Qualityreviews logo

Baratza Encore
Baratza
B007F183LK


  • 156,95 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Baratza
5
57%
(8)
4
7%
(1)
3
0%
(0)
2
29%
(4)
1
7%
(1)
Review 14 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Baratza Encore)
  • 10 Dec 2019, Tue
Best grinder for Drip French Chemex
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

If you need a grinder for Drip Chemex French not espresso read on. The second thing I noticed is that it’s heavy, built like a tank, all metal chassis. This is not a toy it’s the same build quality as the pro level models. The first thing I noticed is how small it is. Oh and grind quality for drip is great. Don’t waste time, get it.

Sagi
  • 17 Apr 2019, Wed
So far so good!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After my delonghi grinder failed it was time to
Upgrade! Fantastic bit of kit was 30 grind settings. Great for Pourovers etc, (not used it for espresso grind so can’t comment on that ) great entry level grinder for those who are serious about home
Brewing! The only bad thing If I have to say one is it’s a tad messy ! Other than that nothing bad to report :) it’s also very compact considering :)

Scott

  • 17 Apr 2019, Wed
So far so good!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

After my delonghi grinder failed it was time toUpgrade! Fantastic bit of kit was 30 grind settings. Great for Pourovers etc, (not used it for espresso grind so can’t comment on that ) great entry level grinder for those who are serious about homeBrewing! The only bad thing If I have to say one is it’s a tad messy ! Other than that nothing bad to report :) it’s also very compact considering :)

Scott
  • 11 Jan 2019, Fri
Good grinder for basic duty
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Paired with a Rancillo Silvia. Produces good grind for that machine (albeit looking online I will investigate whether I can improve the calibration for even better still). A lot of plastic on this machine. The bean hopper feels a tad flimsy, as does the rubber hood that funnels the beans towards the burrs.

Billy W
  • 09 Dec 2018, Sun
Nice grinder
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

What a pleasure to move from manual intensive grinding to Encore. A few seconds you are ready to brew. Very happy with the quality of the grind too. I just wish the machine has an integrated scale. But for the price we can not complain.

nicolas
  • 04 Jan 2018, Thu
Great results and well worth the money
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Great results and well worth the money. Much noisier than I expected but it's only on for 30 seconds every morning..

Olly
  • 20 Oct 2017, Fri
Good quality
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Good quality grinder. I mainly use this for aeropress grind and dripper grind

K V Nguyen
  • 08 Sep 2017, Fri
One Star
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Broke after 13 months. Impossible to contact the company because their website is always down. Avoid at all cost.

Amazon Customer
  • 24 Jul 2017, Mon
Fantastic until it breaks.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've gone through two of these grinders, both eventually coming a cropper to the same issue. Out of the box, you'll get a consistent grind with a lot of settings, including fine enough for espresso. The problem is the machine randomly dying.

The first lasted me about 14 months before the power just died out of nowhere. The second didn't even last 7 months before the same thing happened.

Baratza's website is dead and appears to have been so for a while now, making getting any support next to impossible.

MrTummyGiggles
  • 24 Jul 2017, Mon
Fantastic until it breaks.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I've gone through two of these grinders, both eventually coming a cropper to the same issue. Out of the box, you'll get a consistent grind with a lot of settings, including fine enough for espresso. The problem is the machine randomly dying.The first lasted me about 14 months before the power just died out of nowhere. The second didn't even last 7 months before the same thing happened.Baratza's website is dead and appears to have been so for a while now, making getting any support next to impossible.

MrTummyGiggles
  • 27 Apr 2017, Thu
When it works, it's good... But poor quality craftsmanship lets it down
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

When the machine works, it does the job very effectively: a good consistent grind that makes a satisfying cup of coffee.

The quality of the craftsmanship lets it down though: the performance has been erratic, and has now given up the ghost less than 3 months after purchase. I was happily grinding beans, stopped it to empty the collector, turned it back on again.... And nothing. Cleaned it, taken it apart, put it together again, but no joy.

There is also a lack of definition between grinds: yes, it has 40 settings, but there is no discernable difference between half of them, even from big changes to 8-25. It's recommended grind size was initially very poor, with larger lumps in the grind. It was only on further Internet research I found that you had to take it apart to get finer grinds...why not do this at the factory rather than making your customer have to attack their new purchase with a screwdriver a day after buying??

hektik
  • 27 Apr 2017, Thu
When it works, it's good... But poor quality craftsmanship lets it down
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

When the machine works, it does the job very effectively: a good consistent grind that makes a satisfying cup of coffee.The quality of the craftsmanship lets it down though: the performance has been erratic, and has now given up the ghost less than 3 months after purchase. I was happily grinding beans, stopped it to empty the collector, turned it back on again.... And nothing. Cleaned it, taken it apart, put it together again, but no joy.There is also a lack of definition between grinds: yes, it has 40 settings, but there is no discernable difference between half of them, even from big changes to 8-25. It's recommended grind size was initially very poor, with larger lumps in the grind. It was only on further Internet research I found that you had to take it apart to get finer grinds...why not do this at the factory rather than making your customer have to attack their new purchase with a screwdriver a day after buying??

hektik
  • 02 Nov 2014, Sun
So far so good... (Please see update)
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Appears well made and quite substantial.

Grind for espresso on setting 1, which is what I wanted it for, is OK with quite a heavy tamp. I think it is possible to adjust it further by moving shims, so I might look into that. My Rancilio Silvia seems to have a very powerful pump which requires a very fine grind, more-so than my old Gaggia Classic needed.

Grind for filter is very good with quite a lot of adjustment in the region of 13-14. Not tried it for Cafetierre/French Press yet.

The additional power button on the front to just grind enough for straight into the portofilter is a really useful little touch.

All in all, it seems pretty good.

Update December 2014 - Review upgraded to 5 stars...

As per the original review above, I was a bit concerned about the fine grind for espresso being fine enough. Anyway I was thinking about adjusting the machine from the advice on Baratza's website (Thanks for the link in the comments area Mr.S Mellins) but when I had a look I noticed the opening advice from Baratza was don't be too hasty to adjust, let the machine settle down first.

You're probably ahead of me here, but guess what, after about 5 hoppers' worth of beans ground, the fine grind is quite a bit finer. In fact on the finest level it now chokes out the Rancilio. So on that basis, I do think this is an excellent grinder for the money, worth 5 stars and if you do get one, give it some time to bed in before recalibrating it finer. It may well sort itself out.

D. Hart

  • 02 Nov 2014, Sun
So far so good... (Please see update)
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Appears well made and quite substantial.Grind for espresso on setting 1, which is what I wanted it for, is OK with quite a heavy tamp. I think it is possible to adjust it further by moving shims, so I might look into that. My Rancilio Silvia seems to have a very powerful pump which requires a very fine grind, more-so than my old Gaggia Classic needed.Grind for filter is very good with quite a lot of adjustment in the region of 13-14. Not tried it for Cafetierre/French Press yet.The additional power button on the front to just grind enough for straight into the portofilter is a really useful little touch.All in all, it seems pretty good.Update December 2014 - Review upgraded to 5 stars...As per the original review above, I was a bit concerned about the fine grind for espresso being fine enough. Anyway I was thinking about adjusting the machine from the advice on Baratza's website (Thanks for the link in the comments area Mr.S Mellins) but when I had a look I noticed the opening advice from Baratza was don't be too hasty to adjust, let the machine settle down first.You're probably ahead of me here, but guess what, after about 5 hoppers' worth of beans ground, the fine grind is quite a bit finer. In fact on the finest level it now chokes out the Rancilio. So on that basis, I do think this is an excellent grinder for the money, worth 5 stars and if you do get one, give it some time to bed in before recalibrating it finer. It may well sort itself out.

D. Hart

Product Description

The Encore is lauded by coffee experts as THE go-to entry level grinder for those brewing coffee at home. The Encore gives a great grind for drip/manual brew and also grinds fine enough for espresso. Featuring 40 individual grind settings, from fine to coarse, the Encore can please any palate with its gamut of accurate and repeatable grind settings. The Encore has an accurate medium to coarse grind for the increasingly popular manual brew methods such as pour-over, Aeropress, Siphon and Chemex. The specially designed burrs give a precise grind with minimal fines for a flavorful, balanced extraction when making espresso. And, of course, the Encore is built with the quality Baratza parts you've come to trust. The efficient DC motor keeps your beans cool, even during extended grind times, while a combination of electric and gear speed reducers slow the burr to 450 RPM, ensuring a smooth bean feed and reducing noise, heat and static buildup. Beyond a great coffee-drinking experience, the Encore makes for a great coffee-making experience. A convenient, front-mounted pulse button makes it easy to grind on demand into your brew basket. Whether you are looking for an espresso grinder or a grinder to help you explore that extensive range of brew methods, the Encore is a great all around home grinder.

Box Contains

1 x coffee grinder



From the manufacturer

Electric Burr Conical Burr Coffee Grinder Electric Burr Conical Burr Coffee Grinder Electric Burr Conical Burr Coffee Grinder Baratza Encore Conical Burr Grinder Baratza Virtuoso Conical Burr Grinder Baratza Preciso Conical Burr Grinder Application All Purpose All Purpose All Purpose Burr (M2 burrs produce a grind with less fines) 40 mm Burr Steel (M1) 40 mm Burr Steel (M1) 40 mm Burr Steel (M2) Grind Range (Microns) 250 to 1200 200 to 1400 200 to 1400 Steps of Adjustment 40 40 40 macro x 11 micro = 440 Speed of Grind 0.8 to 1.1 g/sec 1.5 to 2.4 g/sec 1.5 to 2.4 g/sec Standard Bean Hopper Capacity 8 oz (227 g) 8 oz (227 g) 8 oz (227 g) Grounds Bin Capacity 5 oz (142 g) 5 oz (142 g) 5 oz (142 g) Weight 7 lbs (3.1 kg) 8 lbs (3.6 kg) 8 lbs (3.6 kg) Dimensions WxHxD 12 x 35 x 16 cm 12 x 35 x 16 cm 12 x 35 x 16 cm Manual Brewing (Chemex, V60, Aeropress) / Espresso Good / Good Very Good / Very Good Very Good / Very Good with Dial In
Brand Baratza
Model Number ENCORE
Colour Black
Item Weight 3.1 Kg
Product Dimensions 11.9 x 16 x 35.1 cm
Capacity 142 Grams
Power / Wattage 110 watts
Voltage 220 volts
Auto Shutoff No