Qualityreviews logo

Asus ROG Strix SCAR III G531GU-AL315T
Visit the ASUS Store
B07TPNJG8S


Brand: Visit the ASUS Store
5
42%
(18)
4
23%
(10)
3
9%
(4)
2
12%
(5)
1
14%
(6)
Review 43 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Asus ROG Strix SCAR III G531GU-AL315T)
  • 22 Jul 2020, Wed
Good looking performance at a reasonable price
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have had this unit for nearly six months now and have had only one issue in that the internal drive was quickly filling up meaning that I needed to add an expansion SSD (an easy thing to do).It is light and convenient to carry about but I am not entirely confident that it is as rugged as its name suggests. I certainly would not drop it onto concrete or use it in a rain storm.

Alex B
  • 04 Jul 2020, Sat
Good budget gaming laptop
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The laptop is fairly decent for gaming, however it will definitely not be able to compare to more expensive gaming laptops and is also fairly heavy and bulky.The performance when plugged in to a charger is mid range and definitely playable for most titles but don't expect to be able to play on high settings on any triple A or GPU intensive game.

Daniel

  • 27 May 2020, Wed
Sweet!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I can't believe it took me this long to write a review. This is an awesome, fairly compact computer. It runs my games quite well, but the fan will speed up and is quite noisy. That's about the worst thing I can say about it. It starts up quickly (19 seconds according to advanced system care) and it a beauty to type on. It's light enough that I don;t mind carrying it everywhere.Ofcourse there are more powerful systems out there, and sometimes I think I should have gotten the slightly larger brother.I think it is a decent price for £1000. I paid about £400 a year ago for a basic laptop, which gave me nothing but dramas, whereas this just simply works.Games played are mostly strategy games, such as Planetfall (which really gets the fans working) and Old World.I haven't tried it on shooters.

ANDREW AHN
  • 23 May 2020, Sat
Solid but not incredible
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I have waited five months to review this, so here are my thoughts. TLDR: Some drawbacks and won't run intense newer releases but fantastic value for the price and I am happy with my purchase.I travel a lot and so bought a gaming laptop to play things I enjoy while in hotel, predominately WOT and old Strategy games such as ANNO, AOE, DOW etc. This is not the laptop for you to run recent FPS games on high settings, and was not what I purchased it for. I previously had a custom build desktop which I have upgraded multiple times over the last nine years. Therefore while far from an expert, also not an idiot (...).PositivesAesthetics / mobility - I like the look, reasonably thin and a sleek exterior. I love the red LED keyboard. It isn't light, but lighter than you would expect for a gaming laptop! The battery charger is also much smaller than expected.Screen - I find the screen quality sharp and clear - v. happy.Speed - very quick to boot and handles normal stuff and games quite well.Price - I think I paid £580 for this laptop and am very happy. Nothing at the time had the level performance without huge drawbacks.NegativesBattery life - the battery life if using for casual browsing or (as we all are these days) for Zoom calls isn't great. However, the charger is lighter than expected so not a massive issues.Software - a LOT of bloatware, but easily fixed. Biggest irritant is the AMD and ASUS software, that doesn't enable you to quickly update drivers. This is a pain if drivers are causing crashes.Build quality - does feel a little cheap on the keys - e.g. makes a vibrating noise when you type sometimes. Biggest downside with this though is the trackpad, which occasionally stops working for about 2 seconds.Upgradability - small memory can be easily fixed and RAM can be increased. What is annoying is that you can't upgrade the CPU/GPU - they are good but aren't top of the range so if you want to play new releases, this isn't for you. E.g. this can play games like WOT on Ultra, but doesn't hit the minimum requirements f

Tom S
  • 03 May 2020, Sun
Quite good machine with bit noisy fans and unwanted software.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After 5 months I think it is time to write my review. There are several things I like in this laptop like the lightweight, the mat (not reflective) screen, the long-lasting battery and that all the ports are nicely gathered at the left side of the laptop (I use the mouse at the right side). The processor and the RAM (I upgraded it to 16GB) are good enough most of the new games in high resolution (although I have tested it only on Battlefield 5 and World of Warcraft) playing st the same time youtube videos. Also, it can run easily demanding software like Photoshop, Photogrammetry and designing programs (Autocad). The only things I personally didn't like is some pre-installed software, which I had to remove because it was slowing the laptop down and was conflicting with some other programs and the fans which they keep the temperature on good levels but at cost of the loud noise. Lastly, the low profile, large keys with lightning is what I was looking for.

Panagiotis Delavinias
  • 27 Mar 2020, Fri
Not good.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This laptop is amazing for gaming MOST OF THE TIME, the laptop tries to save power by switching between the integrated graphics and the gpu which can be frustrating but otherwise it works perfectly. Very good laptop for the money and surprisingly thin and light compared to what people say. Storage isnt good tho but I can confirm there is space for a 2.5 inch hdd or ssd which I would suggest getting as the 256gb ssd has enough room for 3 decently sized games. However after a few more weeks I noticed it is buggy and freezes often which leads to me having to take off the back piece and unplug the battery just so it will re boot. Not worth the buy.

Amazon Customer
  • 04 Mar 2020, Wed
AMD and Nvidia work well
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I had this laptop a few weeks now. It been a good swap from the all AMD version. This time the dedicated video card that does push gaming along into the next level. I had no problems so far. Noise if you using headphones can be a little noisy. But the use of headphone does give you access to the built in and free to use of DTS.Keyboard so far been good, no sinking of keys. The RGB is not too bright and easy on the eye. I expect this laptop to last a couple of years until AMD themselves and get a better video card in a laptop.

MR N A Roberts
  • 29 Feb 2020, Sat
Much lower performance than expected
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I bought this for work and gaming, but was experiencing really low fps in the games I'm usually playing. I have downloaded the passmark benchmark and saw that my graphics card is performing 30% lower than the avarage score of the 1660ti mobile cards... Thats pretty much the same score as a 1650's... I have tried everything, even reinstalled windows, checked every single driver, but nothing. I'm not sure if they are intentionally misleading people or I just got a bad product, but I really expect to have some quality control for a laptop that is this expensive.

Daniel Nyul
  • 09 Feb 2020, Sun
Amazing value. Quick laptop.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Back lighting on my screen is not perfect. I have one light stronger than the others on the bottom left of the screen but can live with it. You can turn the contrast up and pretty much get rid of it.I’ve linked it up to an LG 34 inch gaming monitor and it’s amazing. This laptop is an absolute bargain.It is lightweight too.I did a lot of research before I purchased this laptop and I am not disappointed.I moved from an Apple laptop MacBook Pro.What is cool is that when you plug in an external keyboard - when you turn on number lock it also activated the laptop number keypad.I went on YouTube and easily upgraded the ram to 16gb ram which is recommended. I can’t say it was hugely different to having 8gb ram and the laptop is not significantly quieter either so I will probably upgrade to 32gb in a few months.I find the laptop is quiet loud but the fan control works well.The fact you can upgrade the laptop so easily really is a huge bonus.At the end of the day, it truly is a bargain for the money!

NK
  • 09 Feb 2020, Sun
Great entry level gaming laptop.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great laptop for entry level gaming or as a second machine. I use it mostly for travel and its been brilliant so far with no real issues. There's a free 2.5" bay internally so its easy to expand the storage when required.

pengwin654321
  • 31 Jan 2020, Fri
broken upon arrival and unable to fix
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

i recently bought this product to do some school work and play some games with it upon arrival the screen was broken and i sent it in to have repairs made after hearing that their was a problem with the motherboard which would cost me over £1000 to fix i requested to have it sent back after weeks of waiting i have finally received it back and can no longer return the product to amazon for a refund, i can feel as if i have been scammed by buying this laptop

Ryan
  • 18 Jan 2020, Sat
DO NOT BUY!!!!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

TERRIBE EXPERIENCE!!! When it arrived, I had started it up and the monitor wasnt working.I had no other choice but to send it for repair to Amazon. Once I got it back it was working perfectly. However, fast forward a couple of months later, the monitor started blinking randomanly. I did everything I could to handle the issue but it just check happening. As a result, I had to send it back.

Kash
  • 04 Jan 2020, Sat
Very Disappointed
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Stopped working after less than 2 weeks of light use. Keyboard lights but no display. No success having it repaired and no replacement available.

Vonny

  • 24 Dec 2019, Tue
Excellent laptop with good design and good cooling
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Hello want to say that this laptop is extremely good after I bought it next day I upgraded it to 32gb ddr4 memory and a 2tb hard drive. The performance is very good on this laptop and it's got a very efficient cooling system while paying any game at the highest settings it never went above 75 degrees Celsius so very very good cooling I recommend this laptop but recommend also to upgrade it after buying to take advantage of it's maximum performance. I used Kingston hyper X 32gb (16+16) and a 2tb Seagate firecuda gaming sshd.

Vasile Ilea
  • 17 Dec 2019, Tue
NOT Military grade, screen ruined by condensation from using outside for less than 2 hours!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I can not recommend this product or Asus!Performance-wise I have no real complaints, I have had some issues that might be a problem for more novice users, but some tweaking here and there brings the product up to standard.Where I have a real problem is - I used this machine outside on a cold day for a couple of hours and then put away, when I opened to use again the screen had a build-up of condensation underneath the screen. rather than filing a return I contacted Asus customer care and expressed concerns about the return as I was worried it would be deemed water damaged which could potentially void the warranty. I was met by a very rude customer service agent who completely ignored my concerns and instead became defensive and argumentative. When I complained about their inability to address my concerns they came told me to write to head office and complain! none of my concerns were answered, and I dare not send it back for them to charge me for delivery and a new screen when I could simply open it and dry it out but voiding the warranty in the process. So now I am stuck with a delicate and cheaply built machine that's no more military-grade than the box it came in. This was my first Asus purchase in about 12 years after giving them a wide birth for a similar experience when I paid £150 for a motherboard that died within a month and took other components with it! I will never buy ASUS ever again! However, if you never plan on using this device anywhere other than your front room, you should be ok lol. Asus to me stand next to apple. Avoid avoid avoid!

Amazon Customer
  • 11 Dec 2019, Wed
A Decent Gaming Laptop. Good Value for Money. Very Happy.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Glad I had choosen this laptop after a few weeks of deciding which one suits my needs best. It comes with 8gb of ram but its really not enough, buy more if you can. I upgraded to 32gb. Games fly along, quick loading, durable, and encodes video files in no time at all. Its not very slim or portable, but being a replacement desktop gaming rig, its ideal. Well worth the money. Battery life does drain very quickly and could be better, only gripe really. With full 1080p clear screen support in a 15.6" screen you cant go wrong. Highly recommended product.

dagrogster101
  • 07 Dec 2019, Sat
Very good laptop
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

The laptop is very good tested it in premiere pro where it runs like a dream and tried a couple of games and you can run them pretty well in high settings didn't have any blue screens after I had updates the drivers and the firmware. The downsides are the battery life and the noise level which can get really high when playing games if you can look past that it's a great product and would strongly recommend.

Anonymous User
  • 29 Nov 2019, Fri
Great laptop, does it's job.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Got this on black friday (week) it's a good laptop! games well, but it has a single 8GB memory modual.. so it's recommended to get another 8GB from elsewere as memory works better in dual channel! among other things it's just a 256GB m.2 with the option to add an external drive which i did and now it's great and does everything iv'e expected.

Matthew Kaye
  • 28 Nov 2019, Thu
Great High Spec Gaming laptop for half price trust in ASUS
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Amazing bit of kit, worth buying a second sata for storage really easy to install and upgrade further, boots up in less than 3 seconds, games like FM19, CS:GO, Civ6 Red alert all run on high settings the Graphics card (1660) is newer than other priced laptops with a 1060 (4 years old). Very compact not super heavy. Well worth the purchase. Amazon Delivery was early too

Mr. Michael A. Clydesdale
  • 25 Nov 2019, Mon
Fantastic all rounder and great value
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great all round PC - really strong and even had a spare 3.5” drive slot to expand storage.While I only do some light gaming - I have big,memory heavy spreadsheets for my job and this tackles them with ease! The power brick is much more kilowatts than the battery in the laptop meaning the battery charges quickly even under load. You may not have an “all day battery” but I’d take this set up over that any day if I’m honest. Most trains have plug sockets and after using this in a 2hr train journey with no issues I cannot see myself being hampered with the “compromises” that are usually present in a gaming laptop. The Aura keyboard is great, would like a little more customisation but at this price point it’s great that it has an RGB keyboard!The two weak points of this laptop are;- connection ports (need a couple more really) - however they are sensibly placed so that’s also a plus.- touchpad is a big laggy at times - I think it’s the coating if I’m honest - sometimes it misses inputs but it doesn’t happen often and these are the only reasons it’s not a 5 star review.Great laptop though and fantastic value!

Dmjbutler
Size Name:15.6 Inch  |  Style Name:i5-9300H/GTX 1660Ti 6 GB

ASUS Strix g G531 15.6 inch Full HD 120 Hz thin bezel gaming laptop (Intel i5-9300h, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660Ti 6 GB Graphics, 512 GB PCI-E SSD, 16 GB RAM, Windows 10, includes number pad).

Brand name ASUS
Item Weight 2.4 Kg
Product Dimensions 24.8 x 35.8 x 1.6 cm
Batteries: 1 Lithium ion batteries required. (included)
Item model number G531GU-AL315T
Series G531
Color Black
Form Factor Laptop
Screen Size 15.6 inches
Maximum Display Resolution 1080p Full HD pixels
Processor Brand Intel
Processor Type Core i5
Processor Speed 2.4 GHz
Processor Count 4
RAM Size 16 GB
Memory Technology DDR4
Computer Memory Type DDR4 SDRAM
Maximum Memory Supported 32 GB
Hard Disk Technology Mechanical Hard Drive
Hard Drive Interface eSATA
Graphics Chipset Brand NVIDIA
Graphics Card Description Dedicated
Graphics RAM Type GDDR6
Graphics Card Ram Size 6 GB
Graphics Card Interface PCI-E
Wireless Type 802.11a/b/g/n/ac
Number of USB 3.0 Ports 5
Number of HDMI Ports 1
Optical Drive Type None
Operating System Windows 10
Supported Software Microsoft
Lithium Battery Energy Content 66 watt_hours
Lithium Battery Packaging Batteries contained in equipment
Number Of Lithium Ion Cells 4