Qualityreviews logo

Dirt Devil DDH12-E01
Dirt Devil
B01LCJAK8Y


  • 149,95 £ / Cheapest Price on Internet


Brand: Dirt Devil
5
11%
(2)
4
56%
(10)
3
11%
(2)
2
17%
(3)
1
6%
(1)
Review 18 user comments
Review All Comments


Viewer of This Product Also Viewed

(Dirt Devil DDH12-E01)
  • 13 Oct 2018, Sat
Absolutely what it claims to be
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Quite an interesting little addition to the house, if you don't have too much clutter. It has three modes, which it displays in turns: so a few minutes on random, which is fun, another few minutes on a circular motion which is a bit hopeless and very restricted (not more than a circular metre, and a bit obsessed with table legs) and then onto a few minutes on edge mode which works very well. Spits out bigger pieces (like dead flies), but certainly picks up cat hair and dust. I found myself running along behind it picking up what it spat out. Did get stuck on a pile of cabling, managed a kelim, but not a fatter rug.Basically, it is as it advertises itself. Best to do a major vacuum first and then use this as top-up to, or as someone else said, socially-acceptable clean.

Armstrong
  • 13 Oct 2018, Sat
Absolutely what it claims to be
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Quite an interesting little addition to the house, if you don't have too much clutter. It has three modes, which it displays in turns: so a few minutes on random, which is fun, another few minutes on a circular motion which is a bit hopeless and very restricted (not more than a circular metre, and a bit obsessed with table legs) and then onto a few minutes on edge mode which works very well. Spits out bigger pieces (like dead flies), but certainly picks up cat hair and dust. I found myself running along behind it picking up what it spat out. Did get stuck on a pile of cabling, managed a kelim, but not a fatter rug.

Basically, it is as it advertises itself. Best to do a major vacuum first and then use this as top-up to, or as someone else said, socially-acceptable clean.

Armstrong

  • 22 Jan 2018, Mon
Had together another one, a vital machine!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I love this wee machine...we have lots of pets, who all go in and out of the garden , so this really helps keeps fur and grit levels under control. Hopefully this one will last longer than my last one, which died a year almost to the day after buying it. Dirt Devil customer service in Spain are charming and responsive but tell me it is normally a month to get a reply from their technical bods!!!! I can't wait that long , so am trying again. Hey ho. But am very glad to have a wee Spider trundling round the floor again...and , joy, under beds and sofas...

Pat Edinburgh
  • 26 Dec 2016, Mon
Doesn't vacuum up much, gets stuck far too easily. This is supposed to be a vacuum cleaner, right?
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I hate writing negative reviews but I must write what I discover - especially at this price.We have hardwood flooring downstairs so you'd think this would be great. Not so. We set it off round the lounge and it made a fairly decent attempt at vacuuming the bits it actually went over with its random and circular patterns (not user selectable, it cycles through them). The perimeter program started well, inasmuch that it actually followed the skirting board but then got stuck under the TV table (it seemed quite determined to get under it, but then couldn't back out. "Beep", it wailed. In other words, "Help!").OK, I helped it out of its predicament and it promptly did exactly the same thing with the sofa. "Beep", it wailed. You get the picture. So this meant I couldn't just set it off and go and have a shower or something as it would get stuck and not be actually vacuuming anything.Then we come to the actual vacuuming performance. You may be aware that the maximum power of a vacuum cleaner has recently been reduced by the EU in an attempt to make them more efficient (that is, the same volume of air flow for far less power consumed). And there is a reason that mains-powered vacuum cleaners are rated at several hundred watts, and that is to ensure you get a decent air flow and a decent area in which that suction is being applied. So the tiny, tiny aperture in the centre of this battery powered device has the suction of a poor handheld cleaner that is on its last gasp of battery power. A Dyson this most certainly isn't.Unfair? Well, if this is going to vacuum the floor then it must at least suck up the detritus that its revolving arms have managed to scoop up; placing some small cat-lit granules directly in its path was too much for it; cat lit spread around our lounge is one of our bugbears and this unit couldn't manage this. So, unfair? No, I don't think so.If this unit is so weedy then, why not a single star? Why two stars? Because I was impressed (initially, at least) how it managed to navigate around furniture and

Ralph S Bacon
  • 25 Dec 2016, Sun
A fun gadget for daily use.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I had seen these advertised and was keen to know how they worked so eagerly accepted the chance to review one. It was very easy to set up and instantly started vacuuming the sitting room. There's no real way of controlling its movement and it sometimes shoots off to another room when you least expect it, but it's great fun. It gets under furniture where it's often difficult to clean and, while it may take it a while to find its way out again, it always manages it.I wouldn't use it for an intensive clean but as a daily top-up with, perhaps, a normal vacuuming once a week, it works a treat.I'm starting to think of it as a pet.

S. B. Kelly
  • 19 Dec 2016, Mon
A good invention, but not perfect YET.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

As with many new inventions, early models often take a very good principle but fail to really execute it to perfection - and this Dirt Devil robot feels very much like that. One of the first observations to make is that this gadget is far better suited to hard floors than to carpets with any significant degree of thickness. The opening at the front gets clogged up fairly easily on carpets, which leads to you having to check on it at regular intervals to make sure it is actually able to carry on cleaning. This of course defeats the object of a cleaning robot if you aren't able to get on with other things while it is whirling away. Having said all that, this Dirt Devil does have it's uses. It is perfect for a "top up" clean alongside the occasional full clean with a traditional hoover. It's also quiet, so it shouldn't be a nuisance to other people in the household. Finally, the Dirt Devil is perfect for getting to some of the hard to reach areas that you often miss with a traditional vacuum cleaner - such as under the sofa and cupboards. This is a nice invention, but better models will surely come along in a few years.

C. Fletcher
  • 19 Dec 2016, Mon
Great for hard floors and sturdier than you would expect!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This device does an excellent job of cleaning hard floors, a tolerable job in carpeted areas and is surprisingly durable - surviving a 6-10 foot drop in my house, which I will go on to talk about later.Cleaning standard: The dirt devil comes with detachable spinning brushes for hard floors. When set loose in our large open plan living room and kitchen, it picks up most small dust and debris (eg spilled flower) but would struggle with larger things - eg the outer layer of an escaped garlic clove would not be sucked up and would block the suction inlet, needing to be manually pulled out. On carpets, even with a very fine pile, pickup isn't great at all - missing large amounts of small debris. This may be because it was ground in - I may try going round with the dyson for a deep clean then seeing if the robot can maintain it socially clean.Pathfinding: The dirt devil cycles through three programs as it bumps its way round your rooms. In open spaces it will cover the area comprehensively and includes all the edges. However, when facing dense furniture (eg kitchen table and chairs) it can sometimes shy away and avoid areas behind the obstacle entirely. It absolutely hates rugs and mats, either refusing to cross them or getting stuck upon them. I have on multiple occasions left it to its own devices only to come back to find it stuck in a corner or hopelessly marooned on 2 square foot of the doormat!Fall detection: the dirt devil has sensors to stop it falling down the stairs. These are configurable for your floor type as shown in the manual - however this does not mention that there are three individual sensors for this that ALL need to be configured. This may be responsible for the accident my robot suffered. I had carefully supervised it on the ground floor landing being very impressed with how it successfully detected the stairs to the basement and avoided them. However, no sooner had I decided to trust the product on the top floor unsupervised there was a massive crash and I came to find my dirt devil upside down

Rory Mercer
  • 19 Dec 2016, Mon
Great for hard floors and sturdier than you would expect!
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This device does an excellent job of cleaning hard floors, a tolerable job in carpeted areas and is surprisingly durable - surviving a 6-10 foot drop in my house, which I will go on to talk about later.

Cleaning standard: The dirt devil comes with detachable spinning brushes for hard floors. When set loose in our large open plan living room and kitchen, it picks up most small dust and debris (eg spilled flower) but would struggle with larger things - eg the outer layer of an escaped garlic clove would not be sucked up and would block the suction inlet, needing to be manually pulled out. On carpets, even with a very fine pile, pickup isn't great at all - missing large amounts of small debris. This may be because it was ground in - I may try going round with the dyson for a deep clean then seeing if the robot can maintain it socially clean.

Pathfinding: The dirt devil cycles through three programs as it bumps its way round your rooms. In open spaces it will cover the area comprehensively and includes all the edges. However, when facing dense furniture (eg kitchen table and chairs) it can sometimes shy away and avoid areas behind the obstacle entirely. It absolutely hates rugs and mats, either refusing to cross them or getting stuck upon them. I have on multiple occasions left it to its own devices only to come back to find it stuck in a corner or hopelessly marooned on 2 square foot of the doormat!

Fall detection: the dirt devil has sensors to stop it falling down the stairs. These are configurable for your floor type as shown in the manual - however this does not mention that there are three individual sensors for this that ALL need to be configured. This may be responsible for the accident my robot suffered. I had carefully supervised it on the ground floor landing being very impressed with how it successfully detected the stairs to the basement and avoided them. However, no sooner had I decided to trust the product on the top floor unsupervised there was a massive crash and I came to find my

Rory Mercer
  • 18 Dec 2016, Sun
Great for a midweek clean, but not a replacement for a standard vacuum
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I am a fan of this Dirt Devil robot vacuum cleaner for midweek cleaning, although I still have an upright vacuum cleaner for the weekly vacuum. The robot takes four hours to charge and runs for an hour. It has above-average suction and - big bonus - it fits neatly under sofas, chairs and beds. My home is all on one level so I can leave the robot to clean for an hour and it happily runs around the house, on wooden floors and rugs.The end result is a cleaner floor, especially in tight corners and under chairs, although it does struggle with larger deposits of dust or long strands of hair.Although the robot finds its way around by bumping walls and furniture, nothing gets damaged, so no worries about scuffs and marks.

Roland Cassard
  • 17 Dec 2016, Sat
Useful Helper, Not A Replacement
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

To be honest unless I had received this free from amazon I wouldn't have ever considered buying one. Afterall what's the point - I'm not that lazy!First impressions weren't good regarding operation. I'll come to build quality later.The device slowly moved around seemingly randomly until it bumped into something and then changed direction. What a waste of anyones money I thought. Quicker to do it yourself. The battery will run out before it finishes the job.However I, like many others missed the point of these little robots.Don't think of it as a replacement for your main vacuum, Think of it as a helper. A quick tidy up.I have wooden floors and 2 house cats. Everyday I need to vacuum at least 2 twice a day for the dust bunnies and cat litter than gets thrown, walked or magically levitated out of the litter box, plus the usual grit that gets walked into the house.What I can do now is set the Dirt Devil of to work and when I return from shopping or work it's swept up the ground floor of the house and being small it's also gone behind the sofas and under the dinning room table. I've seen a reduction in the amount of litter crush onto the floors and on the stair carpet.Now the actual unit. It comes well boxed with spare brushes and a spare washable filter. Good news it the battery is not 60 minutes like advertised but lasts 90 minutes.The black plastic is a magnet for finger marks and scratches easily.My unit developed an annoying click after 2 days.This is a dumb device. It simply wanders around the house using preset patterns that aren't selectable however surprisingly if left for 60-90 minutes it manages to go from my dinning room, into the hall and then the kitchen, toilet and lounge that lead off from it - That did surprise me.For wooden floors it's very effective and has enough suction to pickup cat litter. On carpets though it's rubbish.This really is the bottom end of the scale for robotic cleaners, more expensive models have spinning beater bars for carpets, can recharge themselves and can map a room so it kn

Keats The Cat
  • 14 Dec 2016, Wed
An entertaining way to do housework
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

 Assembly and set up was easy. It takes four hours to charge. It works for one hour. It roams the one floor (sensors stop it from falling down stairs) and can get under kitchen units, radiators and settees etc. It picked up a surprising amount of dirt. The filter is washable and there is a spare filter and brushes in the box.It might be quite a Zen experience wasting an hour watching it work its way around a room. It feels a bit like having a pet in the house.NOTE 23/1/17: It’s ultimately a gimmick. It’s fun and amusing the first couple of times you use it. After the novelty has worn off it’s just a bit pointless. You end up doing the manual cleaning anyway. I’ve knocked the rating down to 2 stars (from 4 out of 5) as we ended up putting it back in the box and haven’t used it since the first week.NOTE 25/10/17: It hasn’t been out the box even once since I posted my previous note.

BS on parade
  • 14 Dec 2016, Wed
An entertaining way to do housework
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

 Assembly and set up was easy. It takes four hours to charge. It works for one hour. It roams the one floor (sensors stop it from falling down stairs) and can get under kitchen units, radiators and settees etc. It picked up a surprising amount of dirt. The filter is washable and there is a spare filter and brushes in the box.

It might be quite a Zen experience wasting an hour watching it work its way around a room. It feels a bit like having a pet in the house.

NOTE 23/1/17: It’s ultimately a gimmick. It’s fun and amusing the first couple of times you use it. After the novelty has worn off it’s just a bit pointless. You end up doing the manual cleaning anyway. I’ve knocked the rating down to 2 stars (from 4 out of 5) as we ended up putting it back in the box and haven’t used it since the first week.

NOTE 25/10/17: It hasn’t been out the box even once since I posted my previous note.

BS on parade
  • 13 Dec 2016, Tue
Works well on hard floors.
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Spidey as he is now affectionately known is not a substitute for your main vacuum cleaner. He is a top up daily cleaner. So how does he fare...well. I have hard flooring throughout my ground floor and was hopeful I could just switch on and let Spidey take care of it all. Actually, it really only works well in smallish rectangular shaped rooms. We set him loose in the kitchen which is kind of u shaped due to the peninsula unit. It did a wonderful job going under the dresser and other hard to reach areas. It navigated around the table legs and chairs really well, however it seemed to keep going around the same table leg more often than necessary. It eventually found it's way to the other side of the kitchen but seemed to miss a whole strip beside the table before it moved on. It does not respond to "Oi, you missed a bit" which is a shame. In the end we had to pick it up and stick it in the area it had missed. It did a fab job of picking up any crumbs in it's wake. I am a bit of an OCD floor cleaner, and it passed the test. Doesn't work as efficiently on carpets though. You still can't beat a quick whizz round with the main vacuum cleaner for upstairs. It did take a while to do the kitchen, but in that time I had tiptoed around it and tidied up the counters and dishes, so the floor was crumbless by the time I had tidied up everything else, so that was nice. Don't think I could set it elsewhere downstairs though without moving my fringed rugs first or the spidey brushes might tangle in the fringes. I have to say it did a fabulous job around the edges of my kitchen units, the brushes and it's nudging movement do a first rate job of picking up the crumbs. However it is an expensive toy ( it is quite entertaining to watch) just to use one room at a time, when in the time it took to do my kitchen I could have whizzed round the whole ground floor with my regular vacuum. The nice part was not having to vacuum my kitchen after a crumby, croissanty family breakfast. It was like having a servant !

Dodster

  • 13 Dec 2016, Tue
Good on hard floors (4 stars) Not so good on fluffy carpets (3 stars)
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

To be fair I would give this 3 and a half stars - 3 stars for carpets and 4 stars for hard floors.This is a small device, but has a weight to it, which I put down to the large battery and motor. It charges from flat to full in about 4 hours - like the manual says. It has a pair of spidery brushes that clip on to the from underside of the unit, which you attach when using this on hard floors. I plonked mine in the kitchen and left it to get on with its job. It worked surprisingly well, with the spidery little arms spinning out wide of the body to shove crumbs and other kitchen detritus into the path of the device.It has a small container for all the sweepings, but I think the mouth of the cleaner gets clogged long before the actual sweepings container gets full. This is because the mouth of the container is small, and it only takes a few bits of potato peelings or bits of bread to block it up.If your kitchen is marginally less cluttered than mine it will probably serve you well.In my case I just have to remember to empty it every hour or so to get the best results.The sweepings container is accessible via a panel on the top of the machine, so is easy to get at.On carpets it fares rather less well. The aforementioned small suction mouth gets quickly clogged by fluff. If you have older or relatively thin carpets you will be OK, as there is less fluff to start with. On our old Indian carpets (30 years old) it is fine, but on the 2 year old carpet in the lounge and bedroom it struggled a bit. Even after a really good clean with a powerful AEG cylinder vac it struggled.So, it now does the kitchen every day, and takes a stroll around the conservatory and corridors now and again.It's difficult to know where to pitch the stars in this review, as there are still relatively few devices on the market, and the price range is pretty broad.For the money it is a bit of a luxury I suppose, but if you are older or a bit stiff then it will be a real help, especially on hard floors and older, thinner carpets.

Amazoniac
  • 13 Dec 2016, Tue
so It was nice to try one
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

I was intrigued by the idea of a robot vacuum cleaner. I'be always discounted them previously as gimmicks, soIt was nice to try one. I was pleasantly surprised by how the spider got on on a hard floor. Yes, you could probably vaccum normally more quickly, but you can get on with other things while the spider does it for you - and it does a good job. This is not the case on carpet. It's pretty hopeless. It takes 4 hours to charge to give about an hour of robot vacuuming which is incredibly slow. So mediocre in all.

Pompom
  • 12 Dec 2016, Mon
No substitute for a full vacuum but it will delay the day
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

This arrived the other day and so far has proven to be a useful tool, the vacuum comes ins a relatively small box, and required minimal assembly, battery and dust box essentially needed installing.We then plugged the charger in to the wall and waited (quite a while 4 hours) for the Blue light to stop flashing, and hey presto fully charged.We started with the living room as a test and turned it on and set if free, off it went around the room picking up dust maybe not as efficiently as an 1800W cylinder or upright vacuum that we have but doing a nice job of a midweek top up vacuum.A comment about the noise this is quite quiet, with a back ground hum which meant we could still watch the telly with only a minor volume adjustment.The vacuum went under the sofa and came out again having pumped up against the wall a few times under the TV cabinet and under a bureau all with no problems; it is quite low slung so we were impressed with this.It did last an hour with no problems and covered the room leaving an interesting pattern on the pile of the carpet against the walls as it butted against it.In the kitchen (tried the next day) the same this cleaned under stuff with ease and was probably more efficient on the tile floor at cleaning.We also tried it on the landing looking to see if it would commit suicide on the stairs but no it handled the edge well turning round as soon as it sensed impending peril.Overall this is an expensive but useful gadget, it does work well on relatively clean surfaces, but does struggle with large amounts of hair, my daughters blond main meaning we will leave her to properly vacuum her room rather than using the Dirt Devil, so it’s no substitute for a proper vacuum. It does however help stave off the need to a full vacuum for a few days longer so in my book worth the money.

Fletch-a-sketch
  • 12 Dec 2016, Mon
The actual suction area of the robot vac is pretty small, and not overly powerful
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Firstly, this Dirt Devil spider robot vacuum is never going to replace your upright or cylinder vacuum, but that's not really what it's designed for. Assembly and charging are effortless, and then you switch it on and let it go. The actual suction area of the robot vac is pretty small, and not overly powerful, so it's not going to pick up lots. It travelled several times over a bit of fluff on my floor which had been stood on and flattened, and was unable to pick it up until I lifted the fluff and dropped it very lightly on the carpet in front of the vacuum. It did a better job on the hard floors though. It's quieter than I expected, and I have to say it's actually quite relaxing and therapeutic watching it trundle around the room, re-orientating itself when it hits or senses an obstacle. Easy enough to empty, and certainly doesn't take up much storage space, so it's a handy thing if you want a top-up clean in between proper vacuuming. Also kept the cats highly amused!

Fiona Millar
  • 10 Dec 2016, Sat
Not a wise purchase
Reviewed on Amazon.co.uk

Whilst the idea of setting the robot free to go and do your vaccing the reality is very different.At the cost of this machine, £185 at the time of writing this review, my absolute suggestion is to spend your money more wisely and either buy an upright or a drag behind you vac. Why?It'll br quickerYou'll get a better finish, a more thorough jobYou carpets will be vac'd betterThe Spider has the smallest mouth for vaccing dirt up and takes very little to clog up rendering the vac useless. And if you have pets you'll discover this machine clogs often. So, letting it loose on your floor for the next hour will mean regular stops to uinclog the mouth. Alternatively, pull out your normal vac, spend a couple of minutes vacing and your done...no clogs, no stopping to empty a tiny dirt chamber and likely no need to plug it in for 4hrs to recharge it.In summary, if you are under the impression that I don't like this product you'd be right. Had it not been for the Amazon Vine program I would never have bought a mchine such as this. I've seen others that my friends hae bought and discounted them as a viable alternative to a traditional vac.I suppose the only possible reason for buying one is if you suffer with storage space at home, but only if you have hard floor and not carpeted (its useless on carpets).otherwise spend your hard earned somewhere else.

William Hodgson

Product Description

14 Volts Robot Vacuum For Fast Independent Cleaning;60 Minutes Of Cleaning Time;3 Innovative Cleaning Programmes (Random Pattern, Circular Pattern And Perimeter Pattern) Perfect For Cleaning Hard Floor And Low Pile Carpets;Cliff And Bumper Censors To Navigate Potential Obstacles;Low Profile Allowing For Navigation Underneath Obstacles

Box Contains

1 x Dirt Devil Spider Robot
1 x Charger
1 x battery
2 x side brush set
1 x user guide