Qualityreviews logo

Airfree P40
Dualit
B008I0SRCC


  • 139,00 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Dualit
5
44%
(15)
4
24%
(8)
3
12%
(4)
2
12%
(4)
1
9%
(3)
Review 34 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Airfree P40)
  • 15 Oct 2019, Tue
did not work for me
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have asthma and hay fever, from reading the NHS website to try and find some things I could do to help myself-I found that they recommend an air purifier-bought this one, and I'm sorry to say that I found that it didnt make any difference to me-despite keeping it at ground level, keeping the windows shut and closing the door when not in the room-

mark twain
  • 27 Apr 2019, Sat
No filters
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Seems to be working well

lorraine

  • 21 Mar 2019, Thu
Does the job
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Has made a massive difference to my cough (completely cleared - almost!) can’t recommend this enough

Amazon Customer
  • 01 Feb 2019, Fri
good clean air
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Airfree P40 Filterless Air Purifier with Night Light - White Finish is a great item to have in your household, especially if you have sensitivities to the common dust mite which I certainly am. In the past, I would have had to leave a window open, no matter how cold it was outside or even how noisy. If I did not I would have woke up blocked nose, and totally congested. As I now use this filter my allergies are less noticeable and I am waking up fresh and wide awake.This is a well-made air purifier which certainly works well. The added night light is an extra advantage, especially if you have children who have allergies this good looking item works and works well and with the extra advantage makes it very easy for me to recommend it.Happy to recommend.

Petra ????????????????????
  • 31 Jan 2019, Thu
Not sure about this
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have tried the Airfree Filter less Air Purifier for about 2 months now and still don’t know if it works or not. First, I put it in my bedroom, I have trouble sleeping due to blocked nose and bad sinuses and wondered if it could be dust or bug problem in the bedroom. The device had been left on 24/7 and I can honestly say that I noticed no difference in my breathing or in the air in the bedroom.My next test was to put the device in my living room where we have a log burning stove. This is not on everyday – just the days when the temperature has dropped outside to lower than 8 degrees. Again, the device is on permanently and I still have not noticed any improvement. My wife is also not convinced that there is any difference in the quality of the air.So, this might work for you, but it might not. It does not make any noise and sits in the corner out of the way, but I am not sure its worth the money.

IMCPU2
  • 18 Jan 2019, Fri
For pollen allergies mainly
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a "purifier" that doesn't filter out dust, but removes allergens from the air by passing them through a heated tube which burns them up.While it says it shouldn't affect a rooms temperature, the top of the unit DOES get quite warm so be extra careful not to cover it.There's no way to clean out the heating tube once it's bunged up, and apparently the unit is defunct once this happens, so off to the recycling it goes.Given that you can get washable air purifiers, this seems like an expensive way to get allergens out of the air and an environmentally unfriendly one to boot.

Clever Spud
  • 11 Jan 2019, Fri
A Fantastic Air Purifier that is completely Silent
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have been using my Airfree for three weeks now. It takes two weeks for it to "clean" up the room.When you first unpack it you might need to let it "offgas" for a day or two if you have MCS.It is completely silent.It takes up very little space.There are tests around showing that this Airfree in a kitchen will delay fruit and veg going mouldy as quickly as they do in a normal room.After two weeks my bedroom feels cleaner, and the air feels fresher. I have Asthma and COPD and with the AIrfree I breathe better at night.You need to leave this machine on all the time for it to work as it takes its time. It is not an instant clean up.

elsie purdon
  • 02 Jan 2019, Wed
But does it work?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The most important question is does it work and I am afraid my answer is I don't know.It is a well made device with a useful variable brightness (or off) nightlight so I don't fall over it when I get up in the middle of the night.The blurb says you can tell if it is working if it gets warm at the top, it does, however I have no way of measuring if it reduces the things it is supposed to reduce. Neither my or my wife's allergies have improved.I can't say it does not work I just don't know bit for us it gave no improvement.

Bob
  • 31 Dec 2018, Mon
Airfree P40 Air purifier
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is a great bit of kit. If you or any of your family suffer airborne allergies, then this P40 filter less air purifier could be a huge benefit to you. The units is small in size but big on performance. The purifier comes in at 26.5 (H) x 21.5 cm (D) and weights only 1.2 kg, so will fit neatly into you home life. The unit is completely silent and has a night light which is blue in colour. The Airfree air purifier uses less energy than a 60 W light bulb. Thermodynamic TSS Technology doesn't use filters or fans making it very low in energy consumption. I found that after using the airfree in my bedroom, I slept better and woke refreshed. My granddaughter has a fur and feather allergy, after using this in her home, her parents decided to invest in the P40 purifier of their own, they were so impressed with the results. this is a great unit and works really well. It's a bit expensive and will be out of many people with airborne allergies reach therefore it's 4* from me folks.

robbiejay
  • 27 Dec 2018, Thu
Does the job as claimed
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This item is quite large as it’s about possibly the size of an electric kettle or slow cooker, whatever, in size both in footprint and height generally. The instructions are quite informative and outline it’s use and probably answers the assorted questions the new owner may have. We plugged it in and the first thing that was noticed was the soft blue light that also doubles up as a ‘night light’ feature and to be fair, its quite a pleasant soft light it gives out and fits in well. The brightness of the light is adjustable by just touching the small blue arrow type symbol on the front and it changes to whichever you prefer - quite simple to set really. The top does get warm, not hot, and also tells you its working okay. We have sited ours in the bedroom as ‘the Lady of the House’ suffers with breathing problems, more so at night, so this would be a good place to ‘trial it’. Initially it gave off a sort of a sort of plasticy smell or aroma but after a while it seemed to go away - perhaps being new being the answer. So far its been in use a little while now and already the effects have been noticed as the dear Lady has had fewer nights waking up coughing or trying to get her breath, so it must be working and the cost of this item would be a small price to pay for that alone. It has no filters to change or worry about,nothing to clean out or remove as its quite hassle free as you plug it in and leave it to do what its does and its quite low wattage or power rated, so cheap to run. So far this item lives up to its expectations both in its description plus it works well in use as somebody close to me is sleeping better at nights - can’t say better that. Very recommended.

Tin Tactoo
  • 18 Dec 2018, Tue
Hot
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This purifier differs from many of its similar alternatives by using heat to remove mould, bacteria, fungi, etc. from the air rather than just filters. At first I worried this would consume a lot of energy and increase the cost of using it, but apparently it only uses between 37 and 45 watts, less than an old-style 60-watt light bulb. Plus the device doesn't require replacement filters, reducing the costs involved compared to other purifiers.The unit is compact and portable but not the nicest looking despite the night light feature. It could look better. It's so quiet it's basically silent, though I'm not sure how it gets air through it without the use of fans. It must rely on the convection provided by its heat. It seems to be doing its job, sterilising the air and removing allergens.If you're sensitive to airborne contaminants, the Airfree P40 is worth considering. One other thing: it doesn't release ions or ozone, which is a plus in my book.

Special Order 937
  • 13 Dec 2018, Thu
IT DOES A JOB, BUT BE SURE ITS WHAT YOU NEED
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The first thing to note about this type of air purifier is that it's not an air filter. It's probably more appropriately described as an air steriliser. It won't remove odours, and if housemites are your problem, as in my case, it's not likely to be of much use on its own, possibly explaining the various dissatisfied reviewers.The internal heat generated by the unit is said to be sufficient to reduce allergens and pathogens, and presumably every other airborne particle which passes through it, to carbon dioxide and ash - which is why filtration isn't necessary.You need the right size and type; there are 15 variations, across six sizes, so it's a fair task to identify the right one. The P40 model sent to me for review has a useable room capacity of 16 square metres; this presumably assumes an average ceiling height of 7-8ft, so if you have particularly high ceilings, you probably need the next size up. The largest are the P150/Iris150 models (Iris denotes changeable nightlight colours), which cope with 60 square meters. Rooms this size are more likely to have higher ceilings - but they don't tell you what ceiling heights they used to calculate the various capacities.I consider it important to position any type of air purifier so that I am in the path of the filtered output - rather than have polluted air being drawn over me on the way to the purifiers... This product does not allow you to do that, which I feel must significantly reduce its effectiveness. For this reason, I would have preferred a side exhaust to a top exhaust - or one with an adjustable output direction, like my Fellowes.The purification process includes torching housemites; however, this should surely not be taken too seriously. We are told that it's not living housemites which cause these awful symptoms (asthma in my case) but their corpses and their detritus, and they don't live in the atmosphere, but in bedding, carpets and other soft furnishings, which is why such possessions gradually fill up with these allergens; it's only when their rema

Jeff Walmsley
  • 11 Dec 2018, Tue
Simple Effective and Just Gets on With Its Task Silently.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The Airfree P40 Filterless Air Purifier is one of those devices that if you know you need you will get whatever the cost.If it works for you then it is worth every penny.Of course I am a layman and not a profesional in these devices so cannot confirm all the properties the makers claim. I will however attempt to cover what I think the potential buyer needs to know.It is quite largeabout the size of a bigger electric kettle but nowhere near as heavy.So you need to ensure you have a secure place that will accommodate its size yet, as it is light ensure it does not get knocked over and damaged.Knows. So if it is for a bedroom somewhere higher up. It would dominate a bedsized cabinet.It also require a power source so that needs to be taken into account.You get a choice of three colours.Mine's in a smart white.In operation a blue light comes on to let you know it's on and working. So the blue light doubles as a night light too.It does cover big rooms up to a generous 16m2. So bedrooms are fine, I placed mine in the living room the aim to cut down on dust and the like.I imagine if you have pets this would be a good thing to have to cut down on mites and dander.I say cut down, what I really mean is kill the dustmites.It does this by sucking them into the device and 'cooking them to death'. Painless and quick. I call it justifiable homicide.What is great about this device is that you just plug it in and forget it.It is safe doesn't overheat uses the same power as a 60 watt bulb to neutralise the air.Bad air in purified air out simple.I hope this review has been of help but I really hope that it helps you in your needs.Thanks for reading.

Glenn Cook

  • 04 Sep 2018, Tue
Dries out the air
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This product does two important things for me to use it in a bedroom - it is silent and the light can be turned off........... however because it uses heat the air in the room becomes unbearably stuffy and hot. As the whole point of an air purifier is to clean the air I can't open the windows. Had to send it back, can't sleep and wake up with a sore throat. Shame. Now what - I guess it is back to looking at machines with expensive filters that can be noisy and have no way of turning off the light !! Anyone out there found a solution ?

Emma Z
  • 12 Feb 2018, Mon
Did not work....
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I ordered this from breathingspace.co.uk to help alleviate my pet allergy symptoms. I put it in the bedroom as advised very much hoping it would help. After 2 weeks of continuous use I contacted the seller and said this had done nothing and that I would like to return it. They wanted me to try it for another 2 weeks to see if anything changed as it may be due to the size of the allergens and that they will take longer to clear?! I tried it 20 days in total and had a fight over getting a full refund which they would not give me due to hygiene reasons??!!! What a joke, the allergens/impurities are burned on a ceramic plate and it is just a plastic shelled machine so what would the hygiene concern be? Anyway be advised that because you have used this product you are unlikely to get a full refund. They obviously expect you to order the device and then keep it in it's box... - I managed to get 75% back and returned at my own expense...Be aware. This product did nothing to help and was a waste of money for me as a pet allergy sufferer.

linhay69
  • 13 Jan 2018, Sat
I am very disappointed with the devise as I hoped it will help ...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am very disappointed with the devise as I hoped it will help with my son's allergy when I was reading people reviews.but it did not make any diffrence at all.i am glad that it helped to some people but for me it was a waste of money.and it's very expensive.

Iryna Lazitskaya
  • 05 Nov 2017, Sun
Amazing product for Dust Mite Alergy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My son was diagnosed with a severe allergy to dust mites. The product was very effective at neutralising his symptoms ...99% we estimate. We located it in his bedroom and within 2 hours his symptoms..blocked runny nose making it difficult and uncomfortable for him to breath..had virtually disappeared..amazing.By buying this product rather than taking the advise of his doctor to remove all fabrics from his room we reakon we probably saved £1000..we were advised to replace the carpet with a solid wood floor, curtains with blind, alergy bedding & mattess etc.If you buy one make sure you register it online at AirFree to get your 2 year warranty.

Greg
  • 05 Nov 2017, Sun
Amazing product for Dust Mite Alergy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My son was diagnosed with a severe allergy to dust mites. The product was very effective at neutralising his symptoms ...99% we estimate. We located it in his bedroom and within 2 hours his symptoms..blocked runny nose making it difficult and uncomfortable for him to breath..had virtually disappeared..amazing.
By buying this product rather than taking the advise of his doctor to remove all fabrics from his room we reakon we probably saved £1000..we were advised to replace the carpet with a solid wood floor, curtains with blind, alergy bedding & mattess etc.
If you buy one make sure you register it online at AirFree to get your 2 year warranty.

Greg
  • 01 Aug 2017, Tue
Fresh Air!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This unit does freshen up the air in the room. The nightlight is very bright. You can turn this down or even off by touching the little blue arrow on the front. I turned the light off and I thought the whole unit had gone off, but it doesn't. The top will be warm if it is working. A must-have if you can't open your windows much. A bit early to tell how much it has helped my breathing, but so far so good. Took one star off as it is quite expensive for what it is

Mcfluffy
  • 18 Jun 2017, Sun
Actually works well.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Seems to work, sleeping far better since purchase, took about two weeks.

Snakebite

Product Description

The natural Airfree uses heated air to destroy airborne mould, bacteria, viruses, dust mites, and pollen allergens. It is a great product for people living with allergies, asthma, or other respiratory conditions. Airfree's Thermodynamic Sterilising System has been independently tested in "real life" working conditions by world renowned institutions in six different countries including the USA, Sweden and Germany. These tests prove that Airfree totally destroys up to 99.99% microorganisms, no matter how small or hazardous they might be. Microorganism reduction begins just 15 minutes after Airfree is plugged in. Airfree offers a detailed copy of the independent tests on its website assuring consumers of Airfree's outstanding efficiency in drastically reducing airborne microorganisms such as mould spores, viruses, bacteria, pollens, dust mite remains, excrement, and allergens, organic odours, ozone and pet dander. The anti-stress dimmer controlled light is ideal for children's rooms can also be used as a night light or turned off completely. Airfree also has a rugged and durable design with no moving parts, resulting in virtually no wear and tear. Applications include home, office archives, libraries, museums, schools, and day-care centres, retirement homes, hotels, holiday resorts, shops, hospitals, laboratories, cruise liners, food and pharmaceutical industries.

Box Contains

1 x Airfree Purifier;Instruction guide

Product Name AirFree P40
Weight 1.09 Kilograms
Brand Dualit