Qualityreviews logo

Philips AC3829
Philips
B0796F9XPT


  • 525,70 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Philips
5
47%
(21)
4
13%
(6)
3
13%
(6)
2
11%
(5)
1
16%
(7)
Review 45 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Philips AC3829)
  • 13 May 2020, Wed
Replacement filter would cost you an arm and a leg
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After comparing and reading the reviews for a range of air purifiers, I decided to go with this one, as it seems to have good reviews from other customers. We intend to use this air purifier in our takeaway shop front as we are planning to re-open this week after closing for almost two months due to coronavirus. This purifier claims to filter 99.97% of particles that pass through the filter, with particle size as small as 0.3 microns – the size of most common airborne allergens, particles, bacteria and viruses. I am fully aware that the average size of coronavirus is 0.12 microns, so it won't filter all the coronavirus, but I'm hoping that it will at least filter out the bigger droplets which contain the virus and hence making it safer for both of our staff and customers in a small confined space .We have just done some light decoration and re-painted the wall, inevitably creating some dirt and dust and when we switched on the air purifier, it gave an air quality reading of 4 with 1 being the best. After switching it on for a few hours, the reading was still showing as 4, so not sure if the machine is actually working properly given our room size is only 12m2 and this air purifier is applicable to room size up to 63m2?This product is not cheap, and buying the replacement filter alone is enough to pay for another cheap air purifier on Amazon. I believe the price of the filter is a total rip off and hence the 3 stars instead of 5.We don't know if it will work with the intended purpose, I guess we will never know, but buying a quality one does put our mind in more peace than a cheaply made one.

Kara
  • 28 Mar 2020, Sat
Random Alarm Clock
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This air filter is great if you want a random alarm clock. Every few weeks it will start flashing a light to tell you to clean the front filter (timer based, not because front filter is actually clogged). Then when it feels that you should replace the first inner filter it will treat you to a constant beeping as well as the flashing light - and will continue until you get out of bed at 3am and tell it to be quiet. I'm not sure what will happen when the second inner filter needs replacing - I imagine it will start screaming 'Help, murder!' at me.How to avoid being woken up at 3am:- You must put the device in sleep mode which shifts very little air at all.- No. That's the only option. You can't reset these timers or stop these alarms in any other way - I asked their customer support.This fan is not noisy at higher speeds. It has Sleep / 1 / 2 / 3 / Turbo. I was keeping the fan at speed 2 which is a decent air flow and quiet.For the flashing light alarm, I was using a thick card blue tacked over the top which worked fine. But this new type of beeping alarm there is no solution.The design is terrible. Why do we need to be woken up in the middle of the night in a variety of ways? Why is the inner filter a loud constant beeping - is it because the inner one you are supposed to pay money for the new filter and so a special alarm is needed to make sure the whole house is woken up to be aware of the fact?If you remember to turn the fan down to sleep mode every night and turn it back up every morning this is a good quality air filter. Just bear in mind that if you forget to do it, that will probably be the night that you get woken up at 3am.

Kit

  • 23 Mar 2020, Mon
An excellent effective air purifier
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this purifier after my wife ended up in hospital due to an allergen reaction. I read lots of reviews and settled on this one. It was a superb purchase. It was easy enough to set up on both my iPhone and my wife's Samsung.Is it effective ? Yes yes yes. If you set it on auto and let it do its thing it will suddenly up the power levels to clean the air if allergens are detected. Whilst I was trying to remove all sources of allergens in our bedroom I left this running. After I had removed the carpet it went crazy and I watched in amazement as the levels went up on the app. It did the same when I shook the curtains. It lowered the levels within an 30 minutes or less from very high levels.It has several settings including a virus and bacteria mode.At night when it's on silent the lights are off and it runs on a low fan speed, it is extremely quiet and causes no disturbance for us.I know it's working as my wife's breathing is so much better and even she notices how much better the air is in the room. I will be getting a couple more for other areas of the house.

Amazon Customer
  • 01 Feb 2020, Sat
Monitor + Purifier has really helped / London air pollution
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

While there are other more sophisticated stand alone monitors, this monitor and app is easy to set up and completely fine to measure the important PMI 2.5 metric. It doesn't do NOX/VOX/CO.However that monitor will be enough to tell you that it is working.The purifier seems effective usually clearing out any air pollution spike within a few hours or shorter. At high speed it is medium noisy and it does take up a medium amount of space.BUT, my nasal drip / cough in the mornings has been cleared up (I am in West London) and if you think the evidence of the negative impacts of air pollution are strong enough to do something.*I’ve had a long standing tickle cough off/on living in London, but I notice it disappears sometimes when travelling. So, I thought I should measure the air pollution (particularly PM2.5) in my home and perhaps filter.It turns out over the week or so I’ve had my monitor and purifier that significant periods of the day are above 10 µg/m³ which is the WHO recommended level. Now, it’s much worse in poor countries and where cooking is on open stove and dirty fuels, but still that’s higher than I thought or would want.WHO say “…Small particulate pollution have health impacts even at very low concentrations – indeed no threshold has been identified below which no damage to health is observed.”WHO recommends: Fine Particulate Matter (PM2.5)10 μg/m3 annual mean25 μg/m3 24-hour meanI can’t as yet see any particular direct causes for the pollution spikes I am seeing - although one was definitely around cooking, and I think weather has an impact, but I’m glad for the monitor and purifier and if you have the spare wealth I would recommend buying an air purifier and monitor.

B. Yeoh
  • 29 Jan 2020, Wed
Really easy to clean
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I used to have a humidifier with a traditional lift-off water tank. This traditional design is very common but it's also difficult to clean the inside of the tank. I wanted a humidifier that was easy to clean/maintain, and this Philips option ticked all the boxes. It's easy to clean, maintain and keep hygienic because the water container is just like a large bowl/bucket, with smooth sides.Unlike other humidifiers, this one doesn't leave damp spots nearby on the walls or ceiling. Our previous humidifier left stains on the walls. The moist air that comes out of this humidifier seems to stay in the air longer too, leading to increased room humidity. Our previous humidifier sent a stream of mist into the air, but it quickly fell to and dampened the floor beneath. This Philips model seems to saturate the air more effectively.As there is no heating element, I feel much safer running this in the bedroom at night. This could be pure paranoia, but I am always concerned about running electrical heating equipment in the bedroom while asleep (fan heaters, electric blankets etc.)The reason I purchased this was my partner became ill suddenly with a really bad flu. His cough was rather violent and it was horrible watching him suffer. I had read that the American Center for Disease Control recommend humidifiers to help alleviate troublesome coughing and so we decided on this model because we wanted something easy to clean, hygienic and available really quickly, within 24 hours, through Amazon Prime.This has really improved my partners comfort. The coughing is far less frequent, less dramatic/forceful and because the machine is lightweight, it's really easy to transport to and from the living room and bedroom when he's getting up or going to bed. The design of the humidifier ensures there's no splashing/spilling of water on the floor during lifting/transport.This humidifier uses a technology that is much like an evaporative cooler. There is a honeycomb structure inside the device that looks like a sponge. This sponge-like compone

Robin Holiday
  • 14 Jan 2020, Tue
Amazing dust capture. Has prevented Asthma attacks.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My 3 year old son has Asthma and after 5 serious attacks in as many months i decided to purchase this along with some other smaller/ cheaper models. First and foremost, since purchasing these purifiers, my son has not once had a asthma attack, this may well be coincidence and his lungs maybe are getting stronger but i certainly can't ignore the difference these purifiers have made.The Philips 3000i was required in our very large lounge diner. I am astonished and a little embarrassed at how much dust is trapped in the pre-filter (note this will need vacuuming at regular monthly intervals to remove blockages and build up of dust). I have still not been required to replace the main HEPA and Charcoal filter which is monitored by the unit. By downloading the App you can adjust settings, review historic air condition and monitor filter life. An expensive but incredibly efficient worthwhile machine. Really like the child lock to prevent kids adjusting the settings.

Ben
  • 14 Jan 2020, Tue
Amazing dust capture. Has prevented Asthma attacks.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

My 3 year old son has Asthma and after 5 serious attacks in as many months i decided to purchase this along with some other smaller/ cheaper models. First and foremost, since purchasing these purifiers, my son has not once had a asthma attack, this may well be coincidence and his lungs maybe are getting stronger but i certainly can't ignore the difference these purifiers have made.The Philips 3000i was required in our very large lounge diner. I am astonished and a little embarrassed at how much dust is trapped in the pre-filter (note this will need vacuuming at regular monthly intervals to remove blockages and build up of dust). I have still not been required to replace the main HEPA and Charcoal filter which is monitored by the unit. By downloading the App you can adjust settings, review historic air condition and monitor filter life. An expensive but incredibly efficient worthwhile machine. Really like the child lock to prevent kids adjusting the settings.

Ben
  • 06 Dec 2019, Fri
You need a fresh air system rather than a purifier
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this to battle with hey fever which was particularly strong this year.The purifier definitely works, you can feel the air becomes much fresher and easier to breath. It also filters a lot other particles and dusts in the air, the room becomes cleaner than before.My symptom did improve but not that much. I feel completely normal when I stay in an air conditioned office which has fresh air system, but with the purifier, it only improves a little. I find taking pills are much more effective and cheaper.I'd keep using this as it does work to clean the air.Just a tip, I recently got rid of the down duvet and pillow and this helped a lot with my allergy.

Madwyn
  • 29 Nov 2019, Fri
Great! Don't worry too much about the noise
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've read complains on how noisy this air purifier is, but having grown up with a Honeywell high capacity air purifier, this one is really quiet in comparison. Noise is something that is relative and I just don't trust a quiet air purifier. This is brilliant as it has a sensor which can auto adjust itself. I am allergic to dust so this really helped me when I moved to a new apartment just by the road which has a lot more dust than my previous place. Highly recommended

J. H. Teo
  • 14 Nov 2019, Thu
They are good devices - but so expensive
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

We bought these after buying some cats and working out that some of the family members are allergic.I’m not, but I have noticed a difference in air quality since we purchased the deceive which I was surprised about.It’s not completely silent at night but very quiet.The only really problem with the device is just how expensive it is versus other devices on the market but this is probably one of those cases where you get what you pay for.

Honest & Informed
  • 12 Nov 2019, Tue
It change my life and my family's
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Call it placebo effect, but since we've installed this in our small flat, everyone felt the difference especially in sleep quality.Waking up in the morning without headache and sneezing is definitely worth the price paid.We also cleaned and dusted up the entire flat for a week to make sure all deposited dust and dirt was removed. This will help for the future and the air purifier to kill dust mites and bacteria in the air.If you think its a hokum, your are wrong. ;-)This purifier is perfect for flats or rooms up to 79 Square meter and if you have smokers, pets or an incredibly cluttered apartment.

Frank
  • 02 Nov 2019, Sat
No other air purifier will work like a Philips
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

If you are an allergy sufferer or just want to breath the cleanest air possible then this is a great buy, the sensing technology is not available on other lessor brands works just like professional equipment, I bought mine to filter out smoke that comes in from next door, and it filters out all the smoke and smells, I wouldn't be without it, I bought 3 more Philips purifiers on the back of this one!

Duane0001
  • 12 Oct 2019, Sat
It is a necessity!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Never knew air purifier was a necessity for us. We live on the ground floor and can't keep windows open all the time. This air purifier has turned out to be a blessing as my child gets stuffy nose quite often due to dust allergy. It was effective from the first night and he has sound sleep. One can feel the before and after difference in the air quality and I wish I had got this before.Like other reviewers I would say the ap is beyond crap, keeps disconnecting, although it us quite useful when connected as it gives you the ease to control it remotely. It doesn't bother me much though as the control panel at its top has all the functions. They must lower the price though!Top tip for winter season is to use it a bit away from your bed to avoid cold air, but it is essential as it captures mould spores as well (Use allergen or bacteria and virus mode) - It is not a bacteria or virus eliminator but rather captures its particles and reduces its effect in air.Highly recommend it for people who need fresher air especially in the winter season when its too cold to open a window!

Loyal Buyer

  • 10 Oct 2019, Thu
It flashes FO at me when I try to turn it on. Which is a bit rude,
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

his stopped working after 2 weeks.It flashes FO at me when I try to turn it on. Which is a bit rude,i suspect this is an easily cured problem which would have been simply answered by the manufacturer if they had a proper support function which was searcheable, or even a better Q & A. I cannot be the first person to whom this has happened.I take it FO is an error message and inside it sort of suggests it is the outer filter needs cleaning and that after you have done that you press the fo light for 3 seconds but that has not worked. I spent 20 minutes trying to ask Philips web site online service why my AC3259/60 Series 3000i stopped working after 2 weeks. I then tried to find a manual or anything saying why it is flashing FO at me. all I can say is this is the worst "help" site ever. Amazon are sending it back but that is not a great answer.

Amazon Customer
  • 28 Sep 2019, Sat
Filter issue
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The product is overall good but the filterOnly lasted a week and now gives some very bad smell .Would need to buy a new one maybe few ofThey keep on lasting week only

Syed Ali Andrabi
  • 22 Sep 2019, Sun
Watch what you buy.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

It worked for only three days. Was returned for repair and has not yet been returned.

Kenneth Gane
  • 17 Sep 2019, Tue
Best thing I’ve bought in years
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I’m writing about this product because I genuinely feel this is a game changer. I suffer from allergies such as hay fever and also dust. My body thinks dust is pollen and they are the same thing when I don’t have hay fever I have hot air heating that can initially blow out dust and make it circulate around my home, and my house is pretty dust free as I’m clean freak.This product does what it says on the tin. It’s not cheap to buy and the filters are a little pricy but I don’t get streaming eyes sore throats anymore.I do have a career as Cabin crew. When my hay-fever is at its worst all I want is to be in an air condoned room or on a plane at 40’000 ft away from the pollen.I have a two bedroom house on two floors I have one in my hallway upstairs and one in my living room. Within 30 mins I notice a huge difference.You need to think about how big your property is to get the best benefits.You need to think about the size of your property and is it on one floor or two. If on two levels I’d buy two of these air purifiers.I pop it on for maybe 2 hours a day max.It has the energy efficiency sticker on it so I believe it should not cost the earth to run.Ergonomically it’s fairly attractive and looks good in a modern home it’s not small be aware, but that’s good as the bigger the machine I think it’s far more affective.Like I mentioned earlier I travel the world ???? it connects to your Wi-Fi so you can control on your smart phone even graphs so you can monitor the air quality . When the air quality goes down it sends me a text message when it’s off anywhere around the world so just like a hive central heating unit you can just switch it on remotely.The fab thing is when I land back in the Uk I can turn it on remotely from my phone and 30 mins later when I’m home the air is clean and I’m not sneezing. In fact it’s so affective the first week you may still sneeze ???? as your body adjusts to clean air.It took a couple of attempts to set up Wi-Fi you hover the Bony part of your thumb and finger on it very gently and it will

Jono
  • 11 Sep 2019, Wed
Good, with an app for control
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Although this arrives seemingly fully assembled, you need to remove the filters, unwrap them and then refit. Easy to do and then you are ready to switch on.There is an app you can download for full control but you can also manually do so without using it. I found it easy to download and pair the purifier, then having access to information about air quality.It is interesting to watch the purifier in action, particularly the light at the front, which gives a visual display of air qualiy, showing mostly blue but turning magenta whenever one of the cats gets too close. Perhaps it just doesn’t like cats, but I suspect it is picking up something shaken from fur.I like the fact that this is boxed with cardboard padding rather than plastic or polystyrene, which means you can recycle the vast majority of the packaging.Overall, I found this made a difference to the air quality in my room, making it fresher and more vibrant. Pollen is much reduced, so I find huge relief from hay fever symptoms whilst this is running. It can be left on constantly and is mainly just a background hum that you can barely hear, other than when it ramps up the fans when it detects something that needs to be addressed. I think it is great and particularly useful during hay fever season.

Dolphin
  • 11 Sep 2019, Wed
Loud winding/vibrations at low speed
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very good for purifying air however level 1 or sleep mode causes it to make winding noises and loud vibrations..very annoying as you would normally run those modes at bed time and the noises are constant

Costa
  • 04 Aug 2019, Sun
Good product but died early.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The Filter is very quiet on the lowest setting and in the automatic mode it would adjust it's speed to the optimal setting. The WiFi and app allow you to control it remotely and get air quality status over time. It's a good product but unfortunately a few weeks after we got it, there was a smell of burning electronics from it and then after that it would just go up to maximum speed and remain there until rebooted. Philips were unable to fix it in a reasonable time frame and had "no stock" to replace it.

Redmoting
Size:Humidifier Combi

Product Description

Visualize and control your air - anywhere, anytime. This 2-in-1 purifier and humidifier balances its two functions to perform in rooms up to 80 m2 against allergens, dry air discomfort, harmful gases, particles, bacteria & viruses.

Box Contains

2-in-1 air purifier and humidifier. User manual. Guarantee.

Brand Philips
Model Number AC3829/60
Colour White
Item Weight 8.42 Kg
Package Dimensions 80 x 49 x 39 cm
Volume Capacity 1 litres
Power / Wattage 1 watts
Voltage 220
Material Plastic
Number of Speeds 4