use a 'real' camera for all her destinations.Suffice to say she was very pleased since it was a special birthday!

Brianski
  • 09 Oct 2019, Wed
Nice camera
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Not used all the features yet but I am happy with the picture quality, had no problems with the auto focus, it seems to pick up on what I would want it to and fast enough for my needs. Screen works fine.

johno
  • 01 Sep 2019, Sun
Very pleased with this second Pentax camera body
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I already have the KP and I wanted another modern Pentax body to avoid changing lenses so often, and I have some good lenses. And this was ... well, the lowest price I could find.I've used it twice with the 100mm 2.8 macro lens and I have good images - I cannot see the difference between these and those taken on the Pentax KP. The menu is different to the KP and there are some interesting options that the KP does not offer. My only dislike is the loud shutter noise, much louder than the KP. And there does not seem to be ANY way to reduce that noise - I've searched and searched.But overall, I like it; no regrets. With a good lens it takes great images and is fast enough to focus (with the lens I used). And I like the different back screen which swivels 180 degrees - quite different to the KP. Al I want now is a couple more fast, slightly wide angle, modern Pentax primes. Over to you Pentax

William Neville
  • 01 Sep 2019, Sun
Very pleased with this second Pentax camera body
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I already have the KP and I wanted another modern Pentax body to avoid changing lenses so often, and I have some good lenses. And this was ... well, the lowest price I could find.

I've used it twice with the 100mm 2.8 macro lens and I have good images - I cannot see the difference between these and those taken on the Pentax KP. The menu is different to the KP and there are some interesting options that the KP does not offer. My only dislike is the loud shutter noise, much louder than the KP. And there does not seem to be ANY way to reduce that noise - I've searched and searched.

But overall, I like it; no regrets. With a good lens it takes great images and is fast enough to focus (with the lens I used). And I like the different back screen which swivels 180 degrees - quite different to the KP. Al I want now is a couple more fast, slightly wide angle, modern Pentax primes. Over to you Pentax

William Neville
Style Name:Camera Body

Product Description

The best photo camera for expedition shooting
Weather resistant body with 92 protection seals
Stainless steel chassis and magnesium alloy body
Built-in GPS to keep the trails of photos on Google Earth
Electronic Compass to display the camera’s direction on the camera’s LCD monitor
Astrotracer to simplify the tracing and photographing of celestial
Wifi remote control via Smartphones, tablet and computer with dedicated Pentax Flu Card (in option)
New-generation PENTAX-original shake reduction mechanism

Box Contains

PENTAX K-70 DSLR
Lithium-ion rechargeable battery D-LI109
Battery charger kit K-BC109H
Strap O-ST132
Eyecup FR
Hot shoe cover FK
Body mount cover

Item Package Dimensions L x W x H 21 x 16.4 x 13.2 cm
Package Weight 1.30 Kilograms
Item Dimensions L x W x H 12.5 x 7.4 x 9.3 cm
Item Weight 626 Grams
Brand Name Pentax
Color Name Black
Continuous Shooting Speed 6
Country of Origin Philippines
Has Image Stabilization Yes
Included Components Pentax K-70 All Weather DSLR Camera: 24.2MP High-Performance Image Sensor, Optical Viewfinder with 100% Coverage, 4.5 Steps Shake Reduction High sensitivity ISO102400 Vary-Angle LCD Monitor Hybrid AF
ISO Range ISO AUTO/100 to 102400 (EV steps can be set to 1EV, 1/2EV or 1/3EV)
Memory Slots Available SD, SDHC and SDXC Memory Card
Model Year 2016
Mounting Type Pentax
Part Number K-70 BLACK BODY KIT
Focus Type TTL autofocus, auto-exposure SLR digital-still camera with built-in retractable P-TTL flash
Max Shutter Speed 30 seconds
Style Camera Body
Effective Still Resolution 24.78 megapixels