Qualityreviews logo

Winix P-300
Winix
B01D9UDFDG


Brand: Winix
5
46%
(12)
4
27%
(7)
3
19%
(5)
2
8%
(2)
1
0%
(0)
Review 26 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Winix P-300)
  • 23 May 2020, Sat
Clean and fresh air
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this 4 months ago. The idea is great but I don’t see a huge benefit from the air quality in terms of cutting dog smell. It does when my wife cooks something smelly reduce that smell. And it is surely sucking out a lot of dust particles from the condition of the filter. Although it just might be a bit weak for my requirement. I have a 35sqm2 extending into a 15sqm2 open door kitchen. I might need something more powerful. I do find the air fresher when it runs. I think it’s awesome for a small room. Make sure you change the charcoal filter on time to get maximum benefit.

Paul Raja
  • 16 Oct 2019, Wed
Best Air Purifier for small rooms
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This looks like a simple unit, but operates better than expected."Quiet" mode has almost no sound, but still works and perfect for sleeping. Medium mode works almost like a quiet mode, it is a normal sound especially you are used to laptop fans. High mode has a sound like a full power laptop fan. If you are living in a city, background noise will be higher than the sound of this mode. Then the "Turbo" mode, the sound of this mode is similar to a "silent" vacuum cleaner. It is still tolerable for day time, but you will not prefer to use this mode during sleeping.I am not sure how it will work for a long time usage, but for short time usage it works like a charm. Cleans the dust on the air wonderfully and holds everything on its filters.Thanks to this unit, I can sleep at nights without any respiration problem.

Murat Öğüt

  • 16 Oct 2019, Wed
Best Air Purifier for small rooms
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This looks like a simple unit, but operates better than expected.

"Quiet" mode has almost no sound, but still works and perfect for sleeping. Medium mode works almost like a quiet mode, it is a normal sound especially you are used to laptop fans. High mode has a sound like a full power laptop fan. If you are living in a city, background noise will be higher than the sound of this mode. Then the "Turbo" mode, the sound of this mode is similar to a "silent" vacuum cleaner. It is still tolerable for day time, but you will not prefer to use this mode during sleeping.

I am not sure how it will work for a long time usage, but for short time usage it works like a charm. Cleans the dust on the air wonderfully and holds everything on its filters.
Thanks to this unit, I can sleep at nights without any respiration problem.

Murat Öğüt
  • 27 Sep 2019, Fri
Quiet & good value for money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Day 5 of having it. Impressed so far, especially of how quiet it functions. Child noticeably sleeps better at night. Recommend

Amazon Customer
  • 08 Sep 2019, Sun
Good quality air purifier
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great air purifier. Used to wake in the morning with a sore throat, but this has stopped that completely. It's quiet on the lower setting but does get loud if you use the maximum. I tend to leave it on auto or low overnight which works well.I spent ages looking at the bigger brands like Dyson and Vax, but came across this one on another site and very happy with my purchase. Got it on offer with £40 off and inclides enough filters for 1 year. Winix support also said you can use the filter kit from the more expensive u300 model so I will probably do that next time as it has extra stages and is a similar price I think.

mistrip
  • 08 Sep 2019, Sun
Good quality air purifier
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great air purifier. Used to wake in the morning with a sore throat, but this has stopped that completely. It's quiet on the lower setting but does get loud if you use the maximum. I tend to leave it on auto or low overnight which works well.

I spent ages looking at the bigger brands like Dyson and Vax, but came across this one on another site and very happy with my purchase. Got it on offer with £40 off and inclides enough filters for 1 year. Winix support also said you can use the filter kit from the more expensive u300 model so I will probably do that next time as it has extra stages and is a similar price I think.

mistrip
  • 29 Jun 2019, Sat
Great machine quite and effective
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great value for money this machine. The slow mode is exceptionally quite. Even whilst falling asleep I dont hear it, nor does the display lighting bother me.

George
  • 16 Jun 2019, Sun
Peaceful air purifier
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The Winix P150 is the smallest in Winix’ range of home air purifiers. The ‘P’ represents their ‘FresHome’ series, whilst the ‘U’ versions represent their signature version (which costs more). There is no signature version of the P150. There is also the newer ‘ZERO’ range, and ‘Tower Q’ range.As you can see from the description, it is effective at removing 8 allergens from the air including dust, pet dander, hair/fur, pollen, mould spores, tobacco smoke, household odours and chemical vapours.From my experience, I find it very good at removing dust (as evidenced by the dust collected in the filter) and chemical vapours. It kicks into overdrive when I’m spraying deodorant around! It’s suitable for smaller rooms, so for large dining rooms, you may wish to consider the Winix Zero+.I also think it will be useful at reducing viruses in the air due to its PlasmaWave® technology which the website says creates Hydroxyls to neutralize viruses and gases.There are 4 speed settings (Turbo, High, Medium, Quiet) and an auto setting which speeds up the air flow if any of the allergens above are detected. I tend to keep it in the auto setting and it’s pleasing to hear it increase from time to time suggesting the air quality sensor is working well. With the light sensor, it ensures it works quietly at night so as to not wake you.The filters can be a pricey consumable. A set can cost £30 to £40 and includes a single white HEPA filter (change yearly) and 4 black carbon pre-filters (change quarterly). The black filters can be vacuumed easily to extend their life, but not so much the HEPA filter (in my opinion) . And you can only buy the HEPA filter with the pre-filters.What I find confusing is the stages of air filtration. The company websites cites 3 stages composed of a FINE MESH PRE-FILTER, a CARBON SHEET FILTER and the HEPA FILTER, but you can’t buy the fine meshed filter, and there wasn’t one supplied with the unit. However, the box shows the 3 stages as CARBON SHEET FILTER, HEPA FILTER then the PlasmaWave feature.This purifier

Ian Vincent
  • 15 Jun 2019, Sat
Surprisingly good machine
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Wasnt sure about these but it works superbly with animals and smoke

Andrew
  • 03 Jun 2019, Mon
Nice looking, quiet and effective in use e.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Initial review as in use few days only.Quiet machine even on high fan option & sleep mode is silent but still air intake is low but better than others I have tried.The absorbant carbon prefilter is thin unfortunately so its effectiveness is debatable.No odious out gassing of plastic smells noticed on first use that many other manufacturers machines emit and claim the cause being newness and will fade but never does.The plasmawave technology claims ozone produced is within acceptable levels but I prefere no ozone produced so I dont use this option.Purchased this to reduce bird dander in the home so time will tell how effective it is.Its certainly picking up smaller birds feathers and dander so far this is why I purchased it so am pleased.Update later.In use little over a week now.Picking up smaller bird feathers and dander from my pet birds very well even on the lower setting.It combates the bird smell and burd seed smell very well.Will purchase an additional unit.Very good purifier.Hope its built to last.Watch this space.

Chris
  • 05 May 2019, Sun
Great air purifier, with a few faults
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Purchased this item to help with my allergies and hayfever. Unfortunately it has not helped as much as I would have liked, I’m not sure if this is an issue with being allergic to something else that isn’t airborne, or the design of the purifier itself. Either way, i’ll be returning partially due to this, and partially due to some other annoyances with the unitThe unit itself is solid, relatively silent on the quiet setting, and would react to certain scents and occasionally on its own to something I presume that has entered the room. On its loudest setting it really pushes the air around the room, and their was visible dust on the charcoal filter within the first few days of receiving the unit.However, there were something’s where I expected the unit to work well and it did not. Namely being able to move it around. Every time it is moved/knocked both the HEPA filter and charcoal filter manage to fall out of their slot, and do not lock properly in place. Twice I’ve found a nice big gap where the filter should be, which probably isn’t helping filter the air! This combined with situations where the purifier should excel not even reacting on automatic or making a difference to the air quality, means I’ll unfortunately be returning the unit for a refund.

MeltonMow
  • 06 Mar 2019, Wed
Reasonably good
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Been using this a while now at home. Definitely works, however, can take a while to detect a change in odour. Found the Blue Air 200 series much more responsive though it's 2-3 times dearer than this product. If you can afford it, go for a Blue Air otherwise, this alternative may suffice.

Sue
  • 19 Feb 2019, Tue
Very happy with the purchase!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

You will notice a huge difference in air quality within about 30 mins. I have owned many air purifiers over last several years and this is definitely the best.Apart from being very effective at cleaning the air from pollen and other impurities, it has the following great features:* Very quiet at Low setting. You can't hear it even at night time.* Auto mode. Automatically adjusts the speed depending on the air pollution level.* Light sensor. Prevents the purifier from switching to High setting when it is dark. My previous purifier used to switch to High setting occasionally, waking me up at night.* Easy maintenance/cleaning. The entire front panel can be removed, providing easy access to clean the inside of the unit. This is in contrast to purifiers from other brands, where replacement filters are inserted from the side of the unit, and are therefore difficult to clean.The previous reviewer mentioned a few things that were wrong because he probably did not read the instructions:* The PlasmaWave feature can be easily turned off by pressing the "Auto" button and keeping it pressed for 3 seconds. I tried it many times and it works like a charm.* The air purity sensor picks up the air from inside the unit (thus measuring the residual pollution level), so it does not really matter whether the air flows over panel. The unit is quite effective at reacting to ambient air pollution levels.Overall, I think this is the best purifier you can get for this price and I am very happy with my purchase.

Beppe121

  • 19 Feb 2019, Tue
Very happy with the purchase!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

You will notice a huge difference in air quality within about 30 mins. I have owned many air purifiers over last several years and this is definitely the best.

Apart from being very effective at cleaning the air from pollen and other impurities, it has the following great features:
* Very quiet at Low setting. You can't hear it even at night time.
* Auto mode. Automatically adjusts the speed depending on the air pollution level.
* Light sensor. Prevents the purifier from switching to High setting when it is dark. My previous purifier used to switch to High setting occasionally, waking me up at night.
* Easy maintenance/cleaning. The entire front panel can be removed, providing easy access to clean the inside of the unit. This is in contrast to purifiers from other brands, where replacement filters are inserted from the side of the unit, and are therefore difficult to clean.

The previous reviewer mentioned a few things that were wrong because he probably did not read the instructions:
* The PlasmaWave feature can be easily turned off by pressing the "Auto" button and keeping it pressed for 3 seconds. I tried it many times and it works like a charm.
* The air purity sensor picks up the air from inside the unit (thus measuring the residual pollution level), so it does not really matter whether the air flows over panel. The unit is quite effective at reacting to ambient air pollution levels.

Overall, I think this is the best purifier you can get for this price and I am very happy with my purchase.

Beppe121
  • 16 Feb 2019, Sat
Well made and seems to work
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Thought long and hard about this purchase. Bought it to improve the air quality and banish stale smells.But, it seems to be able to detect particles in the air and ramps itself into turbo action even if I spray fragrance several rooms away.It is good at banishing damp smells and pushing the air around as the fan is very powerful. It remains to be seen if it deals with pollen, will update this in the Summer.Update. This machine takes pollen out of the room, it's best to keep it running all day though.The refills are quire expensuve, but worthwhile buying after a year of moderate use.

Louise
  • 16 Feb 2019, Sat
Well made and seems to work
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Thought long and hard about this purchase. Bought it to improve the air quality and banish stale smells.

But, it seems to be able to detect particles in the air and ramps itself into turbo action even if I spray fragrance several rooms away.

It is good at banishing damp smells and pushing the air around as the fan is very powerful. It remains to be seen if it deals with pollen, will update this in the Summer.

Update. This machine takes pollen out of the room, it's best to keep it running all day though.

The refills are quire expensuve, but worthwhile buying after a year of moderate use.

Louise
  • 29 Nov 2018, Thu
Great Cleaning!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I love this product, the air is much fresher especially with 3 dogs running around creating dust. It is super quiet and is a compact efficient unit. I highly recommend this

Toni
  • 15 Dec 2016, Thu
Appears to have a design flaw :-/
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I chose the WINIX FresHome P150 Air Purifier as it had good reviews. I realise this is no guarantee so, as always, I checked the URL (web address) of the item in fakespot . com, which does analysis on all reviews and grades the quality of them. What surprised me was that fakespot gave the item reviews a grade A, even though ALL 7 reviews prior to mine were from Vine reviewers who got the item for free. But I gave it the benefit of the doubt and went ahead and bought it.
I should say that it's a sleek looking item and seems to be a reasonable build quality. When I set it up and turned it on it went through the expected few minutes of flashing lights and then settled down on the minimum (quiet) setting. How surprised was I to learn I've got a clean lounge with 'good' air quality?! (I'm a single guy and I don't hoover often!) For information, there is a reasonable outflow of air from the top of the unit, even on the quiet setting.
It stayed on the quiet setting the whole time, and it is very quiet - I would say in a bedroom on that setting it is probably quieter than a partner's breathing! I tried it on other settings and the volume does increase, the maximum setting creates a noise level probably close to a cooker extractor hood on it's lowest setting.

However, later in the day the neighbour's cat came in - I expected the purifier to burst into action as 'everyone knows' how much dander and dust pets give off into the air. But no, it stayed quietly on the lowest setting. I was surprised at this and checked the air quality sensors weren't clogged up (even though it had only been on a few hours), but they weren't - obviously because I have seen a clean house ;-)

I then tried to trigger the unit to go onto a higher setting, first by swirling a towel around, then doing a bit of dusting. Nothing - not a peep out of the purifier, it just stayed on low. So I had an idea that I though was sure to work - I dusted around the house and then shook the duster immediately over the unit.... no effect whatsoeve

marc
  • 15 Dec 2016, Thu
Appears to have a design flaw :-/
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I chose the WINIX FresHome P150 Air Purifier as it had good reviews. I realise this is no guarantee so, as always, I checked the URL (web address) of the item in fakespot . com, which does analysis on all reviews and grades the quality of them. What surprised me was that fakespot gave the item reviews a grade A, even though ALL 7 reviews prior to mine were from Vine reviewers who got the item for free. But I gave it the benefit of the doubt and went ahead and bought it.I should say that it's a sleek looking item and seems to be a reasonable build quality. When I set it up and turned it on it went through the expected few minutes of flashing lights and then settled down on the minimum (quiet) setting. How surprised was I to learn I've got a clean lounge with 'good' air quality?! (I'm a single guy and I don't hoover often!) For information, there is a reasonable outflow of air from the top of the unit, even on the quiet setting.It stayed on the quiet setting the whole time, and it is very quiet - I would say in a bedroom on that setting it is probably quieter than a partner's breathing! I tried it on other settings and the volume does increase, the maximum setting creates a noise level probably close to a cooker extractor hood on it's lowest setting.However, later in the day the neighbour's cat came in - I expected the purifier to burst into action as 'everyone knows' how much dander and dust pets give off into the air. But no, it stayed quietly on the lowest setting. I was surprised at this and checked the air quality sensors weren't clogged up (even though it had only been on a few hours), but they weren't - obviously because I have seen a clean house ;-)I then tried to trigger the unit to go onto a higher setting, first by swirling a towel around, then doing a bit of dusting. Nothing - not a peep out of the purifier, it just stayed on low. So I had an idea that I though was sure to work - I dusted around the house and then shook the duster immediately over the unit.... no effect whatsoever.Then I noticed that th

marc
  • 25 Dec 2015, Fri
This is useful to have in the house when you have pets
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This air purifier is simple and sleek looking, is fairly quiet when in use and does an effective job in helping to filter the air. An indicator on it assesses the air quality of your room and will change accordingly, as it gets to work. The auto-mode allows the purifier to adjust the fans accordingly to keep on top of anything that occurs whilst you are using the device, such as smoke arising from cooking.This is useful to have in the house when you have pets, as helps catch stray fur and reduce any odours that will occur. It has helped when used in advance of friends with animal fur allergies coming over, with their symptoms being lessened than they have been at other times in the past. I have also found it effective in helping eliminate smoke in the air when in use with both our open fire and when cooking. I have not been able to assess how effective it is in the fight against pollen, due to the time of year, but will update the review if I feel there is anything significant to report.The size allows it to be tucked away fairly easily and the design means that it is not overly noticeable in the room if left out when not in use. The light is fairly bright though and it does generate some noise, so it is noticeable when it is in use. It seems energy efficient, as since it has been used fairly regularly (my partner suffers an allergy and since this is certified to help fight allergens, it can be a reassuring household item to have in use), it does not seem to have impacted on energy usage. It can be hard to gauge exactly how effective devices like this are, but it certainly does seem to have had some impact on air quality and removing certain pollutants and so I give it four stars.

J.E.T
Size:Living room

Product Description

The WINIX P300 Air Purifier combines advanced air cleaning technologies designed to capture dust, pollen, pet dander, smoke, mould spores, organic, and household odours. For rooms up to 30 square meters.

Box Contains

• 1x Winix Air Purifier P300 • 4x Carbon Pre-Filters • 1x True HEPA Filter • 1x Use & Care Guide • 1x Remote control • 1x 3V Lithium Battery (CR2025 installed in remote)

Brand Winix
Model Number 133100
Item Weight 7 Kg
Package Dimensions 60 x 31.4 x 27.4 cm
Voltage 230 volts
Number of Speeds 4
Energy Efficiency Class A+++
Noise Level 55 dB