Qualityreviews logo

Ecoair Apollo
EcoAir
B01DUJOC42


  • 599,00 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: EcoAir
5
64%
(21)
4
24%
(8)
3
9%
(3)
2
0%
(0)
1
3%
(1)
Review 33 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Ecoair Apollo)
  • 08 Aug 2020, Sat
Works well
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I use for a large room, about 35m2 and it reduces the temperature really quickly. I put it out of the window and it is fine. I intend to cut a hole in the wall for it.

James
  • 31 May 2020, Sun
Really good purchase for hot UK summers
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This is now third year to use this and I am very happy. It is set up in the top floor south facing home-office (which is about 10m2 and got over 40C), but when I leave door open, it can cool down whole 70 sq/m terraced house. There is some noise, but this is kind of white ventilator noise, not engine noise, so totally ok while working. All the windows and doors to the outside have to be closed. This device separates up to 20l of water from air on hot days, so if you leave this on overnight, empty the bucket in before going to sleep. Doesn't seem to affect energy bill noticeably.I really love this machine. Good investment, as makes working possible for me during the afternoons.

Rauli

  • 30 Jan 2019, Wed
EcoAir APOLLO Heating and Cooling Portable Air Conditioning Unit, 12000 BTU
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

A very nice heating and cooling system, excellent quality. A+++

James Wilmot
  • 31 Aug 2018, Fri
Godsend in the heatwave!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Its pretty powerful and cools down my entire 2-bed apt in a couple hours. It is a bit noisy but it is fan/air noise and it does not sound like a fridge compressor. Remote control is handy too.

TC
  • 31 Aug 2018, Fri
Godsend in the heatwave!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Its pretty powerful and cools down my entire 2-bed apt in a couple hours. It is a bit noisy but it is fan/air noise and it does not sound like a fridge compressor. Remote control is handy too.

TC
  • 21 Aug 2018, Tue
Kept Us Cool
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good peace of equipment even during the hottest day it kept our office at a comfortable tempreture, but it is a little noisy

Dean
  • 12 Aug 2018, Sun
Does what it says on the tin
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Lifesaver in past weeks. It’s like any in-room ac - loud. There are supposedly quieter out there but this does what it’s supposed to - make it cold. On 35 degree days it cooled a large room fast...so we could wheel it out of our kids room at night and into ours

Paul
  • 02 Aug 2018, Thu
Excellent
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

bit expensive but very good love it, recommend for 2.5m hose pipe

Syed
  • 22 Jul 2018, Sun
Fab
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very powerful, easy to use, a little noisy though but i think all of this type of machine are the same.

MR Chris T
  • 20 Jul 2018, Fri
Great air con
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good bit of kit. Will cool any room

J Foxcroft
  • 15 Jul 2018, Sun
Doesn't work magic, has some problems
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It does what I bought it for, but a lot of small things make a big difference.In terms of cooling capcity, it is hard to say if I'm fair to it -- it is being used to cool room with huge west facing windows. It does a good job of keeping this room on a hot day where the room would exceed 30's C usually to below 27C at the worst hours, but I do have to use it to cool ALL the time, I found the only way this was effective is when you start from a fairly cold room to begin with (say 22), if you turn it on when the room is already hot, it basically cannot handle. Which is fine, but you're probably buying this because your rooms are unbearably hot.Other challenges. You MUST pair it with a window seal, it basically does nothing without it (or install it properly). It is supposed to have a self evaporating design (the vapour goes out with the exhaust) but I don't find this to be exactly the case in practice. The rooms humidity never got too high but humidistat in the AC airflow shows some worrying numbers (and this is probably partly to do with running it 24/7) -- I had to bring in the resident dehumidifier to deal with that problem, and it is really emptying several buckets every day.The exhaust attachment, is really poor. It should ideally have some rubber gaskets or something otherwise to provide an airtight seal, but it doesn't. What this means is that you can feel some warm airflow at the point where the exhaust attaches to the unit. I bascially mashed a load of foil in and around the area to minimise the warm air leakage and it made a big difference to the AC's ability to operate effectively. The trouble is there were all manner of slots where warm air was escaping from, so it was quite a difficult job which shouldn't be necessary.Finally, This might be related to poor delivery service and potential unit damage (although it appears to be operating fine), but when I first turned it on there was a nasty chemical smell it gave off, possibly leaked refrigerant. The trouble was it got stuck in my bathrooms which are diff

Yax
  • 15 Jul 2018, Sun
Doesn't work magic, has some problems
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It does what I bought it for, but a lot of small things make a big difference.

In terms of cooling capcity, it is hard to say if I'm fair to it -- it is being used to cool room with huge west facing windows. It does a good job of keeping this room on a hot day where the room would exceed 30's C usually to below 27C at the worst hours, but I do have to use it to cool ALL the time, I found the only way this was effective is when you start from a fairly cold room to begin with (say 22), if you turn it on when the room is already hot, it basically cannot handle. Which is fine, but you're probably buying this because your rooms are unbearably hot.

Other challenges. You MUST pair it with a window seal, it basically does nothing without it (or install it properly). It is supposed to have a self evaporating design (the vapour goes out with the exhaust) but I don't find this to be exactly the case in practice. The rooms humidity never got too high but humidistat in the AC airflow shows some worrying numbers (and this is probably partly to do with running it 24/7) -- I had to bring in the resident dehumidifier to deal with that problem, and it is really emptying several buckets every day.

The exhaust attachment, is really poor. It should ideally have some rubber gaskets or something otherwise to provide an airtight seal, but it doesn't. What this means is that you can feel some warm airflow at the point where the exhaust attaches to the unit. I bascially mashed a load of foil in and around the area to minimise the warm air leakage and it made a big difference to the AC's ability to operate effectively. The trouble is there were all manner of slots where warm air was escaping from, so it was quite a difficult job which shouldn't be necessary.

Finally, This might be related to poor delivery service and potential unit damage (although it appears to be operating fine), but when I first turned it on there was a nasty chemical smell it gave off, possibly leaked refrigerant. The trouble was it got stuc

Yax
  • 26 Jun 2018, Tue
Ice cold air in no time really!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very fiddly to set up but once done (15 mins or so) cold air quickly blasting in straight away. It's not small so think where you can store once not in use. We ran the pipe out of a low window as it would not reach higher ones in the house. Plug is short ish so used extension cable all ok. Flex hose to vent heat outside consatinas up when off the unit so can be stored seperately. Loads of heat coming outside from the vent so it certainly works removing it from the target room! Be careful though... Although on wheels this unit is very very heavy and doesn't have handles to carry up stairs. It wheels around easy enough but I'm a strong guy and would struggle to move alone, it took 2 of us. Also, it leaked carrying up stairs. Set up the drain pipe as per instructions so we guess we tipped it too far over leaning upstairs. Remote simple to use and can dim the unit at night. So far so good, cools our bedroom and the landing. It's only when you go downstairs or into bathroom you realise how cool it's made the room! Noise is only slightly louder than oscillating fan on full speed so we think it's quiet vs what it's producing cold air wise. Louvre fans are manual (not that it's an issue or we thought otherwise but remote leads you to believe they move on motors, they don't so you manually adjust, simple enough). Well packaged too and straight forward instructions. So far so good, doing the job and highly impressed.

Amazon Customer

  • 25 Jun 2018, Mon
Dissapointed.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I guess I was hoping for more than I got, as other reviewers have said, it is a well built piece of kit, but I set it up in a 24 ft by 12 ft outbuilding that gets ridiculously hot during the summer, and with the current heatwave, but it only really cools the area immediately in front of the unit, and I can feel little or no effect from about 8 feet.Had the unit running now for 6 hours and maybe a 2 or 3 degree drop in ambient temperature, maybe I should have bought 2 !!.We''ll see.

Chris
  • 14 Jun 2018, Thu
Not easily portable
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I do love this but am yet waiting for my builder to create a vent in the wall so to have a permanent fixture without having to attach and remove the duct when as needed to my window as it’s quite a short hose vent and chore to keep manoeuvring this heavy item. This really does feel like a proper air conditioner - as I first had doubts as opposed to a proper permanent / wall cold air conditioners I’m used to in shops etc. This is able to bring my room temperature down in minutes! It is a very well and impressive build considering it isn’t a known domestic brand. I went for this because of the reviews and am not disappointed at all. The only downside is because it is a portable air conditioner, I have to wheel it to it’s location (currently inbetween my ensuite and bedroom door) for it to reach the window and the noise is ok - I liken it to a tumble dryer being on with the additional sound of water - like a toilet after it’s been flushed lol. But if you are a light sleeper then this may not be for you. I may review this once again when the ‘portable unit’ is in situ. It definitely sure serves its purpose as an air conditioner but if you are looking to move it from room to room as and when to suit then NO - this is not suitable at all.

Lo Yates
  • 01 Jun 2018, Fri
Very happy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Had this 12 months now, cools our bedroom down from 30deg to around 22ish within about an hour, never had to empty it not exactly quiet but it's a constant noise so easy to sleep with it on. The airduct isn't very long so I bought a slightly longer one. Overall I'd happily buy again

Bootneck
  • 10 Jan 2018, Wed
Excellent
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

wow what a difference the office is like a fridge lol

Peter
  • 15 Aug 2017, Tue
Well worth it
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Used it for about three months now. Couldn't have imagined coping the hot summer nights this June without this little gem. We use the window velcro sealant along with it. I live in a decent sized 4 bed detached, and we just shut the door to the kitchen and leave this thing on, and it dehumidifies the house, and cools it down to a bearable level. It can cool down all 4 bedrooms in the night as long we close the downstairs rooms. The best part was that it reduced the intensity of my wife's hay fever as we could keep the windows shut, and this AC has mesh filters in it. Have drained it on 2 occasions only. Washed the filters once. Don't expect to experience chill if you intend to use it for the whole house, but a couple of rooms yes it would.

MG
  • 14 Aug 2017, Mon
Room size
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Works fine for the size of office of 6 x 6 meters but I feel would struggle for much larger.

Mark
  • 11 Aug 2017, Fri
Five Stars
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Excellent unit... Just what I was wanting for home gym in a garage.

keith firn
Size:12000 BTU

Product Description

The Eco Air APOLLO portable air conditioning unit is a highly mobile heating & cooling solution, bucket less and self-evaporating system designed for easy set up providing heating, cooling and dehumidifying. APOLLO is an A+ rating energy-efficient cooling system that provides higher comfort. It also offers an air filtration system to improve the air quality by reducing unwanted particles such as dust. APOLLO offers a heating & cooling capacity of 12000 BTU/hr and a dehumidification of 1.6L/hr. Designed to cool down a room up to 30 square metres or a conservatory size of 24 square metres. APOLLO has castor wheels and can easily move from one place to another. Comes with wireless remote control, 3 fan speed, LED display and 24 hours built in timer.

Box Contains

1 x APOLLO Air Conditioning Unit
1 x Exhaust Hose Assembly
1 x Remote Control
1 x Bottom Continuous Drainage

Brand EcoAir
Model Number APOLLO
Colour Silver
Item Weight 39 Kg
Product Dimensions 40.5 x 39 x 82 cm
Auto Shutoff No
Energy Efficiency Class A+ to G