Qualityreviews logo

Asus X540LA-DM1052T
ASUS
B07FYCXRY7


Brand: ASUS
5
32%
(13)
4
17%
(7)
3
5%
(2)
2
5%
(2)
1
41%
(17)
Review 41 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Asus X540LA-DM1052T)
  • 10 Jul 2020, Fri
LAPTOP HAS SO MANY PROBLEMS
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

THE LAPTOP HAS SO MANY PROBLEMS . THE SCREEN IS GLITCH Y AND HAS GREEN SCREEN AND ALSO THE USB PORT IS BROKEN. THERE IS SOME SOUND THAT KEEPS ANNOYING ME.

MRS Nanthini Jeyabalan
  • 21 Apr 2020, Tue
slow and crashes all the time
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Despite not using heavy programs, just light day-to-day browsing, the computer crashes almost every day, requiring a restart. A feather!

Vinícius de Paula

  • 20 Mar 2020, Fri
Do not waste your money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Absolute rubbish,nothing is good about this so call laptop

Amazon Customer
  • 26 Feb 2020, Wed
Nice little laptop for the price...
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Came with no operating system, but was needed urgently...so put Linux on it..Customer extremely happy..

ghumphr1
  • 07 Feb 2020, Fri
Good laptop, but freezes and cuts out
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Freezes and cuts out ???

Philip E Anobah
  • 04 Feb 2020, Tue
Not impressed
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Didnt last that long before it developed a fault leaving the screen blank.Returned and refund given.

RolandFox
  • 03 Feb 2020, Mon
It's brilliant
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Love this laptop and really good for the price

victoria allen
  • 30 Jan 2020, Thu
Affordable
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Decent day to day use laptop

Stafie
  • 24 Dec 2019, Tue
poor quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

according to your ad about this laptop it has an 8 hour battery but it has not it barely lasts 2 hours the screen is very dull even though the brightness is set to maximum i will be sending it back for a full refund.

steve
  • 08 Dec 2019, Sun
Don't Buy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I don't know where to begin, the screen is very dark even when charging so you practically can't watch anything when the room is even moderaltely lit. The sound is very low so I always have to connect it to headphones even when I'm watching on my own. The monitor doesn't bend back enough so it's not very comfortable to work with. I sadly didn't get to use it enough before the return deadline so now I'm stuck with it! very poor value for money I wouldn't recommend buying it.

Ammar
  • 23 Nov 2019, Sat
Don’t buy
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Very poor laptop.So slowTerrible.

Abdelmonim Elhakim
  • 13 Nov 2019, Wed
For the price this laptop cant be beat
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This laptop for the price cant be beat easy to use very light for the size so easy to carry round

Amazon Customer
  • 04 Nov 2019, Mon
Laptop
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Meets my needs well

Pee Jay

  • 12 Oct 2019, Sat
Defective
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Its very slow and defective since the day I bought it...

Praveen
  • 17 Sep 2019, Tue
Do not buy in 2019....Lasted 30 mins
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Bought this cheap laptop for my brother. It only lasted 30 mins, after a restart it kept showing a blank screen. It's also ridiculously slow, especially coming from a mac user. Although its cheap i say pay that little extra and buy something worthwhile like a Lenovo with more Ram, better processor and a SSD.

Tahseen Choudhury
  • 06 Sep 2019, Fri
Well worth the money.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Arrived quickly,excellent laptop,plenty of computing power and fabulous screen quality

Richard Wayne
  • 22 Aug 2019, Thu
Mmmmmmm!!!!!!!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Wot can i say returned slow giving errors all the time take it off the market bought a chromebook instead

Amazon Customer
  • 20 Aug 2019, Tue
Very good value for money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

All excellent

Amazon Customer
  • 18 Aug 2019, Sun
Poor performance
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This laptop is inexpensive, however that doesn't excuse the really poor performance. This laptop will struggle to play YouTube videos where there is no internet issues. I don't know what processor it uses but this laptop has to run at pretty much 100% capacity regardless of what you are doing.

Amazon Customer
  • 13 Aug 2019, Tue
Near perfect laptop for the price
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

First I should say I bought this on a 'Black Friday' type deal at a lower price than it is normally, so bear that in mind for this review...

Pros:

+Excellent 15.6" full HD screen (1920x1080). In this day and age where many circa 6" phone screens are 2k or 4k resolution, I find it odd that many 15.6" laptops still come with screens less than 1080p, yet many are indeed still only 1366x768 (768p)! This screen produces good enough colours and at full brightness is bright enough in a typical indoor environment on a bright sunny day (you'd struggle outside though).

+Excellent track pad. It works exactly as expected and the two-finger scrolling gesture (the best scrolling method imo) works very well.

+Good battery life. It's not going to last all day, but typically you will get the circa 4 hours life advertised when not plugged in.

+Build quality is good enough & seems better than most laptops in this price range.

+The built in speakers are good, they're not going to blow you away obviously, but they are far better than most laptops in this price bracket (and some more expensive models!).

+USB type C port, this is the latest and greatest USB connector and is featured on this model. Many laptops in this price bracket are yet to offer USB-C.

+Not too much bloat-ware installed from the factory. I was surprised to see little in the way of unnecessary software installed on this with only a couple of pointless or plain not-very-good programs that I uninstalled (*cough* McAfee Anti-virus *cough*)

+It's fast. The Ryzen R3-2200U processor is bang up-to-date and is fast & efficient. Put this into a CPU comparison website and you'll find this is very similar (and indeed better in some ways, most notably the built in GPU) to an entry level i3 8th generation processor. Think about it, most laptops in this price range come with Intel processors but you'd only be getting a lowly Pentium or the likes with a poor GPU, thus this AMD Ryzen makes much more sense here.

Anonymous
Size Name:Full HD Screen  |  Style Name:Intel i3 Processor

Product Description

Designed for Productivity and Entertainment

ASUS X540 is powered by the Intel processors with 4GB RAM. It's the ideal laptop for daily computing and entertainment.

Faster and Easier Connections with USB Type-C

The new reversible USB Type-C port makes connecting devices much easier; and gives you super-fast USB 3.1 Gen 1 speeds of up to 5Gbit/s so you can transfer a 2GB movie to a USB drive in less than 2 seconds! Its compact port design even helps preserve X540's thin dimensions. The X540 still carries the traditional USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 ports to ensure compatibility with all your USB devices. X540 has additional connectivity options including HDMI and VGA output for external displays, a 3-in-1 SD/SDHC/SDXC card reader, an RJ-45 Ethernet port, and a DVD Super Multi optical disc drive.

Expansive Audio, Tuned by Experts

A mixture of hardware, software, and tuning, SonicMaster was developed with the clear goal of giving you the best notebook PC audio. A professional codec ensures precise sound performance; while an optimised amplifier, larger speakers and resonance chambers deliver powerful audio output and deeper bass. Additional signal processing helps fine tune the hardware, filtering noise and improving clarity so you can enjoy unrivalled audio on your X540.

Crafted Speaker design for greater sound

ASUS X540 features round speakers that maximise every cubic millimetre of available chassis space to give you better low frequency performance and reduced noise. The extra-large 19.4cc chamber provides superior bass and excellent sound clarity.

Legal Disclaimer

Product is sourced and shipped from the European Economic Area (EEA). Product is genuine original from manufacturer authorized distributors.

See more
Brand name ASUS
Item Weight 1.99 Kg
Product Dimensions 38.1 x 25.2 x 2.7 cm
Batteries: 1 Lithium ion batteries required. (included)
Item model number X540LA-DM1052T
Series Vivoboook X540LA-DM1052T
Color Black
Form Factor Laptop
Screen Size 15.6 centimetres
Screen Resolution 1920x1080
Maximum Display Resolution 1080p Full HD
Processor Brand Intel®
Processor Type Core i3-5005U
Processor Speed 2000 MHz
Processor Count 2
RAM Size 4 GB
Memory Technology DDR4
Maximum Memory Supported 4 GB
Hard Drive Size 1000 GB
Hard Disk Technology HDD
Hard Drive Interface ATA100
Graphics Coprocessor Intel HD Graphics 5500
Graphics Chipset Brand Intel
Graphics Card Description Intel HD 5500 Graphics
Graphics RAM Type Shared
Graphics Card Interface Integrated
Wireless Type 802.11b, 802.11g
Number of USB 2.0 Ports 1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports 2
Number of HDMI Ports 1
Voltage 19 volts
Optical Drive Type None
Operating System Windows 10 Home
Supported Software Microsoft
Average Battery Life (in hours) 8 hours
Lithium Battery Energy Content 33 watt_hours
Lithium Battery Packaging Batteries contained in equipment
Number Of Lithium Ion Cells 3